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Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Rules - Procedural

RULES OF PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE
IN THE SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF APPEALS

EXPLANATION OF COMMENTS
Throughout these rules are various "comments" which are intended to be helpful information only and are not intended to be, nor are they, a
part of the official rules of this court.

1. DOCKETING THE CASE.

A. Perfectingthe Appeal . Every appeal shall be deemed perfected when the notice of appeal asprovidedinRule
1B(1) and thedocke fee required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 33-103 or an application to proceed in forma pauperis
and a poverty affidavit pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 29-2306 or Neb. Rev. Stat. 8§ 25-2301 et seq. have been
filed in the office of the derk of the trial court and such application has been granted by that court.

B. Forwarding to Supreme Court. The clerk of the district court shall within 2 business days of receipt of a
notice of appeal send thefollowing items to the Clerk of the Supreme Court:

(1)(a) Notice of appeal. The natice of appeal shal be deemed madeto the Court of Appeals unless the
notice contains language specifically requesting appeal to the Supreme Court along with citation to the
statutory authority allowing such appeal to the Supreme Court.

(b) If anctice of appeal filed in a case involving termination of parental rightsis not signed by the
parent whose parental rights were terminated, the appeal shall be subject to summary affirmance pursuant to
Rule 7A unless, following issuance of an order to show causeand a15-day responsetime, the before-mentioned
parent files an affidavit with theappe late court stating his or her intention to proceed with the appeal or other
good cause is shown. This subsection shall not gpply to a child's guardian ad litem taking an appeal in such
cases.

(2) Request for transcript; see Rule 4A,;
(3) Request for bill of exceptions; see Rule 5B;

(4) Check of the clerk of the district court for docket fee, or a copy of the application to proceed in
forma pauperis and accompanying poverty affidavit which has been executed no more than 45 days prior to
the filing of notice of appeal; and

(5) A certificate, which shall contain the following information:

a The caption of the case, including the names and adversary relationship of al the parties,
as the case was filed in thedistrict court;

b. The name, address, city, state, zip code, telephone number, and Nebraska attorney
identification number of each principal Nebraska attorney, and the name of the party or parties the
attorney represents, or, if aparty or parties represent themselves, the above information except for the
i dentification number;

c. Whether the caseis acivil caseor acriminal case if acivil case whether the caseislaw
(general) or equity, if applicable; if a criminal case, whether there was atrial to ajury or judge, or
whether aguilty or nolo contendere plea was accepted by the court, whether apleain bar was entered,
and whether the case is a felony, misdemeanor, or postconviction; and
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d. If the notice of appeal is to the Supreme Court, whether the appeal involves a sentence of
death or lifeimprisonment, condtitutionality of a statute, or other statutory authorization therefor.

e. The date the notice of appeal wasfiled inthedistrict court and the date the docket feewas
paid to the clerk of thedistrict court.

f. Whether the requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1914 with regard to cost bond, cash in
lieu of cost bond, or supersedeas bond or poverty affidavit have been met and the date filed.

g. Indicate if amotion for new trial wasfiled in the trial court and the date of disposition.

See appendices 5 and 6.

C. Method of Docketing Case; Multiple Appeals from Same Case Prohibited. Upon receipt of the material
required by Rule 1B, the Clerk of the Supreme Court shall thereupon docket the case designating the party or
parties first having filed the notice of appeal in thedistrict court as gppelant or appellants. All other parties
shall be designated as appellees, and any attempt to appeal thereafter made by any party totheaction shall be
filed in the existing case and not separately docketed.

D. Appeal from Specia Tribunals. In an appeal from an order of the Nebraska Public Service Commission or
other tribunal from which an appeal can be taken directly to this court, the procedure shall be that provided
for in apped sfrom the district court, except as otherwise provided by satute.

E. Cross-Appeal. Theproper filing of an appeal shall vest in an appelleetheright to a cross-appeal against any
other party to the appeal. The cross-appeal need only be asserted in the appellees brief as provided by Rule
9D(4).

F. Attorneys of Record and Pro Se Litigants.

(1) The attorneys of record and guardians ad litem of the respective parties in the court below shall
be deemed the attorneys and guardians ad litem of the same parties in this court, until a withdrawal of
appear ance has been filed together with an affidavit that a copy of such withdrawal has been sent to counsel's
client by certifiedmail to the client's last-known address and by regular mail to the adverse party or that party's
attorney of record. Counsd in any crimina case pending in this court may withdraw only after obtaining
permission of this court. The method for the withdrawal of court-appointed counsdl is specified by Rule 3B.

(2) All attorneys of record and pro se litigants are required to keep the Clerk of the Supreme Court
advised inwriting of their current address during the pendency of an appeal in the Supreme Court or Court of
Appeals for use in notification of all court orders. See Rule 10.

G. Costs and Security for Costs.

(1) Docket fees shall be paid in advance as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 33-103, except in the
following categories of cases:

a. Docket fees are waived in cases brought under the Nebraska Workers Compensation Act
and the employment security law.

b. Where an application to proceed in forma pauperis and a timely affidavit of poverty has
been filed pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2306 or Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-2301 et seq., advance
payment of docket feesis not required.
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c. Docket fees in habeas corpus proceedings and disciplinary actions against members of the
Nebraska bar are not required in advance. Fees in these cases will be collected at the conclusion of the
proceeding.

(2) All cases must comply with Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 25-1914, unless specific statutory exceptions exist.
A casewill be dismissed for failure to comply with § 25-1914 if amotion is filed in accordance with Rule 6.
Additional time for compliance with the satute may be requested by motion and a showing of good cause.

Rules 1A, 1B(1), 1B(4), 1B(5)c - 1B(5)g, 1C, 1E, 1F(2), 1G(1)b and 1G(2) amended May 28, 1992; Rule 1F(1) amended March 31, 1993; Rule 1A amended M ay 29, 1997; Rules
1A, 1B, 1B(4), and 1G(1)a and b amended October 14, 1999; Rule 1F(2) amended October 16, 2003; Rule 1B(1) amended September 13, 2006.

2. COURT OF APPEALS

A. Nebraska Supreme Court Rules to Apply. Unless otherwise specified, the N ebraska Supreme Court Rules
of Practice and Procedure shall apply to the Nebraska Court of Appedls.

B. Petitionto Bypass. Any party to a case appeal ed to the Court of Appeals may filewith the Supreme Court
a petition to transfer the appea to the Supreme Court and to bypass review by the Court of Appeals. The
petition to bypass shall be filed smultaneously with theinitial brief of the party. Such petition shall set forth
the basis for the petition, including one or more of the factors set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 24-1106(2).

(1) Filingand Serviceof Petition to Bypass. An original and seven copies of the petition to bypassand
brief in support thereof, together not to exceed five pages in length, with proof of service, shall befiled with
the Supreme Court Clerk. A copy of the petition to bypass and brief shall be served on the opposing party or
attorney of record. Service and proof of service shall be in accordancewith Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-534.

(2) Objection. Any objection to the petition to bypass shall be due when the brief of the responding
party is filed or, when no reply brief isfiled, before the expiration of the time prescribed for such filing as
provided by Rule 9A(3). Such objection and brief in support thereof shall not exceed five pagesin length. An
original and seven copies of the objection and brief, together with proof of service on the opposing party or
attorney of record, shall be filed with the Supreme Court Clerk.

(3) Ord Argument. No ord argument is permitted on the petiti on to bypass except as may be ordered
by the Supreme Court; in such event, ora argument shall be limited to 5 minutes per side.

(4) Submission. All petitions to bypass shall be submitted for decision to the Supreme Court on the
filing of appdlant's reply brief or the expiration of the time prescribed for such filing as provided by Rule
9A(3).

C. Removal of Case From Court of Appeals. At any time during the pendency of acase, upon recommendation
of the Court of Appesals or by the Supreme Court's own mation, the Supreme Court may order removal of a
case from the Court of Appeals and its transfer to the Supreme Court docket.

D. Briefs. An original and 10 copies of each brief to be filed in the Court of Appeals, together with proof of
service, shall befiled inthe office of the Supreme Court Clerk on or beforethe datethebrief isdue. Inall other
respects, Rule 9 shall apply to the preparation of briefsfor the Court of Appeals.
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E. Opinions.

(1) Release of Written Opinions. The Court of Appeaswill prepare a written opinion in cases where
the court believes explanation of its decision is required or that the caseis of value as a precedent. Opinions
shall bereleasad as ordered by the court.

(2) Copies Mailed. A copy of each opinion shall be mailed to al attorneys and pro se partieswhose
names and addresses appear on briefs submitted in connection with the case.

(3) Official Version. Official opinionsof the Court of Appeal sapproved for publication in apermanent
bound volumeshall be thefinal, edited version which appears in thebound valume of the Nebraska Appd late
Reports. Official opinions of the Court of Appeals not designated for permanent publication in the bound
volume shall betheversion which is filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court.

(4) Opinions of the Court of Appeals which the deciding panel has desgnated as "For Permanent
Publication" may becitedinall courtsand tribunalsinthe State of Nebraska. Other opinions and memorandum
opinions of the Court of Apped s may be cited only when such caseis rdated, by identity between the parties
or the causes of action, to the case then before the court.

(5) Opinions of the Court of Appeals which the deciding panel has designated as "For Permanent
Publication” shall befollowed as precedent by the courts and tribunals inferior to the Court of Appeals until
such opinion is modified or overruled by the Nebraska Supreme Court.

(6) The panel of the Court of Appeals deciding a case may designate its opinion as "For Permanent
Publication" only when one or more of the criteria set in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 24-1104(2) is satisfied.

F. Petition for Further Review by Supreme Court.

(1) Timeand Filing Fee. An original and seven copiesof apetitionfor further review and memorandum
brief in support must befiled within 30 days af ter the rel ease of the opinion of the Court of Appealsor theentry
of the order of the Court of Apped sfinally disposing of the appeal, whichever occurs later. For purposes of
this subsection, an order of the Court of Appealsfinally disposing of an gppeal includesan order on amotion
for rehearing or a motion for attorney fees. Asof July 1, 2005, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 33-103.01, a
docket fee of $50 shall be paid to the Clerk of the Supreme Court at the time of the filing of the petition for
further review. Such docke fee shall be required for each appellate case number in which further review is
sought, regardless of consolidation of casesfor opinion by the Court of Appeals, and by each party filing for
further review. This docket fee shall be waived for an indigent person who has been granted | eave to proceed
in forma pauperis on appeal by thetrial court.

(2) Form. T he petition for further review and memorandum brief in support shall be typewritten on
8Y%- by 11-inch paper, shall be double-spaced, and shall use 12-point type. The petition and supporting briefs
shall not exceed 10 pages.

(3) Contents. The petition for further review and supporting memorandum brief shall set forth a
separate, concisestatement of each error alleged to havebeen made by the Court of Appeals, all of which must
be annotated to the record as required by Rule 9. Each assignment of error shall be separately numbered and
paragraphed as required by Rule 9D (1)e. The memorandum brief must discuss the errors assigned.
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(4) Response. Parties to the case not filing a petition for further review may respond to the petition
within 10 days after the petition for further review and supporting brief arefiled. The response and supporting
brief shall not exceed 10 pages. If no responsewill befiled, parties may natify the Clerk of the Supreme Court
in writing, and the petition will be submitted immediately.

(5) Filing and Service. Petitions for further review, accompanying briefs in support, and responses
thereto shall be filed and served as provided in Rule 9B(6). An ariginal and seven copies shal be filed in the
office of the Supreme Court Clerk.

(6) Submission. Oral argument isnot permitted onapetitionfor further review. All petitionsfor further
review will be submitted 14 days after the petition for further review isfiled.

(7) Mandate. No mandate will issuein any case during the time allowed for thefiling of a petition for
further review or pending the consideration thereof by the Supreme Court. If the petition is sustained, the
mandate will not issue during the pendency of the appeal in the Supreme Court as provided for in Rule 14.

G. Scope of Review. Further review by the Supreme Court is not a matter of right, but of judicial discretion.
If the Supreme Court grants review of a Court of Appeals decision, the Supreme Court will review only the
errors assigned in the petition for further review and discussed in the supporting memorandum brief. The
Supreme Court may limit the issues to one or more of those raised by the parties and may notice plain error
at itsdiscretion.

H. Briefs and Ora Argument on Further Review by Supreme Court. The Supreme Court may order that the
parties file supplemental brifs, in accordance with Rule 9, and may order that ora argument be heard. Even
without an order from the Supreme Court for briefs, each party may file additional briefs in compliancewith
Rule 9 when further review by the Supreme Court is ordered. An original and 16 copies of the petitioning
party's brief so prepared, together with proof of service, shall be filed in the Supreme Court Clerk's office
within 20 daysafter the order for further review is entered; all nonpetitioning parties' briefs must be served and
filed within 20 days after petitioner has served and filed briefs. For purposes of oral argument on further
review, unless otherwise ordered by the Supreme Court on motion or stipulation of the parties or upon the
Supreme Court’s own motion, the party filing theinitial petition for further review shall be entitled to open and
closethe argument, regardless of whether cross-petitions arefiled in thecase. Wherethere are cross-pdtitions,
the petition and cross-petition shall be argued together as one case.

Rules 2, 2A, and 2C - 2H amended M ay 28, 1992; Rule 2E(4) amended June 16, 1993; Rule 2G(1) amended June 15, 1994; Rule 2E(4) amended April 30, 1997; Rules2E(5) and
(6) adopted April 30, 1997; Rule 2F(4) amended May 29, 1997; Rule 2G adopted and Rule 2H amended March 24, 1999; Rule 2F(1) amended December 15, 1999; Rule 2F(3)
amended November 15, 2001; Rule 2H amended January 24, 2002; Rule 2F (1) amended June 15, 2005; Rule 2F (1) amended January 19, 2006; Rule 2F(2) amended March 22, 2006.

3. COURT-APPOINTED COUNSEL IN CRIMINAL CASES.

A. Representation on Appeal. Counsel appointed in district court to represent a defendant in a criminal case
other than a postconviction action shall, upon request by the defendant after judgment, filea notice of appeal
and continueto represent the defendant unless permitted to withdraw by this court.

B. Motionto Withdraw. A motion of court-appointed counsel for permission to withdraw shall state the reason
for the request, and shall be served upon opposing counsd by regular mail and on the defendant by certified
mail to the defendant’ s last-known address. An origina and one copy of the motion and proof of service shall
be filed with the Supreme Court Clerk.

Rule 3B amended February 22, 2001.
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4. TRANSCRIPT.
A. How Ordered; Contents.

(1) Upon filing the notice of appeal, the appellant shall file with the court from which the appedl is
taken a praecipe directing the clerk to prepare a transcript, which shall contain:

a. The pleadings upon which the case was tried, as desgnated by the appd lant;

b. Thejudgment, decree or final order sought to be reversed, vacated, or modified, and the
lower court's memorandum opinion, if any; and

c. A copy of the supersedeas bond, if any, given in the digtrict court, or, if none has been
given, arecital of thefact that a bond for costs was given and approved in the district court, or a
deposit made as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1914.

d. In cases where an application to proceed in forma pauperis has been filed, a copy of the
order of the district court granting or denying such.

(2) If the appéellant is of the opinion that other parts of the record are necessary for the proper
presentation of the erors assigned in this court, he or she shall further direct the clerk to include in the
transcript such additional partsof therecord ashe or sheshall specify inthe praecipe, including theinstructions
given by thetrial court, if the appellant intendsto assign error inthe giving of any instruction, and any tendered
instruction refused, if the appellant intends to assign error to such refusal. The appellant shall limit hisor her
request for such additional material to only those portions of therecord which are material to theassignments
of error.

(3) Infilingapraeci pefor transcript withthe clerk of the digtrict court, theparty making such praecipe
shall identify by name each specific document which the party desires to have included in the transcript
pursuant to this rule. The clerk of thedistrict court may not include, without specific written request, a copy
of any document not required under this rule. The district court clerk shall, upon request, certify that therecord
does not contain adescribed document. T he notice of appeal, praecipesfor preparation of transcriptsand bills
of exceptions, and poverty affidavitsshall not beincluded in the transcript, since they are previoudy certified
and sent to this court.

B. Form.

(1) Thetranscript may be typed or photocopied. The image produced shall be permanent, black on a
white background, and sharply and clearly legible. Each documert in the transcript shall bear a clear and
distinct samp or writing showing the date the document was filed by the clerk of the court. Transcripts shall
be submitted on paper measuring 82 by 11 inches. The paper shall be of approximately 16-pound substance.
The transcript shall be securely bound at the top center of each page with a fastener with prongs 2% inches
apart on center. No pages in the transcript may be stapled. Each page shall be consecutively numbered, with
the number at the bottom of the page. An index shall be supplied, referring to the initid page of each item
contai ned inthetranscript. Theindex, preceded by acaption of the case and the appe late court docket number,
shall constitute thefirst page or pages of the transcript.

(2) Journal entries may betyped asa group and indluded at the end of thetranscript. Each entry must
show the date it was filed with the clerk of the court and the name of the judge making the entry.
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C. Supplemental Transcript. After theoriginal transcript isfiled in the office of the Supreme Court Clerk, any
party may, without leave of court, request a supplemental transcript containing matters omitted from the
original transcript and necessary to the proper presentation of the case in this court. The request shall be in
writing, and in the same form as required in Rule 4A of theserules. After filing, no changein the original or
supplemental transcript shall be made, or papers added to or withdrawn from the transcript, without leave of
court. All supplemental transcripts must befiled prior totheday the caseis submitted to the court, unlessleave
of court is obtained in advance to file later. Supplemental transcripts shall be submitted in the same form as
transcripts.

D. Cases Previously Before the Court. If a case has been appealed previously and a transcript filed in the
appelatecourtinthe earlier case, the transcript in the new apped should contain only pleadingsfiled after the
issuance of the mandate of this court in the prior case.

COMMENT
Itistheintent of Rule 4 to reduce the bulk of transcripts filed with the court. The court specifically intends to eliminate requests for subpoenas,
subpoenas, requests for summonses, summonses, interrogatories, appearances of counsel, notices, and other documents not relevant to the
appeal. Opinions of the appellate courts appear in the Nebraska Reports and the Nebraska A ppellate Reports and should never be included
as part of atranscript.

Rules 4A(1)a - 4A(1)c amended May 28, 1992; Rule 4A(1)d adopted October 14, 1999.

5. BILL OF EXCEPTIONS, MAKING, PRESERVING, TRANSCRIBING, AND DELIVERY OF
RECORD OF TRIAL OR OTHER PROCEEDING.

A. Making and Preserving Record.

(1) Theofficial court reporter shall in al instances make a verbatim record of the evidence offered
at trial or other evidentiary proceeding, including but not limited to objections to any evidence and rulings
thereon, oral motions, and stipulations by the parties. This record may not be waived.

(2) Upon the request of the court or of any party, ether through counse or pro se, the official court
reporter shall make averbatim record of anything and everything said or done by anyone in the course of trial
or any other proceeding, including, but not limited to, any pretrial matters; the vair dire examination; opening
statements; arguments, including arguments on objections; any motion, comment, or statement made by the
court in the presence and hearing of apanel of potential jurors or thetrial jury; and any objectionto thecourt's
proposed instructions or to instructions tendered by any party, together with the court's rulings thereon, and
any posttria proceeding.

B. Transcribing and Delivery of Record; the Bill of Exceptions.
(1) How Ordered, Contents, and Per-Page Rate.

a. Appdlant shall file arequest to prepare a bill of exceptionsin the office of the clerk of the
district court at the same time the natice of appedal isfiled. At the sametime, appellant shall ddiver a
copy of the request to the court reporter.

b. The request shall specifically identify each portion of the evidence and exhibits offered at
any hearing whichtheparty appealing bdievesmaterial toissues to be presented to the Supreme Court
for review. Thecourt reporter shall prepareonly those portions specified in the request for preparation
of the bill of exceptions. If the appellant intends to urge on appeal that a finding or conclusion is
unsupported by the evidence or is contrary to the evidence, the bill of exceptions must include all
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evidencerelevant to thefinding or conclusion. The appellant shall servea copy of the request upon the
appellee.

c. If the appellee believes additional evidence should beincluded in the bill of exceptions, the
appedlee shal, within 10 days after service of the request for bill of exceptionsfiled by the appdIant,
file a supplemental request for preparation of bill of exceptions. The request shall be filed with the
clerk of the district court, and a copy shall be ddivered smultaneously to the court reporter by the

appelee.

d. Thehill of exceptions shall containonly matters of evidenceor exhibits which arenecessary
for a determination of the issues on appeal.

e. Effective June 8, 2005, the per-page feeto whichacourt reporter is entitled, asprescribed
by the Supreme Court pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1140.09 and st forthin Rule 18 of the Rules
Relating to Official Court Reporters, shall be $3.25 per page for an original copy of a bill of
exceptions and 50 cents per page for each additional copy, with numbering to begin with the cover
page. Except in those cases where payment is to be made by a governmenta agency, the State of
Nebraska, or any political or governmental subdivision thereof, the court reporter shall advise
appellant of the approximate cost of the bill of exceptionsimmediately after receipt of the request for
preparation of thebill of exceptions. Appellant shall deposit the estimated cost withthe reporter within
14 days after receipt of the estimate. The court reporter shall retain the deposit in a separate trust
account until the bill of exceptions is filed with the clerk of the district court. When the bill of
exceptions is filed by the reporter, the reporter shall immediately refund any excess payment to the
appelant. If additional compensation is due the reporter, appellant shall pay the additional amount
within 10 days after receipt of a statement for the additional amount. A similar procedure shall be
followed if an appellee requests a supplementa hill of exceptions, with the appell ee being responsible
for payments.

f. The party requesting the preparation of the bill of exceptions may, at any time before the
bill of exceptions is completed by the court reporter, file with the clerk of the district court and serve
upon the court reporter a statement advising the court reporter that settlement has been reached. Upon
reced pt of such statement, the court reporter shall cease any further work upon thebill of exceptions.
The court reporter shall be entitled to payment by the party ordering such bill of exceptions for the
work performed up to the time that such notice was served upon the court reporter, and rules with
regard to payment of the fees to the court reporter for the bill of exceptions, as otherwise provided
herein, shall apply.

(2) Ddivey of Copy of Request. The clerk of the district court shall ddiver a copy of each request
filed, with attachments and endorsements thereon, to the Clerk of the Supreme Court, together with the notice
of appedl.

COMMENT
It is the responsibility of the attorney or pro se party to deliver a copy of the request to the court reporter.

(3) Preparation and Ddivery by Reporter.

a. Thebill of exceptions shall befiled with the clerk of the district court as soon as possible.
The bill of exceptions must be filed within the following time limits unless an extension of time is
approved by the Supreme Court in accordance with theserules:

Civil casesor criminal trials ............... 7 weeks
Guilty or nolo contendere pleas ........... 3weeks
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Preparation of the bill of exceptions shall commence from the date the natice of appeal is filed with
the clerk of the district court. The clerk shall serve a copy of the notice of appeal on the reporter
forthwith.

b. In each case appedled to the Supreme Court, the reporter shall prepare an original of the
bill of exceptions; the original, together with all documentary and other evidence, shall befiled with
the clerk of the district court. Thereporter may retain the bill of exceptions until the deposit is made
in compliance with Rule 5B(1)e.

(i) Thereporter shall prepare one or more write-protected 3%2-inch computer disks, DVD's,
or CD’s containing the bill of exceptions, exclusive of exhibits, with line and page numbers
corresponding to those of the original bill of exceptions. Such disks, DVD’s, or CD’s shall be
formatted in Microsoft Word, or, if such formatting cannot be accomplished, in ASCI | text (standard)
or (stripped). An adhesive label shall be affixed to each computer disk legibly identifying the case
caption, docket and pageor casenumbers, disk number (1 of 2, etc.), theformat utilized, and thename
of the reporter. Thefirst line of the label shall beleft blank. DVD’s and CD’ s shall be marked in an
appropriate manner with the sameinformation as that required abovefor disks. Thereporter shall mail
such disks, DVD'’s, or CD’ s and a photocopy of the cover page of VVolume 1 of thebill of exceptions
to the Clerk of the Supreme Court on the date when the bill of exceptions isfiled in the district court.
The bill of exceptions text may also be transmitted to the Clerk of the Supreme Court via e-mail
attachment sent to NSCBOE @nsc.state.ne.us and shall meet the formatting gui delines set out above.
The subject line of such e-mail transmission shall include the case name, trial court number, and
Supreme Court or Court of Appeals case number, if available. Regardless of the transmission option
utilized, each transmission shall be limited to a single bill of exceptions. Such disks, DVD’s, CD'’s,
or e-mail attachments shall be for the exclusive use of the Supreme Court and authorized court
personnel.

(ii) Any reporter who lacks the technol ogical capability to comply with paragraph (3)b(i) of
thisrule shall include in the bill of exceptions a separate certificate so stating.

c. If thereporter isunableto prepare and certify abill of exceptions, or if abill of exceptions
cannot be prepared and certified under provisions contained elsewhere in these rules, the bill of
exceptions shall be prepar ed under the direction and supervision of thetrial judge and shall becertified
by the judge and ddivered to the clerk of thedistrict court.

d. Upon receipt of thebill of exceptions, thederk of thedistrict court shall forthwithfileit and
notify all parties or their attorneys of record and the Clerk of the Supreme Court of the date of such
filing. When filed with the clerk of thedistrict court, such bill of exceptions becomes the official hill
of exceptionsin the case and shall not be altered or marked inany fashion or be disassembled for any
purpose. Theclerk of thedistrict court shall file the bill of exceptionsin the office of the Clerk of the
Supreme Court within 5 days after a case has been placed on the Supreme Court's proposed call for
argument, or at such earlier time asthe Clerk of the Supreme Court may request.

(4) Extension of Timefor Preparation of Bill of Exceptions.

a. Whereanbill of exceptions has been ordered according to law and these rules by thetimely
filing of arequest, and the reporter is unable to prepare and file the bill of exceptions with the clerk
of thedistrict court within thetimesfixed by Rule 5B (3), the Supreme Court may grant additional time
for preparation of the bill of exceptions.
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b. A request for additiona time for preparation of the bill of exceptions may be made by any
party to the action. The request shall be made either by motion, which must be submitted to the
Supreme Court as provided in Rule 6, or by the stipulation of all parties to the action. The motion or
stipulation must be accompanied by theoriginal copy of the affidavit of thecourt reporter setting forth
the following information:

(i) the work performed in court since the receipt of the request on which extension is being
requested;

(i) the number of requests on hand on the date of receipt of the request on which extension
is being requested;

(iii) the estimated total pages comprising the bill of exceptions, together with the number of
pages completed as of the date the extension is requested;

(iv) the amount of time spent on clerical or stenographic duties for the appointing judge;
(v) the hours and dates spent in the perf ormance of work for other than the appointing judge;
(vi) any illnesses or family emergencies contributing to the need for the requested extension;

(vii) any vacation time used since the receipt of the request on which extension is being
requested; and

(viii) themethod of preparingthebill of exceptions; eg., prepared by thereporter, note-reader
used, or dictated by thereporter and prepared by a typist.

c. A request for extension must be made not later than 7 days prior to the expiration of the
time originally prescribed, or not later than 7 days prior to the expiration of an extension previoudy
granted. Each such request shall bear the approval of the appointing judge. A first extension will not
be routinely granted.

d. Except for exceptional cause, no more than one 2-week extension of the time originaly
prescribed will be granted.

(5) Amendments to the Bill of Exceptions. The parties in the case may amend the bill of exceptions

by written agreement to be attached to the bill of exceptionsat any time prior to thetimethe caseis submitted
to the Supreme Court. Proposed amendments not agreed to by all the parties to the case shall be heard and
decided by the district court after such notice as the court shall direct. The order of thedistrict court thereon
shall beattached to the bill of exceptions prior to thetime the caseis submitted to the Supreme Court. Hearings
with respect to proposed amendments to a bill of exceptions may be held at chambers anywhere in the sate.
If the judge shall have ceased to hold office, or shall be prevented by disability from holding the hearing, or
shall be absent from the state, such proposed amendments shall be heard by the successor judge, or by another
district judgeinthedistrict, or by a district judgein an adjoining judicial district.

(6) Form of theBill of Exceptions.

a. Thebill of exceptions shall have an index, which shall be thefirst item in the first volume.
The index shall show:
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(i) each witness in the order called, and for whom called, and the initial page of the direct,
cross, redirect, and recross examination,

(if) motions to dismiss or to ingtruct a verdict and any other motions of major import, and
stipulations, together with the rulings of the court thereon, and the page or pageswheremadeand ruled
on, and

(iii) all exhibits, with adescription, and the initial page where marked, offered, ruled on, and
found.

b. The certificate of the court reporter shall immediately follow the index in thefirst volume
of the bill of exceptions.

c. The paper used inthe bill of exceptions shall be 8%z by 11 inchesand of suitable weight and
quality asto maketheprinting thereon easily legible If computer-generated, thebill of exceptionsshall
be in not smaller than 12-point Courier, Aria or Helvetica, or Times or Times New Roman font,
double spaced, with not less than 12 points of leading. If typewritten, the bill of exceptions shall be
double spaced, using nothing smaller than 12-paoint type. Each volume shal be bound on the lefthand
sdewith @ther awire or a plagtic spira. The pages, no matter how many volumes, shall be numbered
consecutively, and no volume shall contain over 250 pages. If the record is of such sizethat it requires
more than one volume, then al volumes shall be as nearly of equal size as possible. Each page of the
bill of exceptions shall have line numbersin the left-hand margin from 1 to 25, inclusive, and thelines
of typing shall be placed to correspond therewith. No margin line shall exceed ¥z inch from the
righthand edge of the page. Thefull name of each witness and whether the examinationisdirect, cross,
or further examination shall be stated at the top of each page of the witness testimony. Each volume
must be an original copy and must have a cover and back; the cover shall be of flexible and the back
of rigid material. Exhibits are to be marked in numerical order, irrespective of the party producing
them, and shall show the date on which they were marked. T he sequential numbering of exhibits shall
beginwith thefirst hearing held in the case and continue until final disposition. The same number shall
not be given to more than one exhibit in any case. If the pages of amultipageexhibit are nat otherwise
numbered, the reporter shall number the pages in sequence and shall in all instances mark such an
exhibit so asto indicate the number of pages it contains. Ordinarily, exhibits or papers contained in
thehill of exceptions should be placed in the record immediately foll owing wherethey areruled on by
the court. If exhibits are frequently referred to in the testimony, they should beinserted in therecord
in such amanner asto be easily removed; for instance, by placing them in an attached envelope. If the
exhibitsare of such character or so numerous that toinsert them in any volume containing testimony
would make the volume cumbersome and difficult to handle whilereading, then such exhibits should
be contained in a separate volume. If exhibits are of such character that they cannot beinsertedin a
bound volume, then they should separately accompany the record. Whether in separate volumes or
separately accompanying the record, all exhibits should beproperly identified as part of therecord in
thereporter'scertificate. Except for documents, which termincludes photographsand taped video and
sound recordings, the bill of exceptions shall contain noitemof physical evidence. Theterm " physical
evidence' means any nondocumentary itemsas defined above and includes, but is not limited to, items
such as weagpons, contraband, wearing apparel, models, money, and body fluids. The party offering
any nondocumentary item of physical evidence shall subgtitutetherefor a photograph, nat larger than
8% by 11v5 inches, which fairly and accurately depicts the item. If the party offering an item of
nondocumentary evidence fails to provide a suitable substitute photograph, the court reporter shall
causeoneto be made at the offering party's expense. The court reporter shall in all instances preserve
the nondocumentary item of physical evidence and shall make it available to the Supreme Court upon
request. Thebill of exceptions shall bevisually neat. No typing errors or corrections shall be unduly
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noticeable. All corrections and additions shall be on the same line as the rest of the typed ling; no
insertion is permitted in the space between two lines of type. Corrections shall not be written in.

(7) Video and Audio Exhibits and Depositions in the Nebraska Supreme Court.

a. Video exhibits and video depositions may be submitted to the court on either videotape or
DVD. The court shall maintain video equipment capable of playback of VHS videotape and
DVD-Video.

(i) The standard videotape for the Nebraska Supreme Court shall be VHS. If any other
videotape, e.g., Beta, ispresented to the court asan exhibit or depositionwhichisnot ableto beplayed
back on VHS equipment, the party submitting the videotape shall provide at hisor her own expense
the appropriate equipment for playback.

(i) DVD's shall be created in a manner which will allow playback on standard DVD-Video
players and the format used to create the DVD, e.g., .mpeg, .avi, .mov, etc., must be stated on the
DVD. If a DVD is presented to the court as an exhibit or deposition which is not able to be played
back on the court's DV D-Video equipment, the party submitting the DVD shall provide at his or her
own expense the appropriate equipment for playback.

b. Audio exhibitsand depositionsmay be submitted to the court on a cassette tape or an Audio
CD or CD-R in either . mp3 or .wav format. The court shall maintain equipment capable of audio
playback of cassette tapes and Audio CD's and CD-R'sin.mp3 or .wav format. If any other type of
audio recording is presented to the court which cannot be played back on the equipment maintained
by the court, the party submitting the audio recording shall provide at his or her own expense the
appropriate equipment for playback.

(8) Delivery of the Bill of Exceptionsto the Supreme Court; Certain Evidence Excluded. Upon request
by counsel or the Clerk of the Supreme Court, the clerk of the district court shall send bound volumes and
exhibits of the bill of exceptionsto the Clerk of the Supreme Court. The clerk of thedistrict court shall not be
required to send any exhibitswhich may not be sent by United Parcel Service or the U.S. mail. It shall bethe
duty of the party wishing such exhibit, or an exhibit which is large and cumbersome, to be brought to the
Supreme Court to arrange and pay for transporting the exhibit to the Supreme Court Clerk and to arrange and
pay for returnthereof to the clerk of the district court; provided, however, that if arequest for such an exhibit
is made by the Supreme Court, the appellant shall arrange and pay for transporting the exhibit to the Supreme
Court Clerk and to arrange and pay for return thereof to the clerk of the district court. Under no circumstances
shall theclek of thedistrict court send to the Clerk of the Supreme Court contraband, drugs, firearms, or other
weapons, unless specifically requested to do so by the Supreme Court.

(9) Applicahility to Apped sFrom Tribunals Other Than District Court. Theserules shall apply to all
appealsand error proceedingswhere specific provisonisnot madeby law for abill of exceptions. Any reporter
approved by the court, board, or tribunal fromwhich the appeal or error proceedings is taken may attend and
recordthetrial or proceedingsand prepareanbill of exceptions, certified to betrueand completeby thereporter,
and file the same with the chief clerical officer of such court, board, or tribunal. Proposed amendments not
agreed to shall be heard and determined by such court, board, or tribunal as provided in Rule 5B(5). The
completed bill of exceptionsshall befiledinthereviewing court within thetimeprovided by law and, if notime
befixed, before the case is submitted to the reviewing court.

(20) Bills of Exceptions From Other Tribunals Filed in District Court. The clerk of the district court
shall promptly forward any bill of exceptions from another tribunal filed in the district court to the court
reporter serving thedistrict court judgeto whom the case is assigned. Said reporter shall review the bill of
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exceptions for the purpose of determining whether it has been prepared in compliance with Rule 5B(6). If in
the opinion of the reporter the bill of exceptions has not been so prepared, the reporter shall advise the judge
to whom the case is assigned for such action as the judge deems appropriate.

(11) Criminal Cases. Inall criminal cases where adef endant shall feel himsdf or herself aggrieved by
any decision of the district court, he or shemay order abill of exceptions, and the ordering, preparing, signing,
filing, correcting, and amending thereof shall begoverned by therules establishedin such mattersin civil cases.
Incriminal caseswherethe sentenceiscapital punishment, the clerk of thedistrict court inwhichthe conviction
was had shall notify the court reporter, who shall prepare the bill of exceptions as expeditioudy as possble,
butinnoevent to exceedthetimelimitati onsprescribed in Rule5B(3)a, unlessan extension for such later filing
is granted by the Supreme Court.

(12) Statement of Cost. The certificate of the reporter shall include a statement of the cost of the bill
of exceptions and a showing that such amount is one permitted to be charged by Rule5B(1)eand Neb. Ct. R.
of Official Ct. Rptrs. 18.

(13) Case Stated. Thepartiesmay by agreement state the case to be presented to this court on appeal.
The case stated shall briefly recite the facts out of which the questions of law arise, and also any subgantial
conflict in the evidence as to any fact involved. It shal separately identify and quote the rulings of the court
complained of, with so much of the record aswill fully show thelaw question involved in such ruling and the
exceptions and contentions of the partiesthereon. The case stated shall constitute thebill of exceptions. It must
be alowed and certified by the judge who tried the case, filed with the clerk of the district court, made a part
of therecord of thedistrict court asin other cases, and included therein when thetranscript of therecordisfiled
in this court.

Rules 5C(1) and 5K amended May 28, 1992; Rule 5F(3) amended November 25, 1992; Rule5A (2) amended February 18, 1993; Rule 5F(3) amended May 26, 1993; Rules 5J, K,
L, and M amended September 14, 1994; Rule 5 amended in its entirety February 1, 1995; Rule 5B(6)c amended September 25, 1996; Rule 5B(3)b amended September 20, 2000;
Rule 5B(3)(b)(i) amended June 5, 2002; Rule 5B(3)(d) amended Dec. 22, 2004; Rule 5B (1)e and Rule 5(12) amended June 22, 2005; Rule 5B (3)b and 5B (7) amended October
26, 2005; Rule 5B(3)b(i) amended January 19, 2006; Rule 5B(3)b(i) amended February 23, 2006; Rule 5B(6)c amended March 22, 2006.

6. MOTIONS GENERALLY.

A. Mations Not Covered. Mations for summary disposition and mations for rehearing are covered in Rules 7
and 13 respectively, and are not covered by this rule.

B. Form. All maotions shall be typewritten on 8Y2 by 11-inch paper. Type shall be 12-point and shall be
double- or 1v2-spaced.

C. Content. A motion shall st forth the rdief requested and must:

(1) Be agreed to by opposing counsel in the form of a stipulation; or

(2) Besubmitted to thecourt for decision 14 daysafter it isfiled with the Supreme Court Clerk or after
serviceupon oppos ng counsd , whichever islater. Any responseto the motion must beinwriting and filed prior
to the submission date.
D. Filing and Service of Motions. An original and one copy of the motion and proof of service shall befiled

with the Supreme Court Clerk and a copy shall be served upon the opposing party or the attorney of record.
Service and proof of service may be made as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 25-534.
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E. Oral Argument. No oral argument is permitted on any motion except as may be ordered by the Supreme
Court; in such event, ord argument shall be limited to 5 minutes per side.

F. Motions for Extension of Brief Date.

(1) No extension of brief datewill be allowed in any advanced case (see Rule 11B(2)) except upon a
showing of exceptional cause.

(2) For cases which are not advanced, the procedures contained in Rule 6C and D shall be followed.
Any request for extension of brief date beyond the first 30-day extension must be supported by a showing of
good cause. Neither the stipulation of the parties nor the press of other business constitutes good cause.

See appendices 1 and 2 for form.

G. Waiver Acceptable. Opposing counsel may waive notice, hearing, and objections to a motion.

H. Briefs. Complex motions may be accompanied by a typewritten brief. The brief may bein memorandum
form. If a brief isfiled in support of amotion, an original and seven copies of the motions and the brief shall
befiled together.

Rule 6D amended May 28, 1992; Rule 6D amended May 29, 1997; Rule 6B amended March 22, 2006.

7. SUMMARY DISPOSITIONS.

A. Summary Disposition on the Supreme Court's Own Mation.

COMMENT
Parties may not request disposition under this section of thisrule.

(1) When the court determines that any one or more of the following circumstances exist and are
dispositive of the case submitted to the court for decision:

a. thejudgment is based on findings of fact which are not clearly erroneous;

b. the evidence in support of a jury verdict is not insufficiert;

c. the judgment or order is supported by substantia evidence in the record as a whole; or
d. no eror of law appears;

and the court also determinesthat a detailed opinion would have no precedential value, the judgment or order
will be affirmedin the following manner: "AFFIRMED. Seerule 7A(1)."

(2) When the court determines it lacks jurisdiction the appea will be dismissed in the following
manner: "APPEAL DISMISSED. Seerule 7A(2)."

(3) Whenthe court determinesthat grounds may exist for summary reversa of the order or judgment
appealed from, such as a prior controlling appd late decision which isdispositive of the appeal or aclear error
of law exists, thecourt may summarily reverseor reverseand remand. Such disposition may occur only after
an order to show cause has issued, citing the appellate decision or law deemed controlling, and the parties have
been provided an adequate opportunity to respond.
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B. Mations for Summary Dismissal or Affirmance.

(1) A motion to dismiss for lack of jurisdiction may be filed at any time after an appeal has been
docketed. Such amotion shall document the claimed lack of jurisdiction by citationsto the dispositive portions
of the record and to the controlling statutory and case law.

(2) A motion to affirm on the ground that the questions presented for review are so unsubstantial as
not to require argument may befiled after the appellant's brief has beenfiled or thetimefor filing has expired.
Such a motion shall document the claimed lack of substance of the questions presented by citations to the
dispositive portions of the record and to the controlling statutory and case law.

(3) Whereappropriate, amotion to affirm may be joined, in theaternative, with amotionto dismiss.

(4) The appellant may file written objections opposing the motion within 10 days from the date of
service of the motion.

(5) Upon the filing of objections or the expiration of time allowed therefor, or express waiver of the
right to file, a motion for summary disposition shall be considered submitted.

(6) Motionsfor summary dismissal or affirmance must be typewritten on 8%2- by 11-inch paper.

(7) The motion and proof of service shall befiled with the Supreme Court Clerk and a copy shall be
served upon all other parties or the attorneys of record. Service and proof of service may be made as provided
inNeb. Rev. Stat. § 25-534. An original and three copies of any motion, objections, or supporting briefs shall
be filed.

(8) Thetime for filing briefs under Rule 9 is not extended by the filing of a motion for summary
dismissa or affirmance.

See appendix 3 for form.
C. Stipulation of Parties for Summary Reversal.

(1) At any time after an appeal hasbeen docketed the parties may file a stipulation that grounds exist
for summary reversd of the order or judgment appealed from, such as a prior contralling appellate decision
which is dispositive of the appeal or the existence of a dear error of law. The stipulation must cite the
appellate decision or law deemed to be controlling and must be executed by al the parties to the appeal.

(2) Stipulations for summary reversal must be submitted on 8% by 11-inch paper and otherwise
conform to the requirements set forth in subsection B(6), (7), and (8) above.

D. Suggestion of Mootness in Prison Disciplinary and Postconviction Relief Appeals.

(1) It istheduty of all parties to an apped of a prison disciplinary procedure governed by Neb. Rev.
Stat. § 83-4,109 & seq., at all times during the course of an appeal, to inform the appdlate court that the
defendant is no longer in custody under sentence and that, therefore, the issue of the prison disciplinary
procedure is moot.

Itistheduty of all partiesto an gppeal of a postconviction relief action governed by Neb. Rev. Stat.
§ 29-3001 et seg., at dl times during the course of an appeal, to inform the appellate court that the defendant
isno longer in custody under sentence, which could render the issue of the postconviction relief action moat.
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(2) Form.

a. If any party determinesthat theissueof the prison disciplinary procedure or postconviction
relief action has been rendered moot, the party shall so advise the court by filing a "suggestion of
mootness” in the form of a motion to dismiss on the ground that the question presented is moat.

b. The opposing party or parties may file written objections opposing the motion within 10
days from the date of service of the motion.

c¢. Upon the filing of objections or the expiration of time allowed therefor, or express waiver
of theright tofile, amation for summary disposition on the grounds of mootness shall be considered
submitted.

d. Mations for summary disposition on the grounds of mootness must be submitted on 8%%-
by 11-inch pape and otherwise conform to filing requirements.

e. The mation and proof of service shall be filed with the Supreme Court Clerk and a copy
shall be served upon all other parties or the attorneys of record. Serviceand proof of service may be
made asprovided in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-534. Anoriginal and seven copies of any mation, objections,
or supporting briefs shall be filed.

f. Thetimefor filing briefsunder Rule 9is not extended by thefiling of a moti on for summary
disposition on the grounds of mootness.

Rule 7B(1) amended August 25, 1993; Rule 7C adopted January 23,1997; Rule 7B (7) amended M ay 29, 1997; Rule 7A(3) adopted September 19, 2001; Rule 7C amended to Rule
7D September 19, 2001; Rule 7C adopted September 19, 2001.

8. DISMISSAL OF APPEAL.
A. Parties. An appeal may be dismissed by the appellant or appellants.
B. Form. The motion to dismiss must be in such typewritten form as provided in Rule 6B.

C. Service. A motion to dismiss must be served upon the attorney or attorneys of record for al other parties,
and must contain proof of such service.

See appendix 3 for form.

D. Timefor Response of Appdlees. A motion to dismiss filed by appdlant will be submitted to the court 14
days after itisfiled with the Supreme Court Clerk or after service upon oppos ng counsdl, whichever islater.
Appellee's regponse to the motion must be made within 14 days. Any party having a right of cross-appeal at
the time the motion to dismiss is filed may, within the 14-day period provided in this rule, file a notice of
intention to cross-appeal. Upon the filing of such notice, the court shall deny the mation to dismiss and shall
fix a brief day for the cross-appelant. The cause shall then proceed as if the apped had originally been
perfected by the appellee who has cross-apped ed.

E. Dismissd by Agreement. All parties may agreeto the dismissal of the appeal. In that event, appdlees may
waive objection to the motion to dismiss, or a stipulation may be filed instead of a motion.
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9. BRIEFS.

A. Timefor Filing. The briefslisted below must be filed within the times stated in therules. Briefsin support
of motions are described in Rules 6, 7, and 13. Requests for additional time to file briefs must be made in
accordance with the provisions of Rule 6. NO EXTENSIONS OF TIME WILL BE ALLOWED IN
ADVANCED CASES EXCEPT UPON A SHOWING OF EXCEPTIONAL CAUSE.

(1) Appellant's briefs must be served and filed as follows:

a. No reguest for preparation of bill of exceptionsfiled: 2 months from the date the appeal is
filed in the Supreme Court.

b. Request for preparation of bill of exceptions filed: 1 month after the date the bill of
exceptionsis dueto be filed.

(2) Appellegsbrief must be served and filed within 1 month after appellant has served andfiled briefs.
If service of appdlant's brief is by mail, 3 days are added to allow for ddivery time. (See Neb. Rev. Stat.
§ 25-534.)

(3) Appdlant'sreply brief must be served and filed within 14 days after appellee has served and filed
briefs, 3 days are added if service of appelle€'s brief is by mail.

(4) Briefs of amicus curiae may not befiled without leave of court. (See Rule 6.) Leave tofile amicus
briefs shall not be considered within 20 days of oral argument.

(5) A motionfor rehearing and brief in support must befiled in the office of the Supreme Court Clerk
within 10 days after the release of the opinion of the court or the entry of the order of the court disposing of
the appeal. Any response to the mation for rehearing must be filed in the office of the Supreme Court Clerk
within 10 days after the motion for rehearing and brief in support is filed. An original and 10 copies of said
motion for rehearing and brief in support or response to the motion for rehearing are required to be filed in
Court of Apped s cases, and an original and 16 copies are required in Supreme Court cases. See Rule 13 for
the form and content of a motion for rehearing.

(6) If rehearing is granted in a case, the parties may file additiona briefs at least 1 week prior to
reargument or other submission to the court. See Rule 11.

(7) Briefs in advanced cases are due as provided by these rules or as ardered by the court.
B. Form.

(1) Printed briefs shall be produced on unglazed white book paper on pages 6%z inches wide and 9%
incheslong, trimmed size The printed matter shall beblack in color, 4 incheswideand 7 incheslong. Thetype
used may be 11 or 12 point with lines leaded 2 points, except in quotations which may beleaded 1 point. Type
may be underscored, italicized, or boldfaced for emphasis. The use of footnotes is not permitted. The brief
shall have a cover, which may be of heavier stock than the rest of the brief.

(2) Computer-generated or typewritten briefs may befiled in any case on unglazed, white, 8% by 11-
inch paper of at least 16 pound weight and shall be securely bound by a single staple in the upper left-hand
corner only. The print on such briefs shall be black in color, shall be on only one side of each shedt, and may
be mechanically reproduced on uncoated white paper by any method which providesa clear and distinct image
of thetype. Type may be underscored, italicized, or boldfaced for emphasis. Quoted material of 50 words or
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more shall be indented five spaces from the left margin. A page shall contain not more than 25 lines, and
margins shall beat least 1 inch at the sides, top, and bottom. The use of programs which condense the space
between letters or words is not permitted. The use of footnotes is not permitted. Brief covers shall not be of
greater weight than the paper within the brief and shall have adull finish, alowing the ink to penetrate.

a. Computer-generated briefs shall bein not less than 12-point Courier, Arial or Helvetica,
or Timesor Times New Roman font, double spaced, with not less than 12 points of leading.

b. Typewritten briefs shall be in nothing smaller than 12-point type and double spaced.

(3) The cover shall show the Supreme Court number, the case caption listing the plaintiff first
(regardless of whois appdlant), the county from which the case was brought, the name of thetrial judge, the
name, address, city, state, zip code, telephone number, e-mail address, and Nebraska attorney identification
number of the attorney filing the brief (the name of the law firm, if any, may also appear), and the name of the
party for whom the brief is filed. If a party or parties represent themselves, it shal contain the above
information except for the identification number. The cover of the brief shall serve as the title page, and no
additional title page may be contained within the brief.

(4) The color of the brief covers shall be:
a. Appellant, or plaintiff in an original action,--gray (samefor reply brief);
b. Appellee, or defendant in an original action,--tan; and
c. Amicus--white.

(5) Briefs may not exceed the following page lengths: original submission (combined total of
appelant's brief, reply brief, and answer brief to cross-appeal, or combined total of appellegs brief, brief on
cross-appeal, and reply brief to answer brief on cross-appeal), 50 pages; motions for rehearing and amicus
curiae, 15 pages. These page limitations are exclusive of the cover; the table of contents, the table of cases,
statutes, and authorities; and the certificate of mailing, but inclusive of all other pagesand materials, including
appendixes, indices, exhibits, and other documents of any nature, character, kind, or description whatsoever.

(6) Service of two copies of the brief shall be made either on the opposing party or the attorney of
record for the party and upon all other parties participating in the appeal. Service may be made either by
personal service or by regular, certified, or registered mail. Proof of service may be shown by the affidavit of
the person making service or by the receipt of the party or attorney served.

(7) An original and 16 copies of Supreme Court briefs and an original and 10 copies of Court of
Appesals briefs, together with proof of service, shall befiled in the office of the Supreme Court Clerk on or
before the date the brief is due.

C. General Rules for Preparation of Briefs. In the preparation of the brief, thefollowing general rules shall be
observed:

(1) References to the transcript shall be made by setting forth in parentheses the capital letter "T"
followed by the page of the transcript, as, for example, (T26). In original actions, references shall bemadeto
the pleading and page thereof.

(2) References to questions, answers, objections, motions, rulings, or any other matters found in the
bill of exceptions shall be made by setting forth in parentheses the numbered page and line in the bill of
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exceptions wherefound, as, for example, (156:12). The number preceding the colon should represent the page
of the bill of exceptions where found, and the number following the colon, theline.

(3) References to exhibits in the bill of exceptions shall be made by setting forth in parentheses the
capital letter E, followed by the number of the exhibit, followed by a comma and the page of the exhibit on
which the material to which reference is made appears, followed by a colon and the page of the bill of
exceptions where the exhibit was offered and received or refused, followed by a comma and the page where
the exhibitis found, as, for example, (E5,3:92, 95). References to documents not in thebill of exceptions but
nonethe ess subject to review by the Supreme Court, such as a presentence investigation report, shall identify
the document, followed by a comma and the page on which the material to which referenceis made appears,
as, for example, (Presentence Investigation Report, p. 75).

(4) Every referenceto areported caseshall set forth thetitl ethereof, thevolume and page wherefound,
the tribunal deciding the case, and the year decided. If the cited opinionislong, it shall also refer to the page
where the pertinent portion of the opinion is found. Nebraska cases shall be cited by the Nebraska Reports
and/or Nebraska Appe late Reports, but may include citation to such other reportsas may contain such cases.

(5) If acurrent statuteis relied upon, it must be cited from the last published revision or compilation
of the statutes, or supplement thereto, if contained therein; if not contained therein, to the session lawswherein
contained, or the legidative bill as enacted.

(6) Citations to textbooks, encyclopedias, and other works shall give the title, edition, year of
publication, volume number, section, and page where found.

D. Content of Briefs.

(1) Thebrief of appellant, or plaintiff in anoriginal action, shall contain the foll owing sections, under
appropriate headings, and in the order indicated:

a. Thetitle page, which isthe cover;

b. A table of contents with page references, and an alphabetically arranged table of cases,
statutes, and other authorities cited, with references to the pages of the brief where cited;

c. A dtatement of the basis of jurisdiction of the appellate court. The jurisdictional statement
must identify the statute, court rule, or case law believed to confer jurisdiction onthe Supreme Court
or Court of Apped s, saterd evant facts establishing why the judgment or order sought to be reviewed
is an appealable order, and further must include the following information:

(i) the date of entry of the judgment or order sought to be reviewed;

(ii) the date of filing of any motion claimed to toll the time within which to appeal, the
dispodtion of such motion, and the date of entry of the order disposing of it;

(iii) the date of filing of the notice of appeal, and the date of depositing of the docket fee or
date of the granting of the order to proceed in forma pauperis, and;

(iv) if theorder sought to be reviewed adjudicates fewer than all the claims, or therightsand
liahiliti es of fewer than dl the parties, thejuri sdictional Satement mugt recitethelanguage of thelower
court's order providing the basis for such interlocutory appeal or otherwise identify the statute, court
rule, or case law authorizing such interlocutory appeal.
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d. A statement of the case, which, in original actions, shall state the issues before the court.
Except inoriginal actions, the statement of the case shall contain the following, in the order indicated:
(1) Thekind of action or nature of the case; (2) theissues actually tried in the court below; (3) how
theissues were decided and what judgment or decreewas entered by thetrial court; and (4) the scope
of the Supreme Court's review;

e. A separate, concise satement of each error a party contends was made by thetrial court,
together with the issues pertaining to the assignments of error. Each assignment of eror shall be
separ ately numbered and paragraphed, bearing in mind that consideration of the casewill be limited
to errors assigned and discussed. The court may, at its option, notice a plain error not assigned,

f. Propositions of law shall be contained in separate, numbered paragraphs, and shall state
concisely and without argument or elaboration the legal propositions urged as controlling. Only
propositions discussed in the argument shall be gated. Each proposition of law shall befollowed by
alist of supporting authorities. Preferencein citation shall be given to thoseauthorities deemed most
important. Authorities cited under any proposition must be quoted or otherwise discussed in the
argumert;

g. The statement of facts shall be madein narrativeform, and shall consist of so much of the
substance of therecord asis necessary to present thecase. Each and every recitation of fact, whether
in the statement of facts or e sawhere in the brief, shall be annotated to the record in the manner set
forth in part C of thisrule; and

h. The argument shall present each question separately, and shall present each proposition of
law as best sets forth the contentions of the party. Authoritiesrelied upon shall be quoted or otherwise
discussed. A party may makesuchfurther statements of fact or quotations from therecord as deemed
necessary to properly present the question, supporting such facts by appropriate references to the
record.

(2) Thebrief of appellee, or defendant in an original action, shall contain the following matters, in the
order indicated:

a. Table of contents and table of cases cited;

b. A statement of the basis of jurisdiction of the appellate court, if appellant's statement is not
accepted as correct;

c. Statement of the case, if appdlant's statement thereof is not accepted as correct;

d. Propodtions of law;

e. Statement of facts, if appellant's statement is not accepted as correct or isamplified. Each
and every recitation of fact shall be annotated to the record in the manner set forth in part C of this
rule, no matter where in appellee's brief such recitation is made; and

f. Argument.

(3) If a party wishes to avail himsdf or hersdf of the provisions of the statute with reference to
remittitur, a special assignment of error may be madein the brief of appelleg, or a cross-appeal may be taken.
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(4) Wherethe brief of appellee presents a cross-appeal, it shall be noted on the cover of the brief and
it shall be set forth in a separate division of the brief. This division shall be headed "Brief on Cross-Appeal”
and shall be prepared in the same manner and under the same rules as the brief of appdlant.

(5) Thereply brief shall be prepared in the same manner as the brief of appellee. The answer of
appellant to any cross-appeal shall be set forth in a separate division of the reply brief and shal be headed
"Answer to Brief on Cross-Appeal,” and shall be noted on the cover of the brief.

(6) All rules for motionsfor rehearing may be found in Rule 13.

E. Cases Invalving Conditutional Questions. A party presenting a case involving the federal or state
constitutionality of astatute must file and serve aseparate written noticethereof with the Supreme Court Clerk
at the time of filing such party's brief. If the Attorney General isnat already a party to an action where the
congtitutionality of the statute is in issue, a copy of the brief assigning unconstitutionality must be served on
the Attorney General within 5 days of the filing of the brief with the Supreme Court Clerk; proof of such
service shall befiled with the Supreme Court Clerk.

F. Any person who claims the right under the law or a uniform course of practice to an attorney feeinacivil
case appeal ed to the Supreme Court or the Court of Appea smust filea motion for the allowance of such a fee
supported by an affidavit which justifies the amount of thefee sought for services in the appellate court. Such
amotion must befiled no later than 10 days after the release of the opinion of the court or theentry of the order
of the court disposing of the appeal, unless otherwise provided by statute. Any person filing a motion for
attorney fees beyond the 10-day time limit must include within the motion a citation to the statutory authority
permitting a filing beyond the time limit prescribed by this Rule. For purposes of this subsection an order of
the court disposing of the appeal shall include an order disposing of a motion for rehearing. A motion for
attorney feeswhich is timely filed in the Court of Appeals shall toll the time for filing a petition for further
review. See Rule 2F. An original and one copy of such motion and proof of service shall be filed with the
Supreme Court Clerk, and a copy shall be served upon the opposing party or theattorney of record. A court-
gppointed attorney in a criminal case, appealed to the Supreme Court or the Court of Appeals, may, after
issuance of a mandate by the appellate court, apply to the appointing court for an attorney fee regarding
servicesin the appeal.

Rule 9B(1), 9B (2)e, and 9B(5) amended March 25, 1992; Rule 9B (2)e amended April 22, 1992; Rule 9A(5) amended April 29, 1992; Rule 9A(2) amended May 28, 1992; Rule
9F amended July 1, 1992; Rule 9F amended November 25, 1992; Rule 9B(7) amended June 15, 1994; Rule 9A (5) and 9B(7) amended October 17, 1995. Rule 9B amended September
25, 1996; Rule 9B (1) amended November 20, 1996; Rules 9A and 9B(6) amended May 29, 1997; Rule 9A(4) amended March 17, 1999; Rule 9D(1) and (2) anended October 27,
1999, effective December 6, 1999; Rule 9F amended December 15, 1999; Rule 9B (3) amended June 6, 2001; Rule 9F amended November 15, 2001; Rule 9B(2)b amended M arch
22, 2006.

10. DEFAULT IN FILING BRIEFS.

A. Appdlant in Default - Failure to Filea Brief. If appe lant fails to file its brief within the time allowed by
these rules, the Supreme Court Clerk shall mail notice to all pro se parties and all attorneys of record that
appdlant isin default for failuretofileabrief andisrequired tofileabrief within 10 daysafter receipt of such
notice. Appdlant's failureto file a brief in response to the natice of default subjects the appeal to dismissal.

B. Appelleein Default. Where the appelant's brief has been properly served and filed, even if not withintime,
and an appellegsbrief has not been filed, appelleewill be cons dered in default and appellant may proceed ex
parte. If the appelleeisin default, and after notice to the appell e, the case will be placed on the proposed call
according to the original brief date of the appedlee
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C. Hearing Not Delayed. The hearing of a casewill not be delayed by default of either party in serving or filing
briefs, unless, for good cause shown, it is otherwise ordered.

Rule 10A amended May 28, 1992.

11. SCHEDULING, ARGUMENT, AND SUBMISSION.

A. General. Casesare eligiblefor submission at any time after the appellees brief hasbeenfiled. Thisrule sets
out the methods of scheduling casesfor submission, the various submission methods, and rules relating to oral
argumert.

B. Methods of Submission on the Merits.

(1) The court may order the submission of any case without ora argument. Cases to be submitted
without argument will be submitted immediately after thetimefor filing the appellant'sreply brief hasexpired.
The Supreme Court Clerk will notify counsel both when the order that the case be submitted without argument
is entered and at the time the case is actually submitted.

(2) Caseswhich are advanced are scheduled for ora argument as soon as the appellee's brief is due
to be filed, except that appeals in juvenile cases not involving § 43-247(1), (2), or (4) are scheduled for oral
argument as soon as the appellant’s brief is scheduled to befiled. The following categories of cases will be
advanced without motion:

a Criminal cases;

b. Workers' compensation cases;

¢. Unemployment compensation cases,

d. Questions certified by other courts;

e. Original actions;

f. Appesdls involving custody of minor children;

g. Appeals within original concurrent jurisdiction of the court;

h. Caseswhere a "case stated" has been prepared and filed by the parties;
i. Appedls from the Tax Equalization and Review Commission; and

j- Appeals from the Department of Natural Resources.

(3) Inall other cases, either party may file amotion with the court requesting that the case be advanced
for argument. A party seeking an advancement of oral argument shall filea showing in support of said motion
setting out thereasons said case should beadvanced for oral argument. Toensure proper scheduling, attorneys

arerequested to notify the Supreme Court Clerk by letter if the case should be advanced and advancement is
not obvious.
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(4) Cases which are not advanced are scheduled in the order in which the briefs of the appellee are
filed, not inthe order in whichthe caseswere docketed. Nonadvanced cases are scheduled in theargument slots
remaining after scheduling advanced cases.

C. Proposed Call. The proposed call is a list of cases ready for argument and likely to be scheduled for
argument duri ng the argument session shown. All advanced caseswill be scheduled unless continued, and most
nonadvanced cases are scheduled. The proposed call is prepared to allow attorneys to set aside time on their
schedules for argument. Cases on the proposed cal may not be continued unlessleaveis granted by the court.
A party may file an application for continuance, which must be accompanied by a showing of exceptional
cause. See Rule 6 for the form of the application.

D. Call. Thecall isthefina schedule of oral arguments for a specified session of the court. Cases are heard
intheorder listed. Caseswill not becontinued to another session of thecourt after scheduling on the call unless
leaveisgranted by the court. A party may file an application for continuance, which must be accompanied by
a showing of exceptional cause. See Rule 6 for the form of the application.

E. Oral Argument. The Supreme Court will hear oral argument as scheduled.

(1) Unless atherwise ordered by the court, oral argument shall not exceed 10 minutes per sidein any
civil or criminal case; provided, however, that whereacriminal defendant has been convicted of first or second
degree murder and the case at issueis adirect appeal from such conviction, oral argument shall not exceed 20
minutes pe side

(2) On the court's own motion or on application, additional time may be granted. An application, in
the form prescribed by Rule 6, must befiled within 10 daysafter the proposed call is mailed. Such application
must be accompanied by a showing of good cause.

(3) The court may further limit oral argument in any case. In such event, the Clerk of the Supreme
Court shall notify the parties of the time limit at the time the order is entered.

(4) No party will be permitted oral argument unless he or she has a brief on file. An amicus curiae
may, with the consent of aparty, request leaveto present oral argument onthe sideof that party withinthetime
allowed to that party for argument.

(5) Except where the penalty prescribed by law is life imprisonment or death, no oral argument is
dlowed in any criminal case:

a Where the accused entered a plea of guilty or no contest; or

b. Wherethe soleallegation of error isthat the sentenceimposed was excessive or excessively
lenient or the trial court refused to reduce the sentence upon application of the defendarnt.

c. Wherethe penalty prescribed by law islifeimprisonment or death, and subsection (a) and/or
(b) of this rule applies, ora argument shall not exceed 10 minutes per side unless otherwise ordered
by the court.

(6) Unless otherwise directed by the court, the parties may elect to waive oral argument and submit
acasesoldy onthebriefs.

F. Court of Appeals Oral Argument. Except in exigent circumstances, the Court of Appeals will hear oral
arguments in panels of three judges, as scheduled, in the Court of Appeals courtroom located in the State
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Capitol Building, or at other locations throughout the state as designated by the Chief Judge. Whenever any
member of a panel isnat ableto be present at the scheduled oral argument of a case, the case shall be deemed
submitted to that member on the record and briefs. If a member of a pand is unable for any reason to
participate after the case is submitted for decision, the Chief Judge shall appoint a substitute judge from the
Court of Appeals or, at the request of the Chief Judge, the Chief Justice may call an active or retired district
court judge to serve as a subgtitute judge, and the case shall be deemed submitted to the new member on the
record and briefs. Therulesreatingto oral argument shall bethesame as provided in Rule 11 E above, except
as may be modified by the Court of Appeals.

G. Bankruptcy. In a pending civil action before the Supreme Court, involving a party named as a debtor in a
bankruptcy petition:

(1) The party named as such debtor in bankruptcy, or any other party to the pending civil action having
knowledgeof bankruptcy proceedi ngs involving another party to the action pending before the Supreme Court,
shall, as soon as reasonably possible, notify the Supreme Court Clerk concerning the proceedings in
bankruptcy. The Supreme Court Clek will attempt to confirm the existence of such bankruptcy proceedings.
On confirmed existence of such bankruptcy proceedings, the proceedingsin the Supreme Court involving such
named debtor in bankruptcy shall be suspended immediately. TheSupremeCourt Clerk shall notify the parties
that the action has been suspended. An action so suspended shall be removed from the active docket of the
Supreme Court and shall remain suspended until order of the Supreme Court restoring the action to the active
docket of the court. If the Supreme Court Clerk is unable to confirm existence of the aleged proceeding in
bankruptcy, the parties shall be so informed, and compliance with Rule 11G(2) is then required.

(2) If the Supreme Court Clerk is unable to confirm the existence of a bankruptcy proceeding, as
provided in Rule 11G(1), the party named as a debtor in a bankruptcy petition, or any party to the action
having knowledge of the bankruptcy proceedings involving another party to an action pending before the
Supreme Court, shall filewith the Supreme Court Clerk a suggestion of bankruptcy and either acertified copy
of the bankruptcy petition or a copy of the caption sheet of the bankruptcy petition showing the case number,
the names of the parties, and thefiling stamp affixed by the clerk of the bankruptcy court.

(3) An action before the Supreme Court which involves a party as a named debtor in a bankruptcy
petition shall remain suspended as the result of the automatic stay imposed by 11 U.S.C. § 362 (1982) until
some party shows that relief from the automatic stay has been granted. A showing regarding relief from the
automatic stay shall include a detailed order, signed by the bankruptcy judge, which shall outline the relief
granted by the bankruptcy court and shall state that the action, involving a subject matter otherwise within the
jurisdiction of the bankruptcy court, may be prosecuted in the courts of the State of Nebraska. Such showing
in the Supreme Court shall be made by motion under Rule 6.

(4) If adebtor in bankruptcy isaparty to a proposed compromiseinvolving an appeal in the Supreme
Court, any party to such compromise shall provide the Supreme Court with a certified copy of the bankruptcy
judge'sapproval of the compromise, which order of approval shall statethat the proceduresof Fed. Bankr. R.
2002(a)(3) have been satisfied. After proof of such approval by thebankruptcy court, the Supreme Court may
take appropriate action regarding the matter which is the subject of the compromise involving the debtor in
bankruptcy as a party to an action pending in the Supreme Court.

Rule 11E and 11F amended M ay 28, 1992; Rule 11F amended March 31, 1999; Rule 11B(2)(i) amended M ay 17, 2000; Rule 11B(2) and (3), 11E(1), (5), and (5)(a) amended March
16, 2005; Rule 11E(5)(c) adopted March 16, 2005; Rule 11B(2)j amended November 22, 2006.
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12. OPINIONS.

A. Release of Written Opinions. The court will prepare awritten opinion in cases where the court believes
explanation of its decision isrequired or that the caseis of value as a precedent. Opinions are released as
ordered by the court.

B. CopiesMailed. A copy of each opinion will be mailed to all attorneys and pro se parties whose names and
addresses appear on briefs submitted in connection with a case.

C. Officid Version. The official opinion of the court shall be the final, edited version which appearsin the
bound volume of the Nebraska Reports.

13. MOTIONS FOR REHEARING.

A. Time. A motion for rehearing and brief in support must be filed within 10 days after the release of the
opinion of the court or the entry of the order of the court disposing of the appeal. A motion for rehearing is not
permitted following an order of the SupremeCourt denying apetition for further review. A motionfor rehearing
whichistimely filed in the Court of Appeals shall toll thetimefor filing apetition for further review. See Rule
2F. Anoriginal and 10 copiesof said motionfor rehearing and brief in support arerequired to befiled in Court
of Apped scases, and an original and 16 copiesarerequired to befiled in Supreme Court cases. An extension
of timetofilethebrief in support of themotion for renearing may berequested by foll owing the procedure set
out in Rule 6, except that every request must be accompanied by a showing of good cause.

B. Form of Motion. The motion for rehearing shall be typewritten on 8%2- by 11-inch paper, shall be double-
or 1¥-spaced, and shall use 12-point type.

C. Contentsof Motion. Themotion for rehearing need only notify the court that the party filing themotion asks
for arehearing.

D. Contents of Brief. The brief in support of themation for rehearing shall contain the following divisions, in
the order indicated:

(1) tables;

(2) assignments of error;

(3) propositions of law; and

(4) argument.
The assignments of error shall be set out in separate, numbered paragraphs, pointing out specificaly any
claimed mistakesor inaccuraciesin statements of fact or law in the opinion, and any questions invaved which
the court is claimed to have failed to consider on the appeal.
E. Form of Brief. The brief in support of the motion for rehearing shall be in the same form as provided for

all briefsin Rule 9B. Briefsinresponseto the motion for rehearing shall generally follow the form of the brief
in support of the motion for rehearing.
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F. Response. Partiesto the case not filing a motion for rehearing may respond to the motion for rehearing and
brief in support of themotion within 10 daysafter the motion for rehearing is filed. If no responsewill befiled,
parties may natify the Clerk of the Supreme Court inwriting, and the motion will be submitted immediately.

G. Filing and Service. Motions for rehearing shall befiled and served as provided in Rule 9B(6) and (7). An
original and 10 copies of the motion are required to befiled in Court of Appeals cases, and an original and 16
copies are required in Supreme Court cases.

H. Submission. Oral argumert is not permitted on a motion for rehearing. All motions for rehearing will be
submitted 11 daysafter the motion for rehearing isfiled or the due date of the response hasexpired, whichever
occursfirst, except as provided in Rule 13F.

I. Mandate. The mandate will not issue until the motion for rehearing has been acted upon, if briefs have been
filed, or until the date for filing briefsin support of the motion for rehearing has passed.

J. Pendlty for Delay. Any party filing a motion for rehearing who does not file the briefs in support of the
motion for rehearing by the due date may be assessed all costs of the action.

K. Original Actions. Where the error assigned is that the court erred as to the legal principles involved or in
its application of the law to thefacts, this rule shall apply, but asto all other assignments the mation must be
made as provided by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1143.

L. Briefs on Reargument. Either party may file additional briefs when reargument is ordered by the court.
Seventeen copies of each brief so prepared and served, together with proof of service, shall be filed in the
Supreme Court Clerk's office not less than 1 week before the case is submitted. These briefs will be taxed as
costs only if the court ordered thefiling of the briefs.

Rule 13 amended M ay 28, 1992; Rule 13G amended October 17, 1995; Rule 13A amended May 29, 1997; Rule 13A amended September 23, 1998; Rule 13A amended D ecember
15, 1999; Rule 13B amended March 22, 2006.

14. MANDATES AND TAXATION OF COSTS.
A. Mandates.

(1) Unless agreed by the partiesand ordered by the court, no mandate will issuein any case during the
timeallowed for thefiling of amotion for rehearing or petition for further review, or pending the consideration
thereof.

(2) Partiesdesiring to prosecute proceedingsto theUnited States Supreme Court, and desiring an order
staying the mandate, must make application within 7 days from the date of the filing of the opinion or other
dispositive entry. The gpplication must be accompanied by a written showing that a federal question is
involved. If a motion for rehearing is filed, the application and showing shdl be filed with the motion. If the
applicationis granted, the court may requirethe giving of bond as a condition therefor.

(3) A mation to recall a mandate must be filed in accordance with the provisions of Rule 6 of these
rules. Themotion must be accompanied by a showingthat no action has been taken on themandate by thetrial
court. The oppasing party may file objections to the motion to recall the mandate on or before the date of
submission of the motion.
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B. Costs.
(1) Thefollowing costs are taxed in the Supreme Court and are itemized on the mandate:
a. Fees (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 33-103);
b. Transcript preparation fees (only in cases where appdlant prevails);
c. Printing costs;
d. Attorney fees, and
e. Othe fees and costs as awarded by the court.

(2) The Supreme Court Clerk shall tax costsfor the following printed briefs whenfiled in accordance
with these rules: brief of each appellant; brief of each appellee; brief on cross-appeal; and only such portion
of reply brief asisin responseto the cross-apped . No costs shall betaxed for other briefs. The amount taxed
shall betheactua costs of printing, or $7.50 per page up to a maximum of 50 pages, whichever is lower. The
pagestaxed shall includethe cover (taxed astwo pages) and all index and appendix pages, aswell asnumbered
pages in the body of the brief. The printer shall submit proof of the actual printing costs at the time the brief
isfiled. Briefswhich are not timdy filed and are nat stricken from the record will not be taxed as costs.

(3) When unnecessary costs have been made by either party, thecourt may order thesame to betaxed
to the party making them, without ref erence to the disposition of the case.

(4) At the time the mandate is issued, the Supreme Court Clerk shall send astatement to counsel for
the costs which are dueto the other party. Payment for costs due isto be made in accordance with Neb. Rev.
Stat. § 25-1915.

COMMENT
Costswhich areto be paid to the opposing party must be paid to the clerk of the district court or originating tribunal, who then makespayment
to the appropriate party.

(5) A motion to retax costs may be filed in accordance with the provisions of Rule 6 if a party
disagrees with the taxation of costsin a case.

Rule 14A (1), 14B(1)a and 14B(4) amended May 28, 1992.

15. ORIGINAL ACTIONS.
A. How Commenced.
(1) An original action may not be commenced except by leave of court.

(2) Application for leave to commence an original action shall be made by filing with the Supreme
Court Clek a verified pdition setting forth the action. Applicant must also file with the clerk a statement
setting forth the basis of the court's jurisdiction and the reasons which make it necessary to commence the
action here. Seven copies of each must accompany the petition and the statement. No oral argument will be
permitted except as may be ordered by the court.

See appendix 4.

-1.27-



Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Rules - Procedural

B. Docketing the Case.

(1) All applications for leave of court to file an original action shall be recorded in an application
docket.

(2) Thedocke fee provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 33-103 and Rule 1G shall apply to the application
docket.

(3) If the court accepts the application as an original action, the case shall be transferred to the
Supreme Court docket. A second filing fee shal not be required.

Rule 15B(2) amended May 28, 1992.

16. RECORDS.

A. Records Checked Out. Transcripts and billsof exceptions may be checked out by counsd for not morethan
14 days. Counsel shall pay postagefor records mailed tother offices. Counsd may obtain an extension of time
for keeping the record in a case by sending a letter to the Supreme Court Clerk, setting forth the case number,
caption of the case, and a request to keep therecord for an additional 14 days. Counsel failing to return records
when requested by the Supreme Court Clerk may be penalized by appropriate sanctions, including suspension
of the privilege to check out records from the Clerk's office.

Any litigant isentitled to i nspect the original transcript and bill of exceptionsin hisor her case at the office of
the clerk of the trial court. Transcripts and bills of exceptions shall not be checked out to litigants. Any
nonincar cerated litigant is entitled to obtain a copy of his or her transcript or bill of exceptions by filing a
written request with the clerk of thetria court. A copy of the transcript shall be prepared by the clerk of the
trial court and a copy of the hill of exceptions shall be prepared by the court reporter at the litigant’s cost
unlessthelitigant has been allowed to proceed in forma pauperisintheaction in which the request for arecord
has been made Except for good cause shown, any additional copies of the transcript and/or the bill of
exceptions once provided to alitigant on an in forma pauperis basis shall be prepared at thelitigant’s cost.

When a request is made to the clerk of the tria court for a transcript of pleadings by or on behalf of any
incar cerated person, the clerk of thetrial court shall prepare two copies, oneto be filed in the court to which
the matter is being appealed and one to be sent to the incarcerated person at the correctional center where he
or sheresides. The cost shall be paid by the person making therequest unless the person has been allowed to
proceed in forma pauperis in the action in whichthereguest for arecord has been made. Except for good cause
shown, any additional copies of the transcript once provided to alitigant on an in forma pauperis basis shall
be prepared at thelitigant’s cost.

When arequest is made by or on behalf of any incarcerated person for abill of exceptions, the court reporter
shall prepare the original to be filed with the clerk of the trial court. The court reporter shall also prepare a
duplicate copy at the statutory rate for copies and send it to the incarcerated person at the correctional center
where he or she resides. The copy shall contain the index of exhibits but shall not include exhibits. The cost
shall be paid by the person making the request unless that person has been allowed to proceed in forma
pauperis in the action in which the request for a record has been made. Except for good cause shown, any
additional copies of the bill of exceptions once provided to alitigant on an in forma pauperis basis shall be
prepared at the litigant’s cost. An incarcerated person may request copies of exhibits by filing a motion with
the court having jurisdiction of the case.

-1.28-



Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Rules - Procedural

B. Presentence Report. In dl cases where a presentence report may be material on appeal, the defendant, his
or her counsd, or counse for the State may request the sentencing judgeto forward it to the Supreme Court
Clerk. In each instance, the sentencing judge shall cause a copy of the report to be forwarded to the Clerk in
aseparate sealed envelope. The defendant, his or her counsdl, or counsel for the State may examinethereport,
but it may not be removed from the office of the Clerk.

C. Return of Records to District Court. The bill of exceptions and presentence report shall be returned to the
clerk of the district court after the issuance of the mandate in a case. The Supreme Court Clerk may retain
records in certain criminal homicide casesto facilitate microfilming of therecords.

D. Records as Exhibits. Original Supreme Court records shall not beintroduced as exhibits in any proceeding.
E. Microfilm Records. Certain records whichthiscourt is kegping pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 8§ 29-2521.02

et seg. have been photographed on microfilm. These records may be checked out by Nebraska District Court
judges. These records shall not be introduced as evidence.

Rule 16E amended May 28, 1992; Rule 16A amended September 27, 2000; Rule 16A and B amended May 21, 2003.

17. MEDIA COVERAGE OF PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE NEBRASKA SUPREME COURT AND
THE NEBRASKA COURT OF APPEALS.

A. Dinitions.
(1) "Jdudicia proceeding” or "proceeding” as referred to in these rules shall include all public trials,
hearings, or other proceedings in the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals, except those specifically

excluded by these rules.

(2) "Expanded media coverage' includes broadcasting, tdevising, dectronic recording, or
photographing of judicial proceedings for the purpose of gathering and disseminating news to the public.

(3) "Supreme Court" shall mean the Supreme Court of Nebraska.

(4) "Chig Justice" shall mean the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Nebraska.

(5) "Court of Appeals’ shall mean the Nebraska Court of Appedls.

(6) "Chief Judge" shall mean the Chig Judge of the Nebraska Court of Appedls.
B. General. Except asprovided below, broadcasting, televising, recording, and photographing will bepermitted
inal judicia proceedings in the courtroom during sessions of the Supreme Court and the Court of Appedls,

including recesses between sessions, under the following conditions:

(1) Thereshall beno audio pickup or broadcast of conferencesin a court proceeding between attorneys
and their clients, between cocounsel, or between judges.

(2) The quantity and types of equipment permitted in the courtroom shall be subject to the discretion
of the Chief Justice within the guidelines sat out in the accompanying rules.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of any of these procedural or technica rules, the Chief Justice, or
the Chie Judge asto the Court of Appeals, upon application, may permit the use of equipment or techniques
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at variance therewith, provided the application for variance is made at least 10 days prior to the scheduled
hearing. Ruling upon such avariance application shall bein the sole discretion of the Chief Justice or the Chief
Judge, as the case may be. Such variances may be allowed by the Chigf Justice or the Chief Judge without
advance application or natice if all counsd and parties consent.

(4) Therights provided for herein may be exercised only by persons or organizations which are part
of the news media.

(5) Theserulesare designed primarily to provide guidance to media and courtroom participants and
are subject to withdrawa or amendment by the Supreme Court a any time.

C. Presavation of Rights. Expanded media coverage of a proceeding shall be permitted in all judicial
proceedings unless the court concludes, after objection and showing of good cause, that under the
circumgtances of the particular proceeding such coverage would materialy interfere with the rights of the
parties to a fair trial. The Chief Justice or the Chief Judge, when applicable, may, as to any or all media
participants, limit or terminate photographic or eectronic media coverage at any time during the proceeding
in the event the Chief Justice or Chief Judge finds

(2) that rules established under this order or additional rules imposed by the Chief Justice or Chief
Judge have been vidated or

(2) that substantial rights of individual participants or rightsto afair trial will be prejudiced by such
manner of coverageif it isallowed to continue.

D. Objections. A party to a proceeding objecting to expanded media coverage under these rules shall file a
written objection, stating the grounds therefor, at least 3 days before commencement of the proceeding. All
objections shall be heard and determined by the Chief Justice, or the Chief Judge as to the Court of Appeals,
prior to commencement of the proceeding. Time for filing of objections may be extended or reduced in the
discretion of the Chief Justice, or the Chief Judge as to the Court of Appeals, who may also in appropriate
circumstances extend theright of objection to persons not specifically provided for in theserules.

E. Technical.

(1) Equipment to be used by the mediain the courtrooms during the proceeding must be unobtrusive
and must not produce distracting sound. In addition, such equipment must satisfy the following criteria:

a. Still cameras areto be standard, professonal quality, single-lensreflex or rangefinder 35
mm cameras, or twin-lens reflex 120 mm cameras in good repair. Motor-driven film advances and
autowinders on still cameras are not allowed.

b. Tdevision cameras are to be dectronic and, together with any related equipment to be
located in the courtroom, must be unobtrusive in both size and appearance, and without distracting
sound or light. Td evision cameras areto be designed or modified so that participantsin the proceeding
being covered are unable to determine when recording is occurring.

¢. Microphones, wiring, and audio recor ding equipment shall beunobtrusiveand of adequate
technical quality to prevent interference with the proceeding being covered. No modifications of
existing systems shall be made without approva by the Supreme Court after submission of a specific
written proposal which shall include technical specifications and details of the proposed changes.
Microphones for use of counsel and judges shall be equipped with off/on switches.
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(2) Other than light sour ces a ready existing in the courtroom, no flashbulbs or other artificial lighting
device of any kind shall be employed in the courtroom.

(3) Thefollowing limitations on theamount of equipment and number of phatographic and broadcast
media personnel in the courtroom shall apply:

a. At any onetime, not more than one still photographer, usng not more than two camera
bodies and two lenses, shall be permitted in the courtroom during a proceeding.

b. Not more than onetelevision camera, operated by not more than one person knowledgeable
inits use, shall be permitted in the courtroom during any proceeding. Where possible, recording and
broadcasting equipment which is not a component part of atelevision camera shall belocated outside
the courtroom.

¢. Not more than one audio system shall be set up in the courtroom for broadcast coverage of
a proceeding. Audio pickup for broadcast coverage shall be accomplished from any existing audio
system present in the courtroom, if such pickup would be technically suitable for broadcast. Where
possible, eectronic audio recording equipment and any operating personnel shall be located outside
the courtroom, except that an audio recorder which is a component part of the tdevision camera
operating in the courtroom may be used for audio pickup.

d. Wherethe abovelimitations on equipment and personnel make it necessary, the media shall
be required to pool equipment and personnel. Pooling arrangements shall be the sole responsibility of
the media, and neither the Supreme Court or the Court of Appea snor their employees shall be called
upon to mediate any dipute as to the appropriate media representatives authorized to cover a
particular proceeding.

(4) Equipment and operating personnel shall be located in, and coverage of the proceeding shall take
place from, an area or areas within the courtroom des gnated by the Chief Justice or Chief Judge.

(5) Television cameras and audi o equi pment may beinstalled in or removed from the courtroom only
when court is not in session. I n addition, such equipment shall at all times be operated from a fixed position.
Still photographers and broadcast media personnel shall not moveabout the courtroom while a proceeding is
in session, nor shall they engage in any movement which attracts undue attention. Still photographers shall not
assume body positions inappropriate for spectators.

(6) All il photographers and broadcast media personnel shall be properly attired and shall maintain
proper courtroom decorum at all times while covering the proceeding.

Rule 17,17A(5), 17A(6), 17B(3),17C, 17C(1), 17D, 17E(3)d, and 17E(4) amended April 15, 1992; Rule 17B (3) amended M ay 28, 1992; Rule 17E(1)c and (3)c amended November
23, 1999.

18. MEDIA COVERAGE OF PROCEEDINGSBEFOREANY COURT OTHER THAN THENEBRASKA
SUPREME COURT OR THE NEBRASKA COURT OF APPEALS.

A. Other than as provided in Rule 17, there shall be no broadcasting, televising, recording, or photographing
in courtrooms and areasimmediately adjacent thereto during sessions of acourt or recesses between sessions,
except that under rules which may be prescribed by the Nebraska Supreme Court ajudge of a court other than
the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals may authorize broadcasting, televising, recording, and photographing
of judicial proceedings in such courtrooms and areas immediatdy adjacent thereto consistent with the right of
the parties to a fair tria and subject to express conditions, limitations, and guidelines which allow such
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coverage in a manner that will be unobtrusive, will not distract the tria participants, and will not otherwise
interfere with administration of justice.

Rule 18 adopted April 15,1992.

19. WAIVER OF TIME REQUIREMENTS.

For good cause, the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals may shorten the time within which any filing
must be made or act must be done.

Rule 19 adopted March 1, 1995.
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IN THE SUPREME COURT/COURT OF APPEALS OF NEBRASKA

Appelles/Appd lant, CASE NO.

2 MOTION

N e N N N N N N N

Appelles/Appd lant.

Comes now the appellant (or appellee) _ Name |, and requests a 30-day extension of brief day from

Date to_ Date .

/sl

Attorney Name (Bar Number)
Firm Name

Stregt Address/P.O. Box #
City/State/Zip Code

Area Code/Phone Number

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE

Theforegoing M otionwas served upon , attorney for appel lee/appel lant
by mailing a copy to him/her at

(Address/Zip Code)

/sl

Attorney Name (Bar Number)

(NOTE: In all advanced cases, a showing of exceptional cause must accompany any request for
extensions. I n nonadvanced cases any extension past thefirst 30-day extension must be accompanied by
a showing of cause. Neither the stipulation of the partiesnor the pressof other business constitutes good
cause. See Rule 6F(2).)

APPENDIX 1

Thisform is neither approved nor disapproved by any court or judicial tribunal. Use of this form provides no immunity from error.
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Appellant, CASE NO.

STIPULATION

N e N N N N N N N

Appéllee.

Comes now the parties and stipulate that appdlant's (or appelegs) brief day may be extended from

Date to Date

/9
Attorney Name (Bar Number)
Firm Name
Stregt Address/P.O. Box #
City/State/Zip Code
Area Code/Phone Number

/9

Attorney Name (Bar Number)
Firm Name

Street Address/P.O. Box #
City/State/Zip Code

Area Code/Phone Number

(NOTE: In all advanced cases, a showing of exceptional cause must accompany any request for
extensions. |n nonadvanced cases any extension past thefirst 30-day extension must be accompanied by
a showing of cause. Neither the stipulation of thepartiesnor the press of other business constitutes good
cause. See Rule 6F(2).)

APPENDIX 2

Thisform is neither approved nor disapproved by any court or judicial tribunal. Use of this form provides no immunity from error.
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Sample motion and proof of servicefor dismissa of apped by appellee.

IN THE SUPREME COURT/COURT OF APPEALS OF NEBRASKA

Appelles/Appd lant, CASE NO.

2 MOTION

e N N N N N N N N

Appelles/Appd lant.

Comes now appdleeand movesto dismiss on the ground that (e g., the appe lant accepted the benefits

of the judgment of the District Court.)

Is/

Attorney Name (Bar Number)
Firm Name

Stregt Address/P.O. Box #
City/State/Zip Code

Area Code/Phone Number

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE

The foregoing Mation was served upon , attorney for appellant, by
mailing a copy to him/her at .

(Address/Zip Code)

/sl

Attorney Name (Bar Number)

APPENDIX 3

Thisform is neither approved nor disapproved by any court or judicial tribunal. Use of this form provides no immunity from error.
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Summary to Accompany Application for Leaveto File
Appeal by County Attorney - § 29-2315.01

The Nebraska Supreme Court requires that this form be filed as part of an application by a county
attorney requesting leave to file an appeal pursuant to § 29-2315.01. This form isonly a synopsis of the
action in the case, and is not a substitutefor any pleading or application required by satute Answers
may be continued on an attached sheet of paper.

1. Name, address, and telephone number of attorney presenting application:

2. County where case filed: 3. Name of district judge:

4. Case Caption:
STATE v.

5. Charge(s) filed against defendant:

6. Description of order for which review is sought:

7. Date order entered:

8. Summary of the basis or reasons for the application:

9. Bridf, concise statement of facts:

10. Description of the public interest to be protected by this review:

11. Portion of record to be presented for review:

12. Date application presented to judge:

13. Date application signed:

APPENDIX 4
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SAMPLE CERTIFICATE - CIVIL CASES

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF COUNTY, NEBRASKA

In the Matter of the Estate of Trial Court No.
Matilda A. Farquar, Deceased.

F. J. Farquar, Plaintiff, TyroneA. Ledbetter, No. 28154
(Address)
V. (Telephone)
Alfred T. Farquar, Defendant. Frank X. O'Brien, No. 18766
(Address)
(Telephone)

| certify that the attached are true and accurate copies of pleadings filed in the above-captioned case.

4 Thecaseisacivil case Crigin of case:
QO Law (generd) or Q County Court
Q Equity Q District Court
Q Other

Notice of apped directed to:
Q4 Court of Appeals
U Supreme Court
Statutory Authority:
Q Constitutionality of statute
Q Other (specify statute)

The notice of appeal was filed on

The gatutory docket feewas paid on ;
or a poverty affidavit was filed on

Cost bond posted on (dete) in $
Cashinlieu of cost bond posted on
in$ ; or supersedeas bond posted on
in$
The following motions have been filed:
4 Motion for new trial. Date filed: Date disposed of:
4 Motion to ater or amend judgment. Date filed: Date disposed of:
4 Motion to set asideverdict or judgment. Date filed: Date disposed of:
O None of the above motions have been filed.
Date:
(SEAL)
Clerk of District Court
By:
APPENDIX 5

Appendix 5 amended July 25, 2000.
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SAMPLE CERTIFICATE - CRIMINAL CASES

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF COUNTY, NEBRASKA
STATE OF NEBRASKA, Trial Court No.
Plaintiff, TyroneA. Ledbetter, No. 28154
(Address)
V. (Telephone)
ALFRED T. FARQUAR, Frank X. O'Brien, No. 18766
(Address)
Defendant. (Telephone)

| certify that the attached are true and accurate copies of pleadings filed in the above-captioned case.

Q4 The caseis a criminal case in which a pleawas entered:

4 not guilty (trial held) Crigin of case:
Qtojury Q County Court
4 tojudge Q District Court
Q Other

Q guilty or nolo contendere
4 felony
O misdemeanor
4 postconviction
4 pleain bar
Q other

Notice of apped directed to:
Q4 Court of Appeals
U Supreme Court
Statutory Authority: Q4 Death sentence
Q Life imprisonment
Q Constitutionality of statute
Q Other (specify statute)

The notice of appeal was filed on . The statutory docket fee was paid on
; or apoverty affidavit was filed on .
Cost bond posted on (date) in $ . Cashin lieu of cost bond posted on
in$ ; or supersedeasbond postedon
in$
All mations for new trial have been disposed of :
U Yes. Date:
U No.
@ No motions for new trial filed.
Date:
(SEAL)
Clerk of District Court
By:
APPENDIX 6
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RULES OF PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

INDEX

ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES, APPEAL FROM

ADVANCED CASES
Categories
Case stated
Certified questions
Child custody
Crimina
Original actions
Origina concurrent jurisdiction
Employment security law
Tax Equalization and Review Commission
Water Resources, Department of
Workers compensation
Extension of brief date
Motion to advance
Ora argument
Scheduling, argument, and submission

AFFIDAVIT OF POVERTY

AMICUS CURIAE
Briefs

Cover color

Filing

Page length
Ora argument

APPEAL BONDS

APPEALS

Administrative agencies

Advance

Bill of exceptions

Briefs

Case stated

Congtitutional questions

Court of Appeds

Court-appointed counsel in
criminal cases

Cross-appesdl

Dismissal

Docketing

Jurisdiction

Multiple, prohibited

Notice of

Perfecting

-1.39-

RULE

PAGE

See SPECIAL TRIBUNALS

11B2h

11B 2d
11B 2 f
11B2a
11B2e
11B2g
11B2¢

11B 2]

11B 2]
11B2b
6F1,9A
11B 3
11B2 11B3
11B2 11B3

122
122
122
122
122
122
122
122
122
122
1.14,1.17
122
1.22,1.22
1.22,1.22

See POVERTY AFFIDAVIT

9B4c
9A 4
9B5
11E4

1G2,4A1c

1D,5B9
11B
5B

9

5B 13
9E
1B1,2

3

1E

7,8

1
9D1c,9D2b
1C

1.18
117
1.18
123

12,16

12,112
122

17

117
1.13
121
11,13

15
12
1.14,1.16
11
1.19,1.20
12

See NOTICE OF APPEAL

1A

11



Scheduling, argument, and submission
Security for costs

Special tribunals

Summary dispositions

Supreme Court

Transcript

U.S. Supreme Court

APPELLANT
Bill of exceptions

Effect on brief date
Briefs

Contents

Costs

Cover color

Default

Filing

Jurisdiction

Page length

Reargument

Reply

Service
Congtitutional questions
Costs (See adso, COSTS)
Default in filing briefs
Defined
Dismissal of appeal
Motion for attorneys fees
Motion for rehearing
Petition for further review
Petition to bypass
Submission of case
Summary disposition objections
Transcript

Fees

Praecipe

APPELLEE
Bill of exceptions
Briefs
Contents
Costs
Cover color
Default
Filing
Jurisdiction
Page length
Reargument
Service
Congtitutional questions
Costs (See dso, COSTS)
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RULE

11
1G2
1D,5B9

1B1

14A2

5B
9A1

9D 1
14B
9B4a
10A
9A1
9D1c
9B5
13L
9A3
9A1
9E
14B
10
1C

9F
13
2F
2B
11
7B4

14B1b
4 A

5B

9D 2
14B
9B4b
10B
9A2
9D 2b
9B5
13L
9A2
9E
14B

PAGE

121

13
12,112
114

11

16

1.26

17
117

1.19
127
1.18
121
117
1.19
1.18
1.26
117
117
121
127
121
12

1.16
121
1.25
14

1.3

122
1.15

127
16

17

1.20
127
1.18
121
117
1.20
1.18
1.26
117
121
127



Cross-appesdl
Default in filing briefs
Defined
Dismissal of apped
Response
Waive
Motion for attorneys fees
Motion for rehearing
Petition for further review
Petition to bypass
Submission of case
Summary dispositions
Transcript

ARGUMENT OF CASES

ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR
Briefs

Motion for rehearing
Excessive sentence
Excessively lenient sentence
Origina actions
Transcript contents

ATTORNEY FEES
Itemization on mandate
Motion required

ATTORNEY GENERAL
Congtitutional questions

ATTORNEYS OF RECORD
Criminal cases
Court-appointed
Withdrawa of court-gppointed
Dismissal of apped
Opinions
Pro selitigants
Status on appedl
Withdrawal

BANKRUPTCY

BILL OF EXCEPTIONS
Administrative agencies
Alterations prohibited
Amendments

Brief reference format
Capital punishment appeals
Case stated

Checked out
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RULE PAGE

1E,9D4 12,121
10 121
1C 12
8D 1.16
8E 1.16
9F 121
13 1.25
2F 14
2B 13
11 122
7B 1.15
4 16
See ORAL ARGUMENT
9D1e 1.20
13D 125
11ES5 123
11ES5 123
13K 1.26
4A2 16
14B1 127
9F 121
9E 121
3 15
1F1,3B 12,15
8C 1.16
12B 124
1F 12
1F 12
1F 3B 12,15
11G 124
5B9 112
5B 3d 19
5B5 1.10
9C2 1.18
5B11 1.13
5B 13 1.13
16 A 1.28



Civil cases
Clerk of the district court
Capital punishment
Case stated
Copy of request to Supreme Court
Exclusions
Filed with
Filing with Supreme Court
Notification, parties,
Supreme Court
Request filed
Returned to
Supplemental request filed
Clerk of the Supreme Court
Copy of request filed
Ddivery
Filed with
Notice of filing
Returned to district court
Contents
Contraband excluded
Costs
Depodt required
Estimated
Prior to completion
Statement of
Transporting large exhibits
Videotape equipment
Court reporter
Administrative agencies
Capital punishment
Certificate of
Costs
Depost required
Estimated
Prior to completion
Statement of
Preparation and ddivery
Request for extension of time
Affidavit
Special tribunals
Unable to prepare bill
Criminal cases
Ddivey to Supreme Court
Exclusions
Large exhibits
Evidence and exhibits
Brief reference format
Exclusions
Inclusions
Videotape
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RULE
5B3

5B11
5B 13
5B2
5B8
5B3
5B 3d

5B 3d
5B1la
16C

5B1lc

5B2
5B8
5B 3d
5B 3d
16C
5B1
5B8

5B1e5B3b
5B1le
5B1f
5B 12
5B8
5B7

5B9
5B11
5B6Db,5B12

5B1e5B3Db
5B1le
5B1f

5B 12

5B3

5B4

5B4b

5B9

5B3c
5B3,5B11
5B3,5B8
5B8

5B8

5B6¢C

9C3
5B1d,5B8
5B1b,5B1lc
5B7

PAGE
18

1.13
1.13
18
112
18
19

19
17
1.29
18

18
112
19
19
1.29
17
112

18,18
18

18
1.13
112
112

112
1.13
1.10,1.13

18,18
1.8

1.8

1.13

1.8

19

1.10
112
1.10
1.8,1.13
18,112
112
112
111
1.19
18,112
18,18
112



Extension of time for preparation
Affidavit
Form
Body
Certificate
Index
Statement of cost
Large exhibits
Ordering
Payment
Depodt required
Estimated cost
Governmental agency
Prior to completion
Refund
Supplemental bill
Transporting large exhibits
Praecipe
Preparation
Request to prepare
Copy to court reporter
Copy to Supreme Court Clerk
Effect on brief date
Evidence and exhibits
Extenson of time
Filing
Service
Returned to district court
Settlement prior to completion
Special tribunals
Statement of cost
Prior to completion
Supplemental bill of exceptions
Filing
Payment
Request
Time of preparation
Videotape
Weapons excluded

BRIEFS
Additiona, on rehearing
Advanced cases
Extensions not a lowed
Amicus curiae
Appelant
Congtitutional questions
Contents
Argument
Assignments of error
Congtitutional questions
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RULE

5B4
5B4b

5B6¢C
5B6b
5B6a
5B 12
5B8
5B1

5B1e5B3Db
5Ble

5Ble

5B1f

5Ble

5Ble

5B8

See Reguest to prepare
5B3,5B4

5B1la
1B3,5B2
9A1
5B1b
5B4
5Bla
5B1b
16C
5B1f
5B9
5B1leg5B 12
5B1f

5B1lc
5B1le
5B1lc
5B3a5B4
5B7

5B8

9A6
9A7
9A
9A 4

9E
9D 1
9D1h
9D1e
9E

PAGE

19
1.10

111
111
1.10
1.13
112
17

18,19
18

18

18

18

18
112

18,19

17
11,18
117
17

19

17

17
1.29
1.8
112
1.8,1.13
1.8

1.8

1.8

1.8
18,19
112
112

117
117
117
117

121
1.19
1.20
1.20
121



Cover
Jurisdiction
Order of
Propositions of law
Statement of facts
Statement of the case
Table of cases cited
Table of contents
Title page
Costs
Cover color
Court of Appeds
On further review
Original
Default
Filing
Reply
Service
Submission of case
Appellee
Contents
Argument
Congtitutional questions
Jursidiction
Order of
Propositions of law
Statement of facts
Statement of the case
Table of cases cited
Table of contents
Costs
Court of Appedls
On further review
Original
Cover color
Default
Filing
Service
Submission of case
Argument
Motion for rehearing
Assignments of error
Excessive sentence
Excessively lenient sentence
Motion for rehearing
Complex motions
Congtitutional questions
Contents
Cross-appesdl
Jurisdiction
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RULE

9D1a
9D 1c
9D1

9D 1f
9D 1g
9D 1d
9D 1b
9D 1b
9D1a
14B

9B4a

2G
2D,9B7
10A
9A1,9A3
9A3
9A1,9A3
11

9D 2
9D 2f
9E
9D 2b
9D 2
9D 2d
9D 2e
9D2c
9D2a
9D2a
14B

2G
2D,9B7

9B 4b

10B

9A 2

9A 2

11
9D1g 9D 2f
13D

9D1le
11E5

11E5

13D

6 H

9E

9D
9D4,9D5
9D1c,9D2b

PAGE

1.19
1.19
1.19
1.20
1.20
1.20
1.19
1.19
1.19
127
1.18

15
1.3,1.18
121
117,1.17
117
117,1.17
122

1.20
1.20
121
1.20
1.20
1.20
1.20
1.20
1.20
1.20
127

15
13,118
1.18

121

117

117

122

1.20, 1.20
1.25

1.20

123

123

125

114

121

1.18
121,121
1.19,1.20



Motion for rehearing
Crigina actions
Remittitur
Reply
Copies, number of
Court of Appedls
Supreme Court
Costs
Not taxed
Court of Appedls
On further review
Original
Cover
Color
Contents
Cross-appesdl
Printed
Typewritten
Cross-appesdl

Default in filing
Appdllant
Appellee
Hearing not delayed
Excessive sentence
Excessively lenient sentence
Extension of date
Extension of date not applicable
Summary dismissal or affirmance
Filing
Default
Form
Footnotes (not permitted)
Motion for rehearing
Printed
Typewritten
Further review by Supreme Court
In support of motions
Motion for rehearing

Opinions

Crigina actions
Defendant
Plaintiff

Page length

Petition for further review
Response

Petition to bypass
Response

Preparation of text
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RULE

9D 6,13D
9D
9D 3
9D 5

2D,9B7

9B6,9B7,13L

13L,148B
14B2

2G
2D,9B7

9B4

9B3
9D4,9D5
9B1
9B2hb
1E8D,9D4
9D5,14B 2
10

10A

10B

10C
11ES5
11ES5

6F 9A

7B8
9A
10

9B
9B 2
13E
9B1
9B2b
2G
6, 7,13
9A 5 9A6,
9D 6, 13
12B
9D
9D 2
9D 1
9B5
2G
2G
2B1
2B2
9C

PAGE

1.21,1.25
1.19
1.20
121

14,1.18
1.18,1.18,1.26
1.26, 1.27

127

15
1.3,1.18

1.18

1.18
121,121
117

1.18
12,116,121
121,127
121

121

121

122

1.23

123
1.14,1.17

1.15

117

121

117

117

125

117

1.18

15
1.13,1.14,1.25
117,1.17
1.21,1.25
1.25

1.20

1.20

1.20

1.18

15

15

1.3

1.3

1.18



Printed
Propositions of law
Motion for rehearing
Reargument
Reference format
Bill of exceptions
Case citations
Exhibits
Statutes
Textbook citations
Transcript
Remittitur
Reply
Costs
Service
Statement of facts
Statement of the case
Submission on
Summary disposition
Brief date not extended
Table of cases
Table of contents
Motion for rehearing
Time
Advanced cases
Amicus curiae
Appellant
Appellee
Congtitutional questions
Default
Exceptiona cause
Extension
Extension not applicable
Summary dismissal or affirmance
Filing
Further review by Supreme Court
Motion for rehearing
Response
Rehearing
Reply
Service
Title page
Typewritten

BYPASS, PETITION TO

CALL

Amicus curiae

Bill of exceptionsfiled
Continuance after scheduling
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RULE

9B1,14B
9D1f,9D2d
13D

13L

9C2
9C4

9C3

9C5

9C6

9C1

9D 3
9A3,9D5
14B
9A,9B6
9D1g 9D2e
9D1d,9D2c
11E6

7B6

7B8
9D1b,9D2a
9D1b,9D2a
13D

9A7
9A 4
9A1
9A2
9E

10

9A
6F 9A

7B8
9A
2G
9A5
9A5
9A 6
9A 3
9A
See Cover
9B 2

2B
9A 4

5B 3d
11C,11D

PAGE

1.17,1.27
1.20,1.20
1.25
1.26

1.18
1.19
1.19
1.19
1.19
1.19
1.20
117,121
127
1.17,1.18
1.20, 1.20
1.20, 1.20
123
1.15
1.15
1.19,1.20
1.19,1.20
125

117
117
117
117
121
121
117
1.14,1.17

1.15
117
15

117
117
117
117
117

117
1.3
117

19
1.23,1.23



Default in filing briefs
Order of cases heard
Proposed

CAPTION OF CASE
Briefs

District court
Supreme Court
Transcript

CASE STATED

Advanced case

Bill of exceptions

Scheduling, argument, and submission

CERTIFICATE OF COURT REPORTER
CERTIFICATE OF DISTRICT COURT CLERK

CERTIFIED QUESTIONS
Advanced case
Scheduling, argument, and submission

CHILD CUSTODY
Advanced case
Scheduling, argument, and submission

CIVIL CASES
Bankruptcy

Bill of exceptions
Ora argument

CLERK OF THE DISTRICT COURT
Bill of exceptions
Capital punishment
Exclusions
Filed
Prior to completion
Request
Transporting large exhibits
Certificate
Docket fee
Notice of appeal
Perfecting appesal
Poverty affidavit
Request for transcript
Supplemental bill of exceptions
Supplemental transcript
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RULE

10B
11D
11C

9B3
1B5a
1C
4B1

11B2h
5B 12
11

5B6Db,5B12

1B5

11B2d
11

11B 2f
11

11G
5B
11E

5B11
5B8
5B3
5B1f
1B3,5B1,5B2
5B8
1B5
1B4
1B1
1A
1B4
1B2,4A
5B1lc
4C

PAGE

121
123
1.23

1.18
11
12
16

122
1.13
122

1.10,1.13

11

122
122

122
122

124
17
123

1.13
112
18

18
11,17,18
112
11

11

11

11

11
11,16
18

17



Transcript
Cases previoudy appealed
Exclusions
Form
Index
Journd entries

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT/COURT OF APPEALS

Advanced case
Bill of exceptions
Briefs
Default
Reargument
Congtitutional questions
Docket appesal
Mandate
Costs
Motion to dismiss
Motion for rehearing
Motion for summary disposition
Motions generally
Oral argument time limits
Crigina actions
Perfecting appeal
Petition for further review
Petition to bypass
Records
Checked out
Retained
Scheduling, argument, and submission
Transcript

CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS

CONTINUANCE

Bill of exceptions

Briefs

Scheduling, argument, and submission

COSTS

Attorney fees
Motion required

Briefs
Reargument

Bill of exceptions
Depodt required
Estimated
Prior to completion
Statement of
Transporting large exhibits
Videotape equipment
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RULE

4D
4A3
4B
4B1
4B 2

11
5B
9B7
10A
13L
9E
1C

14B

8D
13F,13G
7B7

6

11E3
15

1B

2F

2B

16 A, 16B
16 C

11

4

9E

5B4
6F
11C,11D

14B1d
9F
14B
13L

5B1e5B3b
5B1le
5B1f
5B 12
5B8
5B7

PAGE

16
17
16
16
16
16

122
17

1.18
121
1.26
121
12

127

1.16

1.26, 1.26
1.15

1.13

1.23

127

11

14

1.3

1.28,1.29
1.29

122

16

121

19
114
1.23,1.23

127
121
127
1.26

18,19
1.8

18
1.13
112
112



Docket fee
Check of clerk of district court
Not required in advance
Crigina actions
Paid in advance
Perfecting appesal
Poverty affidavit
Waived

Fees

Mandate

Motion for rehearing

Motion to retax

Crigina actions

Payment

Printing

Security for costs
Appeal to U.S. Supreme Court
Docketing

Statement

Transcript preparation

Unnecessary

COUNSEL

COURT OF APPEALS
Briefs

On further review by Supreme Court

Original

Mandate

Opinions
Copies mailed
Officia version
Publication
Release

Petition for further review by
Supreme Court
Contents
Filing and service
Form
Mandate not to issue during

pendency

Response
Submission
Time for filing

Petition to bypass
Filing and service
Objections
Ora argument
Submission

Removal of case from Court of Appeals
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RULE PAGE

1B4 11
1G1b,1G1lc 12,13
15B2,15B3 1.28,1.28
1G1 12
1A 11
1A,1B4,1G1b 11,11,12
1G1la 12
14B1 127
14B 127
137 1.26
14B5 127
15B 1.28
14B4 127
14B1lc 127
14A2 1.26
1G2,4A1lc 13,16
14B4 127
14B1b 127
14B3 127
See ATTORNEY S OF RECORD
2G 15
2D,9B7 1.3,1.18
2F7 15

2E 14
2E2 14
2E3 14
2E4 14
2E1 14

2F 14
2F3 14
2F5 15
2F2 14
2F7 15
2F4 15
2F6 15
2F1 14

2B 1.3
2B1 1.3
2B2 1.3
2B3 1.3
2B4 1.3
2C 1.3



Supreme Court rulesto apply

COURT REPORTER
Bill of exceptions
Administrative agencies
Affidavit for extension
Capital punishment
Certificate
Costs
Deposit
Estimated
Prior to completion
Statement of
Extenson of timeto prepare
Preparation and ddivery
Form
Request to prepare
Special tribunals
Supplemental request
Unable to prepare
Record, making, preserving,
transcribing, and ddivery

COURT-APPOINTED COUNSEL
Appeal filed at request of defendant
Motion to withdraw

Postconviction

Representation on appeal

CRIMINAL CASES

Advanced

Bill of exceptions

Capital punishment

Certificate of district court cderk

Court-appointed counsd

Excessive sentence

Excessively lenient sentence

Plea of guilty or no contest

Homicide record retention
Microfilm

Ora argument

Postconviction

Presentence report

Record, verbatim

Scheduling, argument, and submission

CROSS-APPEALS
Appellee

Answer

Costs
Motion to dismiss
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RULE

2A

5B

5B9
5B4b
5B11
5B6Db,5B12

5B1e5B3Db
5B1le
5B1f
5B 12
5B4
5B3
5B6
5B1
5B9
5B1lc
5B3c

5

3A
3B
3A
3A

11B2a
5B
5B11
1B5

11ES5
11ES5
11E5a
16C
16 E
11E
3A
16B
5A
11

1E,9D4
9D 5
14B
8D

PAGE

13

17

112

1.10

1.13
1.11,1.13

18,19
18
18
1.13
19
18
1.10
17
112
18
19

17

15
15
15
15

122
17
1.13
11
15
123
123
123
1.29
1.29
123
15
1.29
17
122

12,121
121
127
1.16



Response

CUSTODY

DEFAULT IN FILING BRIEFS

Appelant
Appellee

Hearing not delayed
Notice

DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS

Docket fee

DISMISSAL OF APPEAL
Appd|lee response
Bill of exceptions
Brief day for cross-appellant
By agreement
Cross-appesdl
Default in filing briefs
Form of motion
Motion to dismiss
Appellant
Appdlee response
Parties
Proof of service
Security for costs
Service
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Admission of Attorneys

ADMISSION OF ATTORNEY S

1. Admission of Attorneys; Time of Examination; Filing of Application. Examination of applicants for
admission to the bar will be held on the days set for the National Multistate Bar Examination and for the
Multistate Essay Examination; provided, however, that the commission may hold examinations at such
other times and places as it may deem advisable. The application for examination must be filed with the
secretary of the bar commission as provided in rule 2.

Commencing in 1991, and thereafter, each candidate for admission on examination in Nebraska must
have passed the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination as a requirement for admission to
practice law in Nebraska. The passing score will be established from time to time by the Nebraska
Supreme Court. The examination may be taken by the applicant at any location where it is administered.

Rule 1 amended February 10, 1993.

2. Application and Showing; Character Affidavits. Each applicant must file with the secretary of the bar
commission a written request for admission and a personal affidavit as to the applicant's age, residence,
and time and place of study and degree, or admission and period of practice in courts of record in another
state, the District of Columbia, or a territory, together with the certificates or affidavits of at least two
citizens of good standing in the community where the applicant resides, or formerly resided, and such
other information as the bar commission may require. These certificates or affidavits must show that the
parties making them are well acquainted with the applicant, that the applicant is of good reputation in that
community, and that they believe the applicant to be of good moral character. In case the applicant seeks
admission on examination, he or she must file an application, in the form provided by the bar
commission, on or before November 1 to be eligible to sit for the following February examination and on
or before April 1 to be €eligible to sit for the following July examination. If the applicant is under
suspension or disbarment, the applicant will not be eligible to be admitted or eligible to take the bar
examination in Nebraska.

Rule 2 amended December 29, 1993; effective March 1, 1994.

3. Standard of Character and Fitness. An attorney should be one whose record of conduct justifies the
trust of clients, adversaries, courts, and others with respect to the professional duties owed to them. A
record manifesting a significant deficiency by an applicant in one or more of the following essential
eligibility requirements for the practice of law may constitute a basis for denial of admission. In addition
to the admission requirements otherwise established by these rules, the essentia eligibility requirements
for admission to the practice of law in Nebraska are:

(a) The ability to conduct oneself with a high degree of honesty, integrity, and trustworthiness in
all professional relationships and with respect to al legal obligations;

(b) The ability to conduct oneself diligently and reliably in fulfilling all obligations to clients,
attorneys, courts, and others;

(c) The ability to conduct oneself with respect for and in accordance with the law and the
Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct;

(d) The ahility to communicate clearly with clients, attorneys, courts, and others;

(e) The ability to reason, analyze, and recall complex factual information and to integrate such
information with complex legal theories;
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Admission of Attorneys

(f) The ability to exercise good judgment in conducting one's professional business;
(g) The ahility to avoid acts that exhibit disregard for the health, safety, and welfare of others;

(h) The ability to use honesty and good judgment in financial dealings on behalf of oneself,
clients, and others;

(i) The ability to comply with deadlines and time constraints;

(i) The ability to conduct oneself professionally and in a manner that engenders respect for the
law and the profession.

See Appendix A, Character and Fitness Standards.

Rule 3 amended July 28, 1998; Rule 3(c) amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.

4. Other Proof of Character; Qualifications of Applicant; Report of Committee on Inquiry. The
qualifications of an applicant for admission are not necessarily established by the foregoing. In addition
thereto the applicant will, in the application, give the names and addresses of at |east three persons, other
than those whose certificates or affidavits the applicant presents, of whom inquiry can be made in regard
to the applicant's character and other qualifications.

5. Admission Qualifications.
A. Classification of Applicants.

(1) Class I-A applicants who may be admitted to practice in Nebraska upon approval of a proper
application are those:

(a) who, as determined by the bar commission, have been admitted to, and are active and in good
standing in, the bar of another state, territory, or district of the United States, and

(b) who at the time of their admission had attained educational qualifications at least equal to
those required at the time of application for admission by examination to the bar of Nebraska, and

(c) who have passed an examination equivalent to the examination administered in the State of
Nebraska, and, beginning in 1991, who have passed the Multistate Professional Responsibility
Examination with the score required by Nebraska.

(2) Class I-B applicants who may be admitted to practice in Nebraska upon approval of a proper
application are those:

(a) who have been licensed and are active and in good standing in the practice of law in another
state, territory, or district of the United States preceding application for admission to the bar of
Nebraska and have actively and substantially engaged in the practice of law in another state, territory,
or district of the United States for 5 of the 7 years immediately preceding application for admission,
and

(b) who at the time of their admission had attained educational qualifications at least equal to
those required at the time of application for admission by examination to the bar of Nebraska.
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(3) For purposes of thisrule, "practice of law" means:

(a) The private practice of law as a sole practitioner or as an attorney employee of, or partner or
shareholder in, a law firm, professional corporation, legal clinic, legal services office, or similar
entity; or

(b) Employment as an attorney for a corporation, partnership, trust, individual, or other entity
with the primary duties of:

(i) Furnishing legal counsel, drafting documents and pleadings, and interpreting and giving
advice with respect to the law; or

(if) Preparing cases for presentation to or trying before courts, executive departments, or
administrative bureaus or agencies; or

(c) Employment as an attorney in the law offices of the executive, legislative, or judicial
departments of the United States, including the independent agencies thereof, or of any state, political
subdivision of a state, territory, specia district, or municipality of the United States, with the primary
duties of:

(i) Furnishing legal counsel, drafting documents and pleadings, and interpreting and giving
advice with respect to the law; or

(ii) Preparing cases for presentation to or trying cases before courts, executive departments, or
administrative bureaus or agencies; or

(d) Employment as a judge, magistrate, hearing examiner, administrative law judge, law clerk, or
similar official of the United States, including the independent agencies thereof, or of any state,
territory, or municipality of the United States, with the duties of hearing and deciding cases and
controversies in judicial or administrative proceedings, provided such employment is available only
to an attorney; or

(e) Employment as a teacher of law at a law school approved by the American Bar Association
throughout the applicant's employment; or

(f) In the event that the applicant has not served for a full 5 of the last 7 years with any of the
entities listed in subparagraphs (a) through (e) above, for purposes of this paragraph, the applicant
may use any combination of subparagraphs (a) through (€) above.

(4) All other applicants are Class |1 applicants, who must take a written examination.

(5) Applicants with the qualifications to be classified as Class I-A or Class |-B applicants shall
not be permitted to apply for the written examination taken by Class Il applicants without the prior
approval of the bar commission, which approval may be given on good cause shown.

B. Applications.
(1) All applications must be made on forms furnished by the commission.
(2) Fees are required by all applicants in an amount fixed by the Supreme Court and must be paid

in cash, bank cashier's check, or money order. Fees may be refunded in accordance with guidelines
adopted by the commission.
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C. Education Qualifications; Class || Applicants. All applicants must have received at the time of the
examination their first professional degree from alaw school approved by the American Bar Association.
An applicant without a first degree from an approved law school shal be permitted to take the
examination if such applicant will receive afirst degree from an approved law school within 60 days after
the date of the examination taken. In cases of hardship, the Supreme Court may, upon written application
stating the nature and reason for the hardship to the applicant, permit the examination to be taken by an
applicant before al other requirements have been fulfilled.

D. Policy on Applicants with a Disability. The bar commission will follow special rules set forth in
the Policy on Applicants with a Disability, Appendix C.

E. Oath of Admission. No applicant will be admitted to the bar of Nebraska until such time as he or
she has taken the oath of admission prescribed by the Supreme Court. No Class | applicant will be
permitted to take such oath later than 18 months subsequent to the date upon which his or her application
has been approved. No Class Il applicant will be permitted to take such oath later than 18 months
subsequent to the date of the announcement by the Court that he or she has passed the examination.
Nothing precludes reapplication for admission. Admission of all applicants, including applicants who are
being admitted with conditions set by the Supreme Court, will be by order of the Court, and certificates of
admission issued to applicants will be signed by a Judge of the Court.

Rule 5B(3) eliminated February 10, 1993; Rule 5C amended May 22, 1996; Rule 5D and 5E amended July 28, 1998; Rule 5E amended May 23, 2001; Rule 5C amended January
29, 2003; Rule 5A(1) amended May 13, 2004; Rule 5A(5) adopted February 9, 2005.

6. Admission, Pro Hac Vice, of Attorneys of Good Moral Character Who Are Admitted to Practice in
Another State, the District of Columbia, or a Territory. Any attorney of good moral character who is
admitted to and engaged in the practice of law in the courts of record of another state, the District of
Columbia, or aterritory, having professional business in the courts of this state, may on motion to such
court, in the discretion of the court, be admitted for the purpose of transacting such business, provided
that the applicant takes the oath required to be taken by individuals regularly practicing before the
Nebraska Supreme Court and, further, upon its being made to appear to the court by a written showing
filed therein that the applicant has associated and is appearing with an attorney who is a resident of
Nebraska, duly and regularly admitted to practice in the courts of record of this state, and upon whom
service may be had in all matters connected with the action with the same force and effect asif personally
made on such foreign attorney within this state.

7. Fees; Payment and Disbursement; Per Diem of Bar Commission. Each applicant, with the filing of the
application, must pay the fee prescribed by the Nebraska Supreme Court. Application fees will be used
for administrative expenses and costs incurred by the bar commission in carrying out its duties. As an
expense of the commission, the attorney members will be entitled to receive reimbursement for all
reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of their duties and a per diem allowance to be fixed by
the Court. Each year, the bar commission will submit a budget to the Court for the purpose of establishing
the application fee to be charged.

8. Bar Examination; Subjects. The bar commission will publish the subjects to which examination will
conform. The subjects will be those the members of the bar commission deem necessary to properly
prepare for the practice of law in this state, including the subject of legal ethics.

9. Bar Commission; Appointment; Duties. On October 23, 1985, the Nebraska Supreme Court appointed
a commission composed of six persons, learned in law, to make recommendations to the Court with
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reference to applicants for admission and to conduct examinations for the ensuing years. One
commissioner was selected from each Supreme Court judicial district. In order to create staggered terms,
commissioners first appointed on October 23, 1985, were selected so that one was appointed for aterm of
1 year, one for aterm of 2 years, one for aterm of 3 years, one for aterm of 4 years, one for aterm of 5
years, and one for a term of 6 years, the terms beginning November 1, 1985. Thereafter, each
commissioner is appointed for a term of 6 years. The Court appoints a secretary to the bar commission,
who serves under the supervision of the Court and the bar commission. The commission so appointed
will, prior to the examinations, examine the proofs of qualifications filed in accordance with these rules
and may make further investigation as to the qualifications of any applicant as it deems expedient. On the
day appointed, it will commence the examination of applicants upon the subjects as published. The
method of conducting the examinations will be left to the discretion of the commission. The purpose of
the examination will be to determine whether any individual seeking admission is unqualified and
incompetent to be permitted to practice law within the State of Nebraska. The standards for passing the
examination will be established by the commission with the approval of the Court.

10. Review by Commission. Within 10 days following the bar examination, the commission will file a
copy of the examination questions (excluding any Multistate Bar Examination questions which have not
been made available to the bar commission) with the secretary of the commission, which copy will be a
public record. The secretary of the commission will furnish a copy of any such examination questions to
any person for the prescribed fee.

Immediately following the examination, the commission will file the examination papers (excluding
any Multistate Bar Examination papers) of al applicants who fail the examination with the secretary of
the commission, but no examination papers will become a public record. Within 10 days after the
examination results have been announced, any applicant who fails may personally inspect his or her paper
in the presence of the secretary of the commission.

Any applicant who has failed to pass the bar examination or to be admitted on motion, who has been
denied admission on the basis of fitness or character, or who has been refused permission to take the
examination, may, within 30 days after the mailing of the notice of failure, refusal of permission, denial
of admission on motion, or denial of admission on the basis of fitness or character, request a hearing
before the bar commission. The applicant must appear at the hearing for an oral presentation and present a
concise written brief setting forth the reasons why the applicant should pass, be permitted to take the
examination, be admitted on motion, or be admitted on fitness or character. The applicant may, at the
applicant's expense, make arrangements to have the proceeding recorded for use by the commission or the
Supreme Court on appeal. The commission will then review and consider the reasons presented. Upon
reaching a determination, the commission will advise the applicant of its decision in writing. In the event
that the applicant is dissatisfied with the decision of the commission, the applicant may, within 30 days
from the date of the letter from the commission, appeal the decision to the Supreme Court. The appeal
must be taken and perfected in accordance with rule 15.

Rule 10 amended May 22, 1996.

11. Bar Commission; Reports. As soon as practicable after the conclusion of the examination, the
commission will make a written report to the Court of its recommendations. All applicants who are
approved by the Court will be admitted to practice upon taking the oath prescribed by law.

12. Bar Commission; Rules and Regulations. The bar commission is authorized to make, subject to the
approval of the Supreme Court, such further rules and regulations as it deems necessary or expedient to
carry out the intent and purpose of these rules.
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13. Bar Commission; Administration of Oaths; Power of Subpoena. Each member of the bar commission
is hereby authorized to administer oaths in any proceeding before the bar commission on matters relative
thereto, and has power in such matters to subpoena witnesses and take depositions.

14. Resignation; Readmission. Any attorney admitted to practice law in the State of Nebraska who resigns
membership in the Nebraska State Bar Association, as provided in article I11, 8 9, of the Rules Creating,
Controlling and Regulating Nebraska State Bar Association, will no longer be a member of the Nebraska
bar, and if thereafter such person desires to be readmitted to the Nebraska bar, the applicant must comply
with the applicable provisions of this article.

15. Appeal to Supreme Court; Procedure. Any applicant entitled to appeal from a fina adverse
determination of the bar commission in accordance with rule 10 must file an original and seven copies of
a notice of appeal with the Clerk of the Supreme Court within 30 days following the date notice of the
decision was mailed to the applicant at the address given to the commission by the applicant at the time of
the hearing before the commission. The notice of appeal shall be accompanied by a written statement, an
original and seven copies, setting forth the nature of the case, the reason for the appeal, and the facts and
pertinent authorities upon which the applicant relies. No fee will be charged for filing the appeal. The
Supreme Court will consider the matter de novo on the record made at the hearing before the commission,
including such proceedings as may have been recorded pursuant to rule 10; provided, however, that the
Supreme Court may appoint a master, who, after hearing the arguments of the applicant and the
commission, shall make findings and report them to the Court, together with a recommended disposition.
A copy of such report shall be forwarded to the applicant on the same day an original and seven copies
are filed with the Court. The applicant shall have 14 days from the filing of the report within which to file
an original and seven copies of such response, if any, as the applicant may wish to make.

16. Passing Standards. The passing standard for the bar examination is a grade of 135 on a single
administration of the examination, determined by averaging the scaled score on the MBE (multiple
choice) and the scaled score on the MEE (essay). The passing score for the Multistate Professional
Responsibility Examination is 85.

Rule 16 adopted May 22, 1996; Rule 16 amended May 13, 2004.

17. Examination Costs. Applicants shall also pay to the commission all charges for examinations prepared
by the National Conference of Bar Examiners on behalf of the commission.

Rule 17 adopted May 22, 1996; Rule 17 amended July 28, 1998.

18. Communications in Official Confidence; Immunity. The records, papers, application, and other
documents containing information collected and compiled by the commission, its members, employees,
agents, or representatives are held in official confidence for al purposes other than cooperation with
another bar examining authority. The bar commission and its members, employees, agents, and
representatives are immune from all civil liability for damages for conduct and communications occurring
in the performance of and within the scope of their official duties relating to the examination, character
and fitness qualification, and licensing of persons seeking to be admitted to the practice of law. Records,
statements of opinion, and other information regarding an applicant for admission to the bar
communicated by any entity, including any person, firm, or institution, without malice, to the bar
commission or to its members, employees, agents, or representatives are privileged, and civil suits for
damages predicated thereon may not be instituted.

Rule 18 adopted July 28, 1998.
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19. Fingerprint Record Checks. The bar commission shall obtain a complete set of fingerprints from all
bar applicants on a form designated by the commission as provided under Neb. Rev. Stat § 7-102(2). The
commission will forward the fingerprints of all such applicants to the Nebraska State Patrol for a national
criminal history record information check by the Identification Division of the Federal Bureau of
Investigation. The Supreme Court may, at any time, order the commission to discontinue reguesting, or to
thereafter resume requesting, fingerprint record checks on all applicants that are fingerprinted pursuant to
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 7-102(2).

Rule 19 adopted April 24, 2002.
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APPENDIX A
CHARACTER AND FITNESS STANDARDS

PURPOSE. The primary purposes of character and fitness screening before admission to the bar of
Nebraska are to assure the protection of the public and to safeguard the justice system. The attorney
licensing process is incomplete if only testing for minimal competence is undertaken. The public is
adequately protected only by a system that evaluates character and fitness as those elements relate to the
practice of law. The public interest requires that the public be secure in its expectation that those who are
admitted to the bar are worthy of the trust and confidence clients may reasonably placein their attorneys.

ORGANIZATION. The bar commission will administer character and fitness screening. It will perform
its duties in a manner that assures the protection of the public by recommending for admission only those
who qualify.

THE INVESTIGATIVE PROCESS. The rules of the bar commission place on the applicant the burden of
proving good character by producing documentation, reports, and witnesses in support of the application.
Each investigation will be initiated by requiring the applicant to execute under oath a thorough
application, and to sign an authorization and release form that extends to the bar commission and to any
persons or institutions supplying information thereto. The applicant will be informed of the consequences
of failing to produce information requested by the application and of making material omissions or
mi srepresentations.

STANDARD OF CHARACTER AND FITNESS. An attorney should be one whose record of conduct
justifies the trust of clients, adversaries, courts, and others with respect to the professional duties owed to
them. A record manifesting a significant deficiency in the honesty, trustworthiness, diligence, or
reliability of an applicant may constitute a basis for denial of admission.
RELEVANT CONDUCT. The revelation or discovery of any of the following should be treated as cause
for further inquiry before the bar commission decides whether the applicant possesses the character and
fitness to practice law:

1. misconduct in employment;

2. actsinvolving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation;

3. abuse of legal process, including the filing of vexatious lawsuits;

4. neglect of financial responsibilities;

5. neglect of professional obligations,

6. violation of an order of a court, including child support orders;

7. evidence of mental or emotional instability;

8. evidence of drug or acohol dependence or abuse;

9. denial of admission to the bar in another jurisdiction on character and fitness grounds,

10. disciplinary action by an attorney disciplinary agency or other professional disciplinary agency of
any jurisdiction.
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USE OF INFORMATION. The bar commission will determine whether the present character and fitness
of an applicant qualify the applicant for admission. In making this determination through the processes
described above, the following factors should be considered in assigning weight and significance to prior
conduct:

1. the applicant's age at the time of the conduct;

2. the recency of the conduct;

3. thereliability of the information concerning the conduct;

4. the seriousness of the conduct;

5. the factors underlying the conduct;

6. the cumulative effect of the conduct or information;

7. the evidence of rehabilitation;

8. the applicant's positive socia contributions since the conduct;

9. the applicant's candor in the admissions process,

10. the materiality of any omissions or misrepresentations.

The investigation conducted by the bar commission will be thorough in every respect and will be
concluded expeditiously.
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APPENDIX B

Reserved for Future Use
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APPENDIX C
POLICY ON APPLICANTSWITH A DISABILITY

I. POLICY. It isthe policy of the Nebraska State Bar Commission to administer the bar examination in a
manner that does not discriminate, on the basis of disability, against a qualified applicant with a disability.
An applicant who is otherwise eligible to take the Nebraska bar examination may file arequest for special
testing accommodations.

I1. DEFINITIONS. For the purpose of this palicy, the following definitions shall apply:

A. "Disability" means any of the following:

1. A physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of the mgor life
activities of the applicant and that substantially limits the ability of the applicant to demonstrate,
under standard testing conditions, that the applicant possesses the essential skills, level of
achievement, and aptitudes that the Nebraska Supreme Court and the commission require for
admission to the practice of law in Nebraska;

2. A record of having such an impairment;

3. Being regarded as having such an impairment.

B. "Qualified applicant with a disability" means an applicant with a disability who, with or without
reasonable modifications to rules, policies, or practices; the removal of architectural, communication, or
transportation barriers; or the provision of auxiliary aids and services, meets the essentia eigibility

requirements for admission to the practice of law in Nebraska.

C. "Reasonable accommodation” means an adjustment or modification of the standard testing
conditions that ameliorates the impact of the applicant's disability without doing any of the following:

1. Fundamentally altering the nature of the examination or the commission's ability to determine
through the bar examination whether the applicant possesses the essential skills, level of achievement,
and aptitudes that are among the essential eligibility requirements set forth in rule 3, that the Nebraska
Supreme Court and the commission have determined are required for admission to the practice of law
in Nebraska;

2. Imposing an undue burden on the commission;

3. Compromising the security of the examination;

4. Compromising the integrity, the reliability, or the validity of the examination.

1. REQUESTS FOR SPECIAL TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS
A. Requests

1. A request for special testing accommodations will be on forms prescribed by the commission
and consist of all of the following:
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(a) a statement from the applicant, including a description of the applicant's disability and the
special accommodations requested;

(b) a statement from the applicant's appropriate heath care professional(s) certifying the
applicant's disability;

(c) a statement from any educational institution or employer that provided specidl
accommodations to the applicant while the applicant attended the educationa institution or was
employed by the employer, certifying the accommodation provided;

(d) an authorization for release of records from the applicant's physician(s) and/or other
appropriate headlth care professional(s) for the purpose of assessing the disability, and
accommodations which may be required.

The applicant may file any additional documentation in support of the request.

2. A request for specia testing accommodations for an examination must be filed with the
applicant's Application to take the Bar Examination and by the deadline in rule 2 for filing that
application. A request for specia testing accommodations for re-examination must be filed with the
Application for Re-examination and by the deadlinein rule 2 for filing that application.

B. Availability of Regquest Forms

All forms necessary to complete a request for specia testing accommodations will be available at no
charge from the Nebraska State Bar Commission Admissions Office.
V. COMMISSION DECISIONS

A. Procedures for Review of Requests

1. The commission will review al regquests for special testing accommodations that are properly
filed in accordance with this policy.

(a) Requests that are not timely filed, that are incomplete, or that otherwise do not comply with
the requirements of this policy may be rejected for consideration by the commission.

(b) The commission may ask an applicant to submit additional information to support the
applicant's request.

(c) The commission may seek the assistance of a medical, psychological, or other authority of the
commission's choosing in reviewing a request.

(d) The commission may ask the applicant to submit to an independent evaluation conducted by
an appropriate health care professional selected by the commission.

(e) The cost of the independent evaluation shall be paid by the commission.
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2. In reviewing areguest, the commission will follow these procedures.

(@) The commission will make a determination, and the secretary of the commission will send
notification of the determination to the applicant, no fewer than 25 days before the examination.

(b) The commission's denial of a reguest will be in writing and sent to the applicant by certified
mail to the address provided by the applicant on the request. The commission's denia will include a
statement of the commission's reasons for denial. The commission will aso provide the applicant
with acopy of the written report of any expert it consulted in reviewing the request.

(c) The applicant may appeal the denial of a request to the Supreme Court in accordance with
rules 10 and 15.

3. The commission may delegate to a committee of bar examiners its authority to review and rule
upon requests pursuant to this policy.

B. Standards for Decision on the Merits

1. The commission will grant a request and provide special testing accommodations to an
applicant if it finds all of the following:

(a) the applicant has a disability and is otherwise eligible to take the bar examination;

(b) the special testing accommodations are necessary to ameliorate the impact of the applicant's
disability;

(c) the special testing accommodations are reasonable accommodations.

2. The commission will have sole discretion to determine what special testing accommodations
are reasonable accommodations. The commission may provide accommodations different from those
requested by the applicant if the commission determines that the accommodations provided will
effectively ameliorate the impact of the applicant's disability.

3. No specia testing accommodation granted pursuant to this policy will alter in any manner the
limitation otherwise imposed on the length of an applicant's answers.

4. If an applicant is permitted to dictate answers to the essay portion of the examination, those
answers will be transcribed by personnel selected solely by the commission for that purpose.

V. CONFIDENTIALITY

All reguests for special testing accommodations, supporting documentation, and information
developed by the commission with respect to the requests will remain confidential; however, the
commission may reveal the contents of applications to its experts in assessing and commenting on the
matters contained in the applications.

Appendix C amended May 22, 1996; part |1(A) and (C) amended July 28, 1998; part IV (A)1(e) amended October 16, 2003.
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DISCIPLINARY RULES

PREFACE

The Nebraska Supreme Court has the inherent power and duty to prescribe standards of conduct for
attorneys admitted to practice law in Nebraska; to determine what constitutes grounds for the discipline of
attorneys: to disbar, suspend, censure, or reprimand for cause attorneys whose failure to comply with the
obligations of a member of the bar has been duly established.

Attorneys are a part of the judicial system of the State and are officers of its courts. A license to
practice law confers no vested right, but is a conditional privilege, revocable for cause.

The discipline of attorneysis for the protection of the public, the profession, and the administration of
justice.
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DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply wherever used in these rules:

ASSOCIATION

ATTORNEY

The Nebraska State Bar A ssociation.

A person duly admitted to the practice of law in the State of Nebraska by the Couirt,
under the laws of the State of Nebraska, and who is by his or her oath required to
abide by its laws, including the laws of its subdivisions and the Nebraska Rules of
Professional Conduct.

Amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.

CLERK

COMPLAINANT

COMPLAINT

The Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals of the State of Nebraska.
Any person who makes a Grievance.

A written statement prepared by the Counsel for Discipline as a result of an
investigation of a Grievance and filed with the appropriate Committee on Inquiry.

CONDITIONAL ADMISSION OF GUILT

A process whereby a member charged can conditionally admit his or her guilt
pending final approval by the Court.

COUNSEL FOR DISCIPLINE

Amended Dec. 13, 1995.

COURT

The person employed by the Nebraska Supreme Court to fulfill the duties and
responsibilities set out in these rules, and it shall include that person's staff to whom
he or she shal have the power to delegate the authority to make the required
investigations and such other duties as he or she may assign to the staff. It shall also
include the person appointed by the Court to serve as special prosecutor in a
disciplinary case.

The Supreme Court of the State of Nebraska.

DISABILITY INACTIVE STATUS

Suspension from the practice of law due to a disability or substance abuse problem.

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

FORMAL CHARGE

GRIEVANCE

The Executive Council of the Nebraska State Bar Association.

A written statement prepared by the Counsel for Discipline at the direction of the
Committee on Inquiry or the Disciplinary Review Board.

Any written statement made by any person alleging conduct on the part of a member
which appears, in the judgment of the Counsel for Discipline, to have merit, and, if
true, would constitute a violation of the member's oath, the Nebraska Rules of
Professional Conduct, or these rules; allegations of misconduct not appearing in the
judgment of the Counsel for Discipline to have merit are not deemed a Grievance
under theserules.

Amended February 28, 2001; amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.
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INQUIRY

MEMBER

OATH

A review of the investigative file of the Counsel for Discipline by a Committee on
Inquiry Panel subseguent to the filing of a Complaint. An Inquiry is not a hearing and
witnesses shall not be called and evidence shall not be introduced. At the request of
the Inquiry Panel, the Counsel for Discipline may appear and participate in the
proceeding.

A member of the Nebraska State Bar Association of any class of membership.
The oath of office taken by an attorney or member at the time of his or her admission

to practice as provided by Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 7-104, or as the same may be hereafter
amended.

PRIVATE REPRIMAND

RELATOR

RESPONDENT

A reprimand of a member by the Committee on Inquiry of the appropriate Judicial
Didtrict or the Disciplinary Review Board which shall be in writing, signed by the
Chairperson and Vice Chairperson, and directed to the member by United States
certified mail, return receipt requested, but shall not be made public.

The Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court.

A member charged with a violation of his or her oath, or the Nebraska Rules of
Professional Conduct, or these rules.

Amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.

RULES

RULES OF
PROFESSIONAL
CONDUCT

These rules as adopted by the Court or as the same may be hereafter amended.

The Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct as adopted by the Court, together with
such amendments thereto as may from time to time be approved by the Court.

Adopted July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.

SERIOUS CRIME

Any felony or any lesser crime that reflects adversely on the lawyer’'s honesty,
trustworthiness, or fitness as alawyer.
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RULE 1. JURISDICTION

(A) Every attorney admitted to practice in the State of Nebraska is subject to the exclusive
disciplinary jurisdiction of the Court.

(B) Nothing herein contained shall be construed to deny to any other court such powers as are
necessary for that court to maintain control over proceedings conducted before it, such as the power of
contempt.

(C) Time limitations for the Committees on Inquiry and Disciplinary Review Board as set forth herein
are directory and not jurisdictional. Failure to observe prescribed time intervals may result in sanctions
against the violator but does not justify abatement of any discipline or disability investigation or proceeding.

(D) Incumbent judges shall not be subject to the jurisdiction of the Counsel for Discipline.

(E) Every attorney admitted to practice in the State of Nebraska shall pay a disciplinary assessment
for each calendar year from January 1 to December 31, payable in advance on or before January 1 of each
year, in such amount as may be fixed by the Court. The first disciplinary assessment shall be due on or before
January 1, 2001. The disciplinary assessment shall be paid to the Treasurer of the Association and shall be
used to defray the costs of disciplinary administration and enforcement as established by these rules. Different
classifications of disciplinary assessments may be established for Active Jr., Active Sr., Active, Inactive,
Military, and Emeritus members as those membership classes are defined in Article I11 of the Rules Creating,
Controlling, and Regulating Nebraska State Bar Association. Members newly admitted to the practice of law
in the State of Nebraska shall not pay a disciplinary assessment for the remainder of the calendar year in
which they are admitted.

(F) Members who fail to pay the disciplinary assessment shall be subject to suspension from the
practice of law as provided in Article I11(5) of the Rules Creating, Controlling, and Regulating Nebraska State
Bar Association.

RULE 2. JURISDICTION OF DISCIPLINARY DISTRICTS

The Disciplinary District which shall have jurisdiction over a member shall be any District, as defined
in Rule 7, in which the member maintains an office, or the District in which his or her conduct under
investigation occurred. If the member resides in Nebraska but does not maintain an office in Nebraska,
jurisdiction shall be in the District of the member's residence. If the member does not maintain an office or a
residence in Nebraska and the conduct under investigation did not occur in Nebraska, the Disciplinary Review
Board shall determine which District shall have jurisdiction and shall assign the investigation to the Counsel
for Discipline.

RULE 3. GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE

(A) The license to practice law in this State is a continuing proclamation by the Court that the holder
is fit to be entrusted with professional and judicial matters and to aid in the administration of justice as an
attorney and as an officer of the Court. It is the duty of every recipient of the conditional privilege to practice
law to conduct himself or herself at all times, both professionally and personally, in conformity with the
standards imposed upon members as conditions for that privilege.

(B) Acts or omissions by a member, individually or in concert with any other person or persons,
which violate the Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct as adopted by the Court, the oath, or the provisions
of these rules, shall be grounds for discipline whether the act or omission occurred in the course of an
attorney-client relationship or otherwise.

Rule 3(B)(1) amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.
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RULE 4. TYPES OF DISCIPLINE
(A) Misconduct shall be grounds for:
(1) Disbarment by the Court; or
(2) Suspension by the Court; or

(3) Probation by the Court in lieu of or subsequent to suspension, on such terms as the Court
may designate; or

(4) Censure and reprimand by the Court; or
(5) Temporary suspension by the Court; or
(6) Private reprimand by the Committee on Inquiry or Disciplinary Review Board.
(B) The Court may, in its discretion, impose one or more of the disciplinary sanctions set forth above.

Rule 4A(3) and 4B amended June 16, 2004.

RULE 5. THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

(A) The Court shall appoint a committee to be known as the Advisory Committee which shall consist
of one member from each Supreme Court Judicial District in effect at the time of the adoption of these rules
and as may hereafter be changed, a member at large to be Chairperson, and a member at large to be Vice
Chairperson.

(B) When the Advisory Committee is first appointed, one member shall be appointed for a term of
one year, one member for two years, one member for three years, one member for four years, one member for
five years, one member for six years, and one member for seven years. The first person appointed Vice
Chairperson shall serve for seven years. Thereafter the full regular term of each member of the Committee
shall be for seven years and no member shall serve full regular consecutive terms, but may be reappointed
after a lapse of one year; provided, however, that at no time shall the terms of the Chairperson and Vice
Chairperson expire at the same time.

(C) In the interest of continuity and efficiency of operation the Court may deviate from time to time
from the above designated terms of membership. Members of the Advisory Committee shall not receive
compensation for their services but may be reimbursed for travel and other expenses incidental to the
performance of their duties.

(D) The Advisory Committee shall have the following powers and duties:

(1) Inits discretion, render to a member upon his or her written request an advisory opinion
or an interpretation of the Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct regarding anticipatory conduct on
the part of the member. A member requesting an opinion from the Advisory Committee shall prepare
and submit with his or her request a statement of the specific facts upon which the opinion is
requested and a memorandum directing the attention of the Committee to the pertinent Nebraska
Rules of Professional Conduct and relevant case authority. The Chairperson of the Advisory
Committee may waive this requirement in appropriate cases.

(2) Make appropriate arrangements, through its Chairperson, for publication and
dissemination of such advisory opinions as the Committee deems of general interest to the members.
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Rule 5(D)(1) amended February 22, 1996; Rule 5(A) and (B) amended July 23, 1997; Rule 5(D)(1) amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1,
2005.

RULE 6. THE DISCIPLINARY REVIEW BOARD

(A) The Court shall appoint a committee to be known as the Disciplinary Review Board which shall
consist of one member from each Supreme Court Judicial District in effect at the time of the adoption of these
rules and as may hereafter be changed, one member of which shall be designated as Vice Chairperson; a
member at large to be Chairperson; and three residents of Nebraska, not members, representing the public at
large. The Vice Chairperson shall act as Chairperson if the designated Chairperson is absent or disqualified
from acting in a particular proceeding. Neither the Chairperson nor the Vice Chairperson shall be nonlawyers.

(B) When the Disciplinary Review Board isfirst appointed, one member shall be appointed for aterm
of one year, one member for two years, one member for three years, one member for four years, one member
for five years, one member for six years, and one member for seven years. Thereafter the full regular term
shall be for seven years and no member shall serve full regular consecutive terms, but may be reappointed
after alapse of one year. Initially, one representative of the public shall be appointed for a term of two years,
one for a term of three years, and one for a term of four years. Thereafter the full regular term of the
representative of the public shall be for three years. Representatives of the public may serve full regular
consecutive terms.

(C) In the interest of continuity and efficiency of operation the Court may deviate from time to time
from the above designated terms of membership. Any member who is participating in a disciplinary
proceeding which is pending at the time the member's term expires shall continue to serve as a member of the
Board, with respect to such proceeding, until final disposition of that proceeding. Such a member will servein
addition to the seven regular members of that Board. Members of the Disciplinary Review Board shall not
receive compensation for their services but may be reimbursed for travel and other expenses incidenta to the
performance of their duties.

(D) The Disciplinary Review Board shall have the following powers and duties:

(2) If necessary, because of disqualification or unavailability, to direct that the Complaint be
referred to some other Committee on Inquiry, in which case the Committee on Inquiry to which it is
so referred shall have full power and jurisdiction to the same extent and in like manner as the
Committee which had original jurisdiction.

(2) Assume jurisdiction of and determine a matter to the same extent and with like power as a
Committee on Inquiry when directed by the Court.

(3) Review motions to quash subpoenas.

(4) Review a dismissal of a Grievance by the Counsel for Discipline upon application of the
Complainant filed within thirty days of receipt of notice of the dismissal. After review of the
investigative file of the Counsel for Discipline, the Disciplinary Review Board may affirm the
dismissal of the Grievance, direct the Counsel for Discipline to further investigate, or direct the
Counsel for Discipline to file a Complaint with the appropriate Committee on Inquiry. Should the
Disciplinary Review Board reverse the Counsel for Discipline’s decision to dismiss a Grievance, a
specia prosecutor shall be appointed to prosecute the action.

(5) Review the private reprimand issued by the Committee on Inquiry in conformity to Rule
9(H) upon written application of the member against whom the reprimand was issued or the Counsel
for Discipline filed within thirty days of issuance of the reprimand. After review of the investigative
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file of the Counse for Discipline, the Disciplinary Review Board may affirm the issuance of the
private reprimand, reverse the issuance of the private reprimand and dismiss the complaint, or
determine that there are reasonable grounds for discipline of the Respondent and that a public interest
would be served by thefiling of a Formal Charge.

(6) Review adismissal of a Complaint by the Committee on Inquiry in conformity with Rule
9(H) upon written application of the Counsel for Discipline filed within thirty days of receipt of the
notice of dismissal. After review of the investigative file of the Counsel for Discipline, the
Disciplinary Review Board may affirm the dismissal of the Complaint; determine that there are
reasonable grounds for discipline of the Respondent but that no public interest would be served by the
filing of a Forma Charge and, thereupon, prepare and issue a private reprimand; or determine that
there are reasonable grounds for discipline of the Respondent and that a public interest would be
served by the filing of a Formal Charge. If the Disciplinary Review Board determines that a Formal
Charge is warranted, the Board shall direct the Counsel for Discipline to file the same with the Clerk.

(7) A review provided for in subparagraphs (4), (5), or (6) immediately above shall be
completed within sixty days after it is received by the Disciplinary Review Board unless the
Chairperson of the Disciplinary Review Board, because of the extent of the record or the complexity
of the issues, determines that additional time is necessary.

(E) Reviews provided for in paragraph (D)(4), (5), or (6) of this rule shall be conducted by a panel
appointed by the Chairperson of the Board. The panel shall be composed of three members of the Disciplinary
Review Board. One member of each panel shall be a nonlawyer. The Chairperson of the Board shall appoint
one lawyer member of the panel to serve as Chairperson of the panel.

Rule 6(A) amended November 14, 1996; Rule 6(D)4 amended November 22, 2000.

RULE 7. DISTRICT COMMITTEE ON INQUIRY

(A) (1) The Court shall appoint a Committee on Inquiry in each of six districts. For the purposes
of these rules, such districts shall be coterminous with the Supreme Court Judicial District of the same
number in effect at the time of the adoption of these rules, and as hereafter may be changed. The
Committees on Inquiry shall contain the following number of members, one-third of whom shall be
nonlawyers: districts 1 and 2 shall contain 12 members and districts 3, 4, 5, and 6 shall contain 6
members.

(2) The members of each committee shall be residents of, or have their principal law office
in, the district in which they serve as herein described; provided, however, that members of the
Committee on Inquiry for district 4 may reside in any part of Douglas County, and members of the
Committee on Inquiry for district 2 may reside in Sarpy County.

(3) Members of the Committees on Inquiry as they exist as of the date of adoption of thisrule
amendment shall continue to serve our their terms on such committees, however, when those terms
expire, replacement for such members shall be in accordance with the boundaries and residence
reguirements of these rules.

(B) The Court shall designate one member as Chairperson and two members as Vice Chairpersons,
either of whom may serve as Chairperson in the event of the disgualification or unavailability of the
Chairperson. Neither the Chairperson nor the Vice Chairpersons shall be nonlawyers.

(C) When a Committee on Inquiry is first appointed, one-sixth of its members shall be appointed for a
term of one year, one-sixth for aterm of two years, one-sixth for aterm of three years, one-sixth for a term of
four years, one-sixth for aterm of five years, and one-sixth for a term of six years and thereafter all regular
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terms shall be six years. No member of the Committee shall serve consecutive terms but may, however, be
reappointed after alapse of one year.

(D) In the interest of continuity and efficiency of operation the Court may deviate from time to time
from the above designated terms of membership. Any member who is participating in a disciplinary
proceeding which is pending at the time the member's term expires shall continue to serve as a member of the
Committee, with respect to such proceeding, until final disposition of that proceeding. Such a member will
serve in addition to the regular members of that Committee. Members of the Committee shall not receive
compensation for their services but may be reimbursed for travel and other expenses incidenta to
performance of their duties.

(E) The Committee on Inquiry shall have the following powers and duties:
(1) Review the investigations and Complaint presented to it by the Counsel for Discipline.
(2) Dismiss the Complaint upon being satisfied it is without foundation and merit.

(3) Issue a private reprimand if the Complaint indicates a matter not appropriate for a Formal
Charge.

(4) Make application to the Court requesting that a member be placed on disability inactive
status or for an immediate temporary suspension of a member in conformity with Rule 11 or Rule 12.

(F) An Inquiry regarding a Complaint filed with a Committee on Inquiry by the Counsel for
Discipline shall be conducted by an Inquiry Panel composed of three members of the Committee appointed by
the Chairperson of the Committee, one of whom shall be the Chairperson or a Vice Chairperson of the
Committee, who shall serve as Chairperson of the Inquiry Panel. One member of each Inquiry Panel shall be a

nonlawyer.

Rule 7(A)(2) amended November 23, 1994; Rule 7(A)(2) amended May 30, 1996; Rule 7(A)(2) amended November 12, 1998; Rule 7(A)(1)—(3)
amended March 24, 2004..
RULE 8. COUNSEL FOR DISCIPLINE

(A) The Counsel for Discipline shall be appointed by the Nebraska Supreme Court and his or her
appointment and tenure of office shall be on such terms and for such period as may be designated by the
Court. The Counsel for Discipline shall not be permitted to engage in the private practice of law except the
Court may agree to areasonable period of transition after his or her appointment.

(B) The Counsel for Discipline shall have the following powers and duties:

(1) Review, investigate, or refer for investigation all matters of alleged misconduct called to
his or her attention by Grievance or otherwise. The Counsel for Discipline may initiate Grievances.

(2) Notify a member in writing that he or she is the subject of a Grievance and furnish the
member a copy thereof within fifteen days of receipt of the Grievance.

(3) Dismiss a Grievance if, in his or her judgment, it is without foundation and merit.
(4) Refer membersto Attorney Assistance Programs under appropriate circumstances.

(5) Prepare a Complaint and file it with the appropriate Committee on Inquiry if, in his or her
judgment, there is sufficient evidence to substantiate such Complaint.
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(6) Confer with any Committee on Inquiry prior to dismissal of a Grievance or preparation of
aComplaint if he or sheisin doubt as to the proper disposition of the matter.

(7) Provide research services for the Advisory Committee.
(8) Maintain records as follows:

(a) Records of correspondence received by the Counsel for Discipline but not classified as a
Grievance shall be maintained for a period of three years, after which time they may be destroyed.

(b) Records of Grievances which have resulted in referral to Attorney Assistance Programs
shall be maintained for a period of three years, after which time they may be destroyed.

(c) Records of Grievances which have been dismissed by the Counsel for Discipline for lack
of foundation and merit shall be maintained for a period of three years, after which time they may be
destroyed.

(d) Records of Grievances in which Complaints have been filed and then dismissed shall be
maintained for a period of five years after final disposition of the complaint, after which time they
may be destroyed.

(e) Records of Grievances against attorneys that have resulted in a reprimand by the
Committee on Inquiry or the Disciplinary Review Board or probation, a reprimand, censure,
suspension, or disbarment of the attorney shall be maintained until the death of the attorney, after
which time they may be destroyed.

(9) Make a semiannual summary report to the Court of all disciplinary matters for each six-
month period. Such report shall include the following information:

(2) Number of members complained against.
(b) The general nature of the Grievances.

(c) The disposition or status thereof and such other matters as the Court may, from time to
time, request.

(d) A copy of the portion of the report relating to each Committee on Inquiry shall be
submitted to the Chairperson of that Committee on Inquiry.

(10) Assist the Court in any disciplinary matter then pending before the Court, if requested.

RULE 9. PROCEDURE
Committee on Inquiry - Counsel for Discipline - Disciplinary Review Board

(A) All allegations of misconduct must be filed with the office of the Counsel for Discipline. All
alegations of misconduct received by any other person shall be transmitted forthwith to the Counsel for
Discipline. Upon receipt of information indicating an abuse of acohol or drugs by a member or the existence
of a mental heath or gambling problem, the Counsel for Discipline shall release such information to the
Nebraska Lawyers Assistance Program. The release of this information shall not be a violation of the
confidentiality requirements of Rule 18.
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(B) All investigations, whether upon allegations of misconduct or otherwise, shall normally be
initiated by the Counsel for Discipline.

(C) When it appears to the Counsel for Discipline that allegations of misconduct do not have merit or
that the alegations, if true, would not constitute grounds for discipline, he or she may decline to investigate
and shall so advise the Complainant in writing with a proper explanation. In making a determination, the
Counsel for Discipline may make such preliminary inquiry regarding the underlying facts as he or she deems
appropriate. This may include reguests for information from the Complainant and the member. All doubts
shall be resolved in favor of an investigation. A declination by the Counsel for Discipline to investigate and
dismissal pursuant to this rule are not appealable to the Committee on Inquiry or the Disciplinary Review
Board.

(D) If it appears to the Counsel for Discipline that allegations of misconduct may have merit and, if
true, would constitute grounds for discipline, he or she shall notify the member against whom the allegations
are directed that the member is the subject of a Grievance, and within fifteen days of its receipt furnish the
member a copy thereof by certified mail, return receipt requested, at the member’ s last known address.

(E) Upon receipt of notice of a Grievance from the Counsel for Discipline, the member against whom
the Grievance is directed shall prepare and submit to the Counsel for Discipline, in writing, within fifteen
working days of receipt of such notice, an appropriate response to the Grievance, or aresponse stating that the
member refuses to answer substantively and explicitly asserting constitutional or other grounds therefor. For
good cause, the Counsel for Discipline may grant additional time for the filing of a response.

(F) If, upon conclusion of any investigation, the Counsel for Discipline determines there are not
reasonable grounds for discipline of a member against whom a Grievance is directed, he or she shall dismiss
the Grievance and shall so advise the Complainant in writing with a proper explanation. The Counsel for
Discipline shall further advise such Complainant that an appeal may be taken to the Disciplinary Review
Board pursuant to Rule 14(A).

(G) If, upon conclusion of any investigation, the Counsel for Discipline determines there are
reasonable grounds for discipline of a member against whom a Grievance is made, he or she shall reduce the
Grievance to a Complaint specifying with particularity the facts which constitute the basis thereof and the
grounds for discipline which appear to have been violated. The Complaint shall be forwarded by the Counsel
for Discipline to the member by regular mail at the member’s last known address. The member shall have ten
working days from the date the Complaint is mailed to submit an additional written explanation of the facts or
circumstances for inclusion in the Counsel for Discipline's invetigative file. The Complaint and either the
investigation file, or a copy thereof, shall then be immediately forwarded to the proper Committee on Inquiry.

(H) Upon receipt of the Complaint and file from the Counsel for Discipline, the Chairperson of the
Committee on Inquiry shall appoint an Inquiry Panel pursuant to Rule 7(F) which shall within thirty days
review the Complaint and either:

(1) Determine that the Complaint, if true, would not constitute grounds for discipline and
dismiss the Complaint.

(2) Determine that there are not reasonable grounds for discipline of the Respondent, and
dismiss the Complaint.

(3) Determine that there are reasonable grounds for discipline of the Respondent but that no
public interest would be served by the institution of a Formal Charge. The Panel thereupon shall
prepare and issue to the Respondent a private reprimand which shall be made a permanent part of the
filein the office of the Counsel for Discipline, and this reprimand shall be received as evidence in any
subsequent disciplinary proceeding against the Respondent only after a finding of misconduct in the
subsequent disciplinary proceeding.
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(4) Determine that there are reasonable grounds for discipline of the Respondent and that a
public interest would be served by the filing of a Formal Charge. The Counsel for Discipline shall
thereafter prepare and sign Formal Charges for filing with the Court. The Formal Charge shall be
made in the name of the State of Nebraska on the relation of the Counsel for Discipline of the
Nebraska Supreme Court.

(I) The Respondent or the Counsel for Discipline may appeal the actions of the Inquiry Panel to the
Disciplinary Review Board in conformity with Rules 6(D)(5) and (6) and 14(D).

Rule 9(C) and (D) amended March 13, 1998; Rule 9(A) and (B) amended February 28, 2001.

RULE 10. PROCEDURE
Nebraska Supreme Court

(A) Proceedings for discipline of members shall be considered civil in their nature and for the purpose
of protecting the public and the good name of the members, and may be instituted against any person who has
been licensed to practice in the courts of the State of Nebraska.

(B) Proceedings for discipline of members may be instituted and prosecuted in the name of the State
of Nebraska on the relation of the Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court without |leave of
court.

(C) Proceedings shall be initiated by the Counsel for Discipline filing a Formal Charge setting forth
the grounds thereof with reasonable definiteness. The Forma Charge shall be filed with the Clerk who shall
then docket the cause as an original proceeding in the Court. No initial filing fee shall be charged in these
actions.

(D) Upon the filing in the Court of a Formal Charge as contemplated and provided for by these rules
against any member, Counsel for Discipline shall prosecute the Formal Charge against the Respondent. If the
Court is advised by Counsel for Discipline by written notice or by a motion filed by the Respondent that, for
reasons specified therein, a conflict exists or Counsel for Discipline cannot otherwise carry out such duty, the
Court within ten days, in its discretion, may appoint any member to prosecute the Formal Charge.

(E) The Counsel for Discipline or any member so appointed may within thirty days, in his or her
discretion, prepare and file an amended Formal Charge. Within five days after the time fixed for filing an
amended Formal Charge, service shall be made upon the Respondent as provided for in paragraph (G) below.

(F) If the Counsel for Discipline or the member so appointed has in his or her possession evidence
which, in his or her opinion, warrants any additional Charge or Charges, the Counsel for Discipline or the
member so appointed may incorporate such additional Charge or Charges in the Forma Charge and prosecute
the same, despite the fact that they may not have been presented to the Committee on Inquiry or the
Disciplinary Review Board.

(G) Service upon the Respondent may be had by serving upon him or her a copy of the Formal
Charge or any amended Formal Charge and notice of the time for answer in the same manner as service of
summons is had in civil proceedings in the district courts of the State, in which case it shall be proved by the
official return of the officer making such service. Service shall be deemed to have been waived if the
Respondent shall sign a written receipt for a copy of the Formal Charge and notice. Service may likewise be
had by the mailing by the Clerk of a certified copy of said Formal Charge and notice by certified mail, return
receipt requested, to the Respondent at his or her last known address; and in that event the officia return card
of the United States mail, signed by the Respondent, acknowledging receipt of the envelope containing the
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copy of said Formal Charge and notice, shall be deemed sufficient proof of service. In the event that it shall
appear by affidavit that personal service cannot be had upon the Respondent and that letters to the
Respondent's last known address are returned unclaimed, service may be had upon the Respondent by
publication of notice for two successive weeks in some legal newspaper published in the county wherein the
Respondent last resided. Such notice shall state that Forma Charge for disciplinary action has been filed in
the Court against the Respondent and shall give the date of filing and the time within which Respondent is
required to answer.

(H) The answer of the Respondent shall be filed within thirty days after service of summons and a
copy of the Formal Charge or within thirty days after service by publication, as herein provided, shall have
been completed. For good cause shown the Court may extend the time to answer.

(1) If no answer be filed within the time limited therefor, or if the answer raises no issue of fact or of
law, the matter may be disposed of by the Court on its own motion or on a motion for judgment on the
pleadings, but in either case there shall be an opportunity for oral argument prior to entry of an order of
disbarment by the Court.

(J) Upon the filing of an answer raising an issue of fact, the Court shall refer the matter to a member
as referee. It shall be the duty of such referee to fix an early date for hearing, notify the relator and the
Respondent or their respective attorneys of record, and without delay to hear such testimony as may be
introduced under the pleadings. The referee shall have al powers of arefereein civil actions in the courts of
Nebraska The referee shall observe the rules of evidence, discovery rules, and motion practice applicable in
civil actionsin the district courts of the State of Nebraska. The standard of proof in hearings before the referee
shall be clear and convincing. The referee shall have a competent reporter present who shall take in shorthand
or by any mechanical device and transcribe in typewriting all oral evidence adduced at the hearing had before
the referee. The referee may continue the hearing from time to time as circumstances may require, but shall
not delay his or her proceedings unless justice and equity so require. The referee shall make a written report
within four months of the referee's appointment, unless extended by order of the Court, stating his or her
findings of fact and recommendations. The typewritten record of the proceedings shall have attached to it all
of the exhibits offered at the hearing, and shall be certified by the referee. The referee shall promptly transmit
to the Court the referee's report, together with such record so certified, and shall transmit a copy of the report
to the Respondent.

(i) When the transcription of ora evidence, exclusive of exhibits, exceeds 250 pages in
length, the reporter shall prepare one or more write-protected 3%2-inch computer disks containing the
transcription of proceedings. Such disks shall be formatted in Microsoft Word, or, if such formatting
cannot be accomplished, in ASCII text. An adhesive label shall be affixed to each disk legibly
identifying the case caption, docket and page or case numbers, disk number (1 of 2, etc.), the format
utilized, and the name of the reporter. The first line of the label shall be left blank. Such disk(s) shall
be transmitted to the Court by the referee at the same time that the typewritten record of proceedings
and any attached exhibits are filed in the Court. Such disk(s) shal be for the exclusive use of the
Supreme Court and authorized court personnel. Any reporter who lacks the technological capability
to comply with this requirement shall include in the transcription of oral evidence a separate
certificate so stating.

(i) In addition to the written report of the referee, he or she shall also prepare one or more
write-protected 3%2-inch computer disks containing the report. Such disks shall be formatted in
Microsoft Word, or, if such formatting cannot be accomplished, in ASCII text. An adhesive |abel
shall be affixed to each disk legibly identifying the case caption, docket and page or case numbers,
disk number (1 of 2, etc.), the format utilized, and the name of the referee. The first line of the label
shall be left blank. The referee shal transmit such disk(s) to the Court at the same time that the
referee’ swritten report is filed in the Court. Such disk(s) shall be for the exclusive use of the Supreme
Court and authorized court personnel. Any referee who lacks the technological capability to comply
with this requirement shall include in the report a separate certificate so stating.

-3.12-



Disciplinary Rules

(K) Upon the filing of an answer raising an issue of law only, the Court may, in its discretion, refer
the matter to a member as referee for such action in relation thereto as the Court may by its order of reference
direct.

(L) Within ten days after the filing of the report of the referee, any party thereto may file written
exceptions to such report. If no exceptions are filed, the Court, in its discretion, may consider the findings
final and conclusive, and on motion shall enter such order as the evidence and law require.

(M) If exceptions be filed to the findings or report of the referee, briefs and arguments shall be filed
and oral arguments made in the Court as required by the rules of the Court in civil cases. The party filing
exceptions to the findings and report of the referee shall serve and file his or her brief within thirty days after
the filing of such report and the brief of the adverse party shall be served and filed within thirty days
thereafter. The case shall thereupon be placed upon the Court call for hearing.

(N) The Court may disbar, suspend, censure, or reprimand the Respondent, place him or her on
probation, or take such other action as shall by the Court be deemed appropriate. All orders of public
discipline shall be forwarded by the Clerk to the membership secretary of the Nebraska State Bar Association.

(O) Any party thereto may file a motion for rehearing at any time within twenty days from the filing
of the opinion or rendition of the judgment of the Court.

(P) Costs of these actions may be taxed by the Court as the Court shall seefit.

(Q) The Counsel for Discipline shall prosecute any case referred to him or her by the Court for
prosecution.

(R) No application for modification of judgment pursuant to Rule 4 of these rules shall be made prior
to the expiration of one year after the final order in such proceedings shall have been entered except in cases
where the only service upon Respondent has been by publication, and no appearance has been made by
Respondent, and except where the application is made under the terms of Neb. Rev. Stat. 88 25-2001 to 25-
2009.

(S) No application for reinstatement from an order of suspension shall be made prior to the expiration
of the period of suspension unless otherwise provided by the Court in said order.

(T) No application for reinstatement from an order of disbarment shall be made prior to the expiration
of five years after the final order in such proceedings shall have been entered.

(U) A member seeking reinstatement must inform the Counsel for Discipline of al prior discipline
taken against him or her in any jurisdiction.

(V) Copies of every such application shall be furnished the Relator, the Counsel for Discipline, the
current Chairperson of the Committee on Inquiry for the District which exercised original jurisdiction, and the
Chairperson of the Disciplinary Review Board, any one or more of whom may appear and resist such
application. Any other persons may likewise appear upon obtaining leave of the Court and make such
resistance. Within twenty days thereafter, the Counsel for Discipline and the District Committee on Inquiry,
by its Chairperson, shall each file a written statement recommending the application be granted or denied and
the reasons therefor. The Court may deny such application without a hearing if justice and equity require it. If
the application or the showing in resistance thereto shall require the taking of evidence, the matter may be
referred to areferee and the proceedings shall be the same as in the case of original disciplinary proceedings.

Rule 10(H) amended October 30, 1996; Rule 10(D) amended September 11, 2002; Rule 10(J) amended November 14, 2002; Rule 10(B), (C), (1) and (P) amended August 27, 2003; Rule
10(J) amended August 31, 2005.
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RULE 11. DISABILITY INACTIVE STATUS
Incompetency or Incapacity

(A) Upon a Grievance that a member isincapacitated from continuing the practice of law by reason of
physical or mental illness, or because of addiction to drugs or intoxicants, the appropriate Committee on
Inquiry, with the assistance of the Counsel for Discipline, may prepare and submit to the Court an application
reguesting that the member be placed on disability inactive status. Such application shall be signed by the
Chairperson of such Committee, and shall set forth grounds clearly indicating a temporary suspension of the
member is necessary and proper.

(B) Upon the filing of such application the Court shall provide for notice to the member who shall
have the right of representation by counsel selected by the member or appointed by the Court, if it should
appear to the Court the member may not be competent to do so. Notice shall be by service of the application
by any means permitted with respect to service of formal charges under Rule 10(G), except that service may
not be accomplished by publication.

(C) The Court shall take or direct, consistent with fundamental fairness and due process, such action
as it deems necessary and proper to determine whether the member is incapacitated from continuing the
practice of law, including a direction for an examination of the member by such qualified medical experts as
the Court shall designate at the cost of the member.

(D) If, upon due consideration of the matter, the Court concludes the member is incapacitated from
continuing to practice law, it shall enter an order placing the member on disability inactive status on the
grounds of such disability until further order of the Court, and any pending disciplinary proceeding against
the member shall be held in abeyance. Members on disability inactive status shall not be required to pay
annual dues or disciplinary assessments to the Nebraska State Bar Association.

(E) If, in the course of a proceeding under this rule, the Court shall determine the member is not
incapacitated from practicing law, it shall take such action as it deems proper and advisable, including a
direction for the resumption of any disciplinary proceedings being held in abeyance.

(F) Any member on disability inactive status under the provisions of this rule shall be entitled to
apply for reinstatement by filing with the Court an application supported by clear and convincing evidence the
member's disability has been removed and the member is capable of resuming the practice of law. Upon such
application, the Court may take or direct such actions as its deems necessary and proper to determine if the
disahility of such member has been removed, including a direction for an examination of the member by such
qualified medical experts as the Court shall designate. The Court may direct the expense of such an
examination shall be paid by the member.

(G) The filing of an application for reinstatement by a member suspended under this rule shall be
deemed to constitute a waiver of any physician-patient privilege with respect to any treatment of the member
during the period of his or her disability. The member shall be required to disclose the name of every
psychiatrist, psychologist, physician, and hospital or institution by whom, or in which, the member has been
examined or treated since his or her placement on disability inactive status, and the member shall furnish to
the Court written consent and waiver to each such person and institution to furnish such information and
records as requested by court-appointed medical experts.

Rule 11(B) amended September 11, 2002; Rule 11(H) deleted September 11, 2002.
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RULE 12. TEMPORARY SUSPENSION
Continuing Damage to the Public and Members, Nonpayment of Support Orders, or Conviction of a Crime

(A) Upon a Grievance that a member is engaging in conduct that, if allowed to continue until final
disposition of disciplinary proceedings, will cause serious damage to the public and members, or upon
certification or notice that a member is delinquent on or is failing to pay a court-ordered obligation under a
support order, or when a member has been convicted of a serious crime, the appropriate Committee on
Inquiry with the assistance of the Counsel for Discipline may prepare and submit to the Court an application
for the temporary suspension of the member from the practice of law until final disposition of any pending
disciplinary proceedings. Such application shall be signed by the Chairperson of the Committee and shall set
forth grounds clearly indicating that a temporary suspension of the member is necessary and proper.

(B) Upon the filing of such application for temporary suspension, the Court shall provide for notice to
the member who shall have the right of representation by counsel selected by the member or appointed by the
Court, if it should appear to the Court the member may not be competent to do so. Notice shall be by service
of the application by any means permitted with respect to service of formal charges under Rule 10(G).

(C) The Court shall take or direct, consistent with fundamental fairness and due process, such action
as it deems necessary and proper to determine if the member should be suspended pending the final
disposition of the disciplinary proceedings.

(D) If, upon due consideration of the matter, the Court concludes the member should be suspended
pending final disposition of the disciplinary proceedings, it shall enter an order suspending the member until
the further order of the Court.

(E) Any member suspended under the provisions of this rule shall be entitled to apply for termination
of the temporary suspension by filing with the Court an application supported by clear and convincing
evidence that the member is no longer engaging in conduct which, if alowed to continue until final
disposition of any disciplinary proceedings, would cause serious continuing damage to the public and
members, and that there is no reasonable likelihood that such conduct will recur.

(F) Any temporary suspension order issued under this rule shall automatically terminate at the final
disposition of the disciplinary proceedings or upon application to and order of the Court that the reason for the
temporary suspension of the member no longer exists.

Rule 12 amended September 9, 1999; Rule 12(B) amended September 11, 2002.

RULE 13. CONDITIONAL ADMISSION OF GRIEVANCE,
COMPLAINT, OR FORMAL CHARGE

(A) At any time prior to the Clerk's entering a Formal Charge against a Respondent on the docket of
the Court, the Respondent may file with the Clerk a conditional admission of a Grievance or of a Complaint
in exchange for a stated form of consent judgment of discipline as to al or a part of the Grievance or
Complaint pending against him or her as determined to be appropriate by the Counsel for Discipline and the
appropriate Committee on Inquiry; such conditional admission is subject to approva by the Court. The
conditional admission shall include a written statement that the Respondent knowingly admits or knowingly
does not challenge or contest the truth of the matter or matters conditionally admitted and waives all
proceedings against him or her in connection therewith. If a tendered conditional admission is not finally
approved as above provided, it may not be used as evidence against the Respondent in any way.

(B) At any time after the Clerk has entered a Forma Charge against a Respondent on the docket of
the Court, the Respondent may file with the Clerk a conditional admission of the Formal Charge in exchange
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for a stated form of consent judgment of discipline asto all or part of the Formal Charge pending against him
or her as determined to be appropriate by the Counsel for Discipline or any member appointed to prosecute on
behalf of the Counsel for Discipline; such conditional admission is subject to approval by the Court. The
conditional admission shall include a written statement that the Respondent knowingly admits or knowingly
does not challenge or contest the truth of the matter or matters conditionally admitted and waives all
proceedings against him or her in connection therewith. If a tendered conditional admission is not finally
approved as above provided, it may not be used as evidence against the Respondent in any way.

(C) No publicity will be given to any such conditional admission of a Grievance, Complaint, or
Formal Charge described in (A) and (B) above until approval of the conditional admission by the Court.

Rule 13(A) - (C) amended January 24, 2002.
RULE 14. RIGHT OF APPEAL

(A) Complainant may appeal to the Disciplinary Review Board a dismissal of the Grievance by the
Counsel for Discipline. Allegations of misconduct dismissed by the Counsel for Discipline pursuant to Rule
9(C) are not appealable to the Committee on Inquiry or the Disciplinary Review Board. Except on a showing
of good cause, notice of appeal shall be made in writing to the Chairperson of the Disciplinary Review Board
within thirty days after notification of such dismissal. Said Board may then take such action as it deems

appropriate.

(B) In cases where the Counsel for Discipline prepares a Complaint and files it with the appropriate
Committee on Inquiry pursuant to Rule 9(G), the Counsel for Discipline shall notify the Complainant by mail
of the findings of the Committee on Inquiry.

(©) If the Committee on Inquiry Panel dismisses the Complaint pursuant to Rule 9(H) , the Counsel
for Discipline may appeal the decision to the Disciplinary Review Board. Except on a showing of good cause,
notice of appeal shall be made in writing to the Chairperson of the Disciplinary Review Board within thirty
days after notification of the dismissal of the Complaint by the Committee on Inquiry. In the event of an
appeal, the Chairperson of the Disciplinary Review Board shall obtain from such Committee on Inquiry the
Complaint, investigative file of the Counsel for Discipline, and any report prepared by the Committee.

(D) Either the Respondent or the Counsel for Discipline may appeal to the Disciplinary Review Board
a reprimand issued to the Respondent by the Committee on Inquiry upon written application filed with the
Chairperson of the Disciplinary Review Board within thirty days of issuance of the reprimand. Either the
Respondent or the Counsel for Discipline may appea to the Court the action of the Disciplinary Review
Board.

Rule 14(A), (C), and (D) amended Dec. 13, 1995; Rule 14(A) amended February 28, 2001.
RULE 15. VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OF LICENSE

(A) Once a Grievance, a Complaint, or a Formal Charge has been filed, suggested, or indicated
against a member, the member may voluntarily surrender his or her license.

(1) The voluntary surrender of license shall state in writing that the member knowingly
admits or knowingly does not challenge or contest the truth of the suggested or indicated Grievance,
Complaint, or Formal Charge and waives al proceedings against him or her in connection therewith.

(2) A voluntary surrender of license shall not terminate such Grievance, Complaint, or
Formal Charge unless an appropriate order is entered by the Court.

Rule 15 amended March 14, 2001.

-3.16-



Disciplinary Rules

RULE 16. NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS BY
DISBARRED OR SUSPENDED MEMBER

(A) Whenever a member is disbarred or suspended from the practice of law or surrenders his or her
license under Rule 15 hereof, such member shall:

(2) Notify in writing all of the member's present clients of such fact, and

(2) Assist each client in obtaining a member of the client's choice to complete all matters
being handled by him or her, and

(3) Promptly refund all client funds and close al attorney trust accounts if the imposed
sanction is greater than a 30-day suspension. A trust account may remain open if, after a reasonable
search, the client or clients eligible to received funds cannot be located, and

(4) Notify in writing all members and nonresident attorneys involved in pending legal or
other matters being handled by the member of his or her altered status, and

(5) Return to the Clerk the member's Nebraska State Bar Association membership card.

(6) Within thirty days from the date of said disbarment, suspension, or voluntary surrender,
file an affidavit with the Court, stating full compliance with the requirements of this rule and shall
simultaneously submit evidence of full compliance.

(7) Every order (judgment) of disbarment or suspension shall direct the Respondent to
comply with this Rule 16.

(8) The Clerk shal notify the Court, in writing, of the compliance or noncompliance of the
Respondent with this Rule 16. Noncompliance shall be contempt of court.

Rule 16 amended November 10, 2004.
RULE 17. SUBPOENA POWER

(A) For investigative purposes, the Counsel for Discipline shall be empowered to issue writs of
subpoena, including subpoena duces tecum, in the name of the State of Nebraska requiring the attendance and
testimony of witnesses and parties and the production of records, books, and documents; to administer oaths
to parties and witnesses; to take their sworn testimony or their unsworn statements; and to certify to the Court
for appropriate action by the Court any refusal of a witness or party to comply with the requirements of a
subpoena or subpoena duces tecum to testify, answer questions, or produce records, books, or documents.

(B) Such subpoena, including subpoena duces tecum described in this rule, may be served by certified
mail, return receipt requested, by the Sheriff of any County of the State of Nebraska or by any person
authorized by the Counsel for Discipline to do so.

(C) Any Respondent shall have the right to request writs of subpoena, including subpoena duces
tecum, in the name of the State of Nebraska, by a written request therefor to the Referee, prior to ten days of
any hearing. The Referee, with the assistance of the Clerk, shal, immediately, issue such subpoena or
subpoena duces tecum and cause the same to be served in the same manner as provided in paragraph (B) of
this rule; provided the testimony and evidence to be produced as a result of said subpoena or subpoena duces
tecum shall be reasonably relevant and material to the matters on hearing. With said request the Respondent
shall submit the last known address of the witnesses together with the witness and mileage fees for such
witnesses in the same amount as are paid for witnesses in the district courts of Nebraska.
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(D) Prior to the appointment of a Referee, the Disciplinary Review Board may quash or modify the
subpoenaif it is unreasonable or oppressive. The Referee, upon appointment, shall assume such authority.

Rule 17B amended November 12, 1997.
RULE 18. PUBLICITY OF DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS
AND SEQUESTRATION OF WITNESSES
(A) The hearings, records, or proceedings of the Counsel for Discipline, the Committee on Inquiry,
and the Disciplinary Review Board are confidential and shall not be made public except that the pendency,
subject matter, and status of an investigation may be disclosed by the Committee on Inquiry involved or the
Disciplinary Review Board if

(1) the Respondent has waived confidentiality, either in writing or by public disclosure of
information regarding the proceeding; or

(2) the proceeding is based upon conviction of acrime.

(B) Unless the Respondent has waived confidentiality, either in writing or by public disclosure of
information regarding the proceedings, willful violation of this rule shall be grounds for discipline.

(C) Thisruleis not intended to prohibit the exchange of confidential information with other agencies
authorized by the Court to receive such information.

(D) The following provisions regarding the confidentiality of various disciplinary pleadings filed in
the Supreme Court shall apply:

TYPE OF PLEADING FILED BECOMES PUBLIC RECORD

(1) Formal Charges. Upon filing.

(2) Application for Disability Inactive Status based | Shall not be made public until status is entered by the
upon competency or incapacity pursuant to Rule 11. | Court. If Application is denied, the case remains
confidential.

(3) Application for Reinstatement pursuant to Rule | Upon filing.
11.
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(4) Application for Temporary Suspension based
upon continuing damage to the public or conviction
of a serious crime.

Upon filing.

(5) Application for Reinstatement after Temporary
Suspension due to Rule 12.

Upon filing.

(6) Conditional Admission of Complaint or Formal
Charges.

Remains confidential until the Court approves the
Conditional Admission.

(7) Appeal of Disciplinary Review Board decision
to issue Private reprimand.

Remains confidential unless Formal Charges are
entered with the Court.

(8) Voluntary Surrender of License.

Upon filing.

(9) Application for Reinstatement after Suspension
or Disbarment.

Upon filing.

(E) The Counsel for Discipline may release confidential information to the Client Assistance Fund
Claims Board of the Nebraska State Bar Association as needed to further the work of the Claims Board. Such
information shall not be made public other than as necessary to discharge the duties of the Claims Board.

Rule 18E amended October 31, 2001.

RULE 19. TERMINATION OF DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS

Neither unwillingness nor neglect of the Complainant to sign a Grievance or to assist in the
prosecution of the Complaint, nor settlement, compromise, or restitution, shall, in itself, justify termination of

any disciplinary proceedings.

RULE 20. RELATED CIVIL OR CRIMINAL LITIGATION

(A) Similarity of the substance of a Grievance, Complaint, or Formal Charge to the material
allegations of pending criminal or civil litigation shall not in itself prevent or delay disciplinary proceedings

against the member involved in such litigation.
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(B) The acquittal of the member on criminal charges or a verdict or judgment in the member's favor
in civil litigation involving material alegations similar in substance to a Grievance, Complaint, or Formal
Charge shall not in and of itself justify termination of disciplinary proceedings predicated upon the same or
substantially the same material allegations.

RULE 21. RECIPROCAL DISCIPLINE

(A) Upon being disciplined in another jurisdiction, a member shall promptly inform the Counsel for
Discipline of the discipline imposed. Upon receipt by the Court of appropriate notice that a member has been
disciplined in another jurisdiction, the Court may enter an order imposing the identical discipline, or greater
or lesser discipline as the Court deems appropriate, or, in its discretion, suspend the member pending the
imposition of final discipline in such other jurisdiction.

(B) In the event the discipline imposed in the other jurisdiction has been stayed, the entry of an order
pursuant to the provisions of paragraph (A) of thisrule shall be deferred until such stay expires.

Rule 21(A) amended June 25, 1997.

RULE 22. IMMUNITY AND PRIVILEGES

(A) Reports of aleged misconduct and Grievances submitted to the Counsel for Discipline,
Committees on Inquiry, and the Disciplinary Review Board or testimony with respect thereto are confidential
and shall be absolutely privileged and no lawsuit predicated thereon may be instituted.

(B) The Counsel for Discipline, his or her representatives, and members of the Disciplinary Review
Board, Committees on Inquiry, and Advisory Committee; the director and any members of the Nebraska
Lawyer’s Assistance Program; and all others (whether or not members of the Association) whose assistance is
requested by any of the foregoing in connection with the enforcement of these rules shall be immune from
suit for any conduct in the course of their official duties under these rules.

(C) The Complainant and all witnesses shall be immune from suit for any testimony given in the
course of any proceedings under these rules.

RULE 23. EXPENSES

(A) Actua costs and expenses necessarily incurred by the Counsel for Discipline, his or her
representatives, the Committee on Inquiry or the Disciplinary Review Board in connection with any
investigations or Inquiries, as provided by these rules and incurred prior to the filing of the Formal Chargein
the Court, shall be paid by the Office of the Counsel for Discipline. If a private reprimand is issued to a
member, the Court may enter judgment in favor of the Office of the Counsel for Discipline, for such costs and
expenses upon request of and proof by the Counsel for Discipline.

(B) Upon request of and proof by the Counsel for Discipline, a disciplined member shall be required
to reimburse the Office of the Counsel for Discipline for the actual costs and expenses necessarily incurred by
the Counsel for Discipline, his or her representatives, the Committee on Inquiry, or the Disciplinary Review
Board in connection with any investigations, hearings, or proceedings leading to the imposition of a sanction,
if the disciplinary action is heard by the Nebraska Supreme Court. The Court may enter judgment for court
costs and costs and expenses approved by the Court.
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RULE 24. RULES ARE CUMULATIVE

These rules shall be cumulative and not exclusive.

RULE 25. ELIGIBILITY TO SERVE ON BOARD OR COMMITTEE

In determining eligibility to serve on any board or committee under these rules, an individual may be
considered a resident of the district in which the individual either lives or maintains law offices. Provided,
however, such offices must be the principal office for such individual and not merely a satellite office.

Rule 25 adopted November 23, 1994.

RULE 26. LAWYERS CONVICTED OF A CRIME

(A) For the purposes of Inquiry of a Complaint or Formal Charges filed as a result of a finding of
guilt of acrime, a certified copy of a judgment of conviction constitutes conclusive evidence that the attorney
committed the crime, and the sole issue in any such Inquiry should be the nature and extent of the discipline
to be imposed.

(B) A lawyer shall promptly notify the Counsel for Discipline if he or sheisfound guilty of a serious
crime and must provide proof of that adjudication.

Rule 26 adopted September 13, 1995.

RULE 27. EFFECTIVE DATE

The amendments to these rules shall become effective on January 1, 2001. Formal Charges under
review by the Disciplinary Review Board on the above-mentioned date shall be immediately forwarded and
filed with the Clerk. Charges pending before the Committees on Inquiry on the above-mentioned date that
have not been the subject of an Inquiry shall proceed in accordance with these rules. Appeals pending before
the Committees on Inquiry on the above-mentioned date shall proceed as if under the former rules with the
exception that there shall not be an additional appeal to the Disciplinary Review Board.

Disciplinary Rules amended September 27, 1995; Disciplinary Rules amended October 17, 2000, effective January 1, 2001.

RULE 28. APPOINTMENT OF A TRUSTEE

In addition to any of the foregoing procedures within these rules relating to disability inactive status,
disbarment, or suspension of an attorney, the following measures may be taken for the protection of client
interests:

(A) Appointment of a Trustee. If an attorney (i) has been suspended by an order of the Court placing
the member on disability inactive status pursuant to Rule 11; (ii) is shown to be unable to properly discharge
his or her responsibilities to clients due to disability, disappearance, death, or abandonment of a law practice
and there is no showing that an arrangement has been made for another lawyer to discharge the
responsibilities; or (iii) has been disbarred or suspended pursuant to Rule 10 or 12 or has surrendered his or
her license under Rule 15 and there has been afailure to comply with Rule 16 client notification requirements,
the Court may appoint a lawyer to serve as trustee to inventory the files, sequester client funds, and take
whatever other action seems indicated to protect the interests of the clients and other affected parties.
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(1) Trustee Bound by Lawyer-Client Privilege. The trustee should be bound by the lawyer-
client privilege with respect to the records of individua clients, except to the extent necessary to carry
out the order of the Court.

(2) The trustee shall notify in writing all of the present clients of the disbarred or suspended
member of the fact of such disbarment or suspension and shall also notify in writing all members and
nonresident attorneys involved in pending legal or other matters being handled by the disbarred or
suspended member of hisor her altered status.

(3) The trustee shall receive compensation for his or her services as established by the Court
and may be reimbursed for travel and other expenses incidental to the performance of his or her
duties.

Rule 28 adopted September 11, 2002.
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BANKRUPTCY RULES FOR NEBRASKA
DISTRICT AND COUNTY COURTS

1. Civil Casesin Which a Party Has Been Named as a Debtor in a Voluntary or Involuntary Bankruptcy
Petition. In any civil case pending before this court in which a party has been named as a debtor in a
voluntary or an involuntary bankruptcy petition, a Suggestion of Bankruptcy petition and either (1) a
certified copy of the bankruptcy petition, (2) a copy of the bankruptcy petition bearing the filing stamp of
the clerk of the bankruptcy court, or (3) a copy of a"Natice of Bankruptcy Case Filing" generated by the
Bankruptcy Court’s electronic filing system shall be filed by the party named as a debtor or by any other
party with knowledge of the bankruptcy petition. Upon the filing of the Suggestion of Bankruptcy and
one of the three bankruptcy documents noted immediately above, no further action will be taken in the
case by the court or by the parties until it can be shown to the satisfaction of the court that the automatic
stay imposed by 11 U.S.C. § 362 does not apply or that the automatic stay has been terminated, annulled,
modified, or conditioned so as to alow the case to proceed. Such a showing shall be made by motion.

2. Request for Disbursements of Funds or Distribution of Property of or to a Party Named as a Debtor in a
Bankruptcy Proceeding. In any civil case before the court in which a Suggestion of Bankruptcy and one
of the three bankruptcy documents noted in Rule 1 above have been filed, no request for a disbursement
of funds or distribution of property of or to a party named as a debtor shall be made, and no order
disbursing funds or distributing property of or to a party hamed as a debtor will be entered. A request for
disbursement of funds or distribution of property may be made after a showing, satisfactory to the court,
that such funds or property has been abandoned by the trustee in bankruptcy or that the funds or property
has been exempted by the debtor in the bankruptcy proceedings or that the party named as the debtor in
the bankruptcy petition, rather than the trustee in bankruptcy, is otherwise entitled to disbursement of
such funds or distribution of such property. Such a showing shall be made by affidavit.

Rules 1 & 2 amended October 23, 2002.
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CASE PROGRESSION STANDARDS

Trial or hearing on the merits of a case should be within the following time limits from date of filing:

DISTRICT COURT
Appeals 3 months
Criminal Cases 6 months
Domestic Relations Cases 9 months
Civil Cases-Nonjury 1 year
Civil Cases-Jury 18 months
COUNTY COURT
Misdemeanor and Traffic 60 days
Offenses-Nonjury
Misdemeanor and Traffic 6 months
Offenses-Jury
Civil Cases 6 months
Preliminary Hearings As soon as possible but

no more than 30 days

Final disposition of probate cases should be within 1 year from filing except when a federal estate tax
return is required, and in that event 18 months. A longer interval may be approved where deemed necessary
because of extraordinary eventualities, such as exceptionally complicated discovery, stabilization or injury in
personal injury cases, or settlement of financial affairs in complex cases.

JUVENILE COURT

(1) Notwithstanding any federal or state law providing for a longer period, the juvenile shall not be held
in detention for more than 48 hours without a probable cause hearing being conducted by the appropriate
judicial authority.

(2) Adjudication hearings in dependent/neglect cases under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-247(3)(a) should be held
within 90 days of filing of the petition, except in cases with exceptional complications, in which cases
adjudication should be held within 180 days. Adjudication hearings in law violation cases should be held within
180 days of filing of the petition.

(3) A disposition hearing should be held within 60 days from the date of the adjudication hearing, unless
good cause is shown.

(4) Review hearings for children in out-of-home placements should be held, on the record, every 6 months.

(1) through (4) adopted March 19, 1997.
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NEBRASKA CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES

A. Introduction. The main principle behind these guidelines is to recognize the equal duty of both
parents to contribute to the support of their children in proportion to their respective net incomes.

B. Temporary and Permanent Support. The guidelines are intended to be used for both temporary
and permanent support determinations.

C. Rebuttable Presumption. The child support guidelines shall be applied as a rebuttable
presumption. All orders for child support obligations shall be established in accordance with the
provisions of the guidelines unless the court finds that one or both parties have produced
sufficient evidence to rebut the presumption that the guidelines should be applied. All stipulated
agreements for child support must be reviewed against the guidelines and if a deviation exists and
is approved by the court, specific findings giving the reason for the deviation must be made.
Findings must state the amount of support that would have been required under the guidelines and
include a justification of why the order varies from the guidelines. Deviations must take into
consideration the best interests of the child. In the event of a deviation, the reason for the
deviation shall be contained in the findings portion of the decree or order, or worksheet 5 should
be completed by the court and filed in the court file. Deviations from the guidelines are
permissible under the following circumstances:

1. When there are extraordinary medical costs of either parent or child;
2. when special needs of adisabled child exist;

3. if total net income exceeds $15,000 monthly, child support for amounts in excess of
$15,000 monthly may be more but shall not be less than the amount which would be computed
using the $15,000 monthly income unless other permissible deviations exist. To assist the court
and not as a rebuttable presumption, the court may use the amount at $15,000 plus. 10 percent of
net income above $15,000 for one, two, and three children; 12 percent of net income above
$15,000 for four children; 13 percent of net income for five children; and 14 percent of net
income for six children.

4. for juveniles placed in foster care; or

5. whenever the application of the guidelines in an individua case would be unjust or
inappropriate.

All orders for child support, including modifications, must include a basic income and support
calculation worksheet 1, and if used, worksheet 2 or 3.

Paragraph C amended Dec. 23, 1992; paragraph C amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph C amended effective July 1, 2007.

D. Total Monthly Income. This is income of both parties derived from all sources, except all
means-tested public assistance benefits which includes any earned income tax credit and
payments received for children of prior marriages. This would include income that could be
acquired by the parties through reasonable efforts. For instance, a court may consider as income
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the retained earnings in a closely-held corporation of which a party is a shareholder if the
earnings appear excessive or inappropriate. All income should be annualized and divided by 12.
For example, a party who receives a salary of $200 gross per week would have an annualized
gross income of $10,400 ($200 times 52) and a monthly income of $866.67 (10,400 divided by
12). If the person is paid $200 every 2 weeks, his or her annualized gross income would be
$5,200 ($200 times 26) and monthly income would be $433.33 (5,200 divided by 12).

The court may consider overtime wages in determining child support if the overtimeis a
regular part of the employment and the employee can actually expect to regularly earn a certain
amount of income from working overtime. In determining whether working overtime is a regular
part of employment, the court may consider such factors as the work history of the employee for
the employer, the degree of control the employee has over work conditions, and the nature of the
employer’ s business or industry.

Depreciation calculated on the cost of ordinary and necessary assets may be allowed as a
deduction from income of the business or farm to arrive at an annualized total monthly income.
After an asset is shown to be ordinary and necessary, depreciation, if allowed by the trial court,
shall be calculated by using the “straight-line” method, which allocates cost of an asset equally
over its useful duration or life. An asset’s life should be determined with reference to the Class-
lives and Recovery Periods Table created pursuant to 26 CFR § 1.167(a)-11. A party claiming
depreciation shall have the burden of establishing entitlement to its allowance as a deduction.

Copies of at least 2 years tax returns, financial statements, and current wage stubs should
be furnished to the court and the other party to the action at least 3 days before any hearing
requesting relief. Any party claiming an alowance of depreciation as a deduction from income
shall furnish to the court and the other party copies of a minimum of 5 years' tax returns at least
14 days before any hearing pertaining to the allowance of the deduction.

If applicable, earning capacity may be considered in lieu of a parent's actual, present
income and may include factors such as work history, education, occupational skills, and job
opportunities. Earning capacity is not limited to wage-earning capacity, but includes moneys
available from all sources.

Paragraph D amended Dec. 23, 1992; paragraph D amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph D amended effective Sept. 1, 2002.

E. Deductions. The following deductions should be annualized to arrive at monthly net income:

1. Taxes. Standard deductions applicable to the number of exemptions provided by law
will be used to establish the amount of federal and state income taxes.

2. FICA. Social Security deductions, or any other mandatory contributions in lieu of
Socia Security deductions including any self-employment tax paid.

3. Retirement. Individual contributions, in a minimum amount required by a mandatory
retirement plan. Where no mandatory retirement plan exists, a deduction shall be allowed for a
continuation of actual voluntary retirement contributions not to exceed 4 percent of the gross
income from employment or 4 percent from the net income from self-employment.

4. Child Support. Child support previously ordered for other children.
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5. Other Children. Subject to paragraph T, credit may be given for biological or adopted
children for whom the abligor provides regular support.

Paragraph E amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph E amended effective Sept. 1, 2002; paragraph E amended effective July 1,
2007.

F. Monthly Support. The combined monthly net income of both parties from line 4 of worksheet
1 is compared to table 1. For example, if the combined monthly net income was $1,500 and there
were three children, we would find $530 as the child support from table 1 (read across the table
from $1,500 to the "Three Children" column to find $530).

Paragraph F amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph F amended Nov. 26, 2003, effective Jan. 1, 2004.

G. Parent's Monthly Share. Thisis the child support amount from line 7, worksheet 1 (or line 9 if
applicable), multiplied by the percentage contribution of each parent from line 6, worksheet 1. In
our example, if F had amonthly net income of $1,000 and M had a monthly income of $500, each
parent's monthly share would be $355.10 for F (.67 times $530) and $174.90 for M (.33 times
$530). F would be required to pay M $355.10 per month in the event M was awarded custody of
the children.

Paragraph G amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph G amended Nov. 26, 2003, effective Jan. 1, 2004; paragraph G amended
effective July 1, 2007.

H. More Than One Child. If there is more than one child, the court's order should specify the
amount of child support due for the children, with the amount recalculated and reduced as the
obligation to support terminates for each child. The amount due for each possibility should be
calculated separately from table 1. In our example, if M was awarded custody of the children, F
would be required to pay $355.10 (.67 times $530) when there are three children, $328.30 (.67
times $490) when there are two children, and $258.62 (.67 times $386) when there is one child.
See worksheet 4. The order should direct that child support continue only until each child reaches
majority under Nebraska law, becomes emancipated, becomes self-supporting, marries, or dies, or
until further order of the court.

Paragraph H amended Dec. 23, 1992; paragraph H amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph H amended Nov. 26, 2003, effective
Jan. 1, 2004.

I. Minimum Support. It is recommended that even in very low income cases, a minimum support
of $50, or 10 percent of the obligor’s net income, whichever is greater, per month be set. This will
help to maintain information on such obligor, such as his or her address, employment, etc., and,
hopefully, encourage such person to understand the necessity, duty, and importance of supporting
his or her children.

Paragraph | amended Dec. 23, 1992; paragraph | amended effective Sept. 1, 2002.
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J. Visitation or Parenting Time Adjustments. Visitation or parenting time adjustments or direct
cost sharing should be specified in the support order. If child support is not calculated under
paragraph L, an adjustment in child support may be made at the discretion of the court when
visitation or parenting time substantially exceeds aternating weekends and holidays and 28 days
or more in any 90-day period. During visitation or parenting time periods of 28 days or more in
any 90-day period, support payments may be reduced by up to 80 percent. The amount of any
reduction for extended parenting time shal be specified in the court's order and shall be
presumed to apply to the months designated in the order. Any documented substantial and
reasonable long-distance transportation costs directly associated with visitation or parenting time
may be considered by the court and, if appropriate, allowed as a deviation from the guidelines.

Paragraph J amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph J amended effective Sept. 1, 2002; paragraph J amended effective July 1, 2007.

K. Split Custody. Split custody is defined as each parent having physical custody of one or more
of the children. Worksheet 2 shows how to do this calculation.

L. Joint Physical Custody. When a specific provision for joint physical custody is ordered and
each party’ s parenting time exceeds 142 days per year, it is a rebuttable presumption that support
shall be calculated using worksheet 3. When a specific provision for joint physical custody is
ordered and one party’s parenting time is 109 to 142 days per year, the use of worksheet 3 to
calculate support is at the discretion of the court. If child support is determined under this
paragraph, all reasonable and necessary direct expenditures made solely for the child(ren) such as
clothing and extracurricular activities may be allocated between the parents, as determined by the
court, but shall not exceed the proportion of the obligor’s parental contributions (worksheet 1,
line 6). For purposes of these guidelines, a “day” shall be generally defined as including an
overnight period.

Paragraph L amended effective July 1, 2007.

M. Alimony. These guidelines intend that spousal support be determined from income available
to the parties after child support has been established.

N. Child-Care Expenses. Child-care expenses are not specifically computed into the guidelines
amount and are to be considered independently of any amount computed by use of these
guidelines. Care expenses for the child for whom the support is being set, which are due to
employment of either parent or to allow the parent to obtain training or education necessary to
obtain ajob or enhance earning potential, shall be allocated to the obligor parent as determined by
the court, but shall not exceed the proportion of the obligor’s parental contribution (worksheet 1,
line 6) and shall be added to the basic support obligation computed under these guidelines. The
value of the federal income tax credit for child care shall be subtracted from actual costs to arrive
at afigure for net child-care expenses. The Court may impute the value of the federal childcare
tax credit using worksheet 6 if the parent incurring the childcare expense has monthly gross
income above $2,100 for one child; $2,500 for two children; $2,600 for three children; $2,700 for
four children; $2,800 for five children; and $2,900 for six children. The value shall be imputed at
25 percent of the childcare expense, not to exceed $62.50 per month for one child and $125 per
month for two or more children.
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Paragraph N amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph N amended effective Sept. 1, 2002; paragraph N amended effective July 1,
2007.

O. Child(ren)’s Health Insurance and Nonreimbursed Health Care Expenses. The child support
order shall address how the parents will provide for the child(ren)’s health care needs through
health insurance as well as the nonreimbursed reasonable and necessary child(ren)’s hedlth care
costs that are not included in table 1 that are provided for in subparagraph 2.

1. Hedlth Insurance. The increased cost to the parent for health insurance for the
child(ren) of the parent shall be prorated between the parents. When worksheet 1 is used, it shall
be added to the monthly support from line 7, then prorated between the parents to arrive at each
party’s share of monthly support on line 10 of worksheet 1. The parent requesting an adjustment
for health insurance premiums must submit proof of the cost for health insurance coverage of the
child(ren). The parent paying the premium receives a credit against his or her share of the
monthly support.

2. Health Care. Children’ s health care expenses are specifically included in the guidelines
amount of up to $480 per child per year. Children's health care needs are to be met by requiring
either parent to provide health insurance as required by state law. All nonreimbursed reasonable
and necessary children's health care costsin excess of $480 per child per year shall be allocated to
the obligor parent as determined by the court, but shall not exceed the proportion of the abligor’'s
parental contribution (worksheet 1, line 6).

Paragraph O amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph O amended effective Sept. 1, 2002; paragraph O amended Nov. 26, 2003,
effective Jan. 1, 2004; paragraph O amended effective July 1, 2007.

P. Review. The State Court Administrator shall review the Nebraska Child Support Guidelines
not less than every 4 years, beginning in October 1993, and recommend revisions, if any, to the
Nebraska Supreme Court. In addition, the Supreme Court will review reports submitted to it by
the Child Support Advisory Commission.

Paragraph P amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph P amended effective Sept. 1, 2002; paragraph P amended effective July 1,
2007.

Q. Madification. Application of the child support guidelines which would result in a variation by
10 percent or more, but not less than $25, upward or downward, of the current child support
obligation, child care obligation, or health care obligation, due to financia circumstances which
have lasted 3 months and can reasonably be expected to last for an additional 6 months,
establishes a rebuttable presumption of amaterial change of circumstances.

Paragraph Q amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; paragraph Q amended effective Sept. 1, 2002.

R. Basic Subsistence Limitation. A parent's support, child care, and health care obligation shall
not reduce his or her net income below the minimum of $851 net monthly for one person, or the
poverty guidelines updated annually in the Federal Register by the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services under authority of 42 U.S.C. § 9902(2), except minimum support may be
ordered as defined in paragraph | above.
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Paragraph R (previously Q) adopted Dec. 23, 1992; amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; amended September 25, 1996; amended March
26, 1997; amended March 18, 1998; amended April 21, 1999; amended March 15, 2000; amended April 18, 2001; amended effective
Sept. 1, 2002; amended February 26, 2003; amended March 10, 2004; amended March 9, 2005; amended March 1, 2006.

S. Limitation on Increase. Under no circumstances shall there be an increase in support due from
the obligor solely because of an increase in the income of the obligee.

Paragraph S effective Sept. 1, 2002.

T. Limitation on Decrease. An obligor shall not be allowed a reduction in an existing support
order solely because of the birth, adoption, or acknowledgment of subsequent children of the
obligor; however, a duty to provide regular support for subsequent children may be raised as a
defense to an action for an upward modification of such existing support order.

Paragraph T effective Sept. 1, 2002.

-6.6-



Nebraska Child Support Guidelines

Worksheet 1
BASIC NET INCOME AND SUPPORT CALCULATION

Mother Father
Combined
Total monthly income from all sources
(except payments received for children
of prior marriages and all means-tested
public assistance benefits)*

Deductions**

a Taxest**

b. FICA

c. Retirement

d. Child support previously
ordered for other children

e. Regular support
for other children

f. Tota deductions

Monthly net income
(line 1 minus line 2f)

Combined monthly net income

Combined annual net income
(line 4 times 12)

Percent contribution of each
parent (line 3, each parent,
divided by line 4) ****

Monthly support from table 1
Health insurance premium®*****

Total obligation (line 7 plus 8)

. Each parent's monthly share
(line 9, times line 6, for each parent)

. Each parent’s credit for health
premium actually paid (line 8)

. Each parent’ s final share of the
obligation (line 10 minus line 11)
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* Court will require copies of last 2 years tax returns to verify "total income" figures and copies of present wage stubs to verify
the pattern of present wage earnings, except where a party is claiming an allowance of depreciation as a deduction from income,
in which case a minimum of 5 years tax returns shall be required. Income should be annualized and divided by 12 to arrive at
monthly amounts.

** All claimed deductions should be annualized and divided by 12 to arrive at monthly amounts.

*** Deductions for taxes will be based on the annualized income and the number of exemptions provided by law.

**** |n the event of substantial fluctuations of annual earnings of either party during the immediate past 3 years, the income may
be averaged to determine the percent contribution of each parent as shown in item 6. The calculation of the average income shall
be attached to this worksheet.

***%* The parent requesting an adjustment for health insurance premiums must submit proof of the cost of the premium for the
child(ren).

Worksheet 1 amended Dec. 23, 1992; worksheet 1 amended effective Jan. 1, 1996; worksheet 1 amended effective Sept. 1, 2002; worksheet 1
amended effective July 1, 2007; worksheet 1 amended October 24, 2007.

-6.8-



Nebraska Child Support Guidelines

Worksheet 2
SPLIT CUSTODY CALCULATION
1
Show combined Show each
monthly share parent’s share
fromline7, (apply percent
worksheet 1, fromline 6,
Custody divided by total worksheet 1)
Child’ s Name (For M) number of children Father Mother
2. Total amount owed to father by mother
(mother’s share from above for children
in father’s custody)
3. Total amount owed to mother by father
(father’ s share from above for children
in mother’ s custody)
4.  Support to be paid by mother/father
(difference between lines 2 and 3)
(mother/father)
Additional Adjustment for Child(ren)’s health insurance premium
Father Mother
Combined

5. Child(ren) health insurance premium®*
(from line 8, worksheet 1)

6. Combined health insurance premium(s)

7. Each parent’s share of premium
(line 6 from worksheet 1 times line 6 above)

8.  Amount of premium paid (line 5)
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9.  Amount owed to other parent for premium
(line 7 minus line 8, if negative amount enter $0)

10.a. Which parent owes basic support on line 4?

(mother/father)
10.b. Which parent owes support for health insurance on
line 9?
(mother/father)
10.c. Does the same parent owe support on lines 10a and 10b?
(Yes/No)

11.  Total support to be paid by parent on line 10a
(if YESonline 10c, line4 plusline9; if NO
on line 10c, line 4 minus line 9)

* The parent requesting an adjustment for health insurance premiums must submit proof of the cost of the premium for the
child(ren).

Worksheet 2 amended effective July 1, 2007; worksheet 2 amended October 24, 2007.
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Worksheet 3
CALCULATION FOR JOINT PHYSICAL CUSTODY

Mother Father

1 Each parent’ s percent contribution
(% from line 6, worksheet 1)

2. Monthly support obligation from table 1
(from line 7, worksheet 1)

3. Joint physical support obligation
(line2times 1.5)

4, Each parent’s share
(line 1 timesline 3)

5. Number of days annually
child(ren) isin custody of
each parent

6. Percentage of year child(ren)
isin custody of each parent
(line 5 divided by 365)

7. Mother’ s obligation to father
(line 4 mother column,
times % on line 6 father column)

8. Father’ s obligation to mother
(line 4 father column,
times % on line 6 mother column)

9. Father/mother obligation for
support (difference between

lines 7 and 8) _
(mother/father)

Additional Adjustment for Child(ren)’ s health insurance premium

Mother Father
Combined

10. Child(ren)’ s health insurance premium*
(from line 8, worksheet 1)

11. Combined health insurance premium(s)
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12. Each parent’ s share of premium
(line 1 timesline 11)

13. Amount of premium paid
(line 10)

14, Amount owed to other parent for premium
(line 12 minusline 13, if negative
amount enter $0)

15.a.  Which parent owes basic support on line 9?7

(mother/father)
15.b.  Which parent owes support for health insurance
on line 14?
(mother/father)
15.c. Does the same parent owe support on
lines 15a and 15b?
(Yes/No)

16. Total support to be paid by parent on line 15a
(if YESon line 15c¢, line 9 plusline 14;
if NO on line 15c¢, line 9 minus line 14)

* The parent requesting an adjustment for health insurance premiums must submit proof of the cost of the premium for the
child(ren).

Worksheet 3 amended effective July 1, 2007; worksheet 3 amended October 24, 2007.
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Worksheet 4
NUMBER OF CHILDREN CALCULATION
Mother Father
Combined
1. Percent contribution of each
Parent (line 6 from worksheet 1)
2. Hedlth insurance premium (line 8 from worksheet 1)
(column A) (column B) (column C) (column D) (column E) (column F)
Number of Table Total Mother's Monthly Father’s Monthly Mother’s Final Father’s Final
Children Amount Obligation Share of Total Share of Total Share of Share of
(column A Obligation Obligation Obligation Obligation
plus Combined (column B times (column B times (column C minus (column D minus
line 2) mother’sline 1) father’ sline 1) mother’sline 2) father'sline 2)
3. Six
4. Five
5. Four
6. Three
7. Two
8. One

The court order should specify the amount due for each possibility and the amount due should be
decreased as the number of supported children decreases.

Worksheet 4 amended October 24, 2007.
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Worksheet 5
DEVIATIONS TO CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES

This worksheet may be completed by the court and filed with the clerk in the event of a deviation
or deviations under paragraph C of the child support guidelines.

M other Father

1 Net income of the parties as

computed under worksheet 1 $ $
2. Combined monthly income $
3. Monthly support for __ child(ren)

from table 1 $ $
4, Percent contribution of each

parent % %
5. Each parent's monthly share

(line 3 times line 4) $ $
6. Further deviations (specify)

a (+-) $ $

b. (+-) $ $

C. (+/-) $ $

d Tota (+/-) $ $
7. Each parent's monthly share

(line 5 above) $ $
8. (+/-) Line 6D (+-) $ $
0. Adjusted child support

obligations $ $
Dated:

Judge

Worksheet 5 adopted Dec. 23, 1992; worksheet 5 amended effective Sept. 1, 2002.
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Worksheet 6
IMPUTATION OF CHILDCARE TAX CREDIT

This worksheet may be used with paragraph N. The value of the childcare tax credit is to be
subtracted from actual childcare expenses.

1. Number of Children

2. Monthly Gross Income of Parent Incurring the Childcare Expense

3. Istheamount from line 2 less than...

$2,100 and there is one child? (YES/NO)
$2,500 and there are two children? (YES/NO)
$2,600 and there are three children? (YES/NO)
$2,700 and there are four children? (YES/NO)
$2,800 and there are five children? (YESINO)
$2,900 and there are six children? (YES/NO)

If “YES” is the answer to any of the questions above, STOP here. The childcare tax
credit is $0.

4. Monthly Childcare Expenses*

5. Tax Credit Before Cap
(line 4 times 0.25)**

6. Imputed Monthly Tax Credit
(if thereis one child, lesser of line 5 and $62.50;
if there are two or more children, lesser of line 5 and $125)***

* These are childcare expenses for the child for whom the support is being set, which expenses are due to
employment of either parent or to allow the parent to obtain training or education necessary to obtain a
job or enhance earning potential as defined in section N.

** For example, if Monthly Childcare Expenses (line 4) are $400, line 5 would be $100 ($400 x 0.25 =
$100).

*** Continue with the example above where monthly childcare expenses (line 4) are $400 and the tax
credit before cap (line 5) is $100. If thereis one child, the lesser of line 5 and $62.50 would be $62.50 and
this amount would be inserted on line 6. This would be the imputed value of the childcare tax credit;
hence, the net childcare expenses as defined under section N would be $337.50 per month ($400 minus
$62.50 equals $337.50). If there are two or more children, the lesser of line 5 and $125 would be $100
and this amount would be inserted on line 6. In this two-child case, the net childcare expenses as defined
under section N would be $300 per month ($400 minus $100 equals $300).

Worksheet 6 adopted effective July 1, 2007.
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INCOME SHARES FORMULA
TABLE 1

COMBINED

MONTHLY | ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX

INCOME | CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$500 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$550 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$600 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$650 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$700 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$750 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$800 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$850 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
$900 $150 $160 $170 $180 $190 $200
$950 $175 $188 $200 $213 $225 $238
$1,000 $200 $215 $230 $245 $260 $275
$1,050 $225 $243 $260 $278 $295 $313
$1,100 $250 $270 $290 $310 $330 $350
$1,150 $275 $298 $320 $343 $365 $388
$1,200 $300 $325 $350 $375 $400 $425
$1,250 $325 $353 $380 $408 $435 $463
$1,300 $337 $380 $410 $440 $470 $500
$1,350 $349 $408 $440 $473 $505 $538
$1,400 $362 $435 $470 $505 $540 $575
$1,450 $374 $463 $500 $538 $575 $613
$1,500 $336 $490 $530 $570 $610 $650
$1,550 $398 $518 $560 $603 $645 $688
$1,600 $411 $545 $590 $635 $680 $725
$1,650 $423 $573 $620 $668 $715 $763
$1,700 $435 $600 $650 $700 $750 $800
$1,750 $447 $628 $680 $733 $785 $838
$1,800 $459 $655 $710 $765 $820 $875
$1,850 $471 $672 $740 $798 $855 $913
$1,900 $483 $689 $770 $830 $890 $950
$1,950 $495 $706 $800 $863 $925 $988
$2,000 $507 $723 $830 $895 $960 $1,025
$2,050 $519 $740 $860 $928 $995 $1,063
$2,100 $531 $757 $838 $960 $1,030 $1,100
$2,150 $543 $774 $908 $993 $1,065 $1,138
$2,200 $555 $790 $929 $1,025 $1,100 $1,175
$2,250 $566 $807 $951 $1,058 $1,135 $1,213
$2,300 $578 $824 $972 $1,090 $1,170 $1,250
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COMBINED

MONTHLY | ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX

INCOME CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$2,350 $590 $841 $993 $1,123 $1,205 $1,288
$2,400 $602 $859 $1,014 $1,155 $1,240 $1,325
$2,450 $613 $877 $1,036 $1,187 $1,275 $1,363
$2,500 $619 $896 $1,057 $1,202 $1,310 $1,400
$2,550 $631 $914 $1,078 $1,218 $1,345 $1,438
$2,600 $643 $932 $1,099 $1,240 $1,376 $1,475
$2,650 $656 $950 $1,120 $1,261 $1,400 $1,512
$2,700 $668 $968 $1,142 $1,283 $1,424 $1,538
$2,750 $681 $986 $1,163 $1,304 $1,448 $1,564
$2,800 $693 $1,004 $1,184 $1,326 $1,472 $1,590
$2,850 $702 $1,017 $1,198 $1,347 $1,496 $1,615
$2,900 $712 $1,029 $1,212 $1,368 $1,519 $1,641
$2,950 $721 $1,042 $1,226 $1,389 $1,543 $1,666
$3,000 $730 $1,055 $1,240 $1,411 $1,566 $1,692
$3,050 $740 $1,067 $1,254 $1,432 $1,590 $1,717
$3,100 $749 $1,080 $1,268 $1,453 $1,613 $1,742
$3,150 $759 $1,093 $1,282 $1,473 $1,636 $1,767
$3,200 $770 $1,105 $1,296 $1,494 $1,659 $1,792
$3,250 $781 $1,116 $1,308 $1,515 $1,682 $1,817
$3,300 $792 $1,129 $1,319 $1,535 $1,705 $1,842
$3,350 $803 $1,144 $1,334 $1,556 $1,728 $1,866
$3,400 $814 $1,159 $1,352 $1,576 $1,751 $1,891
$3,450 $825 $1,175 $1,369 $1,597 $1,773 $1,915
$3,500 $835 $1,190 $1,386 $1,617 $1,796 $1,940
$3,550 $846 $1,205 $1,404 $1,637 $1,818 $1,964
$3,600 $853 $1,220 $1,421 $1,658 $1,841 $1,988
$3,650 $859 $1,235 $1,438 $1,678 $1,863 $2,013
$3,700 $866 $1,250 $1,455 $1,698 $1,885 $2,037
$3,750 $872 $1,265 $1,472 $1,717 $1,907 $2,061
$3,800 $879 $1,280 $1,489 $1,737 $1,929 $2,084
$3,850 $885 $1,294 $1,506 $1,757 $1,951 $2,108
$3,900 $892 $1,309 $1,523 $1,777 $1,973 $2,132
$3,950 $898 $1,324 $1,538 $1,795 $1,993 $2,153
$4,000 $905 $1,338 $1,548 $1,806 $2,006 $2,168
$4,050 $911 $1,348 $1,558 $1,818 $2,020 $2,182
$4,100 $918 $1,357 $1,568 $1,830 $2,033 $2,196
$4,150 $924 $1,366 $1,579 $1,842 $2,046 $2,210
$4,200 $930 $1,375 $1,589 $1,854 $2,059 $2,225
$4,250 $937 $1,383 $1,599 $1,866 $2,072 $2,239
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COMBINED

MONTHLY | ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX

INCOME CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$4,300 $943 $1,392 $1,609 $1,877 $2,085 $2,253
$4,350 $950 $1,401 $1,619 $1,889 $2,098 $2,267
$4,400 $956 $1,410 $1,629 $1,901 $2,111 $2,281
$4,450 $963 $1,419 $1,639 $1,913 $2,125 $2,295
$4,500 $969 $1,428 $1,649 $1,924 $2,138 $2,309
$4,550 $976 $1,436 $1,659 $1,936 $2,151 $2,324
$4,600 $982 $1,445 $1,669 $1,948 $2,164 $2,338
$4,650 $989 $1,454 $1,679 $1,959 $2,177 $2,352
$4,700 $995 $1,463 $1,689 $1,971 $2,190 $2,366
$4,750 $1,002 $1,471 $1,699 $1,983 $2,203 $2,380
$4,800 $1,008 $1,480 $1,709 $1,994 $2,216 $2,39%4
$4,850 $1,015 $1,489 $1,719 $2,006 $2,228 $2,408
$4,900 $1,021 $1,498 $1,729 $2,018 $2,241 $2,422
$4,950 $1,027 $1,506 $1,738 $2,029 $2,254 $2,436
$5,000 $1,034 $1,515 $1,748 $2,041 $2,267 $2,450
$5,050 $1,040 $1,524 $1,758 $2,052 $2,280 $2,463
$5,100 $1,047 $1,532 $1,768 $2,064 $2,293 $2,477
$5,150 $1,053 $1,541 $1,778 $2,075 $2,306 $2,491
$5,200 $1,060 $1,550 $1,788 $2,087 $2,318 $2,505
$5,250 $1,066 $1,558 $1,797 $2,098 $2,331 $2,519
$5,300 $1,072 $1,567 $1,807 $2,110 $2,344 $2,533
$5,350 $1,079 $1,576 $1,817 $2,121 $2,357 $2,546
$5,400 $1,085 $1,584 $1,827 $2,133 $2,369 $2,560
$5,450 $1,092 $1,593 $1,837 $2,144 $2,382 $2,574
$5,500 $1,098 $1,602 $1,846 $2,155 $2,395 $2,588
$5,550 $1,104 $1,610 $1,856 $2,167 $2,407 $2,601
$5,600 $1,111 $1,619 $1,866 $2,178 $2,420 $2,615
$5,650 $1,117 $1,627 $1,875 $2,189 $2,433 $2,629
$5,700 $1,124 $1,636 $1,885 $2,201 $2,445 $2,642
$5,750 $1,130 $1,644 $1,895 $2,212 $2,458 $2,656
$5,800 $1,136 $1,653 $1,904 $2,223 $2,470 $2,670
$5,850 $1,143 $1,662 $1,914 $2,235 $2,483 $2,683
$5,900 $1,149 $1,670 $1,923 $2,246 $2,496 $2,697
$5,950 $1,155 $1,679 $1,933 $2,257 $2,508 $2,710
$6,000 $1,162 $1,687 $1,943 $2,268 $2,520 $2,724
$6,050 $1,168 $1,696 $1,952 $2,280 $2,533 $2,737
$6,100 $1,175 $1,704 $1,962 $2,291 $2,545 $2,751
$6,150 $1,181 $1,713 $1,971 $2,302 $2,558 $2,764
$6,200 $1,187 $1,721 $1,981 $2,313 $2,570 $2,778
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COMBINED

MONTHLY | ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX

INCOME CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$6,250 $1,194 $1,729 $1,990 $2,324 $2,583 $2,791
$6,300 $1,200 $1,738 $2,000 $2,335 $2,595 $2,804
$6,350 $1,206 $1,746 $2,009 $2,346 $2,607 $2,818
$6,400 $1,213 $1,755 $2,019 $2,357 $2,620 $2,831
$6,450 $1,219 $1,763 $2,028 $2,368 $2,632 $2,844
$6,500 $1,225 $1,772 $2,037 $2,379 $2,644 $2,858
$6,550 $1,232 $1,780 $2,047 $2,390 $2,656 $2,871
$6,600 $1,238 $1,788 $2,056 $2,401 $2,669 $2,884
$6,650 $1,244 $1,797 $2,065 $2,412 $2,681 $2,897
$6,700 $1,250 $1,805 $2,075 $2,423 $2,693 $2,911
$6,750 $1,257 $1,813 $2,084 $2,434 $2,705 $2,924
$6,800 $1,263 $1,822 $2,093 $2,445 $2,717 $2,937
$6,850 $1,269 $1,830 $2,103 $2,456 $2,729 $2,950
$6,900 $1,276 $1,838 $2,112 $2,467 $2,742 $2,963
$6,950 $1,282 $1,847 $2,121 $2,478 $2,754 $2,976
$7,000 $1,288 $1,855 $2,130 $2,488 $2,766 $2,989
$7,050 $1,294 $1,863 $2,139 $2,499 $2,778 $3,002
$7,100 $1,301 $1,871 $2,149 $2,510 $2,790 $3,015
$7,150 $1,307 $1,880 $2,158 $2,521 $2,802 $3,028
$7,200 $1,313 $1,888 $2,167 $2,531 $2,814 $3,041
$7,250 $1,320 $1,896 $2,176 $2,542 $2,826 $3,054
$7,300 $1,326 $1,904 $2,185 $2,553 $2,837 $3,067
$7,350 $1,332 $1,912 $2,194 $2,563 $2,849 $3,080
$7,400 $1,338 $1,921 $2,203 $2,574 $2,861 $3,093
$7,450 $1,344 $1,929 $2,212 $2,585 $2,873 $3,105
$7,500 $1,351 $1,937 $2,221 $2,595 $2,885 $3,118
$7,550 $1,357 $1,945 $2,230 $2,606 $2,897 $3,131
$7,600 $1,363 $1,953 $2,239 $2,616 $2,908 $3,144
$7,650 $1,369 $1,961 $2,248 $2,627 $2,920 $3,156
$7,700 $1,376 $1,969 $2,257 $2,637 $2,932 $3,169
$7,750 $1,382 $1,977 $2,266 $2,648 $2,943 $3,182
$7,800 $1,388 $1,986 $2,275 $2,658 $2,955 $3,194
$7,850 $1,394 $1,994 $2,284 $2,669 $2,967 $3,207
$7,900 $1,400 $2,002 $2,293 $2,679 $2,978 $3,220
$7,950 $1,406 $2,010 $2,302 $2,690 $2,990 $3,232
$8,000 $1,413 $2,018 $2,310 $2,700 $3,002 $3,245
$8,050 $1,419 $2,026 $2,319 $2,710 $3,013 $3,257
$8,100 $1,425 $2,034 $2,328 $2,721 $3,025 $3,270
$8,150 $1,431 $2,042 $2,337 $2,731 $3,036 $3,282
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COMBINED

MONTHLY | ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX

INCOME CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$8,200 $1,437 $2,050 $2,346 $2,741 $3,047 $3,294
$8,250 $1,443 $2,058 $2,354 $2,751 $3,059 $3,307
$8,300 $1,450 $2,065 $2,363 $2,762 $3,070 $3,319
$8,350 $1,456 $2,073 $2,372 $2,772 $3,082 $3,331
$8,400 $1,462 $2,081 $2,380 $2,782 $3,093 $3,344
$8,450 $1,468 $2,089 $2,389 $2,792 $3,104 $3,356
$8,500 $1,474 $2,097 $2,398 $2,802 $3,116 $3,368
$8,550 $1,480 $2,105 $2,406 $2,812 $3,127 $3,380
$8,600 $1,486 $2,113 $2,415 $2,822 $3,138 $3,393
$8,650 $1,492 $2,121 $2,423 $2,833 $3,149 $3,405
$8,700 $1,498 $2,128 $2,432 $2,843 $3,161 $3,417
$8,750 $1,504 $2,136 $2,440 $2,853 $3,172 $3,429
$8,800 $1,511 $2,144 $2,449 $2,863 $3,183 $3,441
$8,850 $1,517 $2,152 $2,457 $2,872 $3,194 $3,453
$8,900 $1,523 $2,159 $2,466 $2,882 $3,205 $3,465
$8,950 $1,529 $2,167 $2,474 $2,892 $3,216 $3,477
$9,000 $1,535 $2,175 $2,482 $2,902 $3,227 $3,489
$9,050 $1,541 $2,183 $2,491 $2,912 $3,238 $3,501
$9,100 $1,547 $2,190 $2,499 $2,922 $3,249 $3,513
$9,150 $1,553 $2,198 $2,508 $2,932 $3,260 $3,525
$9,200 $1,559 $2,206 $2,516 $2,941 $3,271 $3,537
$9,250 $1,565 $2,213 $2,524 $2,951 $3,282 $3,548
$9,300 $1,571 $2,221 $2,532 $2,961 $3,293 $3,560
$9,350 $1,577 $2,229 $2,541 $2,971 $3,303 $3,572
$9,400 $1,583 $2,236 $2,549 $2,980 $3,314 $3,583
$9,450 $1,589 $2,244 $2,557 $2,990 $3,325 $3,595
$9,500 $1,595 $2,251 $2,565 $2,999 $3,336 $3,607
$9,550 $1,601 $2,259 $2,573 $3,009 $3,346 $3,618
$9,600 $1,607 $2,266 $2,581 $3,019 $3,357 $3,630
$9,650 $1,613 $2,274 $2,590 $3,028 $3,368 $3,641
$9,700 $1,619 $2,281 $2,598 $3,038 $3,378 $3,653
$9,750 $1,625 $2,289 $2,606 $3,047 $3,389 $3,664
$9,800 $1,631 $2,296 $2,614 $3,057 $3,399 $3,676
$9,850 $1,637 $2,304 $2,622 $3,066 $3,410 $3,687
$9,900 $1,643 $2,311 $2,630 $3,075 $3,420 $3,699
$9,950 $1,648 $2,319 $2,638 $3,085 $3,431 $3,710
$10,000 $1,654 $2,326 $2,645 $3,094 $3,441 $3,721
$10,050 $1,660 $2,333 $2,653 $3,103 $3,452 $3,733
$10,100 $1,666 $2,341 $2,661 $3,113 $3,462 $3,744
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COMBINED

MONTHLY | ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX

INCOME CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$10,150 $1,672 $2,348 $2,669 $3,122 $3,472 $3,755
$10,200 $1,678 $2,355 $2,677 $3,131 $3,483 $3,766
$10,250 $1,684 $2,363 $2,685 $3,140 $3,493 $3,777
$10,300 $1,690 $2,370 $2,692 $3,149 $3,503 $3,789
$10,350 $1,696 $2,377 $2,700 $3,159 $3,514 $3,800
$10,400 $1,701 $2,385 $2,708 $3,168 $3,524 $3,811
$10,450 $1,707 $2,392 $2,716 $3,177 $3,534 $3,822
$10,500 $1,713 $2,399 $2,723 $3,186 $3,544 $3,833
$10,550 $1,719 $2,406 $2,731 $3,195 $3,554 $3,844
$10,600 $1,725 $2,413 $2,739 $3,204 $3,564 $3,854
$10,650 $1,731 $2,421 $2,746 $3,213 $3,574 $3,865
$10,700 $1,736 $2,428 $2,754 $3,222 $3,584 $3,876
$10,750 $1,742 $2,435 $2,761 $3,231 $3,594 $3,887
$10,800 $1,748 $2,442 $2,769 $3,239 $3,604 $3,898
$10,850 $1,754 $2,449 $2,776 $3,248 $3,614 $3,908
$10,900 $1,759 $2,456 $2,784 $3,257 $3,624 $3,919
$10,950 $1,765 $2,463 $2,791 $3,266 $3,633 $3,930
$11,000 $1,771 $2,470 $2,799 $3,275 $3,643 $3,940
$11,050 $1,777 $2,477 $2,806 $3,283 $3,653 $3,951
$11,100 $1,782 $2,484 $2,813 $3,292 $3,663 $3,962
$11,150 $1,788 $2,491 $2,821 $3,301 $3,672 $3,972
$11,200 $1,794 $2,498 $2,828 $3,309 $3,682 $3,983
$11,250 $1,800 $2,505 $2,835 $3,318 $3,692 $3,993
$11,300 $1,805 $2,512 $2,842 $3,326 $3,701 $4,003
$11,350 $1,811 $2,519 $2,850 $3,335 $3,711 $4,014
$11,400 $1,817 $2,526 $2,857 $3,344 $3,720 $4,024
$11,450 $1,822 $2,533 $2,864 $3,352 $3,730 $4,034
$11,500 $1,828 $2,540 $2,871 $3,360 $3,739 $4,045
$11,550 $1,834 $2,547 $2,878 $3,369 $3,749 $4,055
$11,600 $1,839 $2,553 $2,885 $3,377 $3,758 $4,065
$11,650 $1,845 $2,560 $2,892 $3,386 $3,767 $4,075
$11,700 $1,851 $2,567 $2,899 $3,3%4 $3,777 $4,085
$11,750 $1,856 $2,574 $2,906 $3,402 $3,786 $4,095
$11,800 $1,862 $2,580 $2,913 $3,410 $3,795 $4,105
$11,850 $1,868 $2,587 $2,920 $3,419 $3,804 $4,115
$11,900 $1,873 $2,594 $2,927 $3,427 $3,813 $4,125
$11,950 $1,879 $2,601 $2,934 $3,435 $3,823 $4,135
$12,000 $1,884 $2,607 $2,941 $3,443 $3,832 $4,145
$12,050 $1,890 $2,614 $2,948 $3,451 $3,841 $4,155
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MONTHLY | ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX

INCOME CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$12,100 $1,895 $2,620 $2,955 $3,459 $3,850 $4,165
$12,150 $1,901 $2,627 $2,961 $3,467 $3,859 $4,174
$12,200 $1,907 $2,634 $2,968 $3,475 $3,868 $4,184
$12,250 $1,912 $2,640 $2,975 $3,483 $3,877 $4,194
$12,300 $1,918 $2,647 $2,981 $3,491 $3,885 $4,203
$12,350 $1,923 $2,653 $2,988 $3,499 $3,894 $4,213
$12,400 $1,929 $2,660 $2,995 $3,507 $3,903 $4,223
$12,450 $1,934 $2,666 $3,001 $3,514 $3,912 $4,232
$12,500 $1,940 $2,673 $3,008 $3,522 $3,921 $4,242
$12,550 $1,945 $2,679 $3,014 $3,530 $3,929 $4,251
$12,600 $1,951 $2,686 $3,021 $3,538 $3,938 $4,260
$12,650 $1,956 $2,692 $3,027 $3,545 $3,946 $4,270
$12,700 $1,961 $2,698 $3,034 $3,553 $3,955 $4,279
$12,750 $1,967 $2,705 $3,040 $3,561 $3,963 $4,288
$12,800 $1,972 $2,711 $3,046 $3,568 $3,972 $4,298
$12,850 $1,978 $2,717 $3,053 $3,576 $3,980 $4,307
$12,900 $1,983 $2,724 $3,059 $3,583 $3,989 $4,316
$12,950 $1,989 $2,730 $3,065 $3,591 $3,997 $4,325
$13,000 $1,994 $2,736 $3,072 $3,598 $4,006 $4,334
$13,050 $1,999 $2,742 $3,078 $3,605 $4,014 $4,343
$13,100 $2,005 $2,748 $3,084 $3,613 $4,022 $4,352
$13,150 $2,010 $2,755 $3,090 $3,620 $4,030 $4,361
$13,200 $2,015 $2,761 $3,096 $3,627 $4,038 $4,370
$13,250 $2,021 $2,767 $3,102 $3,635 $4,047 $4,379
$13,300 $2,026 $2,773 $3,108 $3,642 $4,055 $4,388
$13,350 $2,031 $2,779 $3,115 $3,649 $4,063 $4,396
$13,400 $2,037 $2,785 $3,121 $3,656 $4,071 $4,405
$13,450 $2,042 $2,791 $3,126 $3,663 $4,079 $4,414
$13,500 $2,047 $2,797 $3,132 $3,670 $4,087 $4,422
$13,550 $2,052 $2,803 $3,138 $3,677 $4,095 $4,431
$13,600 $2,058 $2,809 $3,144 $3,684 $4,102 $4,439
$13,650 $2,063 $2,815 $3,150 $3,691 $4,110 $4,448
$13,700 $2,068 $2,821 $3,156 $3,698 $4,118 $4,456
$13,750 $2,073 $2,827 $3,162 $3,705 $4,126 $4,465
$13,800 $2,079 $2,833 $3,167 $3,712 $4,133 $4,473
$13,850 $2,084 $2,839 $3,173 $3,719 $4,141 $4,482
$13,900 $2,089 $2,845 $3,179 $3,725 $4,149 $4,490
$13,950 $2,094 $2,850 $3,184 $3,732 $4,156 $4,498
$14,000 $2,099 $2,856 $3,190 $3,739 $4,164 $4,506
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INCOME CHILD CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN | CHILDREN
$14,050 $2,105 $2,862 $3,195 $3,745 $4,171 $4,514
$14,100 $2,110 $2,868 $3,201 $3,752 $4,179 $4,522
$14,150 $2,115 $2,873 $3,207 $3,759 $4,186 $4,531
$14,200 $2,120 $2,879 $3,212 $3,765 $4,193 $4,539
$14,250 $2,125 $2,885 $3,217 $3,772 $4,201 $4,546
$14,300 $2,130 $2,890 $3,223 $3,778 $4,208 $4,554
$14,350 $2,135 $2,896 $3,228 $3,784 $4,215 $4,562
$14,400 $2,141 $2,902 $3,234 $3,791 $4,222 $4,570
$14,450 $2,146 $2,907 $3,239 $3,797 $4,229 $4,578
$14,500 $2,151 $2,913 $3,244 $3,803 $4,236 $4,586
$14,550 $2,156 $2,918 $3,249 $3,810 $4,244 $4,593
$14,600 $2,161 $2,924 $3,254 $3,816 $4,251 $4,601
$14,650 $2,166 $2,929 $3,260 $3,822 $4,257 $4,609
$14,700 $2,171 $2,935 $3,265 $3,828 $4,264 $4,616
$14,750 $2,176 $2,940 $3,270 $3,834 $4,271 $4,624
$14,800 $2,181 $2,945 $3,275 $3,840 $4,278 $4,631
$14,850 $2,186 $2,951 $3,280 $3,846 $4,285 $4,638
$14,900 $2,191 $2,956 $3,285 $3,852 $4,292 $4,646
$14,950 $2,196 $2,961 $3,290 $3,858 $4,298 $4,653
$15,000 $2,201 $2,967 $3,295 $3,864 $4,305 $4,660

Table 1 amended effective Jan. 1, 1996

; table 1 amended March 26, 1997; table 1 amended April 18, 2001; table 1 amended Nov. 26, 2003,
effective Jan. 1, 2004; table 1 amended March 10, 2004; table 1 amended March 1, 2006; Table 1 amended effective July 1, 2007.

Nebraska Child Support Guidelines readopted Nov. 8, 1995, to become effective Jan. 1, 1996.
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NEBRASKA SUPREME COURT
CHILD SUPPORT GOALS AND RULES

GOALS

The Supreme Court establishes the following goals for the rules relating to the establishment and enforcement
of child support and paternity:

1. The collection of a greater proportion of the child support owed to custodial parents.
2. The entry and enforcement of support orders within the time guidelines established by federal law.

3. The assurance that the Nebraska court system complies with federal rules and regulations relating
to the establishment and enforcement of child support and paternity.

RULES
I. Expedited Process.

The expedited judicial process established in these rules is mandatory for all court matters related to the
establishment and enforcement of child support and paternity. The following time standards apply in actions
to establish support orders and, if necessary, paternity.

A. In all cases needing support order establishment regardless of whether paternity has been
established, action to establish support orders must be completed from the date of service to the time of
disposition within the following timeframes:

1. Seventy-five percent of such cases shall be completed within 6 months of service of process.
2. Ninety percent of such cases shall be completed within 12 months of service of process.

Note: In cases for the purpose of paternity and support order establishment that use long-arm
jurisdiction and disposition occurs within 12 months of service of process on the alleged father or
noncustodial parent, the case may be counted as a success within the 6-month tier of the timeframe,
regardless of when disposition occurs in the 12-month period following the service of process.

II. Requirements and Time Limits.

A. Each clerk of the district court shall maintain records of payments for each child support order
entered by the court in any pending case. Such records shall be created within 2 business days after the filing
of the order in the clerk's office. The records shall show payments due, payments made, and the current
arrearage. The records shall be updated within 1 business day after the day the payment is due and the day a
payment is received. Interest may be calculated either each month or only when requested by the court or a

party.
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B. The clerk of the district court shall issue summons within 1 business day after receiving a request
for summons. Summons shall be delivered immediately for service unless the court has been requested to issue
an ex parte order which may be served with the summons. The clerk shall deliver summons for service no later
than 3 business days after issuance.

C. The clerk of the district court shall determine whether a copy of the order has been furnished to the
parties or their attorneys. If the clerk determines no copies have been furnished, the clerk shall mail copies to
their last known mailing address by first class mail.

Goals and Rules amended May 17, 1995.
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RULES RELATING TO
STATEWIDE CHILD SUPPORT REFEREES

1. Intent.

The Supreme Court finds that matters related to the establishment, modification, enforcement, and
collection of child or spousal support and to paternity should be handled by the court in an expeditious manner
so that parties may obtain needed orders and other action as quickly as possible. It is determined that the
appointment of statewide child support referees is necessary to aid the district courts in meeting the case
progression standards established by Supreme Court rule and federal law.

II. Appointment.

Each referee shall be appointed by order of the judges of the Supreme Court and shall be an attorney
in good standing admitted to the practice of law in the State of Nebraska. The referee shall be sworn or
affirmed, and the oath for judicial officer shall be administered. The referee may be removed at any time by
the Supreme Court.

II1. Duties.

The referee shall, in all judicial districts in this state, hear matters pertaining to (1) the establishment,
modification, enforcement, and collection of child or spousal support and (2) paternity. The referee shall have
the power to administer all necessary oaths, supervise pretrial preparation pursuant to the rules of discovery,
grant continuances and adjournments, recommend the appointment of counsel for indigent parties, and carry
out any other duties permitted by law as directed by the district court. The functions performed by the referee
under expedited processes shall at a minimum include (1) taking testimony and establishing a record, (2)
evaluating evidence and making recommendations to establish and enforce orders, (3) accepting voluntary
acknowledgment of support liability and stipulated agreements setting the amount of support and accepting
voluntary acknowledgment of paternity, and (4) recommending default orders if absent parents fail to respond
within the time specified by law. Priority shall be given to those judicial districts which have not been granted
an exemption from the federal requirement to implement expedited processes.

IV. Safeguards.
Under the expedited processes established by this court rule:
(1) The parties must be provided a copy of the recommendation of the referee and the ratified order;
(2) To be enforceable, the referee's recommendations must be entered as an order by a judge;
(3) If a case involves complex issues requiring judicial resolution, a temporary support obligation shall

be recommended under these expedited processes and the unresolved issues shall be referred to the district
court.
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V. Hearings.

A hearing before a child support referee shall be conducted in the same manner as a hearing before a
district court. Testimony in such matters shall be preserved by tape recording or other prescribed measures and
shall be in accordance with prescribed standards. Transcripts of all hearings shall be available upon request,
and all costs of preparing the transcript shall be paid by the party for whom it is prepared.

VI. Findings and Recommendations.

Upon the hearing of a matter, the child support referee shall prepare in writing his or her findings and
recommendations to the parties or their attorneys and submit a report to the district court containing findings
of fact and recommendations and any and all exceptions.

VII. Judicial Review.

In all cases referred by a child support referee, the parties shall have the right to take exception within
14 days to the findings and recommendations of the referee and to have a review by the district court before
final disposition. Upon receiving the findings and recommendations, the district court shall conduct a review
on the report of the referee and in the court's discretion may ratify or modify the recommendations of the referee
and enter judgment based thereon, with the rights of appeal and to move for rehearing reserved to all parties.

VIII. Case Progression.

Actions to establish or enforce support obligations shall be completed in accordance with state and
federal law.

Adopted May 20, 1992.
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Rules Relating to Official Court Reporters

RULES RELATING TO OFFICIAL COURT REPORTERS
1. APPOINTMENT OF REPORTER:

A. Each judge of the district and separate juvenile court shall appoint or, with approval from the
State Court Administrator, shall contract with one official court reporter to make, preserve, transcribe, and
deliver the record of the trial and other proceedings over which said judge presides. Such an official court
reporter is an at-will employee of the Nebraska Supreme Court, subject to the Court’ s general
administrative authority pursuant to art. V, 8 1 of the Nebraska Constitution, and serves at the pleasure of
the appointing judge and the Nebraska Supreme Court, unless otherwise discharged from employment as
provided in Rule 4D.

B. If the office of the appointing judge is vacated, and the Judicial Resources Commission
declaresthat ajudicial vacancy exists in the affected district, the official reporter shall continue in office
until either reappointment or the appointment of a successor official reporter.

C. If the office of the appointing judge is vacated and the Judicial Resources Commission
determines that ajudicial vacancy does not exist in the affected district, the official reporter in such
district shall vacate his or her position 90 days from the date of such determination by the commission.

Rule 1A through C amended February 28, 1996; Rule 1A amended June 5, 2002.

2. OATH OF OFFICE: An official reporter shall take the oath of office provided for judicial officers.

3. DUTIES OF REPORTER: The officia reporter is charged with a duty to comply with any Supreme
Court rulerelating to official court reporters and with the duty of making, preserving, transcribing, and
delivering a verbatim record of all proceedings in the court to which he or she is appointed in accordance
with Neb. Ct. R. of Prac. 5. Failure to comply with such rules may result in disciplinary action, including
termination, by either the appointing judge or the Nebraska Supreme Court. In addition, the official
reporter shall perform any other duties assigned by the appointing judge and shall:

A. On order of thetrial judge, make and file in the clerk's office a typewritten transcription of any
trial or proceedings, or any part thereof, without expense to any party to the suit; such transcription shall
be a part of the records in the case. The court reporter shall receive from the appropriate governmental
unit the compensation specified below in Rule 18 for any such transcription ordered by ajudge.

B. Upon request of counsel or any party to asuit, furnish to such counsel or party, as
expeditioudly as possible, atypewritten transcription of any trial or proceedings, or any portion thereof.
The reporter shall receive the compensation specified below in Rule 18 for any such transcription, except
that when expedited, daily, or real-time delivery is requested, the reporter and the requesting party may
mutually agree to an amount to be paid for delivery of such transcription. Counsel or any party shall make
satisfactory arrangements with the reporter for payment. All work involved with the preparation of such
transcription shall be considered freelance activity subject to Rule 11.

C. Upon request of any person not a party to a suit, if so approved by the trial judge, furnish to
such person, as expeditiously as possible, atypewritten transcription of any trial or proceedings, or any
portion thereof. All work involved with the preparation of such transcription shall be considered freelance
activity subject to Rule 11. The compensation and payment therefor shall be as prescribed in Rule 3B.

D. All verbatim transcriptions shall be certified by the reporter to be true and correct.

Rule 3A, B, and C amended June 19, 1996; Rule 3 amended June 5, 2002; Rule 3A and B amended June 22, 2005; Rule 3B amended February 15, 2006.
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4. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS:

A. An official reporter shall be competent in the making, preserving, transcribing, and delivery of
averbatim record of trial and other proceedings through the use of either pen or machine shorthand or the
use of multi-track recorders supplemented by logging procedures.

B. One's professional competence to serve as an official reporter shall be demonstrated by having
passed an examination conducted by such entities as the State Court Administrator may from timeto time
designate, which tests one's reporting skills and knowledge of spelling, grammar, and the reporting craft.
The skills portion of the examination shall require the reporter, in the case of one using pen or machine
shorthand, to report and transcribe, and in the case of one using a multi-track recorder to record and
transcribe, each of three items of dictation consisting of (1) literary material, (2) jury instructions, and (3)
two-voice testimony. Each dictation segment shall be of five minutes duration. In the case of one using
pen or machine shorthand, the literary material must be reported at arate of not less than 180 words per
minute, the jury charge at not less than 200 words per minute, and the two-voice testimony at not less
than 225 words per minute. All of the dictated material must be transcribed with 95 percent accuracy in a
period of not more than three and one-half hours, during which time adictionary may be used. In grading
this portion of the test, a maximum of 45 errorsis permitted on the literary material, a maximum of 50
errorsis permitted on the jury charge, and a maximum of 57 errorsis permitted on the two-voice
testimony. The knowledge portion of the examination shall consist of not less than 100 written multiple-
choice questions and must be passed with a score of not less than 70 percent in a period of time as
determined by the examiner, but no more than 90 minutes per 100 questions. A dictionary may not be
used during this portion of the examination.

C. No applicant for a position as an official reporter may hereafter beinitially appointed or
reappointed following the taking of office by a judge succeeding the judge making the initial appointment
unless the applicant shall first have met the above testing requirements.

D. After employment, an official reporter may be required to undergo reexamination through
testing substantially similar to that described in Rule 4B any time upon the request of the appointing
judge, the Nebraska Court of Appeals, or the Nebraska Supreme Court. Failure to pass the reexamination
shall constitute cause for the immediate discharge of the official reporter from employment.

Rule 4B,amended February 23, 2006.

5. PLACE OF RESIDENCE OF REPORTER: The place of residence of the officia reporter shall be
determined by the appointing judge.

6. PRINCIPAL OFFICE LOCATION OF JUDGE AND REPORTER: Each judge, in adistrict where the
judge and official reporter do not reside in the same county, shall designate, if a multicounty district, a
courthouse in thejudicial district to serve asthe principal office location for the judge and a courthouse in
thejudicia district to serve asthe principal office location for the reporter.

7. ASSIGNMENT OF REPORTER:
A. With the approval of the official reporter's appointing judge, any other official reporter may be
assigned by the State Court Administrator to perform an official reporter's duties on atemporary basisin

any court in the state.

B. Any official reporter so assigned on atemporary basis shall receive, in addition to his or her
regular salary, reimbursement for all necessary and actual expenses incurred, in conformance with the
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travel policies of the Administrative Office of the Courts. Mileage in such instances will be paid to and
from the place of residence of the assigned reporter.

8. REPORTER ACTING WHEN ANOTHER JUDGE PRESIDES: Unless otherwise directed by the
appointing judge, the official reporter shall serve as such in all matters heard by another judge when
acting in place of the appointing judge, and shall perform in relation to such matters all the duties required
by law or these rules.

9. REIMBURSEMENT FOR TRAVEL EXPENSES: Each official reporter shall be reimbursed for actual
and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of his or her official duties. Reimbursement shall be
in accordance with the travel policies of the Administrative Office of the Courts.

10. CUSTODY OF TRIAL RECORDS AND DOCUMENTS:

A. All shorthand notes, tape recordings, log sheets, or any other material used in making the
record in court shall remain in the custody of the official reporter until such time as the reporter's
employment is terminated, or until he or sheis disabled or incapacitated. Upon the occurrence of any of
the above, control of all such materials shall then be transferred to the clerk of the district court. All
reporter notes created after July 1, 1988, shall be marked on the first page with the reporter's name,
date(s) of proceedings, case title(s), docket number(s), and "Criminal" if criminal cases were reported.
Notes which contain criminal cases are to be separated and stored in separate filing equipment or storage
boxes. Containers for permanent storage shall be marked with the year, type of notes (criminal or civil),
and name of reporter. The official reporter may, with the approval of the clerk of the district court,
transfer permanent storage containers to the clerk of the district court at any time. Responsibility for the
retrieval, research, and refiling of the notes contained in the storage files shall lie with the reporter or his
or her successor(s). Custody of any such materials may be assumed at any time by the judge in the event
of failure on the part of the reporter to prepare and deliver atranscript of proceedings or to timely prepare
and file abill of exceptions on appeal to the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals.

B. Except asit shall become necessary to include exhibitsin bills of exceptions being prepared in
connection with appeals to the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals, all exhibits shall be retained by the
official reporter until a matter isterminated, at which time responsibility for the safekeeping of such
exhibits shall passto the clerk of the district court, unless otherwise ordered by a district judge pursuant to
law. Likewise, the responsibility for the safekeeping of all exhibits shall pass to the clerk of the district
court upon areporter's termination of employment, for whatever reason.

C. Upon the transfer of responsibility for the safekeeping of exhibits from the official reporter to
the clerk of the district court, the reporter shall insure that all exhibits in each case are grouped together
and shall state thereon the caption of the case, docket and page or case number, the date or dates of the
trial or proceedings, and the name of the reporter. The reporter shall prepare in each case, for the
signature of the clerk of the district court, a receipt acknowledging responsibility for the safekeeping of
such materials. The original of the receipt shall be retained by the clerk.

11. FREELANCE ACTIVITIES:

A. Freelance reporting activities shall mean the reporting or transcription by an official reporter
of oral statements or proceedings of any nature whatsoever, other than those required by these rules, those
specifically requested by the judge who appointed the reporter, or for said judge's substitute, or by the
State Court Administrator.
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B. Except as provided for by these rules, an officia reporter may engage in freelance reporting
activities during normal working hoursif, and only if, the reporter takes leave without pay and said
activities are determined by the judge who appointed the reporter to be in the interest of the public,
provided, however:

(1) Thetaking of leave without pay shall not be required if the freelance activity occurs
during areporter's lunch hour, while the reporter is on vacation leave, or while the reporter is
taking compensatory time off.

(2) Freelance reporting activities shall not be performed during any period in which the
reporter is granted an extension to complete and file a bill of exceptions except for those activities
related to the specific bill of exceptions for which the extension has been granted.

(3)(i) Freelance reporting activities shall not be performed when the presence of the
official reporter is required by these rules, by the judge who appointed the reporter, by said
judge's substitute, or by ajudge to whom the reporter has been assigned by the State Court
Administrator, except, however transcription described in Rule 3B and C may be performed
during thistime if the appointing judge or judge's substitute determines such transcription isin
the best interest of the public, and the time spent at such transcription is not in conflict with any
other duties of the court reporter.

(ii) If the reporter's full-time presence is not required by the appointing judge or judge's
substitute during normal working hours, the reporter may, without taking leave without pay,
engage in transcription described in Rule 3B or C only.

C. All other outside employment during normal working hours is prohibited.

D. An officia reporter shall neither provide nor cause to be provided any public office space to
any of the reporter's employees or associates.

E. An official reporter shall not use any publicly-owned supplies or equipment in connection with
any freelance reporting activity. Provided, however, that permission to utilize state-owned equipment for
purposes outside the scope of official court reporting duties may be given by the Supreme Court if: (1) the
eguipment is to be used for purposes of recording proceedings of other public entities; (2) operation of the
recording equipment by the reporter will not be during working hours nor in any other way interfere with
the reporter's official responsibilities; and (3) payment of $10 to the State of Nebraska, through the office
of the State Court Administrator, is made from any such public entity for each day or any part thereof that
the equipment is used.

F. All leave without pay taken for the purpose of engaging in freelance activity shall be recorded
on the monthly timesheet. The amount of income and the |eave earnings on the following month's
paycheck shall be adjusted to reflect any time recorded on the timesheet as |eave without pay. Hours spent
in transcription preparation under Rule 11B(3) during normal working hours shall be recorded on the
monthly timesheet (Appendix 1).

G. An official reporter shall not be eigible for injury leave or workers compensation benefits for
injury sustained while on leave without pay.

H. An official reporter shall not evade the provisions of this rule by employing a substitute court
reporter to perform any official duty.

Rule 11A, B, and F amended June 19, 1996.
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12. EMPLOYMENT OF SUBSTITUTE REPORTER:

A. Inthe event of illness or disability of an official reporter, and where it would appear to not be
practical or feasible to reassign another official reporter on atemporary basis, the judge of theill or
disabled reporter, with the approval of the State Court Administrator, may designate a reporter having
passed an examination at least as stringent as that described in Rule 4B to act as a substitute reporter, at
state expense.

B. The preparation of any bill of exceptions or transcript by any such substitute reporter shall be
subject to the same rules and regulations as those governing permanently employed official reporters.

C. Payment to such temporarily employed substitute reporter shall be on a per diem basis, and
payment will be made only for the actual days such substitute reporter was required by the judge to bein
attendance upon the court. Per diem payment may not be in excess of that figure which the ill or disabled
reporter's gross monthly salary amounts to if computed on a per diem basis.

D. No substitute reporter shall be entitled to sick leave or any other benefits ordinarily available
to the reporter for whom he or sheis substituting.

E. Actual and necessary expenses, including mileage reimbursement, shall be paid to such
substitute reporter under the same terms and conditions as those payments are then being made to the
reporter for whom he or sheis substituting.

F. Any additional reimbursements to a substitute reporter may only be made with the prior
approval of the State Court Administrator.

13. LEAVE: All leave, including holiday leave, vacation leave, sick leave, funeral leave, family leave,
military leave, civil leave, injury leave, and workers compensation disability leave, shall be taken as
provided in the authorized leave policies of the Nebraska Supreme Court Personnel Policies and
Procedures. Provided, however, that an official reporter shall take vacation at the same time as or at the
discretion of the appointing judge. If the official reporter is permitted to take vacation at a time other than
when the appointing judge takes vacation and the services of a substitute reporter are required by such
judge, it shall be the obligation of the official reporter taking vacation to arrange for the services of a
substitute reporter at no cost to the State, unless otherwise determined by the State Court Administrator.
The substitute reporter must have passed an examination at least as stringent as that described in Rule 4B.
The arrangement may not be implemented unless first approved by the State Court Administrator.

14. OVERTIME: Overtime shall be earned and compensated for as provided in the overtime policiesin
the Nebraska Supreme Court Personnel Policies and Procedures, except as otherwise provided by the
Court Reporter Fair Labor Amendments of 1995, 29 U.S.C. § 270(0)(6) and these rules. Except in cases
of emergency, no overtime shall be approved during aworkweek in which the reporter has engaged in
freelance transcription under Rule 11B(3).

Any hours spent performing "freelance" transcription of court proceedings shall not be counted as "hours
worked" for purposes of the overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act if:

(1) the reporter is being paid not less than maximum per page rate established by Rule 18, or the
per page rate freely negotiated between the reporter and the party requesting the transcript (other than the
judge who presided over the proceedings), and

(2) the hours spent performing such duties are outside the hours such reporter performs other
work (including hours for which the court requires the reporter's attendance) pursuant to the employment
relationship with the court; e.g., leave without pay, lunch hours, vacation leave, compensatory time off, or
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time where the reporter's attendance at any designated workplace is not required by the appointing judge,
the judge's substitute, or the State Court Administrator.

Rule 14 adopted June 19, 1996; rule 14(1) amended June 22, 2005.

15. NEBRASKA OFFICIAL COURT REPORTERS ASSOCIATION: There shall be an organization
called the Nebraska Official Court Reporters Association, which shall consist of al official reporters. This
organization shall have as its purpose the improvement of court reporting in this state, by providing a
forum for the exchange of ideas and to educate all reporters to more adequately and expeditiously handle
the reporting needs of this state. The association shall adopt bylaws consistent with these rules, providing
for the election of a president and such other officers as the association determines appropriate. The
association shall have at least one meeting per year unless such annual meeting is canceled or suspended
by order or direction of the Nebraska Supreme Court.

If the judge who appointed the reporter requires the presence of an official reporter during the time of the
educational seminar, a substitute may be designated to replace the official reporter while attending the
seminar. This shall be at state expense.

Rule 14 renumbered to 15 June 19, 1996; Rule 15 amended September 10, 1998; Rule 15 amended March 19, 2003; Rule 15 amended February 1, 2006.

16. PREPARATION AND DELIVERY OF BILL OF EXCEPTIONS OR TRANSCRIPTION BY
ANOTHER REPORTER:

A. Inthe event abill of exceptions or transcription of atrial or proceeding is required after the
official reporter who reported the same has left his or her position, but who retains residency in this state,
such bill of exceptions or transcription shall be prepared by that person, under the same requirements,
time limitations, and rate of compensation as that in existence for official reporters.

B. In the event a bill of exceptions or transcription of some trial or proceeding is required after
the official reporter who reported the same has left his or her position, and who no longer is aresident of
this state, such bill of exceptions or transcription shall be prepared by the successor reporter, provided the
same method of recording court proceedings is employed by such successor reporter.

C. There shall be established within the Nebraska Official Court Reporters Association a
committee of reporters whose function will be, in the event the provisions of Rule 16A and B cannot be
implemented, to prepare any bill of exceptions or transcription required.

D. Inthe event abill of exceptions or transcription of sometrial or proceeding is required, but the
official reporter who reported the same is temporarily ill or disabled to the extent that delivery of the same
would be unduly delayed, then the provisions of Rule 16C shall become effective.

E. In cases where a hill of exceptions or transcription is prepared by an official reporter who did
not make the actual record in court, the certificate shall set forth that the bill of exceptions or transcription
was prepared from the record made by the unavailable reporter, and that the bill of exceptions or
transcription is full, true, and correct to the best of the preparing reporter's ability to compile such bill of
exceptions or transcription.

Rule 15 renumbered to 16 June 19, 1996.
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17. OTHER RELATED POLICIES: The workplace harassment policy, the drug-free workplace policy,
and travel policies apply to all officia court reporters. Copies of these policies are available through the
State Court Administrator's Office and are also printed in the Nebraska Supreme Court Personnel Policies
& Procedures manual.

Rule 18 adopted February 10, 1999; Rule 17 deleted and Rule 18 renumbered to 17 November 22, 2000.

18. PER-PAGE COMPENSATION: Effective June 8, 2005, the per-page fee to which a court reporter is
entitled, as prescribed by the Supreme Court pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1140.09, shall be $3.25 per
page for an original copy of abill of exceptions and 50 cents per page for each additional copy, with
numbering to begin with the cover page.

Rule 18 adopted June 22, 2005.

Rules Relating to Official Court Reporters amended Feb. 1, 1995.
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OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER MONTHLY TIMESHEET Appendix 1

Designated Work Day: From to am., From to p.m.

For the month of ,

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday

1 Write your designated work day at the top of the sheet and place dates in upper lefthand corner of
each sguare.
2. This timesheet should reflect both hours worked and deviations (as designated below)* from the

regular work day. Explain these deviations by recording the number of hours and the proper code in
the appropriate square. (V/3hrs., S/8hrs., TPANR/4hrs., TPON1/2hr., etc.)

3. Complete monthly totals including, when applicable, the totals of overtime earned and comp time
taken for the month. (Use the back of this sheet for additional information.)
4. Please sign (both the judge and reporter) and submit to the State Court Administrator’s office by the
5th of each month.
MONTHLY TOTALS
* (See leave code explanations on back)
v S H OTE CTT F C M LWP | TPANR TPON

Please record the following information regarding ON CALL status for next month:

For the month of I can be reached at ()

Dates my judge will be absent and | will not be taking vacation or other leave:

Court Reporter Signature SSH District#

Judge Signature
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Leave Codes:

See the Nebraska Supreme Court Personnel Policies and Procedures handbook for the following leave
explanations:

V=Vacation S=Sick H=Holiday
F=Funera M=Military C=Civil
Other Codes:
OTE=Overtime Earned CTT=Compensatory Time Taken LWP=Leave Without Pay

TPANR=Transcript preparation/attendance not required
TPON=Transcript preparation/on site

(1) Judge request (Rule 3A)

(2) Other party request (Rule 3B and C)

Code Definitions:

OVERTIME EARNED (OTE) - Time worked in excess of the designated work week. Paid |eave time
(vacation, sick, etc., with the exception of holiday leave), time when the reporter’ s presence is not required,
and leave without pay for freelance work, shall not be considered as hours worked. An employee must work,
not just get paid for, 40 hours of required work during the designated work week before any time can be
considered as overtime.

COMPENSATORY TIME TAKEN (CTT) - Time taken off from work, earned at atime and one-half basis,
as aresult of overtime (as defined above).

LEAVE WITHOUT PAY (LWP) - Time taken off during the designated work day required to engage in
freelance activity other than transcription preparation pursuant to Rule 3B and C.

TRANSCRIPT PREPARATION/ATTENDANCE NOT REQUIRED (TPANR) - Any time spent during the
normal working hours as described in Rule 11B(3)(ii) engaged in the preparation of transcription pursuant to
Rule 3B and C.

TRANSCRIPTION PREPARATION/ON SITE AND ATTENDANCE REQUIRED (TPON) - Any time
spent during the normal working hours as described in Rule 11(b)(3)(i) engaged in the preparation of
transcription pursuant to Rule 3A, B, or C.
Note: Include either (1) or (2) below when recording this code:
(1) Judge request (Rule 3A)
(2) Other party request (Rule 3B and C).

Other Information:

DESIGNATED WORK WEEK - 8:00 am. on Monday to 8:00 am. the following Monday.
DESIGNATED WORK DAY - The normal daily work schedule that has been set for the reporter by the
judge.
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Discovery Rules for Civil Cases

NEBRASKA DISCOVERY RULES FOR ALL CIVIL CASES
PROMULGATED BY THE NEBRASKA SUPREME COURT

Effective January 1, 1983

PROMULGATING ORDER

Pursuant to the provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1273.01, the Supreme Court does hereby promulgate the
following discovery rules in civil cases, effective as of January 1, 1983.

These rules shall, as written, apply in the district courts, and in all other courts of Nebraska to the extent not
inconsistent with other statutes. Rules 26 and 37 are applicable to county courts as to actions pending in those
courts on the effective date of these rules.

COMMENT ON CIVIL DISCOVERY RULES
These discovery rules follow the structure of the current discovery portion of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, but the content of the
Nebraska rules is not always that of the federal rules. The federal rules were used for the structure because they are well known, being used
in federal court and in many state courts, and because Nebraska originally followed the federal pattern when discoverywas adopted in Nebraska
in 1951. The committee considered the text of current Nebraska statutes, the current federal rules, recently proposed federal rules, and certain
rules used in other states, and recommended the language that appears best for Nebraska practice. The federal rule numbers were retained for
ease of comparison with the law of other jurisdictions.

(The preceding comment and comments following each rule were adopted from the comments of the Supreme Court Committee on Practice
and Procedure submitted to the Supreme Court in October 1981.)
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(The numbering system of the Federal discovery rules for civil cases has been adopted.)
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DISCOVERY RULES
Rule 26. General Provisions Governing Discovery.

(a) Discovery Methods. Parties may obtain discovery by one or more of the following methods:
depositions upon oral examination or written questions; written interrogatories; production of documents or
things or permission to enter upon land or other property for inspection and other purposes; physical and
mental examinations; and requests for admission. Unless the court orders otherwise under subdivision (c¢) of
this rule, the frequency of use of these methods is not limited.

(b) Scope of Discovery. Unless otherwise limited by order of the court in accordance with these rules,
the scope of discovery is as follows:

(1) In General. Parties may obtain discovery regarding any matter, not privileged, which is
relevant to the subject matter involved in the pending action, whether it relates to the claim or defense
of the party seeking discovery or to the claim or defense of any other party, including the existence,
description, nature, custody, condition, and location of any books, documents, or other tangible things
and the identity and location of persons having knowledge of any discoverable matter. It is not ground
for objection that the information sought will be inadmissible at the trial if the information sought
appears reasonably calculated to lead to the discovery of admissible evidence.

(2) Insurance Agreements. A party may obtain discovery of the existence and contents of any
insurance agreement under which any person carrying on an insurance business may be liable to
satisfy part or all of a judgment which may be entered in the action or to indemnify or reimburse for
payments made to satisfy the judgment. Information concerning the insurance agreement is not by
reason of disclosure admissible in evidence at trial. For purposes of this paragraph, an application for
insurance shall not be treated as part of an insurance agreement.

(3) Trial Preparation: Materials. Subject to the provisions of subdivision (b)(4) of this rule,
a party may obtain discovery of documents and tangible things otherwise discoverable under
subdivision (b)(1) of this rule and prepared in anticipation of litigation or for trial by or for another
party or by or for that other party's representative (including his or her attorney, consultant, surety,
indemnitor, insurer, or agent) only upon a showing that the party seeking discovery has substantial
need of the materials in the preparation of his or her case and that he or she is unable without undue
hardship to obtain the substantial equivalent of the materials by other means. In ordering discovery
of such materials when the required showing has been made, the court shall protect against disclosure
of the mental impressions, conclusions, opinions, or legal theories of an attorney or other
representative of a party concerning the litigation.

A party may obtain without the required showing a statement concerning the action or its
subject matter previously made by that party. Upon request, a person not a party may obtain without
the required showing a statement concerning the action or its subject matter previously made by that
person. If the request is refused, the person may move for a court order. The provisions of Rule
37(a)(4) apply to the award of expenses incurred in relation to the motion. For purposes of this
paragraph, a statement previously made is (A) a written statement signed or otherwise adopted or
approved by the person making it, or (B) a stenographic, mechanical, electrical or other recording,
or a transcription thereof, which is a substantially verbatim recital of an oral statement by the person
making it and contemporaneously recorded.

(4) Trial Preparation: Experts. Discovery of facts known and opinions held by experts
otherwise discoverable under the provisions of subdivision (b)(1) of this rule and acquired or
developed in anticipation of litigation or for trial may be obtained only as follows:
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(A)(i) A party may through interrogatories require any other party to identify each person
whom the other party expects to call as an expert witness at trial, to state the subject matter on which
the expert is expected to testify, and to state the substance of the facts and opinions to which the
expert is expected to testify and a summary of the grounds for each opinion.

(ii) Upon motion, the court may order further discovery by other means, subject to such
restrictions as to scope and such provisions, pursuant to subdivisions (b)(4)(C) of this rule, concerning
fees and expenses as the court may deem appropriate.

(B) A party may discover facts known or opinions held by an expert who has been retained
or specially employed by another party in anticipation of litigation or preparation for trial and who
is not expected to be called as a witness at trial, only as provided in Rule 35(b) or upon a showing of
exceptional circumstances under which it is impracticable for the party seeking discovery to obtain
facts or opinions on the same subject by other means.

(C) Unless manifest injustice would result,

(i) the court shall require that the party seeking discovery pay the expert a reasonable fee for
time spent in responding to discovery under subdivisions (b)(4)(A)(ii) and (b)(4)(B) of this rule; and

(i1) with respect to discovery obtained under subdivision (b)(4)(A)(ii) of this rule the court
may require, and with respect to discovery obtained under subdivision (b)(4)(B) of this rule the court
shall require, the party seeking discovery to pay the other party a fair portion of the fees and expenses
reasonably incurred by the latter party in obtaining facts and opinions from the expert.

(c) Protective Orders. Upon motion by a party or by the person from whom discovery is sought, and
for good cause shown, the court in which the action is pending or alternatively, on matters relating to a
deposition, the district court in the district where the deposition is to be taken, may make any order which
justice requires to protect a party or person from annoyance, embarrassment, oppression, or undue burden or
expense, including one or more of the following:

(1) that the discovery not be had;

(2) that the discovery may be had only on specified terms and conditions, including a
designation of the time or place;

(3) that the discovery may be had only by a method of discovery other than that selected by
the party seeking discovery;

(4) that certain matters not be inquired into, or that the scope of the discovery be limited to
certain matters;

(5) that discovery be conducted with no one present except persons designated by the court;
(6) that a deposition after being sealed be opened only by order of the court;

(7) that atrade secret or other confidential research, development, or commercial information
not be disclosed or be disclosed only in a designated way;

(8) that the parties simultanecously file specified documents or information enclosed in sealed
envelopes to be opened as directed by the court.
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If the motion for a protective order is denied in whole or in part, the court may, on such terms and
conditions as are just, order that any party or person provide or permit discovery. The provisions of Rule
37(a)(4) apply to the award of expenses incurred in relation to the motion.

(d) Sequence and Timing of Discovery. Unless the court upon motion, for the convenience of parties
and witnesses and in the interests of justice, orders otherwise, methods of discovery may be used in any
sequence and the fact that a party is conducting discovery, whether by deposition or otherwise, shall not
operate to delay any other party's discovery.

(e) Supplementation of Responses. A party who has responded to a request for discovery with a
response that was complete when made is under no duty to supplement his or her response to include
information thereafter acquired, except as follows:

(1) A party is under a duty seasonably to supplement his or her response with respect to any
question directly addressed to

(A) the identity and location of persons having knowledge of discoverable matters, and

(B) the identity of each person expected to be called as an expert witness at trial, the subject
matter on which he or she is expected to testify, and the substance of his or her testimony.

(2) A party is under a duty seasonably to amend a prior response if he or she obtains
information upon the basis of which

(A) he or she knows that the response was incorrect when made,
or
(B) he or she knows that the response though correct when made is no longer true and the
circumstances are such that a failure to amend the response is in substance a knowing concealment.

(3) A duty to supplement responses may be imposed by order of the court or by agreement
of the parties.

(f) Service of Discovery Papers. Except as otherwise ordered by the court, every discovery paper and
every motion relating to discovery and response thereto required to be served upon a party shall be served
upon each of the parties not in default for failure to appear.

(g) Filing of Discovery Materials. Discovery materials that do not require action by the court shall not
be filed with the court. All such materials, including notices of deposition, depositions, certificates of filing
a deposition, interrogatories, answers and objections to interrogatories, requests for documents or to permit
entry upon land and responses or objections to such requests, requests for admissions and responses or
objections to such requests, subpoenas for depositions or other discovery and returns of service of subpoenas,
and related notices shall be maintained by the parties.

Discovery materials shall be filed with the court only when ordered by the court or when required by
law. If the original of a deposition is not in the possession of a party who intends to offer it in evidence at a
hearing, that party may give notice to the party in possession of it that the deposition will be needed at the
hearing. Upon receiving such notice the party in possession of the deposition shall either make it available to
the party who intends to offer it or produce it at the hearing.

Rule 26(g) amended December 12, 2001.
COMMENTS TO RULE 26

26(a) This subsection provides a catalog of the discovery devices, and is new to Nebraska law. Although there is no limit on the frequency
of use of these methods, the limit on interrogatory questions in Rule 33 will restrict the extent of discovery by interrogatory.
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26(b)(1) and (2) The definition of the scope of discovery in subsection (1) follows former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.02 (Repealed 1982). The
provision of subsection (2) was taken from the federal rules and follows the rule established in Walls v. Horback, 189 Neb. 479, 203 N.W.2d
490 (1973).

26(b)(3) Subsection (3) provides for protection of material often described as an attorney's work product, and follows the language of the
federal rule. Prior Nebraska law on discovery of work product was established in Haarhues v. Gordon, 180 Neb. 189, 141 N.W.2d 856 (1966).
A provision similar but not identical to the second paragraph of subsection (3) was found in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1222.02 (Repealed 1982).
That section, however, applied only to statements by parties and provided only the sanction of exclusion at trial. The language found in
subsection (3) was adopted to maintain uniformity oflanguage, to authorize a wider range of sanctions, and to cover statements by parties and
nonparties.

26(b)(4) Subsection (4) on experts presents in the expanded language ofthe federal rules the idea found in former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 27-705(2)
(Repealed 1982). The committee recommended repeal of that section, a part of the Nebraska Evidence Rules, because it is a discovery
procedure better codified here in the discovery rules.

26(c) This provision on sanctions is substantially similar to former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.22 and 25-267.31 (Repealed 1982), but is
expanded to include all kinds of discovery and not just depositions and interrogatories.

26(d) This is a new provision identical to the federal rules; it would not appear to change current Nebraska practice.

26(e) This provision on supplementation of discovery was added tothe federal rules in 1970 andisnow adopted for the first time in Nebraska.
The proposed language follows the federal rule, except that in subsection (e)(3) the federal language allowing imposition of the duty to
supplement by a request for supplementation was rejected.

26(f) A provision on service of discovery papers is necessary because Nebraska law prior to the adoption of these rules did not cover the topic.
This is a nonuniform addition to the language of the federal rules because such a provision is in Rule 5(a) ofthe federal rules, while Nebraska
has no similar rule.

26(g) This rule has been adopted because the routine filing of discovery material has unnecessarily overcrowded court files. Parties are now
required to keep possession of the discovery material and file it only upon court order or when required by law. Discovery materials used to
support or resist a motion for summary judgment shall not be filed separately; § 25-1332 (Amended 2001) makes clear that the court may
consider them only if they are admitted as evidence.

Comments to Rule 26(g) amended December 12, 2001.

Rule 27. Depositions Before Action or Pending Appeal.
(a) Before Action.

(1) Petition. A person who desires to perpetuate his or her own testimony or that of another
person regarding any matter that may be cognizable in any court of this state may file a petition
verified by affidavit of the petitioner or his or her attorney in the district court in the district of the
residence of any expected adverse party. The petition shall be entitled in the name of the petitioner
and shall show:

(1) The petitioner expects to be a party to an action cognizable in a court of this state but is
presently unable to bring it or cause it to be brought;

(i1) the subject matter of the expected action and his or her interest therein;

(iii) the facts which he or she desires to establish by the proposed testimony and his or her
reasons for desiring to perpetuate it;

(iv) the names or a description of the persons he or she expects will be adverse parties and
their addresses so far as known; and

(v) the names and addresses of the persons to be examined and the substance of the testimony
which he or she expects to elicit from each, and shall ask for an order authorizing the petitioner to take
the depositions of the persons to be examined named in the petition, for the purpose of perpetuating
their testimony.
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(2) Notice and Service. The petitioner shall thereafter serve a notice upon each person named
in the petition as an expected adverse party, together with a copy of the petition, stating that the
petitioner will apply to the court, at a time and place named therein, for the order described in the
petition. At least twenty days before the date of hearing the notice shall be served in the manner
provided for service of summons; but if such service cannot with due diligence be made upon any
expected adverse party named in the petition, the court shall order service by publication in the
manner provided in Rule 30(b)(1)(B), and shall appoint, for persons not served in the manner
provided for service of summons, an attorney who shall represent them, and, in case they are not
otherwise represented, shall cross-examine the deponent. If any expected adverse party is a minor or
incompetent the provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-309 shall apply.

(3) Order and Examination. If the court is satisfied that the perpetuation of the testimony may
prevent a failure or delay of justice, it shall make an order designating or describing the persons
whose depositions may be taken and specifying the subject matter of the examination and whether
the depositions shall be taken upon oral examination or written questions. The depositions may then
be taken in accordance with these rules; and the court may make orders of the character provided for
by Rules 34 and 35. For the purpose of applying these rules to depositions for perpetuating testimony,
each reference therein to the court in which the action is pending shall be deemed to refer to the court
in which the petition for such deposition was filed.

(4) Use of Deposition. If a deposition to perpetuate testimony is taken under these rules or
if, although not so taken, it would be admissible in evidence in the courts of the state in which it is
taken, it may be used in any action involving the same subject matter subsequently brought in a
district court in this state, in accordance with the provisions of Rule 32(a).

(b) Pending Appeal. If an appeal has been taken from a judgment of a district court, the appellate
court, upon motion filed therein and notice and service thereof as if the action was pending in the district court,
may remand the motion to the district court for consideration and ruling, may itself overrule the motion, or,
if the appellate court finds that the perpetuation of the testimony is proper to avoid failure or delay of justice,
may itself enter an order allowing the depositions to be taken and may make orders of the character provided
for by Rules 34 and 35, and thereupon the depositions may be taken and used in the same manner and under
the same conditions as are prescribed in these rules for depositions taken in actions pending in the district
court. The motion shall show

(1) the names and addresses of persons to be examined and the substance of the testimony
which he or she expects to elicit from each;

(2) the reasons for perpetuating their testimony.

(c) Perpetuation by Action. This rule does not limit the power of a court to entertain an action to
perpetuate testimony.

Rule 27(b) amended January 14, 1998.
COMMENT TO RULE 27
The language ofrule 27 is substantially similar to federal rule 27 and to former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.08 to 25-1267.13 (Repealed 1982).

Rule 28. Persons Before Whom Depositions May Be Taken.

(a) Within this State. Within this State depositions may be taken before a judge or clerk of the
Supreme Court or district court, a county judge, clerk magistrate, notary public, or any person appointed by
the court in which the action is pending. A person so appointed has power to administer oaths and take
testimony.
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(b) Elsewhere Within the United States. Within other states of the United States or within a territory
or insular possession subject to the jurisdiction of the United States depositions may be taken before an officer
authorized to administer oaths by the laws of the United States or of the place where the examination is held,
or before a person appointed by the court in which the action is pending. A person so appointed has power
to administer oaths and take testimony.

(c) In Foreign Countries. In a foreign country, depositions may be taken

(1) on notice before a person authorized to administer oaths in the place in which the
examination is held, either by the law thereof or by the law of the United States, or

(2) before a person commissioned by the court, and a person so commissioned shall have the
power by virtue of his or her commission to administer any necessary oath and take testimony, or

(3) pursuant to a letter rogatory.

A commission or a letter rogatory shall be issued on application and notice on terms that are just and
appropriate. It is not requisite to the issuance of a commission or a letter rogatory that the taking of the
deposition in any other manner is impracticable or inconvenient; and both a commission and a letter rogatory
may be issued in proper cases. A notice or commission may designate the person before whom the deposition
is to be taken either by name or descriptive title. A letter rogatory may be addressed "To the Appropriate
Authority in [here name the country]." Evidence obtained in response to a letter rogatory need not be excluded
merely for the reason that it is not a verbatim transcript or that the testimony was not taken under oath or for
any similar departure from the requirements for depositions taken within the United States under these rules.

(d) Disqualification for Interest. The officer before whom the deposition is taken and the person
recording the testimony shall not be a relative, employee, or attorney of any of the parties, nor a relative or
employee of such attorney, nor financially interested in the action.

(e) Depositions for Use in Foreign Jurisdictions. When the deposition of any person is to be taken in
this state pursuant to the laws of another state or of the United States or of another country for use in
proceedings there, witnesses may be compelled to appear and testify in the same manner and by the same
process and proceedings as may be employed for the purpose of taking testimony in proceedings pending in
this state. The district court for the county where the deponent is found may make such orders as could be
made if the deposition were intended for use in this jurisdiction, having due regard for the laws and rules of
such foreign jurisdiction.
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COMMENT TO RULE 28

Subsection (a) follows former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.14 (Repealed 1982), with the deletion of mayors and master commissioners as
unnecessary. Subsection (b) does not follow former Nebraska statutes; the language of federal rule 28(a) was adopted to describe the officer
by reference to the laws of the sister state or of the United States. Subsection (c) is new language on depositions in foreign countries and is
taken from federal rule 28(b) which sets out all possible ways of taking depositions outside the United States. Subsection (d) follows the
language of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.17 (Repealed 1982), by applying the disqualification rule to both the officer and the person recording
the testimony, if those are not the same person. Subsection (e) follows the language of former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.18 (Repealed 1982),
in establishing a procedure for taking a deposition in Nebraska for use in another state.

Rule 29. Stipulations Regarding Discovery Procedure.
Unless the court orders otherwise, the parties may by written or otherwise recorded stipulation:

(1) Provide that depositions may be taken before any person, at any time or place, upon any
notice, and in any manner and when so taken may be used like other depositions, and

(2) Modify the procedures provided by these rules for other methods of discovery.

COMMENT TO RULE 29
This provision is essentially new. It again authorizes the common practice of stipulations on discovery. It follows federal rule 29, but does not
exclude certain subjects from stipulations as does the federal language. Similar language was originally included in former Neb. Rev. Stat.
§ 25-1267.19 (Repealed 1982), but had been dropped prior to the repeal of that section as the section had been amended several times to cover
a different topic.

Rule 30. Depositions Upon Oral Examination.

(a) When Depositions May Be Taken. After commencement of the action, any party may take the
testimony of any person, including a party, by deposition upon oral examination. Leave of court, granted with
or without notice, must be obtained only if the plaintiff seeks to take a deposition prior to the expiration of
thirty days after service of summons, except that leave is not required:

(1) If a defendant has served a notice of taking a deposition or otherwise sought discovery,
or

(2) If special notice is given as provided in subdivision (b)(2) of this rule.

The attendance of witnesses may be compelled by subpoena. The deposition of a person confined in
prison may be taken only by leave of court on such terms as the court prescribes.

(b) Notice of Examination: General Requirements; Special Notice; Nonstenographic Recording;
Production of Documents and Things; Deposition of Organization.

(1)(A) A party desiring to take the deposition of any person upon oral examination shall give
reasonable notice in writing to every other party to the action. The notice shall state the time and place
for taking the deposition and the name and address of each person to be examined, if known, and, if
the name is not known, a general description sufficient to identify him or her or the particular class
or group to which he or she belongs. If a subpoena duces tecum is to be served on the person to be
examined, the designation of the materials to be produced as set forth in the subpoena shall be
attached to or included in the notice.

(B) When the party against whom the deposition is to be used is unknown or is one whose
whereabouts cannot be ascertained he or she may be notified of the taking of the deposition by
publication. The publication must be made once in some newspaper printed in the county where the
action is pending, if there be any printed in such county, and if not, in some newspaper printed in this
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state of general circulation in that county. The publication must contain all that is required in a written
notice and must be made at least ten days prior to the deposition. Publication may be proved in the
manner prescribed in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-520. A copy of the written notice shall be filed with the
clerk before publication.

(2) Leave of court is not required for the taking of a deposition by plaintiff if the notice:

(A) States that the person to be examined is about to go out of the State of Nebraska and will
be unavailable for examination in the State of Nebraska unless his or her deposition is taken before
expiration of the thirty-day period, and

(B) Sets forth facts to support the statement.

The plaintiff's attorney shall sign the notice, and his or her signature constitutes a certification
by him or her that to the best of his or her knowledge, information, and belief the statement and
supporting facts are true.

If a party shows that when he or she was served with notice under subdivision (b)(2) he or
she was unable through the exercise of diligence to obtain counsel to represent him or her at the taking
of the deposition the deposition may not be used against him or her.

(3) The court may for cause shown enlarge or shorten the time for taking the deposition.

(4) The notice required by subdivision (1) shall state the manner in which the testimony will
be recorded and preserved. The court may make any order necessary to assure that the record of the
testimony will be accurate and trustworthy.

(5) The notice to a party deponent may be accompanied by a request made in compliance
with Rule 34 for the production of documents and tangible things at the taking of the deposition. The
procedure of Rule 34 shall apply to the request.

(6) A party may in his or her notice and in a subpoena name as the deponent a public or
private corporation or a partnership or association or governmental agency and describe with
reasonable particularity the matters on which examination is requested. In that event, the organization
so named shall designate one or more officers, directors, or managing agents, or other persons who
consent to testify on its behalf, and may set forth, for each person designated, the matters on which
he or she will testify. A subpoena shall advise a nonparty organization of its duty to make such a
designation. The persons so designated shall testify as to matters known or reasonably available to
the organization. This subdivision (b)(6) does not preclude taking a deposition by any other procedure
authorized in these rules.

(7) The parties may stipulate in writing, or the court may upon motion order, thata deposition
be taken by telephone. For the purposes of theses rules a deposition taken by telephone is taken in the
district and at the place where the deponent is to appear to answer questions.

(8)(A) A party taking a deposition may have the testimony recorded by videotape. The notice
of deposition shall specify that a videotape deposition is to be taken.

(B) Upon the request of any of the parties, the officer before whom a videotape deposition
is taken shall provide, at the cost of the party making the request, a copy of the deposition in the form
of a videotape, an audio recording, or a written transcript.
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(C) When the videotape deposition has been taken, the videotape shall be shown immediately
to the witness for examination, unless such showing and examination are waived by the witness and
the parties. Any changes in form or substance which the witness desires to make shall be recorded on
the videotape with a statement by the witness on such tape of the reasons given by him or her for
making such changes.

(D) The officer before whom the videotape deposition is taken shall cause to be attached to
the original videotape recording a certificate that the witness was duly sworn or affirmed by him or
her and that the videotape recording is a true record of the testimony given by the witness. If the
witness has not waived the right to a showing and examination of the videotape deposition, the
witness shall also sign the certification.

(c) Examination and Cross-Examination; Record of Examination; Oath; Objections. Examination and
cross-examination of witnesses may proceed as permitted at the trial under the provisions of the Nebraska
Evidence Rules. The officer before whom the deposition is to be taken shall put the witness on oath and shall
personally, or by someone acting under his or her direction and in his or her presence, record the testimony
of the witness. The testimony shall be recorded in accordance with subdivision (b)(4) of this rule. If requested
by one of the parties, the testimony shall be transcribed. All objections made at time of the examination to the
qualifications of the officer taking the deposition, or to the manner of taking it, or to the evidence presented,
or to the conduct of any party, and any other objection to the proceedings, shall be noted by the officer upon
the deposition. Evidence objected to shall be taken subject to the objections. In lieu of participating in the oral
examination, parties may serve written questions in a sealed envelope on the party taking the deposition and
he or she shall transmit them to the officer, who shall propound them to the witness and record the answers
verbatim.

(d) Motion to Terminate or Limit Examination. At any time during the taking of the deposition on
motion of a party or of the deponent and upon a showing that the examination is being conducted in bad faith
or in such manner as unreasonably to annoy, embarrass, or oppress the deponent or party, the court in which
the action is pending or the district court in the district where the deposition is being taken may order the
officer conducting the examination to cease forthwith from taking the deposition, or may limit the scope and
manner of the taking of the deposition as provided in Rule 26(c). If the order made terminates the
examination, it shall be resumed thereafter only upon the order of the court in which the action is pending.
Upon demand of the objecting party or deponent, the taking of the deposition shall be suspended for the time
necessary to make a motion for an order. The provisions of Rule 37(a)(4) apply to the award of expenses
incurred in relation to the motion.

(e) When the testimony is fully transcribed the deposition shall be submitted to the witness for
examination and shall be read to or by him or her, unless such examination and reading are waived by the
witness and by the parties. Any changes in form or substance which the witness desires to make shall be
entered upon the deposition by the officer with a statement of the reasons given by the witness for making
them. The deposition shall then be signed by the witness, unless the parties by stipulation waive the signing
or the witness is ill or cannot be found or refuses to sign. If the deposition is not signed by the witness, the
officer shall sign it and state on the record the fact of the waiver or of the illness or absence of the witness or
the fact of the refusal to sign together with the reason, if any, given therefor; and the deposition may then be
used as fully as though signed, unless on a motion to suppress under Rule 32(d)(4) the court holds that the
reasons given for the refusal to sign require rejection of the deposition in whole or in part.

(f) Certification; Delivery; Storage.

(1) The officer shall certify on the deposition that the witness was truly sworn by him or her
and that the deposition is a true record of the testimony of the witness. Unless otherwise ordered by
the court, he or she shall then deliver the deposition to the party taking the deposition, who must store
it under conditions that will protect it against loss, destruction, tampering, or deterioration.
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Documents and things produced for inspection during the examination of the witness shall,
upon the request of a party, be marked for identification and annexed to the deposition and may be
inspected and copied by any party, except that if the person producing the materials desires to retain
them, he or she may (A) offer copies to be marked for identification and annexed to the deposition
and to serve thereafter as originals if he or she affords to all parties fair opportunity to verify the
copies by comparison with the originals or (B) offer the originals to be marked for identification, after
giving to each party an opportunity to inspect and copy them, in which event the materials may then
be used in the same manner as if annexed to the deposition. Any party may move for an order that
the originals be annexed to the deposition, pending final disposition of the case.

(2) Upon payment of reasonable charges therefor, the officer shall furnish a copy of the
deposition to any party or to the deponent.

(3) The party taking the deposition shall give prompt notice to all other parties that it has been
delivered by the officer before whom taken.

(g) Failure to Attend or to Serve Subpoena; Expenses.

(1) If the party giving the notice of the taking of a deposition fails to attend and proceed
therewith and another party attends in person or by attorney pursuant to the notice, the court may
order the party giving the notice to pay to such other party the reasonable expenses incurred by him
or her and his or her attorney in attending, including reasonable attorney fees.

(2) If the party giving the notice of the taking of a deposition of a witness fails to serve a
subpoena upon him or her and the witness because of such failure does not attend, and if another party
attends in person or by attorney because he or she expects the deposition of that witness to be taken,
the court may order the party giving the notice to pay to such other party the reasonable expenses
incurred by him or her and his or her attorney in attending, including reasonable attorney fees.

Rule 30(f)(1) amended December 12, 2001.

COMMENTS TO RULE 30
30(a) This subsection is substantially the same as the federal rule. It is also similar to former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.01 (Repealed 1982).
Changes from the earlier statute include the addition of the special notice defined in subdivision (b)(2) and the plaintiff's waiting time is
expanded from 20 to 30 days.

30(b) This section is based on former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.19 to 25-1267.21 (Repealed 1982). Subdivision (1)(A) eliminates the
particular requirements of time contained in the former sections as unnecessary. It is similar to the present federal rule 30(b)(1). Subdivision
(1)(B) follows the language of current law allowing published notice of the taking of a deposition.

Subdivision (2) has been adapted from the federal rule. Subdivision (4) follows the lan guage of former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.19 (Amended
1979) (Repealed 1982). Subdivision (6) is a new provision that was added to the federal rules in 1970 that is very useful when taking a
deposition ofa corporation or organization.

Subdivision (7) is based on a similar provision adopted in the federal rules in 1980. Subdivision (8) is adapted from former Neb. Rev. Stat.
§ 25-1267.45 (Repealed 1982); it has been shortened substantially because some of the subjects currently covered by the statute are either
covered elsewhere in the rules or are better left to the control of the trial judge.

30(c) The language ofthis subsection is substantially the same as the federal rule and former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.03 and 25-1267.23
(Repealed 1982). The requirement in former § 25-1267.23 that the testimony be taken stenographically has been dropped in accordance with
the 1979 amendment of former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.19 (Repealed 1982).

30(d) This is substantially the same as the federal rule and former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.24 (Repealed 1982).

30(e) This is substantially similar to the federal rule and former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.25 (Repealed 1982), except that subsection (2) of
that section has been dropped as unnecessary because a court order is not required to take the testimony by nonstenographic means.

30(f) The former Nebraska statute was Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.26 (Repealed 1982). Additional language from the federal rule provides a
procedure for handling documents and things produced during a deposition . The deposition will not be filed with the court but will be sent
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to the party taking the deposition. Subsection (f)(3) requires notice to other parties that the deposition has been received; Rule 26(g) provides
that a certificate of completion will not be filed with the court. The party taking the deposition will have to preserve the original in order to
be able to file it when required to do so under Rule 26(g).

30(g) The language of this subsection follows former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.27 (Repealed 1982), with the addition of a specific mention
of attorney fees.

Comments to Rule 30(f) amended December 12,2001.

Rule 31. Depositions Upon Written Questions.

(a) Serving Questions; Notice. After commencement of the action, any party may take the testimony
of any person including a party by deposition upon written questions. The attendance of witnesses may be
compelled by subpoena. The deposition of a person confined in prison may be taken only by leave of court
on such terms as the court prescribes.

A party desiring to take a deposition upon written questions shall serve them upon every other party
with a notice stating:

(1) The name and address of the person who is to answer them, if known, and if the name is
not known, a general description sufficient to identify him or her or the particular class or group to
which he or she belongs, and

(2) The name or descriptive title and address of the officer before whom the deposition is to
be taken.

A deposition upon written questions may be taken of a public or private corporation or a partnership
or association or governmental agency in accordance with the provisions of Rule 30(b)(6).

Within thirty days after the notice and written questions are served, a party may serve cross questions
upon all other parties. Within ten days after being served with cross questions, a party may serve redirect
questions upon all other parties. Within ten days after being served with redirect questions, a party may serve
recross questions upon all other parties. The court may, for cause shown, enlarge or shorten the time.

(b) Officer to Take Responses and Prepare Record. A copy of the notice and copies of all questions
served shall be delivered by the party taking the deposition to the officer designated in the notice, who shall
proceed promptly, in the manner provided by Rule 30(c), (e), and (f), to take the testimony of the witness in
response to the questions and to prepare, certify, and deliver the deposition, attaching thereto the copy of the
notice and the questions received by him or her.

(c) The party taking the deposition shall give prompt notice to all other parties that it has been
delivered by the officer before whom taken.

COMMENT TO RULE 31
This rule substantially follows the federal rule and former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.28 to 25-1267.30 (Repealed 1982). The time periods
for serving questions are longer than under former Nebraska law.
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Rule 32. Use of Depositions in Court Proceedings.

(a) Use of Depositions. Any part or all of a deposition, so far as admissible under the Nebraska
Evidence Rules applied as though the witness were then present and testifying, may be used against any party
who was present or represented at the taking of the deposition or who had reasonable notice thereof, in
accordance with any of the following provisions:

(1) Any deposition may be used by any party for the purpose of contradicting or impeaching
the testimony of deponent as a witness or for any purpose permitted by the Nebraska Evidence Rules.

(2) The deposition of a party or of anyone who at the time of taking the deposition was an
officer, director, or managing agent, or a person designated under Rule 30(b)(6) or 31(a) to testify
on behalf of a public or private corporation, partnership or association, or governmental agency which
is a party may be used by an adverse party for any purpose.

(3) The deposition of a witness, whether or not a party, may be used by any party for any
purpose if the court finds:

(A) That the witness is dead; or

(B) That the witness is at a greater distance than one hundred miles from the place of trial or
hearing, or out of the state, or beyond the subpoena power of the court, unless it appears that the
absence of the witness was procured by the party offering the deposition; or

(C) That the witness is unable to attend or testify because of age, illness, infirmity, or
imprisonment; or

(D) That the party offering the deposition has been unable to procure the attendance of the
witness by subpoena; or

(E) That such exceptional circumstances exist as to make it desirable, in the interest of justice
and with due regard to the importance of presenting the testimony of witnesses orally in open court,
to allow the deposition to be used; or

(F) Upon application and notice prior to the taking of the deposition, that circumstances exist
such as to make it desirable, in the interest of justice and with due regard to the importance of
presenting the testimony of witnesses orally in open court, to allow the deposition to be used.

(4) Ifonly partof a deposition is offered in evidence by a party, an adverse party may require
him or her to introduce any other part which ought in fairness to be considered with the part
introduced, and any party may introduce any other parts relevant to the issues.

Substitution of parties does not affect the right to use depositions previously taken; and when an action
has been brought in any court of the United States or of any state and another action involving the same
subject matter is afterward brought between the same parties or their representatives or successors in interest
all depositions lawfully taken in the former action may be used in the latter as if originally taken therefor. A
deposition previously taken may also be used as permitted by the Nebraska Evidence Rules.

(b) Objections to Admissibility. Subject to the provisions of subdivision (d)(3) of this rule, objection
may be made at the trial or hearing to receiving in evidence any deposition or part thereof for any reason
which would require the exclusion ofthe evidence if the witness were then present and testifying; or if the trial
court directs, such objections may be heard and determined prior to trial.
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(c) (Not Used).
(d) Effect of Errors and Irregularities in Deposition.

(1) As to Notice. All errors and irregularities in the notice for taking a deposition are waived
unless written objection is promptly served upon the party giving the notice.

(2) As to Disqualification of Officer. Objection to taking a deposition because of
disqualification of the officer before whom it is to be taken is waived unless made before the taking
of the deposition begins or as soon thereafter as the disqualification becomes known or could be
discovered with reasonable diligence.

(3) As to Taking of Deposition.

(A) Objections to the competency of a witness or to the competency or relevancy of
testimony are not waived by failure to make them before or during the taking of the deposition, unless
the ground of the objection is one which might have been obviated or removed if presented at that
time. In a deposition recorded and preserved by nonstenographic means, such objections shall be
made to the court before the trial or hearing, or such objections will be waived unless otherwise
ordered by the court.

(B) Errors and irregularities occurring at the oral examination in the manner of taking the
deposition in the form of the questions or answers, in the oath or affirmation, or in the conduct of
parties, and errors of any kind which might be obviated, removed, or cured if promptly presented, are
waived unless seasonable objection thereto is made at the taking of the depositions.

(C) Objections to the form of written questions submitted under Rule 31 are waived unless
served in writing upon the party propounding them within the time allowed for serving the succeeding
cross or other questions and within ten days after service of the last questions authorized.

(4) As to Completion and Return of Deposition. Errors and irregularities in the manner in
which the testimony is transcribed or recorded, or the deposition is prepared, signed, certified, sealed,
endorsed, transmitted, filed, or otherwise dealt with by the officer under Rules 30 and 31 are waived
unless a motion to suppress the deposition or some part thereof is made with reasonable promptness
after such defect is, or with due diligence might have been, ascertained.

COMMENTS TO RULE 32

32(a) This section is based upon former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.04 (Repealed 1982). Under subsection (3)(B) the witness must be at least
100 miles away in order to use the deposition in district court because Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1227 (Cum. Supp. 1982) establishes 100 miles
as the maximum distance a witness must ordinarily travel for a civil trial in district court. For county or municipal court the subpoena power
is limited to the county, so a deposition could be used for a witness outside the county but within 100 miles. Subdivision (3)(E) allows use of
a deposition under exceptional circumstances; under subdivision (3)(F) the court may authorize use of the deposition in the absence of
exceptional circumstances if the application is made before the deposition is taken. This is a further expansion of the idea in former
§ 25-1267.04(3)(f), but it is no longer restricted to audio-visual or videotape.

32(b) No substantial change from the federal rules or former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.05 and 25-1267.36 (Repealed 1982).
32(c) Not used because the topic is covered by the Nebraska Evidence Rules.

32(d) No substantial change from the federal rules or former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.32 and 25-1267.35 (Repealed 1982).

Rule 33. Interrogatories to Parties.

(a) Availability; Procedures for Use. Any party may serve upon any other party written interrogatories
to be answered by the party served or if the party served is a public or private corporation or a partnership or
association or governmental agency, by any officer or agent, who shall furnish such information as is available
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to the party. Interrogatories may, without leave of court, be served upon the plaintiff after commencement of
the action and upon any other party with or after service of the summons upon that party. Unless otherwise
permitted by the court for good cause shown, no party shall serve upon any other party more than fifty
interrogatories. Each question, subquestion, or subpart shall count as one interrogatory.

Each interrogatory shall be repeated and answered separately and fully in writing under oath, unless
it is objected to, in which event the reasons for objection shall be stated in lieu of an answer. The answers are
to be signed by the person making them, and the objections signed by the attorney making them. The party
upon whom the interrogatories have been served shall serve a copy of the answers, and objections if any,
within thirty days after the service of the interrogatories, except that a defendant may serve answers or
objections within forty-five days after service of the summons upon that defendant. The court may allow a
shorter or longer time. The party submitting the interrogatories may move for an order under Rule 37(a) with
respect to any objection to or other failure to answer an interrogatory.

(b) Scope; Use at Trial. Interrogatories may relate to any matters which can be inquired into under
Rule 26(b), and the answers may be used to the extent permitted by the Nebraska Evidence Rules.

An interrogatory otherwise proper is not necessarily objectionable merely because an answer to the
interrogatory involves an opinion or contention that relates to fact or the application of law to fact, but the
court may order that such an interrogatory need not be answered until after designated discovery has been
completed or until a pretrial conference or other later time.

(c) Option to Produce Business Records. Where the answer to an interrogatory may be derived or
ascertained from the business records of the party upon whom the interrogatory has been served or from an
examination, audit, or inspection of such business records, including a compilation, abstract, or summary
thereof, and the burden of deriving or ascertaining the answer is substantially the same for the party serving
the interrogatory as for the party served, it is a sufficient answer to such interrogatory to specify the records
from which the answer may be derived or ascertained and to afford to the party serving the interrogatory
reasonable opportunity to examine, audit, or inspect such records and to make copies, compilations, abstracts,
or summaries. A specification shall be in sufficient detail as to permit the interrogating party to locate and to
identify, as readily as can the party served, the records from which the answer may be ascertained.

COMMENTS TO RULE 33
33(a) This subsection differs from the federal rules and former Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-1267.37 and 25-1267.38 (Repealed 1982) by imposing
a limit of 50 interrogatories upon any party, unless the court permits more for good cause shown. Because interrogatories are particularly
subject to being abused or improperly used, this discovery device has been limited unless a party can show that the complexity of the case
requires the use of additional interrogatories.

33(b) This subsection expands former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.38 (Repealed 1982) and follows the federal rules by allowing interrogatories
that involve opinions. This follows the federal rule by eliminating an unnecessary restriction on interrogatories. The overall limit on
interrogatories and consequent elimination of extensive sets of interrogatories should minimize any chance for abuse.

33(c) This follows the federal rule; itis a procedure for handling discovery from voluminous records that is necessary for certain large cases.
No Nebraska statutory section served as precedent for this subsection of the rules.
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Rule 34. Production of Documents and Things and Entry Upon Land For Inspection and Other Purposes.
(a) Scope. Any party may serve on any other party a request:

(1) To produce and permit the party making the request, or someone acting on his or her
behalf, to inspect and copy any designated documents (including writings, drawings, graphs, charts,
photographs, phono-records, and other data compilations from which information can be obtained,
translated, if necessary, by the respondent through detection devices into reasonably usable form), or
to inspect and copy, test, or sample any tangible things which constitute or contain matters within the
scope of Rule 26(b) and which are in the possession, custody, or control of the party upon whom the
request is served; or

(2) To permit entry upon designated land or other property in the possession or control of the
party upon whom the request is served for the purpose of inspection and measuring, surveying,
photographing, testing, or sampling the property or any designated object or operation thereon, within
the scope of Rule 26(b).

(b) Procedure. The request may, without leave of court, be served upon the plaintiff after
commencement of the action and upon any other party with or after service of the summons upon that party.
The request shall set forth the items to be inspected either by individual item or by category, and describe each
item and category with reasonable particularity. The request shall specify a reasonable time, place, and manner
of making the inspection and performing the related acts.

The party upon whom the request is served shall serve a written response within thirty days after the
service of the request, except that a defendant may serve a response within forty-five days after service of the
summons upon that defendant. The court may allow a shorter or longer time. The response shall state, with
respect to each item or category, that inspection and related activities will be permitted as requested, unless
the request is objected to, in which event the reasons for objection shall be stated. If objection is made to part
of an item or category, the part shall be specified. The party submitting the request may move for an order
under Rule 37(a) with respect to any objection to or other failure to respond to the request or any part thereof,
or any failure to permit inspection as requested.

A party who produces documents for inspection shall produce them as they are kept in the usual
course of business or shall organize and label them to correspond with the categories in the request.

(c) Persons Not Parties. This rule does not preclude an independent action against a person not a party
for production of documents and things and permission to enter upon land.

COMMENT TO RULE 34
This rule follows the federal rule and changes former Nebraska law, Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.39 (Repealed 1982), by allowing production
by notice instead of by court order. Many such examinations can be handled without need of a motion and order, so the proposal eliminates
unnecessary steps. Rule 37 still allows a party to seek an order if that step is necessary.

34A. Discovery from a Nonparty without a Deposition.
(a) Procedure.
(1) Scope. Any party may, by subpoena without a deposition:
(A) require the production for inspection and copying of designated books, papers,

documents, or tangible things (including writings, drawings, graphs, charts, photographs,
phono-records, and other data compilations from which information can be obtained, translated if
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necessary by the owner or custodian into reasonably usable form) that are in the possession,
custody, or control of a person who is not a party and within the scope of Rule 26(b); or

(B) obtain entry upon designated land or other property within the scope of Rule 26(b)
that is in the possession or control of a person who is not a party for the purpose of inspection and
measuring, surveying, photographing, testing, or sampling the property or any designated object
or operation thereon.

(2) Notice. A party intending to serve a subpoena pursuant to this rule shall give notice in
writing to every other party to the action at least 10 days before the subpoena will be issued. The
notice shall state the name and address of the person who will be subpoenaed, the time and place
for production or inspection, and that the subpoena will be issued on or after a stated date. A
designation of the materials sought to be produced shall be attached to or included in the notice.

Such notice may be given by a party other than a plaintiff at any time. Such notice may
not be given by a plaintiff until the time at which Rule 30(a) would permit a plaintiff to take a
deposition.

(3) Issuance. A subpoena may be issued pursuant to this rule, either by a request to the
clerk of the court or by an attorney authorized to do so by statute, at any time after all parties have
been given the notice required by subsection (2). The subpoena shall identify all parties who were
given notice that it would be issued and the date upon which each of them was given notice. A
subpoena pursuant to this rule shall include or be accompanied by a copy of this rule.

(4) Time, manner, and return of service. A subpoena pursuant to this rule shall be served
either personally by any person not interested in the action or by registered or certified mail not
less than 10 days before the time specified for compliance. The person making personal service
shall make a return showing the manner of service to the party for whom the subpoena was issued.

(b) Protection of Other Parties.

(1) Objection Before Issued. Before the subpoena is requested or issued any party may
serve a written objection on the party who gave notice that it would be issued. The objection shall
specifically identify any intended production or inspection that is protected by an applicable
privilege, that is not within the scope of discovery, or that would be unreasonably intrusive or
oppressive to the party. No subpoena shall demand production or inspection of any material or
premises identified in the objection. If the objection specifically objects that the person served
with the subpoena should not have the option to deliver or mail copies of documents or things
directly to a party, the subpoena shall not be issued unless all parties to the lawsuit mutually agree
on the method for delivery of the copies.

(2) Order. The party who gave notice that a subpoena would be issued may apply to the
court in which the action is pending for an order with respect to any discovery for which another
party has served a written objection. Upon hearing after notice to all parties the court may order
that the subpoena be issued or not issued or that discovery proceed in a different manner, may
enter any protective order authorized by Rule 26(c), and may award expenses as authorized by
Rule 37(a)(4).

(3) Protective Order. After a subpoena has been issued any party may move for a
protective order under Rule 26(c¢).

(c) Protection of the Person Served with a Subpoena.
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(1) Avoiding Burden and Expense. A party or an attorney who obtains discovery pursuant
to this rule shall take reasonable steps to avoid imposing undue burden or expense on a person
subject to that subpoena. The court by which the subpoena was issued shall enforce this duty and
impose upon the party or attorney in breach of this duty an appropriate sanction, which may
include, but is not limited to, lost earnings of the person subject to the subpoena and reasonable
attorney fees.

(2) Responding to the Subpoena.

(A) A person served with a subpoena pursuant to this rule shall permit inspection and
copying either where the documents or tangible things are regularly kept or at some other
reasonable place designated by that person. If the subpoena states that the person served has an
option to deliver or mail legible copies of documents or things instead of inspection, that person
may condition the preparation of the copies on the advance payment of the reasonable cost of

copying.

(B) A person served with a subpoena pursuant to this rule may, within 10 days after
service of the subpoena, serve upon the party for whom the subpoena was issued a written
objection to inspection or copying of any or all of the designated materials or of the premises. If
objection is made, the party for whom the subpoena was issued shall not be entitled to inspect and
copy the materials or inspect the premises except pursuant to an order of the court. If an objection
has been made, the party for whom the subpoena was issued may, upon notice to all other parties
and the person served with the subpoena, move at any time in the district court in the county in
which the subpoena is served for an order to compel compliance with the subpoena. Such an order
to compel production shall protect any person who is not a party or an officer of a party from
significant expense resulting from complying with the command.

(3) Protections. On timely motion, the court by which a subpoena was issued shall quash
or modify the subpoena if it:

(A) fails to allow reasonable time for compliance,

(B) requires disclosure of privileged or other protected matter and no exception or waiver
applies, or

(C) subjects a person to undue burden.
(d) Duties in Responding to Subpoena.

(1) Production. A person responding to a subpoena to produce documents shall produce
them as they are kept in the usual course of business or shall organize and label them to
correspond with the categories in the demand.

(2) Objection. When information subject to a subpoena is withheld on an objection that it
is privileged, not within the scope of discovery, or otherwise protected from discovery, the claim
shall be made expressly and shall be supported by a description of the nature of the documents,
communications, or things not produced that is sufficient to enable the party who requested the
subpoena to contest the objection.

(e) Coordination.
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(1) Copies. If the party for whom the subpoena was issued creates or obtains copies of
documents or things, that party shall make available a duplicate of such copies at the request of
any other party upon advance payment of the reasonable cost of making the copies.

(2) Inspection. If a notice of intent to serve a subpoena designates that the subpoena will
require entry upon land or other property for the purposes permitted by subsection (1)(B), any
other party shall, upon request to the party who gave the notice, be named in the subpoena as also
attending at the same time and place.

COMMENT TO RULE 34A
Authority to issue a subpoena pursuant to this rule is governed by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1273 (Supp. 2001). The procedure is similar to the
practice for nonparty nondeposition discovery under Fed. R. Civ. P. 45, with certain topics such as the time of prior notice and
coordination of the disclosure more specifically defined. This procedure is optional, so a party may elect to use a deposition or any other
available discovery procedure instead.

Rule 34A and Comment adopted December 12, 2001; Rule 34A(c)(2)(B) amended May 19,2004.

Rule 35. Physical and Mental Examination of Persons.

(a) Order for Examination. When the mental or physical condition (including the blood group) of
a party, or of a person in the custody or under the legal control of a party, is in controversy, the court in
which the action is pending may order the party to submit to a physical or mental examination by one or
more physicians, or other persons licensed or certified under the laws to engage in a health profession, or
to produce for examination the person in his or her custody or legal control. The order may be made only
on motion for good cause shown and upon notice to the person to be examined and to all parties and shall
specify the time, place, manner, conditions, and scope of the examination and the person or persons by
whom it is to be made.

(b) Report of Examining Physician.

(1) If requested by the party against whom an order is made under Rule 35(a) or the
person examined, the party causing the examination to be made shall deliver to him or her a copy
of a detailed written report of the examining physician setting out his or her findings, including
results of all tests made, diagnoses, and conclusions, together with like reports of all earlier
examinations of the same condition. After delivery the party causing the examination shall be
entitled upon request to receive from the party against whom the order is made a like report of any
examination, previously or thereafter made, of the same condition, unless, in the case of a report
of examination of a person not a party, the party shows that he or she is unable to obtain it. The
court on motion may make an order against a party requiring delivery of a report on such terms as
are just, and if a physician fails or refuses to make a report, the court may exclude his or her
testimony if offered at the trial.

(2) (Not used).

(3) This subdivision applies to examinations made by agreement of the parties, unless the
agreement expressly provides otherwise. This subdivision does not preclude discovery of a report
of an examining physician or the taking of a deposition of the physician in accordance with the
provisions of any other rule.

COMMENTS TO RULE 35
35(a) This rule follows the federal rule and expands former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.40 (Repealed 1982). A person under the control of
a party is now included in this rule. The court may order more than one examination. The health professions that require a license or
certificate are defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-102.
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35(b) This section follows the federal rules and establishes a useful procedure for exchange of medical reports. Subdivision (b)(2) ofthe
federal rule is not used because the Nebraska Evidence Rules contain a direct waiver of the privilege. See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 27-504.

Rule 35(b) comment amended February 26, 1997; Rule 35(a) and 35(a) comment amended November 21, 2001.

Rule 36. Requests for Admission.

(a) Request for Admission. A party may serve upon any other party a written request for the
admission, for purposes of the pending action only, of the truth of any matters within the scope of Rule
26(b) set forth in the request that relate to statements or opinions of fact or of the application of law to
fact, including the genuineness of any documents described in the request. Copies of documents shall be
served with the request unless they have been or are otherwise furnished or made available for inspection
and copying. The request may, without leave of court, be served upon the plaintiff after commencement of
the action and upon any other party with or after service of the summons upon that party.

Each matter of which an admission is requested shall be separately set forth by the party making
the request, and shall be repeated by the responding party in the answer or objection thereto. The matter is
admitted unless, within thirty days after service of the request, or within such shorter or longer time as the
court may allow, the party to whom the request is directed serves upon the party requesting the admission
a written answer or objection addressed to the matter, signed by the party or by his or her attorney, but,
unless the court shortens the time, a defendant shall not be required to serve answers or objections before
the expiration of forty-five days after service of the summons upon him or her. If objection is made, the
reasons therefor shall be stated. The answer shall specifically deny the matter or set forth in detail the
reasons why the answering party cannot truthfully admit or deny the matter. A denial shall fairly meet the
substance of the requested admission, and when good faith requires that a party qualify his or her answer
or deny only a part of the matter of which an admission is requested, he or she shall specify so much of it
as is true and qualify or deny the remainder. An answering party may not give lack of information or
knowledge as a reason for failure to admit or deny unless he or she states that he or she has made
reasonable inquiry and that the information known or readily obtainable by him or her is insufficient to
enable him or her to admit or deny. A party who considers that a matter of which an admission has been
requested presents a genuine issue for trial may not, on that ground alone, object to the request; he or she
may, subject to the provisions of Rule 37(c), deny the matter or set forth reasons why he or she cannot
admit or deny it.

The party who has requested the admissions may move to determine the sufficiency of the
answers or objections. Unless the court determines that an objection is justified, it shall order that an
answer be served. If the court determines that an answer does not comply with the requirements of this
rule, it may order either that the matter is admitted or that an amended answer be served. The court may, in
lieu of these orders, determine that final disposition of the request be made at a pretrial conference or at a
designated time prior to trial. The provisions of Rule 37(a)(4) apply to the award of expenses incurred in
relation to the motion.

(b) Effect of Admission. Any matter admitted under this rule is conclusively established unless the
court on motion permits withdrawal or amendment of the admission. The court may permit withdrawal or
amendment when the presentation of the merits of the action will be subserved thereby and the party who
obtained the admission fails to satisfy the court that withdrawal or amendment will prejudice him or her in
maintaining his or her action or defense on the merits. Any admission made by a party under this rule is
for the purpose of the pending action only and is not an admission by him or her for any other purpose nor
may it be used against him or her in any other proceeding.

COMMENTS TO RULE 36
36(a) This section follows the federal rule and adds to former Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.41 (Repealed 1982) by providing a procedure for
determining the sufficiency of answers or objections.
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36(b) This section follows the federal rule, and includes language controlling the effect and withdrawal of admissions. The former law
was Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.42 (Repealed 1982).

Rule 37. Failure to Make Discovery: Sanctions.

(a) Motion for Order Compelling Discovery. A party, upon reasonable notice to other parties and

all persons affected thereby, may apply for an order compelling discovery as follows:

(1) Appropriate Court. An application for an order to a party may be made to the court in
which the action is pending, or alternatively, on matters relating to a deposition, to the district
court in the district where the deposition is being taken. An application for an order to a deponent
who is not a party shall be made to the district court in the district where the deposition is being
taken.

(2) Motion. If a deponent fails to answer a question propounded or submitted under Rule
30 or 31, or a corporation or other entity fails to make a designation under Rule 30(b)(6) or 31(a),
or a party fails to answer an interrogatory submitted under Rule 33, or if a party, in response to a
request for inspection submitted under Rule 34, fails to respond that inspection will be permitted
as requested or fails to permit inspection as requested, the discovering party may move for an
order compelling an answer, or a designation, or an order compelling inspection in accordance
with the request. When taking a deposition on oral examination, the proponent of the question
may complete or adjourn the examination before he or she applies for an order.

If the court denies the motion in whole or in part, it may make such protective order as it
would have been empowered to make on a motion made pursuant to Rule 26(c).

(3) Evasive or Incomplete Answer. For purposes of this subdivision an evasive or
incomplete answer is to be treated as a failure to answer.

(4) Award of Expenses of Motion. If the motion is granted, the court shall, after
opportunity for hearing, require the party or deponent whose conduct necessitated the motion or
the party or attorney advising such conduct or both of them to pay to the moving party the
reasonable expenses incurred in obtaining the order, including attorney fees, unless the court finds
that the opposition to the motion was substantially justified or that other circumstances make an
award of expenses unjust.

If the motion is denied, the court shall, after opportunity for hearing, require the moving
party or the attorney advising the motion or both of them to pay to the party or deponent who
opposed the motion the reasonable expenses incurred in opposing the motion, including attorney
fees, unless the court finds that the making of the motion was substantially justified or that other
circumstances make an award of expenses unjust.

If the motion is granted in part and denied in part, the court may apportion the reasonable
expenses incurred in relation to the motion among the parties and persons in a just manner.

(b) Failure to Comply with Order.
(1) Sanctions by Court in District Where Deposition is Taken. If a deponent fails to be

sworn or to answer a question after being directed to do so by the district court in the district in
which the deposition is being taken, the failure may be considered a contempt of that court.

-9.22-



Discovery Rules for Civil Cases

(2) Sanctions by Court in Which Action is Pending. If a party or an officer, director, or
managing agent of a party or a person designated under Rule 30(b)(6) or 31(a) to testify on behalf
of a party fails to obey an order to provide or permit discovery, including an order made under
subdivision (a) of this rule or Rule 35, the court in which the action is pending may make such
orders in regard to the failure as are just, and among others the following:

(A) An order that the matters regarding which the order was made or any other designated
facts shall be taken to be established for the purposes of the action in accordance with the claim of
the party obtaining the order;

(B) An order refusing to allow the disobedient party to support or oppose designated
claims or defenses, or prohibiting him or her from introducing designated matters in evidence;

(C) An order striking out pleadings or parts thereof, or staying further proceedings until
the order is obeyed, or dismissing the action or proceeding or any part thereof, or rendering a
judgment by default against the disobedient party;

(D) In lieu of any of the foregoing orders or in addition thereto, an order treating as a
contempt of court the failure to obey any orders except an order to submit to a physical or mental
examination;

(E) Where a party has failed to comply with an order under Rule 35(a) requiring him or
her to produce another for examination, such orders as are listed in paragraphs (A), (B), and (C) of
this subdivision, unless the party failing to comply shows that he or she is unable to produce such
person for examination.

In lieu of any of the foregoing orders or in addition thereto, the court shall require the party failing
to obey the order or the attorney advising him or her, or both to pay the reasonable expenses, including
attorney fees, caused by the failure, unless the court finds that the failure was substantially justified or that
other circumstances make an award of expenses unjust.

(c) Expenses on Failure to Admit. If a party fails to admit the genuineness of any document or the
truth of any matter as requested under Rule 36, and if the party requesting the admissions thereafter proves
the genuineness of the document or the truth of the matter, he or she may, within 30 days of so proving,
apply to the court for an order requiring the other party to pay him or her the reasonable expenses incurred
in making that proof, including reasonable attorney fees. The court shall make the order unless it finds
that:

(1) The request was held objectionable pursuant to Rule 36(a), or
(2) The admission sought was of no substantial importance, or

(3) The party failing to admit had reasonable ground to believe that he or she might
prevail on the matter, or

(4) There was other good reason for the failure to admit.
(d) Failure of Party to Attend at Own Deposition or Serve Answers to Interrogatories or Respond
to Request for Inspection. If a party or an officer, director, or managing agent of a party or a person

designated under Rule 30(b)(6) or 31(a) to testify on behalf of a party fails

(1) To appear before the officer who is to take his or her deposition, after being served
with a proper notice, or
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(2) To serve answers or objections to interrogatories submitted under Rule 33, after
proper service of the interrogatories, or

(3) To serve a written response to a request for inspection submitted under Rule 34, after
proper service of the request,

the court in which the action is pending on motion may make such orders in regard to the failure as are
just, and among others it may take any action authorized under paragraphs (A), (B), and (C) of subdivision
(b)(2) of this rule.

In lieu of any order or in addition thereto, the court shall require the party failing to act or the
attorney advising him or her or both to pay the reasonable expenses, including attorney fees, caused by the
failure, unless the court finds that the failure was substantially justified or that other circumstances make
an award of expenses unjust.

The failure to act described in this subdivision may not be excused on the ground that the
discovery sought is objectionable unless the party failing to act has applied for a protective order as
provided by Rule 26(c).

Rule 37(c) amended July 23,1997.

COMMENTS TO RULE 37
37(a) This section follows the federal rule and changes former Nebraska law by including requests to produce as proper for a motion to
compel discovery. The language on imposition of expenses for unjustified discovery demands or unjustified refusals to comply with
discovery has been changed from former Nebraska law to reduce judicial reluctance to impose sanctions. The former Nebraska section was
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.43 (Repealed 1982).

37(b) This section follows the federal rule and former Nebraska law, and adds to former law an explicit statement that a failure to obey an
order may be punished as a contempt of the court. The former Nebraska statute was Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.44 (Repealed 1982).

37(c) This section follows the federal rule and changes the former Nebraska law to make it clear that expenses include attorney fees and to
more fully define the conditions under which costs shall not be imposed. The former Nebraska section Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.44(3)
(Repealed 1982).

37(d) This section follows both the federal rule and former Nebraska law, adding a provision allowing sanctions for failure to respond to a
demand to produce under Rule 34 because that procedure now operates without an initial court order. The former Nebraska statute was
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1267.44(4) (Repealed 1982).
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RULES RELATING TO COURT INTERPRETERS
SCOPE AND EFFECTIVE DATE

These rules become effective on September 20, 2000, and will, as amended, govern the use of
interpretersin all courts of the State of Nebraska.

Scope and Effective Date amended September 17, 2003.
RULE 1. INTERPRETER REGISTER

The State Court Administrator will publish and maintain a statewide register of interpreters which
will consist of the following:

A. Certified Court Interpreters. Court interpreters who have satisfied all certification requirements
pursuant to Rule 3 of the Rules Relating to Court Interpreters.

B. Registered Court Interpreters. Noncertified court interpreters who have not satisfied the
requirements of Rule 3 of the Rules Relating to Court Interpreters, but have either completed an
interpreter orientation program sponsored by the State Court Administrator or achieved a passing score on
awritten examination administered by the State Court Administrator.

C. Other Court Interpreters. Noncertified court interpreters who have not satisfied the
requirements of Rule 1A or 1B.

D. Sign Language Court Interpreters. Sign language interpreters who possess either a Level | or
Level Il classification awarded by the Nebraska Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, as set
forth below: (Level | - Interpreters who hold at least one of the following RID certificates; Specialist
Certificate: Lega (SC:L), NIC Master, NIC Advanced, CI/CT, CSC. Deaf interpreters who hold CLIP-R
or CDI) or (Leve Il — Interpreters who hold RID NIC, RID CI, RID CT, NAD 4 or 5, QAST 4/4 or
higher. Deaf interpreters who hold the Nebraska Specialist Intermediary License).

Rule 1A — 1D amended September 17, 2003; Rule 1D amended January 4, 2007, effective July 1, 2007.
RULE 2. APPOINTMENT OF INTERPRETERS

A. Use of Certified Court Interpreter. Whenever an interpreter is required to be appointed by a
court, the court will first attempt to appoint a certified court interpreter who is listed on the statewide
register of interpreters if oneis reasonably available.

B. Use of Registered Court Interpreter on Statewide Register. If the court has made diligent
efforts to obtain a certified court interpreter as required by Rule 2A of the Rules Relating to Court
Interpreters and found none to be available, the court may appoint a registered noncertified court
interpreter who is otherwise competent to interpret in the courts.

C. Use of Other Court Interpreter. If the court has made diligent efforts to obtain a certified court
interpreter or a registered court interpreter and found none to be available, the court may appoint a court
interpreter who is otherwise competent to interpret in the courts.

D. To determine whether a certified or registered interpreter is reasonably available, reasonable
advance attempts must be made to arrange for the presence of a certified interpreter prior to the use of a
registered interpreter, and then, for the presence of aregistered interpreter prior to the use of an interpreter
who is not certified or registered.
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E. Number of Interpreters. For any proceeding that is scheduled for more than one-half day, two
language interpreters should be appointed. For any proceeding that is scheduled for more than one hour,
two sign interpreters should be appointed.

F. Rebuttable Presumption. There is a rebuttable presumption that an interpreter must be
appointed if an interpreter isrequested or it is shown that the party is having difficulty in communicating.

G. All interpreters shall be at least 18 years old, shall have read the Code of Professional
Responsibility for Interpreters, and shall take the Interpreter Oath prior to interpreting in the Nebraska
Courts or the Nebraska State Probation System.

See Appendix 1 for Code and Interpreter Oath.

Rule 2B — 2D amended September 17, 2003; Rule 2D moved to 2G on January 4, 2007, effective July 1, 2007; Rule 2D — 2F adopted January 4,
2007, effective July 1, 2007.

RULE 3. CERTIFIED COURT INTERPRETER REQUIREMENTS

A certified court interpreter will be able to interpret simultaneously and consecutively and provide sight
translation from English to the language of the non-English-speaking person or from the language of that
person into English. An interpreter will be eligible for certification upon establishing to the satisfaction of
the State Court Administrator that he or she has:

A. Reached the age of 18;

B. No past convictions or pending criminal charges, either felony or misdemeanor, which are
deemed by the Supreme Court to evidence mora turpitude, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or
mi srepresentation;

C. Achieved a passing score on a written examination administered by the State Court
Administrator; and

D. Achieved a passing score on lega interpreting competency examination (Consortium oral
certification examination) administered or approved by the State Court Administrator. If an interpreter
shall have received a passing score of 70 percent on any of the three segments of a previous Consortium
oral certification examination that was administered within the last 3 calendar years, the passing grade
shall be honored and the applicant shall not be required to repeat that segment of a current examination.

E. In addition, any interpreter possessing a Federal Court Certified Court Interpreter Certificate, a
Court Interpreter Certification Certificate from any state which is a member of the National Center for
State Court’s Consortium for State Court Interpreter Certification, or a sign language Specialist
Certificate Legal (SC:L) for interpreters that are fully certified (Cl, CT, CSC, or CDI) or provisional legal
certificate (CLIP) is recognized as a certified court interpreter.

Rule 3C — 3E amended September 17, 2003.
RULE 4. EXAMINATION FOR INTERPRETER CERTIFICATION
A. Complete Application. An applicant who has passed the written examination of Rule 4C and
desires certification in a particular language will file with the State Court Administrator an approved

application form and pay the applicable examination fee established by the State Court Administrator.

B. Evaluation of Application. The State Court Administrator will evaluate the application and
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determine if the applicant meets the initial qualification requirements of Rule 3 of the Rules Relating to
Court Interpreters.

C. Written Examination. The written examination to qualify to take the oral examination of Rule
4D shall require no fee and shall consist of three parts: general English language vocabulary, court-related
terms and usage, and ethics and professional conduct. The written examination will be administered at
such times and places as the State Court Administrator may designate. The State Court Administrator
shall waive this requirement for any interpreter who has previously taken the oral interpreter competency
examination of Rule 4D.

D. Ora Examination. Examinations for interpreter certification in specific languages will be
administered at such times and places as the State Court Administrator may designate.

E. Scope of Examination. Applicants for interpreter certification in a spoken or sign language
may be tested on any combination of the following:

1. Sight interpretation,
2. Consecutive interpretation, and
3. Simultaneous interpretation.

F. Results of Examination. The results of the examination will be mailed by regular mail to the
applicant’ s most recent address.

G. Confidentiality. All information relating to the examination is treated as confidential by the
State Court Administrator and test administrators except that statistical information relating to the
examinations and applicants may be released at the discretion of the State Court Administrator.

Rule 4A — 4G amended September 17, 2003.
RULE 5. SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF CERTIFICATION

A. Grounds for Revocation or Suspension of Certification. Unprofessional or unethical conduct
that violates the Code of Professional Responsibility for Interpreters or a conviction of a criminal
misdemeanor or felony may be grounds for suspension or revocation of certification and removal from
the statewide register of interpreters. A disposition other than acquittal, e.g., pretrial diversion, of any
crimina charge filed will not preclude an action by the State Court Administrator with respect to the
interpreter’s certification.

See Appendix 1 for Code and Interpreter Oath.

B. Incompetence. The State Court Administrator may remove any interpreter from the statewide
register of interpreters for incompetence provided the interpreter is allowed an opportunity to be heard to
dispute such finding.

C. Complaints. All complaints of alleged unprofessional and unethical conduct by interpreters
snall be in writing and will be investigated by the State Court Administrator or a person appointed by the
State Court Administrator. Each complaint will be reviewed to determine if there is sufficient cause to
believe that the interpreter has engaged in unprofessional or unethical conduct. If sufficient cause exists,
the State Court Administrator may suspend or revoke the certification of an interpreter and remove the
interpreter’ s name from the statewide register of interpreters. If aviolation is by a registered, noncertified
interpreter, the State Court Administrator may suspend or remove the interpreter’s name from the
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statewide register of interpreters.

Rule 5B amended September 17, 2003.
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APPENDIX 1

CODE OF PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR INTERPRETERS

PREAMBLE

Many persons who come before the courts are partially or completely excluded from full
participation in the proceedings due to limited English proficiency or a speech or hearing impairment. It is
essential that the resulting communication barrier be removed, as far as possible, so that these persons are
placed in the same position as similarly situated persons for whom there is no such barrier. As officers of
the court, interpreters help ensure that such persons may enjoy equal access to justice and that court
proceedings and court support services function efficiently and effectively. Interpreters are highly skilled
professionals who fulfill an essential role in the administration of justice.

APPLICABILITY

This Code shall guide and be binding upon all persons, agencies, and organizations who

administer, supervise use of, or deliver interpreting servicesto the judiciary.
CANON 1: ACCURACY AND COMPLETENESS

Interpreters shall render a complete and accurate interpretation or sight tranglation, without

altering, omitting, or adding anything to what is stated or written, and without explanation.
CANON 2: REPRESENTATION OF QUALIFICATIONS

Interpreters shall accurately and completely represent what their training and pertinent experience

isand any certification they may have.
CANON 3: IMPARTIALITY AND AVOIDANCE OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

Interpreters shall be impartial and unbiased and shall refrain from conduct that may give an

appearance of bias. Interpreters shall disclose any real or perceived conflict of interest.
CANON 4: PROFESSIONAL DEMEANOR

Interpreters shall conduct themselves in a manner consistent with the formality and civility of the

court and shall draw as little attention to themselves as possible.

CANON 5: CONFIDENTIALITY

Interpreters shall keep confidential al privileged and other confidential information.
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CANON 6: RESTRICTION OF PUBLIC COMMENT

Interpreters shall not publicly discuss, report, or offer an opinion concerning a matter in which
they are or have been engaged, even when that information is not privileged or required by law to be
confidential.

CANON 7: SCOPE OF PRACTICE

Interpreters shall limit themselves to interpreting or trandating, and shall not give legal advice,
express personal opinions to individuals for whom they are interpreting, or engage in any other activities
which may be construed to constitute a service other than interpreting or translating while serving as an
interpreter.

CANON 8: ASSESSING AND REPORTING INABILITIES TO PERFORM

Interpreters shall assess at all times their ability to deliver their services. When interpreters have
any reservation about their ability to satisfy an assignment completely, they shall immediately convey that
reservation to the appropriate judicial authority.

CANON 9: DUTY TO REPORT ETHICAL VIOLATIONS

Interpreters shall report to the proper judicia authority any effort to encourage a lack of
compliance with any law, any provision to this Code, or any other official policy governing court
interpreting and legal translating.

CANON 10: PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT
Interpreters shall strive to continually improve their skills and knowledge and advance the

profession through activities such as professiona training and education, and interactions with colleagues
and specialistsin related fields.

INTERPRETER OATH

l, , Swear or affirm that | will, to the best of my skill and

judgment, after my appointment as interpreter, make atrue (Language) interpretation of all

court proceedings, probation activities, or any other proceeding into a language which the party

understands and that | will in the English language repeat the party’ s statements to the court or jury.

Rules Relating to Court Interpreters adopted September 20, 2000; amended September 17, 2003.
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GRANDPARENTS VISITATION

A petition for grandparent visitation pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-1803 shall be so captioned
and shall contain the information required by statute. In other respects, the form of the petition and the
form of all subsequent pleadings shall comply with the Nebraska Rules of Pleading in Civil Actions.

Adopted June 25, 1986; amended December 11, 2002.
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DISTRICT COURT PRETRIAL PROCEDURE

PRETRIAL PROCEDURE: FORMULATING ISSUES.

In any civil action in the District Court after issues have been joined the court may in its discretion
direct the attorneys for the parties to appear before it for a conference to consider:

(1) The simplification of issues;
(2) The necessity or desirability of amendments to the pleadings;

(3) The possibility of obtaining admissions of fact and of documents which will avoid
unnecessary proof;

(4) The limitation of the number of witnesses with a view of avoiding improper cumulative
testimony;

(5) The advisability of a preliminary reference of issues to a master for findings to be used as
evidence when the trial is to be by jury;

(6) Such other matters as may aid in the disposition of the action.

The court shall at the time of the pretrial hearing make a record of the proceedings which recites the
action taken at the conference, the amendments allowed to the pleadings, and the amendments made by the
parties as to any of the matters considered, and which limit the issues for trial to those not disposed of by
admissions or agreements of counsel; that counsel shall forthwith acknowledge their assent thereto, or, in the
alternative, state into the record any and all objections they may have thereto; and such order when entered
controls the subsequent cause of the action, unless modified at the trial to prevent manifest injustice. The court
in its discretion may establish by rule a pretrial calendar on which actions may be placed for consideration as
above provided and may either confine the calendar to jury actions or to nonjury actions or extend it to all
actions.
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COUNTY COURT GENERAL RULES
Rule 1
CONDUCT IN THE COURTROOM
All statements and communications by counsel will be clearly and audibly made from the counsel table. While
courtisin session, counsd shall not leavetheir places a the counsd tablefor a conferenceat the bench unless
permitted by thejudgeto do so. Counse shall address witnesses, other counsel, and prospectivejurorshby their

surnames. Counsel shall not comment onanswer sgiven by witnesses. Argumentsby counsel shall be addressed
to the court and not to each other. Counse shall orally identify themsdves on the record in open court.

Rule 1 amended September 1991.

Rule 2

ATTORNEYS AND COURTROOM DECORUM
ATTENDANCE

All parties and their attorneys shall be present in the courtroom and prepared to proceed at the hour set for
hearing by the court. Unjustified failure to appear shall subject the case to dismissal or disciplinary action to
the attorneys concerned.

Rule 3

ATTIRE

Attorneys shall be attired in ordinary business wear.

Rule 4
STIPULATIONS
All gtipulations and privateagreements or understandings of counsel or of partiesto asuit, unless madein open
court during the trial, must be reduced to writing and signed by the parties or counsd for the parties making
the same.

Rule5

RECORDING OF SMALL CLAIMS
COURT PROCEEDINGS

All proceedingsin Small Claims Court shall betape-recorded, and such proceedings shall bepreserved
for aperiod of 9 monthsfrom the date of such proceedings. Requests for atranscription of such tape-recording
shall be made and paid for asinall other county court cases.

Rule 5 amended November 10, 2004.
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Rule 6
WITHDRAWAL OF COUNSEL
Upon timely application and good cause shown, counsel shall be permitted to withdraw from amatter inwhich

there has been filed with the application an affidavit which recites that counsel has served a copy of the
application upon the client and all parties and which further redites the client's current address.

Rule 6 amended November 1991.

Rule 7
APPLICATION FOR FEES

Before the claim of any attorney appointed by the court is alowed in criminal and juvenile matters, such
attorney shall make a written application for fees, paositively verified, stating time and expenses in the case.
Counsel shall also statein the application that counsel has not received and has no contract for the payment
of any compensation by such defendant or anyone in the defendant’'s behalf, or, if counse hasreceived any fee
or hasa contract for the payment of same, shall disclose the same fully so that the proper credit may betaken
on counsd 'sapplication. The application shall befiled withtheclerk. If ahearingisrequired, thetime and date
of hearing shall be set by court order.

Rule 8
PLEADINGS

All pleadings presented for filing with the county court shall comply with the rules as required for filing any
matters with the Nebraska Supreme Court as to size, weight, cdor, and form.

Rule9

IDENTIFICATION OF PLEADINGS

A pleading offered for filing shall plainly show the caption of the case, the description and designation of its
contents, and in whose behalf the same is filed. All pleadings subsequent to the pleading initiating the
proceeding shall also show the case humber.

Rule 10

COPIES OF PLEADINGS

Upon theinitial filing of acivil action, there shall be presented to the clerk clear and legible duplicate copies
of each pleading, together with all exhibits, in sufficient number to provide one copy for each adverse party.

After the filing of the initial pleading, copies of al other pleadings shall be served upon or mailed to all
opposing parties or their counsel, and the pleading shall contain the certificate of counsel stating the date and
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manner thereof, the address to which said service was mailed or delivery was made, and that said service was
made upon dl attorneys of record and any party appearing pro se.

Rule 10 amended September 1991.

Rule11
IDENTIFICATION OF ATTORNEY
The name, address, Nebraska attorney identification number, and telephone number of the attorney handling

the matter shall be typed on each pleading except for origina charging documents in traffic, criminal, and
juvenile matters.

Rule 11 adopted November 1990.

Rule 12
AMENDMENTS

Amendments to pleadings may be allowed within the discretion of the court. In no instance shall an amendment
to a pleading be made by interlineation or otherwise except by leave of the court. A party who has obtained
leave to amend a pleading but fails to do so within thetimelimit shall be considered as el ecting to abide by the
former pleading.

Rule 13
PUBLIC RECORDS

Inall caseswhere books, files, records, or partsthereof belonging to or taken from therecordsof public offices
areoffered in evidence or aremarkedfor identification tobeoffered at a pretrial conference, it shall betheduty
of the party offering the same to furnish copies of the same to the court reporter or judge and to opposing
counsdl. All exhibits marked at a pretrid conference for later admission shall be retained by the counsd
intending to offer them and counsd shall be responsiblefor their production at the time of trial.

Rule 14

COSTS
Except for criminal cases, juvenile cases, and proceedings in habeas corpus cases wherein a poverty affidavit

is filed and approved by the court, costs shall be payable when actions are commenced and thereafter when
liability for additional costs accrues. Counsel are responsible to the clerks for costs incurred at their request.
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Rule 15
WAIVER OF PRELIMINARY HEARINGS

Toinsureacompleterecord and for the protection of al concerned, the personal right of apreliminary hearing
may bewaived by the defendant on the record only inthe presence of ajudge and the defendant's attorney, if
any.

Rule 16
BAIL

When any person shall betaken into custody and charged with any misdemeanor, the sheriff or thejailer may
admit such person to bail in an amount not in excess of that prescribed by the bond schedule furnished by the
judges of that court, conditioned for his or her appearance in this court to answer the offense charged. In
unusual cases, the sheriff or jailer may consult ajudge of this court about the bond; ajudges verbal order
setting such person's bond shall supersede the bond schedule.

Rule 17
MOTIONS

For purposes of theserules, theword "motion" shall include demurrers, special appearances, and all requests
for an order of the court. "Serve' shall mean transmittal by personal service or by ordinary mail not less than
10 days prior to date of hearing.

Rule 18

SUBMISSION

If oral argument iswaived or the moving party failsto appear when the motion is set for argument, the motion
shall be considered submitted. Failure to appear or serve a memorandum brief will not be considered as a
confession of the motion.

Rule 19

DISMISSAL DOCKET

As soon as practical after January 1 of each year and July 1 of each year, the clerk shall prepare alist of all
pending civil and criminal casesin which no action has been taken for at least 6 months prior thereto. Thecourt
shall examinethelist and, in those casesin which it is deemed proper, shall enter an order to show cause why
such cases should not bedismissed for want of prosecution. A written responseto the order to show cause must

befiled in the action and a copy of the same provided to other counsel and the judges of the courts within 30
days, or said action shall be dismissed.
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Rule 20
INTERROGATORIES

Interrogatories shall beinthe format prescribed by Nebraska Discovery Rule 33.

Rule 21
PRETRIAL CONFERENCES

Therules of the district court in the same county shall govern the procedure for pretrial conferences

Rule 22
CRIMINAL COMPLAINTS

All complaints filed in the county court in criminal matters shall have noted thereon the citation of the statute
under which said complaint is brought together with the citation of the section prescribing thepenalty and class
of offense.

Rule 23

DEMAND FOR JURY TRIALS

In misdemeanor cases, demands for a jury trial must be madewithin 10 days following entry of a not guilty
plea

Rule 24

INSTRUCTIONS

Therules of the district court in the same county shall govern the procedure for instructionsto the jury.

Rule 25
ARGUMENTS TO JURY

Therules of the district court in the same county shall govern the procedure for arguments to the jury.

Rule 26
IDENTIFICATION OF EXHIBITS

Therules of the district court in the same county shall govern the procedure for identification of exhibits.
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Rule 27
EXHIBIT PROCEDURE

Therules of the district court in the same county shall govern the procedure for exhibits.

Rule 28
WITHDRAWAL OR DESTRUCTION

After ajudgment in a civil or probate case has become fina, the exhibit(s) shall be claimed by the party to
whomthey bdong. Any exhibit(s) nat claimed and withdrawn within 60 days after judgment has becomefinal
may bedestroyed or otherwisedisposed of by thecustodian after attorneysof record and parties appearing pro
se in the case have been given written notice by the clerk. Said notice shall be by ordinary mail, postage
prepaid, to the last known address as reflected in the particular file. The written notice shall provide the
recipient aperiod of 30 daysafter the date of said written notice within which to claim the exhibit(s) pertaining
tosaidfile.

Rule 28 amended September 1991.

Rule 29
RETURN OF EXHIBITS

Upon the final disposition of a case and after the time for making an appeal has expired, thetrial judge may,
upon application for motion of the parties or upon the court's own motion, direct the reporter or the clerk
having custody thereof to return to the offering party any exhibits and to make a rece pt therefor to befiled as
apleadinginthe case

Rule 30
RECORD OF WITHDRAWAL OR DESTRUCTION

A receipt specifying the exhibits withdrawn shall befiled in the case by the party withdrawing them. Exhibits
destroyed or otherwise disposed of will be accounted for by a statement prepared and filed by the cusodian
showing the date such action was taken and the date notice of intention to do so was given to the attorneys of
record.

Rule 31

DUTIES OF PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS

Unless upon good cause shown the court in its discretion has ruled otherwise, the prosecuting attorney shall
be present at all arraignmentsin al cases, all bond settings in felony cases, and al first hearings in juvenile

cases. No trial of any such case will be conducted without the prosecuting erntity being represented by a
prosecutor. The court will not act as a prosecutor, nor will any law enforcement representative or any other
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nonattorney be permitted to act as a prosecutor. In all cases, the prosecuting attorney shall obtain the
defendant'scriminal history and provide the sameto the court and the defendant prior to the setting of any bond
or theimposing of any sentence.

Rule 31 amended April 1998.

Rule 32
DEFAULT JUDGMENTS
In cases where the defendant fails to answer, demur, or otherwise plead, the plaintiff may, after the day on
which said action shall be set for answer, take default judgment upon averified petition, affidavits, or sworn

testimony establishing a claim. No judgment will be entered on a negotiable instrument unless the origina is
surrendered for cancellation to the court.

Rule 32 amended September 1987.

Rule 33
NOTICE OF INTERESTED PERSON DUTY

In al probate matters, it shall be the duty of the petitioner or applicant for probate of awill or appointment of
a persond representative, guardian, or conservator to show in the pdition or the application the names,
relationship to the subject of the peition or application, and last known post office address of all interested
persons. If any interested person is known by the petitioner, applicant, or the attorney for either to be
incompetent or a minor, such fact shall be disclosed to the court.

Rule 34

OTHER CHILDREN

In matters of decedents estates, if the surviving spouseisnot the parent of all the children of thedeceased, such
fact shall be stated in the petition or application filed at the commencement of the proceeding.

Rule 35

CREDITOR-DEBTOR INFORMATION

If the person nominated as personal representative, guardian, or conservator isindebted to the estate or isa

creditor of the edate, it shall be his or her duty and the duty of his or her attorney to so inform the court in
writing before the appointment is made
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Rule 36
CONTINUANCES

Probatematters shall be presented to thejudgefor action at thetimefixed by the order for hearing. Inall cases
where the matter is not heard at the time fixed by the original order or by an order of continuance, and it is
desired to have the matter continued to a specific timerather than from day to day as a matter of law pursuant
to statute, awritten order of continuance shall be prepared by the attorney, presented to the court, and filed at
the time the continuance i s obtai ned.

Rule 37

CLAIMS OF PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVES,
GUARDIANS, AND CONSERVATORS

|. Personal Representatives Individual Claims. No personal representative who has individual claims of his
or her own which arose against the decedent prior to the death of the decedent shall pay the claims in excess
of an aggregate amount of $250 without first specifically informing the court of hisor her adverseinterest and
obtaining the approval of the court.

I1. Guardian or Conservator; Individual Claims. No guardian or conservator who hasindividua claims of his
or her own (other than compensation governed by Rule 43) against the estate of the ward or protected person
shall pay the dlaims which aggregate in excess of $250 without first specifically informing the court of hisor
her adverseinterest and obtaining the approval of the court.

[11. Form of Order. Any order entered pursuant to Rule 37(1) and (1) shall providethat any person aggrieved
by payment of the claim may petition the court for aformal review of the claim.

Rule 37 amended September 1987.

Rule 38
REPORT OF FEES TO PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE

In al probate matters where an interlocutory or final report is filed, or an account of administration to
distributees is made in closing an estate by a sworn statement, or a schedule of distribution is filed with the
court and any such document reports payment of any fee paid or to be paid to a personal representative,
guardian, conservator, or attorney, the document must specify whether the fee was by agreement of the parties
or was fixed by the court.

Rule 39
TIME FOR INCREASE IN BONDS
Where the amount of apersonal representative's, guardian's, or conservator's bond has been fixed on the basis

of known or anticipated asses only, and thereis a subsequent material increase in the value of the assets or
anincreaseisanticipated, thejudge shal be promptly informed of such fact and an adequate bond to cover the

-13.8-



County Court Generd Rules

increased respongbility of the personal representative, guardian, or conservator shall be furnished and filed if
required by the judge.

Rule 39 amended June 1988.

Rule 40
SURETY REQUIREMENTS ON BONDS

Whereapersona bond istendered by fiduciary, it shall beaccompanied by ajustification of surety, which shall
include the description (exact, if possible) of the property of the surety, the names of joint ownersif any, its
value above encumbrances and exemptions, and whether a homestead or not, and if signed by a married
woman, the bond must indudea " married woman" clause Whenever any individual is offered as surety on any
bond, the court may inits discretion requirethat the surety make justification in compliance with Neb. Rev.
Stat. § 25-2223.

Rule 41
BONDS IN GUARDIANSHIP/CONSERVATORSHIP CASES

Inall guardianship/conservatorship cases, the court shall order that an approved cor por ate surety bond befiled
in an amount that will fully protect theassets plus 1 year's estimated income This bond shall be reviewed by
the court periodically and adjusted to reflect any increase as set out in Rule 39.

The court shall not order such a bond when (1) there are no assets, (2) the assets are in real estate or arein
certificates of deposit or other accounts, which certificates or accounts are restricted to withdrawal by court
order only, or (3) the guardian or conservator is anational banking association, a holder of a banking permit
under the laws of this state, or a trust company holding a certificate to engage in trust business from the
Department of Banking and Finance.

Rule 41 amended May 1990.

Rule 42
CONSERVATOR/GUARDIAN INVENTORY AND ACCOUNTS

Within 90 days af ter appointment, every conservator shall prepareand filewith thecourt acompleteinventory
of the estate of the protected person pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 30-2647, together with his or her oath or
affirmation that it is complete and accurate as far as he or sheisinformed. If an inventory is not filed within
30 days after the date it is due, the court shall issue an order to show cause why the conservator should not be
removed and shall set the same for hearing.

Unless otherwise ordered by the court, every conservator or guardian of an estate shall, not later than 30 days
after the expiration of 1 year after letters areissued and annually theresfter, file with the court a complete
account of his or her administration, along with the required fee and an affidavit of mailing showing that copies
were sent to all interested parties, including the bonding company. The account shall include an itemized
statement of assets in hisor her possession at the end of the accounting period.
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The court shall schedule aformal due process hearing to approve the accounting upon (1) a petition requesting
approval by the guardian/conservator, (2) therequest or objection of any interested party, or (3) thecourt'sown
motion. Notice of such hearing must be given to all interested parties and the protected person's interest
safeguarded as provided in the filing of the original petition (see Neb. Rev. Stat. § 30-2636).

The conservator or guardian of an estate shall exhibit to the court or attach to his or her account a certificate
of proof of possession of all intangible personal property existing at the end of the accounting period. Such
certificate shall subgtantially bein the form set forth herein as Rule 49.

The court shall monitor dl cases inwhich annual accountingsarerequired to seethat the accountings arefiled
inatimely manner. If an accounting is not filed within 30 days after the date it is due, the court shall issuean
order to show cause why the guardian/conservator should not be removed and shall set the same for hearing.

Rule 42 amended June 1988.

Rule 43
CONSERVATOR/GUARDIAN LETTERS

Language expressly limiting powers shall be included on all letters of guardian/conservator in the following
language: "Y ou shall not pay yourself or your attorney compensation from the assets or income of your ward,
nor sdll real property of the estate, without firg obtaining an order therefor, after an application, notice to the
interested persons, and hearing thereon. The order may beentered ex parteif all interested personshave wai ved
notice of hearing or have executed ther written consent to the fee."

At the sametimethe annual accounting isfiled with the court, theguardiarn/conservator shall filewith thecourt

an application for payment of the previous year's fees to the attorney and to the guardian/conservator. The
specific amount of the fees requested shall be set out in the application.

Rule 43 amended November 1988.

Rule 44
RULES NOT JURISDICTIONAL

No rule adopted by this court shall be or be construed to be jurisdictional, nor shall failure to comply with any
such rulein any proceeding impair or otherwise affect the legality of such proceedings.

Rule 45

FILING REQUIREMENTS

Any order, notice signed by the court or the registrar, and the petition application or pleading on which it is
based, isdeemed to beimmediately filed upon signing. All suchdocuments must betaken directly to the counter

whereaclerk will accept them and affix the court file stamp. In no instance shall any documents be taken from
this court urtil they have beenfiled, posted, filed for permanent record, and placed in the court file.
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Rule 46
PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVES FAILURE TO QUALIFY

Inal caseswhereapersonal representative, guardian, or conservator hasbeenformally or informally appointed
and hasfailedto qualify by filing the required bond and acceptance within 60 days of appointment, and nothing
appearsin the records of the court which may explain or excuse the delay, the appointment may be set aside
by the court on its own motion with or without prior notice to interested persons. If prior notice is not given,
the clerk shall promptly mail a copy of the order of the court to the petitioner or petitioner's attorney, and to
the personal representative, guardian, or conservator.

Rule 47
DISMISSAL FOR FAILURETO ACT

A petitionor applicationfor probateof will, adjudication of intestacy, appointment of apersonal representative,
guardian or conservator shall be subject, on the court's own motion and with or without prior notice to
interested persons, to dismissal without prejudice when it appears from the records of the court that no action
on the petition or application has been taken by the petitioner or applicant for 4 months or longer, and nothing
appears in therecords of the court which may explain or excusethe dday. If thedismissal is ordered without
notice, the clerk of the court shall promptly notify the petitioner or applicant and attorney of record of such
action.

Rule 48
LOCAL RULES
Each county court by action of a mgjority of itsjudges may from time to time recommend other local
rules not inconsistent with these rules nor inconsistent with any directive of the Supreme Court or statutes of

the State of Nebraska. Any such recommended rule shall not become eff ective until approved by the Supreme
Court and published in the Nebraska Advance Sheds.

Rule 48 amended September 1987.
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Rule 49

CERTIFICATE OF PROOF OF POSSESSION

Name of Fiduciary ( ) Guardian ( ) Conservator
of

CERTIFICATE OF BALANCE ON DEPOSIT

(Name and Address of Institution)

| CERTIFY that on the day of , , there was on deposit in this Institution to the
credit of this Fiduciary the following:

Checking Account, No. Balance of $

including interest of $ paid during period of statement of account.

Savings Account, No. Balance of $

including interest of $ paid during period of statement of account.
(*Extend above format for additional accounts as required) (Signature and Title of Certifying Official)

CERTIFICATE AS TO SECURITIES

Line No. KIND OF BOND OR SECURITY Date of Purchase Cost Interest Rate Present Value
(Identify U.S. Savings Bonds by series, number,
purchase date and cost. Accounts by Number.)

(*Extend format for additional bonds or securities as required)

| CERTIFY that the securities listed on lines 1 through were exhibited to me by the above-named fiduciary as being the
property of the estate of the ward, said securities then and there being in the custody and control of the fiduciary.

Date of Signature Address of Certifying Official Signature and Title of Certifying Official

NOTE: This certificate may be executed by a bank official, an authorized official or agent of the company which is surety on your
bonds; by a judge or clerk of the court.
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Rule 50

PROVISIONS FOR DEPOSIT AND INVESTMENT OF FUNDS
RECEIVED BY THE CLERK OF THE COUNTY COURT

I. Public Moneys Paid to County Court Officials; Depository Banks; Des gnation; Pledged Securities, Lid.

A. All funds paidtoany county court shall be deposited in such bank or banks as have been designated
asofficial depositoriesfor such funds. Depository banks shall be such banks as designated by the county judge
or judges.

B. Depositsin excess of the amount insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation shall be
made only as authorized by the provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. 88 77-2326.04 through 77-2326.09.

C. The clerk magistrate of each county court shall submit to the State Court Administrator a current
and correct list and description of the securities pledged or inwhichasecurity interest has been granted by any
depository bank to secure the depasits.

I1. Investment of Moneys Not Otherwise Provided for by Law.

A. Individual trust funds. Trust fundsinexcess of $5,000 that can be expected to be held in excess of
90 days in trust by a county court may be placed, upon written request of an interested party, in interest-
bearing certificates of deposit or a savings account of a bank or other financial ingtitution or interest-bearing
obligations of the federal government. This provision is efective only for individua deposits in excess of
$5,000.

B. Poded trug funds. Other funds received by the court and pooled should be invested wherever
possible with consideration to:

1. the highest possible interest (such as NOW or SUPER NOW accourts);

2. theleast restrictions (such as minimum balances, limitations on withdrawals, or number of
checks per month); and

3. minimum or no service charges (to the extent service charges are incurred, such charges
shall bepaid out of state fees received that month).

I11. Didribution of Earned I nterest.

A. Individual funds. Theinterest earned fromincomeaccumulated fromtheinvestment of moneysfrom
Rule 50(11)A shall beretained for the benefit of the owner of the funds.

B. Pooled funds. Each clerk of the court shall transmit the net of any interest from Rule 50(11)B, and
fees for credit card use reduced first by any costsincurred as a result of credit card use and any other bank
charges, to the State Treasurer along with the regular submissions of fees and costs.

Rule 50 amended June 1988.
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Rule 51
COUNTY COURT RECORDS

I. Minimum Requirements. County court records shall be organized as set out in the Records Model at § 21
of the County Court Procedures Manual. At a minimum, each record shall contain the information shownin
the Records Moddl.

1. Media Used. County court records may be maintained on any media approved by the State Court
Administrator. The requirements contained in the Rules and Regulations of the State Records Administrator
shall be observed. Docket books, registers of action, and indexes are not required for that portion of a court's
casd oad which is part of the county court automation system.

[11. Paper Size. Pleadings filed in the county courts shall be on white paper measuring 8%2 by 11inches. Forms
used in the courts shall be on paper no larger than 82 by 11 inches and no smaller than 8% by 5% inches.
Existing forms shall be replaced by forms measuring 82 by 11 inches.

IV. Standard Forms. Approved standard forms contained in the County Court Forms Manual shal be used
without modifi cation where possible. Modifications must be approved by the State Court Administrator before
amodified form can be printed or used.

V. Transcript and Bill of Exceptions Checkout. Any bill of exceptions prepared for appeal of a case to the
Supreme Court or Court of Appeals and filed in the office of the clerk of the county court shall be made
availablefor checkout toan attorney of record for aperiod of 30days. A recei pt shall besigned for such record
and left with the clerk. If counsel isnatified by theclerk of the county court within the 30-day checkout period
that the bill of exceptionsisreguired for filingwith the appel late courtspursuant to Neb. Ct. R. of Prac. 5B(3)d
the attorney shall immediatdy return the record to the clerk of the county court.

In the event that a brief date extension is requested by counsd of record pursuant to Neb. Ct. R. of Prac. 9,
and the sameis granted, the derk of the county court shall afford counsd additional time to retain such bill of
exceptions to complee the appd late brief. Such additional time shall befor either (1) a period not to exceed
the date established as the Final Brief Date in the appelate court order or (2) a period of 30 daysif no Final
Brief Dateisset therein. A copy of such extension request and order granting thesame shall besent totheclerk
of the county court by counsd making such request.

Any litigant isentitled to ingpect the original transcript and bill of exceptionsin his or her case at the office of
the clerk of the trial court. Transcripts and bills of exceptions shal not be checked out to litigants. Any
nonincarcerated litigant is entitled to obtain a copy of his or her transcript or bill of exceptions by filing a
written request with the derk of thetrial court. A copy of thetranscript shall be prepared by the clerk of the
trial court and a copy of the bill of exceptions shall be prepared by the court stenographer at litigant’s cost
unlessthelitigant has been dlowed to proceed informa pauperisintheaction in which therequest for arecord
has been made. Except for good cause shown, any additional copies of the transcript and/or the bill of
exceptions once provided to alitigant on an in forma pauperis basis shall be prepared at the litigant’ s costs.

When a request is made to the clerk of the trial court for a transcript of pleadings by or on behalf of any
incar cerated person, the clerk of thetrial court shall prepare two copies, one to befiled in the court to which
the matter is being appealed and one to be sent to the incarcerated person at the correctional center where he
or sheresides. The cost shall be paid by the person making the request unless the person has been allowed to
proceed in forma pauperisin the action inwhich thereguest for arecord has been made. Except for good cause
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shown, any additional copies of the transcript once provided to alitigant on an in forma pauperis basis shall
be prepared at thelitigant’s cost.

When a request is made by or on behalf of any incarcerated person for a bill of exceptions, the court
stenographer shall preparethe original to be filed with the clerk of thetrial court. The court stenographer shall
also prepare a duplicate copy at the statutory rate for copies and send it to the incarcerated person at the
correctional center where he or she resides. The copy shall contain the index of exhibits but shall not include
exhibits. The cost shall be paid by the person making the request unless that person has been allowed to
proceed in forma pauperisin the action inwhich thereguest for arecord has been made. Except for good cause
shown, any additional copies of thebill of exceptions once provided to alitigant on aninformapauperisbasis
shall beprepared at thelitigant’ scost. Anincarcerated person may request copies of exhibits by filingamotion
with the court having jurisdiction of the case.

Where a request for a copy of a transcript or a bill of exceptions is made on an in forma pauperis basis and

an action is not pending, good cause must be shown by the litigant making the request for the necessity of a
copy. A copy shall be provided only upon an order of the court.

Rule 51 adopted September 1987; Rule 51 anended May 21, 2003.

Rule 52
APPEALS TAKEN FROM THE COUNTY COURTS
I. Appeals from County Court to Digrict Court.
A. Transcript of pleadings; how ordered.

1. Appdlant shall fileareques for preparation of the transcript of pleadings at the time of
filing the notice of appedl. The request shall designatethe pleadings to beincluded in the transcript by
listing the name of the pleading and its date of filing.

2. Thetranscript shall contain the documents set out in Rule 52(1)B(1)a through e.

B. Transcript of pleadings; content.

1. Thetranscript of pleadings shall contain:

a. In criminal cases, the complaint and arraignment sheet showing the plea entered. In civil
cases, acopy of thelast amended petition and last amended answer;

b. The judgment, decree, or final order sought to be reversed, vacated, or modified, and the
county court's opinion, if any;

c. Copies of the notice of appeal and request for transcript, and copies of the request for bill
of exceptions, and the application to proceed in forma pauperis and accompanying poverty affidavit
if those documents werefiled;

d. A copy of any bond or undertaking given in the county court; and
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e. Any other parts of the county court record which appellant believes to be necessary. Only
those portions of the record which are material to the assignments of error may berequested. Requests
must be madein the manner set out in Rule 52(1)A(2).

2. The county court shall, in the absence of arequest for theinclusion of additional filings,
prepareatranscript containing the documents set out in Rule 52(1)B(1)athrough d. In appealsto the
Supreme Court, the notice of appeal, praecipes for transcript and bill of exceptions, and poverty
affidavits shall not be included in thetranscript, since they have been previously certified and sent to
the Supreme Court.

3. In apped s to the district court involving small claims cases, the county court shall certify
the completetranscript of pleadingsto the district court if the appellant is not represented by counsal.

C. Transcript of pleadings, form.

1. The transcript shall be photocopied. The image shall be permanent, black on a white
background, and sharply and clearly legible. Each document in the transcript shall bear a clear and
distinct stamp or writing showing the date the document wasfiled by the clerk of the court.

2. Transcripts shall be submitted on paper measuring 8%2 x 11 inches. If the pleadingswere
filed in the county court on paper measuring 8%2 x 14 inches, the entiretranscript may be reproduced
on 8%2 x 14 inch paper. The paper shall be of standard 12- to 16-pound substance.

3. Thetranscript shall be securdy bound at the top center of each page with a fastener with
prongs 2% inches apart on center. No pagesin the transcript may be stapled.

4. For appealsto the district court, thefirst two pages of the transcript shall be unnumbered
and shal consigt of (1) the clerk's certificate as set forth in Appendix 1 of theserules and (2) a
properly prepared index. The index shall bear the caption of the case and the county court case
identification number. Therest of theindex shall be dividedinto threecolumns. Thefirst column shall
be used to number each item included in the transcript; the second column shall contain a brief
description of theitem; thethird column shall show the transcript page number of thefirst page of the
item described. Each page after the index shall be consecutivdy numbered. The number shall be
centered at the bottom of each page.

D. Payment for transcript.

1. The party making the request shall pay the cost of the transcript to the county court before
thetranscript may beddivered to thedistrict court.

2. Anappeal may be dismissed for failureto make payment for the transcript except in cases
where apoverty affidavit has beenfiled. If payment for thetranscript has not been received within the
timeallowed under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-2731, andno poverty affidavit hasbeen filed, the clerk of the
county court shall send acertified copy of the notice of appeal tothe clerk of thedistrict court, together
with a statement that the fee has not been paid.

E. Supplemental transcript. After the original transcript isfiled in theoffice of the clerk of thedistrict
court, any party may, without leaveof court, request asupplemental transcript containing matters omitted from
the original transcript and which are necessary to the proper presentation of the casein the district court.
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1. The request for a supplemental transcript shall be in writing and in the same form
prescribed in Rule 52(1)A.

2. Supplemental transcripts shall be filed within 10 days after the county court receives the
request, unless the district court has extended the due date.

3. Supplemental transcripts shall beintheform prescribed in Rule 52(1)C.

4. No changeinthe original or supplemental transcript shall be made after filing, or papers
added to or withdrawn from the transcript, without leave of thedistrict court.

F. Casespreviously appealed. Whenafinal order isappealedinacasewhichwaspreviously appealed,
the transcript should nat contain pleadings already on filein the district court.

G. Statement of errors. Within 10 days of the filing of the bill of exceptionsin the district court, the
appellant shall file with the district court a statement of erors, which shall consist of a separate, concise
statement of each error a party contends was made by the trial court. Each assignment of error shall be
separately numbered and paragraphed. Consideration of the case will be limited to errors assigned and
discussed. The district court may, at its option, notice a plain error not assigned. This rule shall not apply to
small claims appeals.

I1. Billsof Exceptions.

A. How ordered. An appellant may order a bill of exceptions by filing a request with theclerk of the
county court at the time the notice of appeal isfiled. The request shall specifically identify each portion of the
evidence and exhibits offered at any hearing which the party appealing believes material to theissues to be
presented for review.

B. Preparation. The county court stenographer shall prepare only the portions of evidence specified
intherequest for preparation of thebill of exceptions. At the sametime, the appellant shall serve acopy of the
request upon all parties.

C. Supplements. If the appellee believes additional evidence should be included in the bill of
exceptions, the appellee may, within 10 days after service of the request for bill of exceptions filed by the
appedlant, filea supplemental request for preparation of abill of exceptions with theclerk of the county court.
At thesametime, acopy of the supplemental request shall be served upon all parties. The supplemental request
shall be processed in the sameway as theinitial request.

D. Settlement, signature, and allowance. When the bill of exceptions has been prepared, it shall be
reviewed by the county judge or court senographer, as the county judge elects, to determine whether the bill
of exceptions conforms to applicable rules and is an accurate transcription of the tape recording. The person
who completes the review and finds the bill of exceptions acceptable shall sign a certificateto be included in
the bill of exceptions certifying that it is an accurate transcription of the proceeding.

E. Filing. The bill of exceptions shall befiled intheoffice of the derk of the district court by a county
court employee as soon as the certificate is signed.

F. Relevance. The bill of exceptions shall contain only matters of evidence or exhibits which are
necessary to decide the issues presented on appedl.
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G. Payment. Except in cases where payment of the cost of preparing the bill of exceptionswill be paid
by the state, county, or other governmental subdivision, the cost shall be estimated at the time the request is
received. The estimate shall be given or mailed to the party making the request.

1. The appdlant shall deposit the amount of the estimated cost with the clerk of the county
court within 14 days after recept of the esimate.

2. If the appellant fails to make the deposit on time, the clerk magigrateshall order the court
stenographer to cease work on the transcript of testimony and shall notify the district court inwriting
that the deposit has not been made. The time allowed the court stenographer for preparation shall be
stayed until the deposit has been made. Appellant's time shall not be stayed by failure to make the
deposit on time.

H. Preparation and ddivery.
1. The bill of exceptions shall be filed with the clerk of the district court as soon as possible.

The following time limits apply unless an extension of time is approved by the district court in
accordance with theserules. Thetime period begins on the date therequest isfiled in the county court.

Crimnd trials. . ............. 6 weeks
Civiltrids. . ................ 6 weeks
Preliminary hearingsin felonies. . 6 weeks
Guilty or nolo contendere pleas . . 3 weeks

2. If thebill of exceptionscannot be prepared within the time allowed by Rule 52(11)H(1), the
district court may grant additiona time for preparation.

a. Theclerk magistrate or court stenographer shall file a request with theclerk of the district
court for additiona time at least 1 week prior to the date the bill of exceptionsis due to be filed.

b. The request shall beintheform of a pleading, captioned and bearing the district court case
number. The request shall specify the length of time requested for the extension and shall bear the
signature of the clerk magistrate or court stenographer. A brief affidavit of the clerk magistrate or
court stenographer shall accompany the request for extension of time and shall set forth the reasons
why the bill of exceptions cannot be completed by the date due.

c. Copies of therequest shall be served on all partiesto the action or their attorneysat thetime
the request for extension of timeisfiled.

d. The district court shall rule upon the request as soon as passible The clerk of the county
court shall be notified of the decision as soon as possible, but not later than 2 business days after the
decision.

e. Requests for extension shall be allowed only upon a showing of good cause, and first
extensons of time shall not be routinely granted.

I. Noticedf district court action. Theclerk of thedistrict court shall natify the clerk of the county court
of action taken by the district court on the appeal as follows:
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1. Within 2 judicial daysafter the decision of the district court becomes final, the clerk of the
district court shall issue a mandate and transmit the sameto the clerk of the county court on theform
prescribed by the Supreme Court together with a copy of the district court's decision.

2. The following shall be the procedure in appeals to the Supreme Court from the district
court:

a. The clerk of the district court shall notify the clerk of the county court if any matter
appealed from the county court is appealed to the Supreme Court. Such notice shall be sent to the
county court within 2 days after the date the notice of appedl isfiled in the district court.

b. The clerk of the district court shall notify the clerk of the county court of receipt of a
mandate from the Supreme Court within 2 days after the mandate is received by thedistrict court.

I11. Direct Appeals from County Courts to the Court of Appeals or Supreme Court.

A. Notice of appeal; requests to prepare record. The appdlant's notice of appea to the Court of
Appeals or Supreme Court shall befiled with the derk of thecounty court within thetime established by Neb.
Rev. Stat. § 25-1912.

1. At the same time the notice of appeal is filed, the appellant shall file a request for
preparation of the transcript of pleadings and may file a request for preparation of the bill of
exceptions. Those requests shall be in theform prescribed in Rule 52(1) and (I1).

2. The court stenographer shall commence preparation of the bill of exceptions when notified
todo so by counsd for the appellant. The timelimits for preparation of the bill of exceptionscontai ned
in Rule 52(11)H(1) shall apply, and the time shall begin from the date the notice of appeal isfiled.

3. The party requesting the preparation of the bill of exceptions may, at any time before the
bill of exceptionsis completed by the court stenographer, file with the clerk of the county court and
serve upon thecourt senographer astatement advising the court stenographer that settlement has been
reached. Upon receipt of such statement, the court stenographer shall cease any further work uponthe
bill of exceptions. The county court shall be entitled to payment by the party ordering such hill of
exceptions for the work performed up to the time that such notice was served upon the court
stenographer, and rules with regard to payment of the fees to the county court for the bill of
exceptions, as otherwise provided herein, shall apply.

4. The court stenographer shall filethecompleted bill of exceptions withtheclerk magistrate
of the county court, who shall notify all parties and the Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of
Appeals of thefiling.

B. Payment of filing fee Thefiling feein the Court of Appeals or Supreme Court set by Neb. Rev.
Stat. § 33-103 shall be first deposited with the derk of the county court, who shall record receipt of the fee.
The clerk of the county court may thenwrite a check to the Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals
for the docket fee. If the county isto pay thefee (filing in forma pauperis or an appeal by the State), then the
docket fee is not prepaid.

C. Filing notice of appeal with the Court of Appeals or Supreme Court. The clerk of the county court
shall, within 2 business days of receipt of a natice of appeal to the appdlate court, send the following to the
Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals:
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1. A copy of the notice of apped.
2. The request for preparation of the transcript of pleadings.
3. The request for preparation of the bill of exceptions (if filed).

4. The clerk's certificate, set forth in Appendix 2 of these rules, which shall contain the
following information:

a The caption of the case, including the names and adversary relationships of all the parties
as the case was filed;

b. The name, address, city, state, zip code, telephone number, and Nebraska attorney
identification number of each principal Nebraska attorney, and the name of the party or parties the
attorney represents; or, if aparty or parties represent themselves, the above information except for the
i dentification number.

c. The date the notice of appea was filed and the date the docket fee was paid.

5. The court's check for the docke fee, or the application to proceed in forma pauperis and
a poverty affidavit if thefiling is in forma pauperis. If the State is prosecuting the appeal, no other
notice is required.

D. Processing appealsin the Court of Appeals or Supreme Court. Appeals from the county court will
be processead in thesame manner as other appeals. The Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Rules of Practice
and Procedure shall be followed in appeals from the county courts. The county court transcript shall be
certified by the clerk as a true copy of the proceedings contained therein. See Appendix 3.

E. Notification of decision. The Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeds shall issue a
mandate in appeals from county courts as in other cases. The county court will be officially notified of the
action of the appdllate court through the mandate.

Rule 52(1)G amended October 27, 1993; Rules 52(1)C(4) and 52(111)C(4) and D amended April 13,1994; Rules52(lll),A,A(4), B,C, D, and E amended June 2, 1994; Rules52(l11),
C(4), and D amended January 31, 1996; Rule 52(I11)A(3) amended September 17, 1997; Rules 52(1)B(1)(c) and 52(I11)C(5) amended October 14, 1999.

Rule 53
PRELIMINARY HEARINGS IN FELONY CASES
I. Transcript of Pleadings. In caseswhere the defendant is ordered bound over to the district court, the original
casefileshall betransmitted to theclerk of the district court. Theregister of actions of the casein the county
court shall be updated to show the actions in the county court, and the action of transmitting the record shall
be recorded on theregister of actions.

I1. Transcript of Testimony.

A. Request for transcription. A transcript of testimony may be ordered by a party to the action. The
request shall specify which portions of the evidence should be included in the transcript.
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B. Payment. A transcript of testimony, when ordered, shall be prepared and paid for as described in
Rule 52(11)G(2).

I11. Cover Sheet. Thecounty court shall prepareacover sheet and a certificate of costs, showing whether costs
have been paid or are sill owed.

Rule 53 adopted September 1987.

Rule54
CRIMINAL PROCEEDINGS BEFORE CLERK MAGISTRATES

Each clerk magistrate in the State of Nebraska is authorized to conduct arraignments, accept pleas of guilty
and nol o contendere, and impose penalties as set forth below:

I. Waivers. The derk magistrate may accept pleas of guilty and impose fines on all offenses set out in the
waiver/fine schedule approved by the Nebraska Supreme Court.

I1. Arraignments. The clerk magistrate may conduct arraignments and accept pleas of guilty, not guilty, and
nolo contendere on any waiverable offense, on any other infractions, misdemeanors, or violations of city
ordinances. The clerk magistrate may impose penalties on any infractions, ClassIl, 1V, or V misdemeanors,
first offense Class W misdemeanors, or any violations of city ordinances. Pendties imposed by the clerk
magistrate under this section are not limited to the fines on the uniform waiver schedule and may include
probation. Such penaltiesshall not bein excessof statutory limits and shal nat ind udeimprisonment. A record
shall be made of al arraignments conducted by the clerk magistrate. The presiding judge of each judicial
district shall provide the clerk magistrate with a written verbatim arraignment form which shall be foll owed
by theclerk magistrateto ensurethat the defendant is properly advised of the char ges made against himor her,
the statutory language stating the offense, the possible penalties which could be imposed, and the necessary
congtitutional rights.

I11. Bond Setting. When a defendant appear s before the clerk magistrate and the case is continued for further
hearing, the clerk magistrate shall order the defendant to appear on a date certain and shall release the
defendant or set bond with appropriate conditions as statutorily provided.

IV. Other Duties. All other duties of clerk magigtrate shall be pursuant to Sate statute.

Rule 54 adopted September 1987.

Rule 55
UNIFORM WAIVER SYSTEM

I. Uniform Waiver System. Each county court shall accept waivers of appearance and pleas of guilty in cases
involving nonhazar dous traffic violations, carrier violations, game and parks violations, and other violations
in accordance with a schedul e adopted by Supreme Court rule. Such waivers shall beonaform with uniform
language in accordance with the Supreme Court rule.
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I1. Guiddines for Use of Waiver Sygem. Waive's shall be accepted in the following ways:

A. Mail. Violators may beallowed by thelaw enfor cement officer issuing thecitation to usethewaiver
form contained on the defendant's copy of the citation. If the defendant is a resident of a state whichis a
member of the Nonresident Violator Compact, the defendant may then be released without the necessity of
immediate callection of fine and costs.

If the defendant isaresident of a statewhichis not amember of the Nonresident Violator Compact,
or is charged with an offense not covered by that compact, the officer shall

1. alow the defendant to sign the waiver and pay the fine and costs by using a credit card
authorized by the court, or

2. dlow the defendant to sign the waiver and place it in an envelope along with the fine and
costsin the presence of the officer. The officer shall then accompany the defendant to the nearest U.S.
mailbox to observe the deposit therein of the envelope. The officer shall at no time take possession of
thefine and costs.

B. Locked waiver boxes. Carrier Enforcement officers who have a locked waiver box permanently
attached to theinside of their portable unit or permanently affixed within thebuilding of afixed scalefacility
may alow the defendant, in the presence of the officer, to sign the waiver and to placeit and the fine and costs
inan envelope. The officer shall then, in the presence of the def endant, seal and placethe envelopein thelocked
waiver box.

C. Persond appearance. Violators may appear personally at the office of the clerk of the appropriate
court on or before the court appearance date.

D. Application. Violators may makeappli cation for wai ver of appearanceprior tothecourt appearance
date. Upon receipt of an application, the court shall determine whether or not the waiver privilege shall be
granted and shall send either awaiver or anotice of an appearance date. If the waiver privilegeis denied, the
judge shall set forth within the notice of appearance a written explanation showing good and sufficient cause
as to why the privilege was denied.

E. Internet. Violators may access a Web site approved by the Supreme Court and upon successful
completion of required information and agreeng to all waiver and pleainstructions, pay thefine and costs plus
any convenience fees by using a credit/debit card processor authorized by the court. Convenience fees are
established by the credit/debit car processor authorized by the court and are not a part of thefineand costs to
the state.

I11. Fine Schedule. The Supreme Court shall establish a schedule of the amount of fines to be imposed for
violations which are to be paid by waiver.

IV. Othe Vidations. Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 55(111), awaiver may be allowed for violations
not listed on the schedule in individual cases when authorized by the county judge or judges of the county.

Rule 55 amended March 1991; Rule 55(11)(E) adopted September 20, 2007.
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Rule 56
JUVENILE REVIEW PANELS

I. Upon receipt of a request for review, the Clerk of the Supreme Court shall notify the Chief Justice and the
State Court Administrator that areview hearing has been requested.

I1. The State Court Administrator shall select a pand of judges for approval by the Chief Justice. Upon the
approval, the State Court Administrator shall notify the members of the panel of their appointment by | ter.
The letter shall contain the names of the judges on the pand and their home court addresses and telephone
numbers. Theletter shall also denotewhichjudgeis presiding. A copy of theletter shall be sent by the State
Court Administrator to each judge on the pand and to the clerk of the originating court.

[11. If, for any reason, a judge must be excused from a pand, that judge shall natify the State Court
Adminigrator, who shall sdect a replacement judge as in other cases. If the judge being excused is the
presiding judge of the pand, the replacement shall become the presiding judge. A copy of any letter of
replacement shall be provided to each remaining member of thepand and totheclerk of the originating court.

IV. The presiding judge shall arrangefor the time and the site of thereview hearing, with the first preference
being givento the originating court. Any preliminary motionsmay be handled by telephone conferenceif agreed
to by the panel of judges and all parties. The presiding judge shall contact the judge of the originating court
to establish a date for delivery of the hill of exceptions. The presiding judge shall notify the clerk of the
originating court of the time and site of the hearing. The clerk of the originating court shall provide notice of
thetime and site of the hearing to all partiesin the case at their last known addresses.

V. Thebill of exceptions shall consist of the disposition hearing and any other matters which the judge noted
on the record as having been considered for purposes of disposition.

V1. Thetranscript and bill of exceptions shall be ordered and prepared pursuant to Rule 52. The court reporter
or court senographer shall providethe original bill of exceptions plus three unbound copies tothe clerk of the
originating court. Feesfor preparation of the bill of exceptions and three copies, and for the preparation of the
original transcript, shall be paid by the requesting party.

VII. The clerk of the originating court shall send a copy of the bill of exceptions and transcript to each judge
on the panel. The clerk will charge fees only for preparation of the original transcript and not for photocopies
made for the judges on the panel. The original transcript and bill of exceptions shall bekept by the clerk of the
originating court. All pleadings shall be maintained by the clerk of the originating court in the juvenil€s case
file. The caption of the case shall be the same asthat in the original juvenile case.

VIII. The court reporter or stenographer shall handle al confidential material requested as part of the bill of
exceptions in the same manner as a predispositional report. Parties to the case who wish a copy of the bill of
exceptions may request it from the clerk of the originating court. This copy shall not contain any of the
confidential material unlessthereisan order fromthejudgeof theoriginating court re easing that material. Any
confidential materid given to the panel members shall be destroyed by them after disposition. The clerk shall
charge the statutory fees for photocopies prepared for partiesto the case.

IX. The clerk of the court hogting the review hearing shall be responsible for providing adequate facilitiesfor
the panel to conduct its hearing.
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X. Parties may make either written or oral arguments to the panel. Such arguments may be made by counsdl
or persondly if aparty is not represented by counsal. A copy of any written argument shall be given to each
judge on the pand at thetime of the hearing. T he presiding judge of the panel hastheauthority to establish time
limits for any ora argument presented. The panel will not make a verbatim record of the hearing.

XI. The presiding judge shall sign the disposition of the pand and file it with the derk of the originating court.
The disposition shall be effective upon that filing. The clerk shall mail photocopies of the disposition to al
parties.

XIl. The clerk of the originating court shall, within 5 days, file a statement of completion of review with the
Clerk of the Supreme Court. One copy shall be retained in the originating court and placed in the court file.

Rule 56 amended January 1991.

Rule 57
CITY OR VILLAGE ORDINANCE GUIDELINES

Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-2703, the State Court Administrator established the following guiddines to
prescribe the form that city or village ordinances shall befiled in the county courts:

I. Initial Filing of City or Village Ordinances. City or village ordinances shall be compiled in either book or
pamphlet form. The preferred format isalooseleaf book form. For municipal codebooks or pamphleswhich
have been adopted in their entirety by an adopting ordinance, such books or pamphlets shall be accompanied
by acopy of the adopting ordinance with a certificate of the municipal clerk, under the sedl of the municipality,
certifying that such ordinance was passed and approved as required by law. For municipal code books or
pamphlets containing a compilation of ordinances passed by the municipality, such books or pamphlets shall
beaccompanied with acertificate of the municipal clerk, under the seal of themunicipality, certifyingthat such
ordinances were passed and approved asrequired by law. Each municipal code book or pamphlet shall contain
adateof publication and purport that it isbeng published by theauthority of the city council or village board
of trustees. Each municipal code book or pamphlet shall contain an index.

I1. Filing of New or Amended Ordinances. Copies of new or amended ordinances may be filed in the county
court in typewritten, printed, or page form. For municipalitiesfiling new or anended ordinances in ordinance
form, such ordinances shall be accompanied with a certificate of the municipa clerk, under the sedl of the
municipality, certifying thedatethat such ordinances were passed and approved. For municipalitiesfiling new
pagesfor insertionin their municipal codes, such pages shal | beaccompanied with a certificate of themunicipal
cerk, under the sedl of the municipality, listing the ordinance numbers which effectuated the changes therein
and certifying the dates that such ordinances were passed and approved. T he county court shall insert the new
pages or firmly affix al new or amended ordinancesto the published version of the respective city or village
ordinances.

I11. Need for Record. The foregoing provisions do not in any way modify the rule of appellate practice that
when an ordinance charging an offenseisnot properly made a part of therecord on appeal, an appe late court
presumes the existence of a valid ordinance creating the offense charged, and will not otherwise take judicial
notice of an ordinance.

Rule 57 adopted May 1994.
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Rule 58
PETTY CASH FUNDS

Whenever the need exists, a clerk magistrate, with the concurrence of the county judges of his or her district,
may establish and maintain a petty cash fund of not more than $50. The fund shall be used only in the event
of special circumstances which reguire the item or expense to be purchased and paid for immediately in cash.
The creationof thefundiscontingent upon budge approva by thelocal county board. If thelocal county board
approves the budget request, the clerk magistrate shall maintain an accurate, detailed accounting of the fund
which shall be submitted to the auditors at thetime of their annual audit.

Rule 58 adopted July 1995.

Rule 59
PRESIDING JUDGES

The presiding judge has primary responsibility for oversedng the delivery of county court serviceswithin the
geographical area of thejudicial district.

Indistrictswherethereisajudicial administrator, the presiding judge, in accordance with Nebraska Supreme
Court Personnd Polidies and Procedures, bears the responsibility for the hiring, evaluation, and discipline of
the judicial administrator. The presiding judge isto providedirection to the judicial adminigtrator in matters
of local district pdlicy. A presidingjudgeisto provide directionto thejudicial administrator to ensurethat Sate
statutes, Supreme Court rules, and policies of the Administrative Of fice of the Courts are appropriately carried
out. The presiding judge is the immedi ate supervisor of the judicial administrator and shall meet with the
judicial administrator on a regular basis to coordinate thework of the judges and staff within the district.

In districts where thereis no judicial administrator, the presiding judge bears the responsibility for the hiring,
evaluation, and discipline of the clerk magistratesin the district. The presiding judgeis to provide directionto
the clerk magistrates in matters of local district policy. A presiding judge isto provide direction to the clerk
magi strates to ensure that state statutes, Supreme Court rules, and policies of the Administrative Office of the
Courtsare appropriately carried out. The presiding judge is the immediate supervisor of the clerk magistrates
and shall meet with the clerk magistrates on a regular basis to coordinate the work of the judges and staff
within thedigtrict. In districts with more than one county, these duties may be assighed to individual judgeson
a county-by-county basis.

It shall betherespongbility of the presiding judgeto coordinate thework of all judgeswithin thedigtrict. This
may include assigning judgesto various duties within a single county or among various counties of thedistrict.

The presiding judge shall bear the responsibility of notifying the Administrative Office of the Courtsif there
is aneed for a substitute judge anywherein the district.

The presiding judge shal delegate appropriate administrative responsibility to the judicial administrator and
the rest of the administrative staff of the district or to the clerk magistrates and the rest of the administrative
staff of the counties relating to budget preparation and genera administration, case management, facilities,
personnd administration, and court records management. In districts with more than one county, these duties
may be assigned to individual judges on a county-by-county basis.
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It shall be the responsibility of the presiding judge to plan and chair medtings, on at least a quarterly basis, of
all judges, judicial administrators, and clerk magistrates within a district.

The presiding judge shall be the liaison to the Nebraska State Bar Association and the press for the courts of
the didtrict. In districts with more than one county, these duties may be assigned to individual judges on a
county-by-county basis.

The presiding judge shal be the liaison to other agencies of local and state government for the courts of the
district. In districtswith morethan one county, these duties may be assigned to individua judges on a county-
by-county basis.

It shall betheresponsibility of the presidingjudgeof thedistrict to review the audits of al courts of the district
to makesurethat theaccounting practices being followed arein accordancewith the County Court Accounting
Manual. It is the duty of the presiding judge to respond to any audit recommendation. It is also the duty of the
presiding judge to make all records and information available to the individual s doing the audit.

It shall bethe duty of the presiding judge to approve any reinstatement of bonds which have been forfeited for
more than 90 days when the presiding judge delerminesit is in the best interests of justice In districts with
more than one county, these duties may be assigned to individual judges on a county-by-county basis.

The presiding judge shall bed ected each year by amajority vote of thejudgesof thedistrict subject toapproval
by the Supreme Court. Notification of the name of theindividual elected as presiding judge of the district shall
be given to the State Court Administrator no later than January 15 of each year.

A presiding judge shall hold the position for aterm of 1 year and may serve two consecutive terms.

Rule 59 adopted October 1996.

Rule 60
DOMESTIC RELATIONS

The Uniform District Court rules shall govern the procedure for domestic relations cases heard by a county
court judge.

Rule 60 adopted November 1997.

Rule 61
MODIFICATION OF RULES

Any of the foregoing rules shall be subject to such modification by the court as may be necessary in special
instances to meet emergencies or to avoid injustice or great hardship.

Renumbered to Rule 59, duly 19, 1995; renumbered to Rule 60, October 17, 1996; renumbered to Rule 61 November 26, 1997.
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Rule 62

COUNTY COURT AND SMALL CLAIMS COURT
JURISDICTIONAL LIMITS

I. County Court Civil Jurisdiction. The Nebraska Supreme Court has determined, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat.
§ 24-517(5), that on or after July 1, 2005, each county court shall have concurrent original jurisdiction with
thedistrict court in al civil actions of any type where the amount in controversy is $51,000 or less.

I1. Small Claims Court Jurisdiction. TheNebraska Supreme Court hasdetermined, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat.
§ 25-2802(4), that on or after July 1, 2005, each small claims court shall have jurisdiction in al civil actions
set forthin Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-2802(1) and (2) wherethe amount in controversy is $2,700 or less.

Rule 62 adopted June 22, 2005.

Rule 63

RULE RELATING TO UNIFORM TRAFFIC CITATION AND
COMPLAINT AND CITATION IN LIEU OF ARREST

I. Traffic Complaint and Notice to Appear; Form.

A. Form: hand-written citation and complaint. In traffic cases, the complaint and notice to appear shal
be in the form known as the "Uniform Traffic Citation and Complaint,” substantialy the same as set out in
appendix 5 hereto. The Uniform Traffic Citation and Complaint shall consist of four parts:

1. thecomplaint, printed on white paper;

2. theofficer's copy, printed on yellow paper;

3. the prosecutor's copy, printed on blue paper; and

4. the defendant's copy, printed on card stock, with the wai ver and pleaprinted on thereverse
sde.

The citation shall be 4.5 by 8 inches in sze and printed in precisdy the format approved by the
Supreme Court. Three inches from the top of the citation there will be a 2-inch section listing offenses and
statute numbers. Any agency wishing to replace the offenses in that section with other offenses uniqueto its
enforcement responsibility may submit a proposal to the Administrative Office of the Courts and request
approval for the same.

B. Form: computer-generated citation and complaint. The"Uniform Traffic Citation and Complaint”
may be created on a computer and printed. The information
on the form shall be the same as on the hand-written form and shall be substantially the same as set out in
appendix 5 hereto. The law enforcement officer or prosecutor preparing the Uniform Traffic Citation and
Complaint shal print at least two copies--the complaint, to be filed with the Court, and the defendant's copy,
which shall contain the waiver and plea section if applicable. A copy may be printed for the law enforcement
officer or her or hisagency, and ancther for the prosecutor.

All computer-generated Uniform Traffic Citation and Complaint forms shall beat aminimum printed
on letter-sized (8.5 by 11 inches) white paper with black printing, in the format approved by the Supreme
Court. For agenciesthat use Mobile Data Terminal s with continuous paper rolls, it isacceptableto exceed the
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minimum length described above. The offenses and statute numbers the defendant is accused of violating shall
be listed in a separate section of the form.

C. Numbering. All citations shall be numberedin consecutive order. Each number shall contain up to
two apha characters and up to seven numerals with no leading zeros. Any agency wishing a specific apha
designation shall request assignment of the same from the Administrative Office of the Courts.

The citation number shall be displayed at the top of the citation in Arabic characters and numerals.
A machine-readable "3 of 9" barcode shall appear at thetop of every copy of the citation. The barcodewill not
be required during the initial test period of citations generated electronically.

D. When used. The complaint form shall be used in traffic cases in county courts, whether the
complaint is made by a peace officer, prosecutor, or any other person.

E. Themotorist's signature promising to appear may be captured on paper whichis filed with the court
or adigital representation of the motorist's signature may be captured, stored, and filed with the court.

I1. Uniform Citation in Lieu of Arrest.

A. Form. Any citationin lieu of arrest issued pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 88 29-422 through 29-430
or Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 60-684 shall comply with the following minimum standards:

1. the name and address of the cited person;

2. the offense charged,;

3. the time and place the cited person is to appear in court;

4. awrittenpromisetoappear in court (applicable only to citations issued by law enforcement
personnel);

5. alineon which the cited person shall placehis or her signaturethereby promising to appear
in court (applicable only to citations issued by law enforcement personnd);

6. a warning that falure to appear in accordance with the command of the citation is a
punishable offense; and

7. the citation may constitute a complaint filed in the trial court (applicable only to citations
issued by law enforcement personnel).

Rule 63 adopted September 26, 2006.

The County Court Genera Ruleswere adopted in July 1985.
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STATE OF NEBRASKA COUNTY COURT APPEAL TO DISTRICT COURT CASE NUMBER

FORM NO. 95 CERTIFICATE OF TRANSCRIPT
08/2007 Rev,
IN THE COURT OF COUNTY, NEBRASKA
APPEARANCES
For the Plaintiff:
Plaintiff
VS.
For the Defendant:
Defendant
CERTIFICATE OF TRANSCRIPT
I Clerk of the County Court, certify that the attached
are true and accurate copies of the pleadings filed in this case. (Index attached).
The notice of appeal was filed on ,
The District Court filing fee in the amount of $ was paid on , , or
A poverty affidavit (copy attached) was filed on ,
| further certify that costs of $ (G have) (G have not) been paid:
Date: By the Court:
Clerk (Seal)
Appendix 1
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SAMPLE CERTIFICATE - CIVIL CASES
FOR USE IN APPEALS TO SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF APPEALS

IN THE COUNTY COURT OF COUNTY, NEBRASKA

In the Matter of the Estate of Trial Court No.
Matilda A. Farquar, Deceased

F. J. Farquar, Plaintiff, TyroneA. Ledbetter, No. 28154
(Address)
V. (Telephone)
Alfred T. Farquar, Defendant. Frank X. O'Brien, No. 18766
(Address)
(Telephone)

Date:

| certify that the attached are true and accurate copies of pleadings filed in the above-captioned case.

[0 Thecaseis adivil caseoriginating in the County Court:

(0 Adoption O Inheritance Tax
O Juvenile OJ Probate
[0 Guardianship

Notice of apped directed to:
(] Court of Appeals
O Supreme Court
Statutory Authority:
[0 Constitutionality of statute

The notice of appeal was filed on

The gatutory docket feewas paid on ;
or a poverty affidavit was filed on

All mations for new trial have been disposed of :
O Yes. Date:
O No.
0 No motions for new trial filed.

(SEAL)

Clek Magistrate

By:

Adopted January 31, 1996.

Appendix 2
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SAMPLE CERTIFICATION OF TRANSCRIPT FOR USE IN APPEALSTO THE
SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF APPEALS
(ATTACH TO BACK OF TRANSCRIPT)

CERTIFICATION OF TRANSCRIPT

l, , Clerk Magistrate of the County

Court, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true transcript of the record requested in our Case No.

entitled:

as the same appear onfileof said Court.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have set my hand and affixed the seal of said Court this day of

(Sedl)
Clek Magistrate

Adopted January 31, 1996.

Appendix 3
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STATE OF NEBRASKA | B15intiff's Claim and Notice to Defendant [©ASE NUMBER

FORM NO. 4:1 07/05 rev. .
Sec. 25-2801 R.S.S. 1989 (Sma” C|a|ms Court)

IN THE COUNTY COURT OF COUNTY, NEBRASKA

Plaintiff Plaintiff's Claim and
Notice to Defendant

VS.
Defendant
Plaintiff states that defendant(s) owe(s) and should be ordered to pay to me the sum of $ and
costs of this action, or return the property valued at $ and costs of this action because on

, at

Plaintiff declares that the defendant(s) is (are) not a “person in the military service of the United States” as defined in Sec. 101 of the Soldiers Relief Act, 1940.

| have filed small claims this week, and within the current calendar year.

To the best of my knowledge and belief, the defendant(s) may be served at the following address:

My printed hame and printed address are as follows:

Telephone #:

DATE:

| elect to have the notice served upon the defendant(s) by U sheriff/constable ( mail 1 process server.

PLAINTIFF'S SIGNATURE:

DATE:

SIGNED IN MY PRESENCE: (Seal)

NOTICE TO DEFENDANT

This claim has been filed against you. You must appear before this court on
, , at . m. at

(Iocation)
If you do not appear, a judgment may be entered against you, together with costs of this action. You should read the information

on the back of this claim notice. If you have any questions about the procedure, you may contact the Clerk of the Court in person or by

calling

DATE:

BY THE COURT: (Seal)

(Clerk)
Appendix 4
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| served upon:

| hereby certify that on
QFFICER'S RETURN

BY:

a true and certified copy of the Plaintiff's
Claim with all endorsements thereon.

By:

Service & Return
Copy

Mileage

FEES

Total

SMALL CLAIMS COURT

The Small Claims Court provides a method of settling legal
disputes involving $2,700 or less. Court procedure is informal
and without a jury. You cannot be represented by an attorney
in Small Claims Court, however, you are allowed to seek an
attorney’s advice about your case.

The person making the claim is known as the plaintiff. The
other party is known as the defendant. Small Claims cases
can be filed in the county where the defendant resides or is
doing business or in the county where the legal dispute
occurred. Except for merchants claiming a loss due to
shoplifting, no one may file more than two complaints in a
calendar week, nor more than ten complaints in a calendar
year. The plaintiff fills out the claim form and signs it in the
presence of a court clerk or notary. The clerk sets a date for
trial, and arranges for notice to the defendant. The notice may
be delivered by the sheriff or constable or sent by certified
mail. The plaintiff decides how the notice will be served. The
plaintiff pays in advance a filing fee totaling $23.00, and the
cost of serving the notice on the defendant. If the plaintiff
wins, these costs are added to the judgment which the
defendant must pay.

The plaintiff and defendant must appear in the court at the
time shown on the notice. If the defendant does not appear,
a judgment can be entered against him or her. If the
defendant is not able to appear at the time set for trial, he or
she should contactthe court clerk before thattime and explain
why. The court may continue the trial to a later date if there is
good reason. Mere inconvenience is never considered
sufficient. The defendant has the right to file a counterclaim or
setoff, but this must be done at leasttwo days priorto the time
of trial. In a counterclaim, the defendant says that the plaintiff
is at fault rather than the defendant. In a setoff, the defendant
says he or she may owe something, but that the plaintiff also
owes something. If the amount of the counterclaim or setoff
exceeds $2,700 the case will be transferred to regular civil
docket and handled with a regular civil lawsuit. The defendant
may request that the case be transferred out of the Small
Claims Court to the regular civil docket by filing and serving a
notice of transfer at least two days prior to the time the case

is set for hearing. A transfer fee of $19.00 will be assessed for
either the transfer to the regular docket or a counterclaim in
excess of $2,700.

At the trial, both the plaintiff and the defendant may have
withesses to support their position. They can have other
evidence produced in court, by a court order, if the other party
refuses to bring it to court. Both may also present other
evidence, such as contracts or cancelled checks. The
responsibility for proving the case, and proving the amount of
money or property owed, is that of the party making the claim.

If either party is not satisfied with the judge’s decision, they
may appeal to the district court where the case will be tried
again. The formal rules of evidence and procedure will be
used and the parties may have lawyers. Notice of appeal
must be given within 30 days from the date of the judge’s
decision. When you file the notice of appeal you will be
required to post an appeal bond in the amount of $50.00. In
addition, you will be required to pay the district court filing fee.
If an appeal is filed and you desire to stop execution of the
judgment against you, a supersedeas bond must be filed in
the amount of the judgment plus costs.

It is the duty of the party who wins the case to collect the
judgment--the property or money which the judge has granted
to him or her. If the losing party does not voluntarily pay or
agree to pay the judgment awarded, the party winning the
lawsuit will have to start collection procedures. Use of an
attorney is permitted in these collection procedures.

A pamphlet explaining Small Claims Court in more detail
is available from the clerk of the county court.
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Appendix 5
Manual Uniform Citation and Complaint Forms

5A - Court Copy (front)

5B - Court Copy (back)

5C - Officar's Copy (back)
5D - Prosecutor's Copy (back)
5E - Defendant's Copy (back)

Electronic Uniform Citation and Complaint Forms
Waiverable

5SF - Court Copy

5G - Offica's Copy
5H - Prosecutor's Copy
5l - Defendant's Copy

Nonwaiverable

5J- Court Copy

5K- Offica's Copy

5L - Prosecutor's Copy
5M - Defendant's Copy

Appendix 5 adopted September 20, 2006.
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http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5A_front_CourtCopy.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5B_back_CourtCopy.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5C_back_OfficersCopy.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5D_back_ProsecutorsCopy.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5E_back_DefendantsCopy.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5F_CourtCopy_Waiverable.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5G_OfficerCopy_Waiverable.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5H_ProsecutorCopy_Waiverable.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5I_DefendantCopy_Waiverable.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5J_CourtCopy_NonWaiverable.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5K_OfficersCopy_NonWaiverable.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5L_ProsecutorCopy_NonWaiverable.pdf
http://supremecourt.ne.gov/forms/5M_DefendantCopy_NonWaiverable.pdf

Nebraska Rules of Pleading in Civil Actions

NEBRASKA RULES OF PLEADING IN CIVIL ACTIONS

Rule 1. Scope and Purpose of Rules

These Rules govern pleading in civil actions filed on or after January 1, 2003. They apply to the
extent not inconsistent with statutes governing such matters.

These Rules shall be construed and administered to secure the just, speedy, and inexpensive
determination of every action.

These Rules govern pleading in a forcible entry and detainer action only to the extent they are
consistent with a court’s jurisdiction over such actions and are not in conflict with law governing such
actions.

Comment. The Rules are authorized by §§ 25-801.01 and 42-353. Jurisdiction to hear a forcible
entry and detainer action is discussed in Cummins Mgmt. v. Gilroy, 266 Neb. 635, 667 N.W.2d 538
(2003).

Rule 1 amended May 19, 2004.

Rule 2. One Form of Action [Reserved]

Comment. The only form of action is a civil action. Section 25-101.

Rule 3. Commencement of Action [Reserved]

Comment. Section 25-501 provides that a civil action is commenced by filing a complaint in the
office of the clerk of a proper court. The date an action is commenced for purposes of the statutes of
limitations is defined by § 25-217.

Rule 4. Summons [Reserved]

Comment. Service of process is governed by Chapter 25, Article 5.

Rule 5. Serving and Filing Pleadings and Other Papers

(a) Service: When Required. Except as otherwise provided in these rules or by statute, every
order required by its terms to be served, every pleading subsequent to the original complaint unless the
court otherwise orders because of numerous defendants, every paper relating to discovery required to be
served upon a party unless the court otherwise orders, every written motion other than one which may be
heard ex parte, and every written notice, appearance, demand, offer of judgment, designation of record on
appeal, and similar paper shall be served upon each of the parties. No service need be made on parties in
default for failure to appear except that pleadings asserting new or additional claims for relief against
them shall be served upon them in the manner provided for service of a summons.

-14.1-



Nebraska Rules of Pleading in Civil Actions

In an action begun by seizure of property, in which no person need be or is named as a defendant,
any service required to be made prior to the filing of any answer, claim, or appearance shall be made upon
the person having custody or possession of the property at the time of its seizure.

Comment. The second sentence of the first paragraph addresses only whether one party must
serve papers on a party for whom no appearance has been entered. Section 25-1308 provides the
procedure when a party is in default for failure to answer or for other reasons. Section 25-534 requires
that an appearance include an address to which mail may be sent.

(b) Same: How made. [Reserved]

Comment. The method of service of papers after the complaint and summons is governed by
§ 25-534.

(c) Same: Numerous Defendants. In any action in which there are unusually large numbers of
defendants, the court, upon motion or of its own initiative, may order that service of the pleadings of the
defendants and replies thereto need not be made as between the defendants and that any cross-claim,
counterclaim, or matter constituting an avoidance or affirmative defense contained therein shall be
deemed to be denied or avoided by all other parties and that the filing of any such pleading and service
thereof upon the plaintiff constitutes due notice of it to the parties. A copy of every such order shall be
served upon the parties in such manner and form as the court directs.

(d) Filing: Certificate of Service. All papers after the complaint required to be served upon a
party (except Discovery Material), together with a certificate of service, must be filed in the office of the
clerk of the court within a reasonable time after service. Neb. Ct. R. of Discovery 26(g) governs filing of
all Discovery Material.

(e) Filing with the Court Defined. [Reserved]

Rule 6. Time

(a) Computation. [Reserved]

Comment. Computation of time and legal holidays are governed by § 25-2221.

(b) Enlargement. When by these rules or by a notice given thereunder or by order of court an act
is required or allowed to be done at or within a specified time, the court for cause shown may at any time
in its discretion (1) with or without motion or notice order the period enlarged if request therefor is made
before the expiration of the period originally prescribed or as extended by a previous order, or (2) upon
motion made after the expiration of the specified period permit the act to be done where the failure to act
was the result of excusable neglect. The court may not extend the time for taking any action specified in
any statute, except to the extent and under the conditions stated in the statutes.

(c) [Reserved]

(d) For Motions--Affidavits. [Reserved]

Comment. Motion practice is governed by Chapter 25, Article 9(d).

(e) Additional Time After Service by Mail. [Reserved]
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Comment. Additional time after service by mail is governed by the last paragraph of § 25-534.

Rule 7. Pleadings Allowed; Form of Motions

(a) Pleadings. There shall be a complaint and an answer; a reply to a counterclaim denominated
as such, if the answer contains a counterclaim; an answer to a cross-claim, if the answer contains a
cross-claim; a third-party complaint, if a person who was not an original party is summoned as a
third-party defendant; and a third-party answer, if a third party complaint is served. No other pleading
shall be allowed, except that the court may order a reply to an answer or a third-party answer.

Comment. The initial pleading will be a petition when that designation is provided by statute. See
§ 25-801.01(2)(b).

A partial list of the proceedings in which the initial pleading is a "petition" includes a petition in
error (see § 25-1903), probate procedure (see § 30-2209), protection from domestic abuse (see § 42-924),
adoption (see § 43-102), actions under the juvenile code (see § 43-245 et seq.), workers’ compensation
actions (see § 48-173), Commission of Industrial Relations actions (see § 48-811), mental health
commitments (see § 83-1001 et seq.), and judicial review of administrative action (see § 84-917). The
initial pleading in an action for postconviction relief by a prisoner is a "verified motion" (see § 29-3001).

A separate rules defines the extent to which an action for grandparent visitation is governed by
these rules (see § 43-1803 and the Rules adopted by the Supreme Court pursuant thereto).

(b) Motions and Other Papers. [Reserved]
Comment. Motion practice is governed by Chapter 25, Article 9(d).
(c) Demurrers, Pleas, Etc., Abolished. [Reserved]

Comment. See § 25-801.01(2)(c).

Rule 7(a) amended May 19, 2004.

Rule 8. General Rules of Pleading

(a) Claims for Relief. A pleading which sets forth a claim for relief, whether an original claim,
counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-party claim, shall contain (1) a caption, (2) a short and plain statement
of the claim showing that the pleader is entitled to relief, and (3) a demand for judgment for the relief the
pleader seeks. Relief in the alternative or of several different types may be demanded. If the recovery of
money be demanded, the amount of special damages shall be stated but the amount of general damages
shall not be stated; and if interest thereon be claimed, the time from which interest is to be computed shall
also be stated.

(b) Defenses; Form of Denials. A party shall state in short and plain terms the party's defenses to
each claim asserted and shall admit or deny the averments upon which the adverse party relies. If a party
is without knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief as to the truth of an averment, a party shall
so state and this has the effect of a denial. Denials shall fairly meet the substance of the averments denied.
When a pleader intends in good faith to deny only a part or a qualification of an averment, the pleader
shall specify so much of it as is true and material and shall deny only the remainder. The pleader may
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make denials as specific denials of designated averments or paragraphs, may generally deny all the
averments except such designated averments or paragraphs as are expressly admitted, or may controvert
all the averments of the preceding pleading by general denial.

(c¢) Affirmative Defenses. In pleading to a preceding pleading, a party shall set forth
affirmatively accord and satisfaction, arbitration and award, assumption of risk, contributory negligence,
discharge in bankruptcy, duress, estoppel, failure of consideration, fraud, illegality, injury by fellow
servant, laches, license, payment, release, res judicata, statute of frauds, statute of limitations, waiver, and
any other matter constituting an avoidance or affirmative defense. When a party has mistakenly
designated a defense as a counterclaim or a counterclaim as a defense, the court on terms, if justice so
requires, shall treat the pleading as if there had been a proper designation.

(d) Effect of Failure to Deny. Averments in a pleading to which a responsive pleading is
required, other than those as to value or the amount of damage, are admitted when not denied in the
responsive pleading. Averments in a pleading to which no responsive pleading is required or permitted
shall be taken as denied or avoided.

(e) Pleadings to Be Concise and Direct; Consistency.

(1) Each averment of a pleading shall be simple, concise, and direct. No technical forms of
pleadings or motions are required.

(2) A party may set forth two or more statements of a claim or defense alternately or
hypothetically, either in one count or defense or in separate counts or defenses. When two or more
statements are made in the alternative and one of them if made independently would be sufficient, the
pleading is not made insufficient by the insufficiency of one or more of the alternative statements. A party
may also state as many separate claims or defenses as the party has regardless of consistency and whether
based on legal or equitable grounds. All statements shall be subject to the standards set forth in § 25-824.

(3) Construction of Pleadings. [Reserved]

Comment. See § 25-801.01(2)(d).

Rule 9. Pleading Special Matters

(a) Capacity. It is not necessary to aver the capacity of a party to sue or be sued or the authority
of a party to sue or be sued in a representative capacity or the legal existence of an organized association
of persons that is made a party, except to the extent required to show the jurisdiction of the court. When a
party desires to raise an issue as to the legal existence of any party or the capacity of any party to sue or
be sued or the authority of a party to sue or be sued in a representative capacity, the party desiring to raise
the issue shall do so by specific negative averment, which shall include such supporting particulars as are
peculiarly within the pleader's knowledge.

(b) Fraud, Mistake, Undue Influence, Condition of the Mind. In all averments of fraud,
mistake, or undue influence, the circumstances constituting fraud, mistake, or undue influence shall be
stated with particularity. Malice, intent, knowledge, and other condition of mind of a person may be
averred generally.
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(c) Conditions Precedent. In pleading the performance or occurrence of conditions precedent, it
is sufficient to aver generally that all conditions precedent have been performed or have occurred. A
denial of performance or occurrence shall be made specifically and with particularity.

(d) Official Document or Act. In pleading an official document or official act it is sufficient to
aver that the document was issued or the act done in compliance with law.

(e) Judgment. In pleading a judgment or decision of a domestic or foreign court, judicial or
quasi-judicial tribunal, or of a board or officer, it is sufficient to aver the judgment or decision without
setting forth matter showing jurisdiction to render it.

(f) Time and Place. For the purpose of testing the sufficiency of a pleading, averments of time
and place are material and shall be considered like all other averments of material matter.

(g) Special Damage. When items of special damage are claimed, they shall be specifically stated.

Rule 10. Form of Pleadings

(a) Caption: Names of Parties. Every pleading shall contain a caption setting forth the name of
the court, the title of the action, the file number, and a designation as in Rule 7(a). In the complaint the
title of the action shall include the names of all the parties, but in other pleadings it is sufficient to state
the name of the first party on each side with an appropriate indication of other parties.

(b) Paragraphs; Separate Statements. All averments of claim or defense shall be made in
numbered paragraphs, the contents of each of which shall be limited as far as practicable to a statement of
a single set of circumstances; and a paragraph may be referred to by number in all succeeding pleadings.
Each claim founded upon a separate transaction or occurrence and each defense other than denials shall
be stated in a separate count or defense whenever a separation facilitates the clear presentation of the
matters set forth.

(c) Adoption by Reference; Exhibits. Statements in a pleading may be adopted by reference in a
different part of the same pleading or in another pleading or in any motion. A copy of any written
instrument which is an exhibit to a pleading is a part thereof for all purposes.

Rule 11. Signing of Pleadings

(a) Every pleading, written motion, and other paper shall be signed by at least one attorney of
record in the attorney's individual name, or, if the party is not represented by an attorney, shall be signed
by the party. Each paper shall state the signer's address and telephone number, if any. Except when
otherwise specifically provided by statute, pleadings need not be verified or accompanied by an affidavit.
An unsigned paper shall be stricken unless omission of the signature is corrected promptly after being
called to the attention of the attorney or party.

(b)-(d) [Reserved]

Comment. Litigation that is frivolous or in bad faith is subject to sanctions under §§ 25-824 to
25-824.03.
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Rule 12. Defenses and Objections--When and How Presented--by Pleading or
Motion--Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings

(a) When Presented.

(1) A defendant shall serve an answer within 30 days after being served with the summons and
complaint or completion of service by publication.

(2) A party served with a pleading stating a cross-claim against that party shall serve an answer
thereto within 30 days after being served. A plaintiff shall serve a reply to a counterclaim in the answer
within 30 days after being served with the answer, or, if a reply is ordered by the court, within 15 days
after service of the order, unless the order otherwise directs.

(3) [Reserved]

(4) Unless a different time is fixed by court order, the service of a motion permitted under this
rule alters these periods of time as follows:

(A) if the court denies the motion or postpones its disposition until the trial on the merits, the
responsive pleading shall be served within 20 days after notice of the court's action; or

(B) if the court grants a motion for a more definite statement, the responsive pleading shall be
served within 20 days after the service of the more definite statement.

Comment. Subpart 4 defines the time in which a defendant must file an answer after the court
denies a motion such as one raising the defense in subpart (b)(6), or after the plaintiff files an amended
complaint in response to the grant of a motion for a more definite statement. The rules do not define the
time in which a plaintiff must act if the court sustains a motion filed under subpart (b). If the defect can be
corrected, such as by serving the summons and complaint again to remedy a defect in the attempt to serve
process or by serving an amended complaint to remedy the failure to state a claim, the court must define
the time in which plaintiff can act. If the defect cannot be corrected or the plaintiff does not correct the
defect within the permitted time the court can render a judgment dismissing the action.

(b) How Presented. Every defense, in law or fact, to a claim for relief in any pleading, whether a
claim, counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-party claim, shall be asserted in the responsive pleading thereto
if one is required, except that the following defenses may at the option of the pleader be made by motion:

(1) lack of jurisdiction over the subject matter;

(2) lack of jurisdiction over the person;

(3) [reserved]

(4) insufficiency of process;

(5) insufficiency of service of process;

(6) that the pleading fails to state a claim upon which relief can be granted;

(7) failure to join a necessary party.

A motion making any of these defense shall be made before pleading if further pleading is
permitted. No defense or objection is waived by being joined with one or more other defenses or
objections in a responsive pleading or motion.

If a pleading sets forth a claim for relief to which the adverse party is not required to serve a
responsive pleading, the adverse party may assert at the trial any defense in law or fact to that claim for
relief.
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If, on a motion asserting the defense numbered (6) to dismiss for failure of the pleading to state a
claim upon which relief can be granted, matters outside the pleading are presented to and not excluded by
the court, the motion shall be treated as one for summary judgment and disposed of as provided in
§§ 25-1330 to 25-1336, and all parties shall be given reasonable opportunity to present all material made
pertinent to such a motion by statute.

Comment. Improper venue is not a ground for dismissal; the issue can be raised by a timely
motion for transfer under § 25-403.01.

(c) Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings. After the pleadings are closed but within such time
as not to delay the trial, any party may move for judgment on the pleadings. If, on a motion for judgment
on the pleadings, matters outside the pleadings are presented to and not excluded by the court, the motion
shall be treated as one for summary judgment and disposed of as provided in §§ 25-1330 to 25-1336 and
all parties shall be given reasonable opportunity to present all material made pertinent to such a motion by
statute.

(d) Preliminary Hearings. The defenses specifically enumerated (1)-(2) and (4)-(7) in
subdivision (b) of this rule, whether made in a pleading or by motion, and the motion for judgment
mentioned in subdivision (c) of this rule shall be heard and determined before trial on application of any
party, unless the court orders that the hearing and determination thereof be deferred until the trial.

(e) Motion for More Definite Statement. If a pleading to which a responsive pleading is
permitted is so vague or ambiguous that a party cannot reasonably be required to frame a responsive
pleading, the party may move for a more definite statement before interposing a responsive pleading. The
motion shall point out the defects complained of and the details desired. If the motion is granted and the
order of the court is not obeyed within 10 days or within such time as the court may fix, the court may
strike the pleading or make such order as it deems just.

(f) Motion to Strike. Upon motion by a party before responding to a pleading, or if no responsive
pleading is permitted by these rules, upon motion made by a party within 30 days after the service of the
pleading upon the party or upon the court's own initiative at any time, the court may order stricken from
any pleading any insufficient defense or any redundant, immaterial, impertinent, or scandalous matter.

Comment. This Rule authorizes a motion to strike a specific portion of a pleading. Section 25-913
authorizes a motion to strike an entire pleading.

(g) Consolidation of Defenses in Motion. A party who makes a motion under this rule may join
with it any other motions then available to the party. If a party makes a motion under this rule but omits
therefrom any defense or objection then available to the party which this rule permits to be raised by
motion, the party shall not thereafter make a motion based on the defense or objection so omitted, except
a motion as provided in subdivision (h)(2) hereof on any of the grounds there stated.

Comment. Subpart (g) promotes expeditious procedure by permitting the simultaneous
presentation of defenses and objections by a single motion. Some defenses will be waived under subpart
(h)(1) if they are omitted from a motion that is filed. Other defenses can be asserted in subsequent
procedural steps under subpart (h)(2) if they are omitted from a motion that is filed. The opening clause of
subpart (b) provides that any motion is optional and that all the defenses listed can be asserted in the
responsive pleading.

(h) Waiver or Preservation of Certain Defenses.
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(1) A defense of lack of jurisdiction over the person, insufficiency of process, or insufficiency of
service of process is waived (A) if omitted from a motion in the circumstances described in subdivision
(g), or (B) if it is neither made by motion under this rule nor included in a responsive pleading or an
amendment thereof permitted by Rule 15(a) to be made as a matter of course.

(2) A defense of failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted, a defense of failure to
join a necessary party, and an objection of failure to state a legal defense to a claim may be made in any
pleading permitted or ordered under Rule 7(a), or by motion for judgment on the pleadings, or at the trial
on the merits.

(3) Whenever it appears by suggestion of the parties or otherwise that the court lacks jurisdiction
of the subject matter, the court shall dismiss the action.

Comment. Under part (g) a motion to transfer an action to a court with proper venue pursuant to
§ 25-403.01 may be joined with a motion under this rule. As an alternative, it may be made timely and
separately because improper venue is not listed as a defense that will be waived under the circumstances
described in part (h)(1).

Rule 13. Counterclaim and Cross-Claim

(a) Counterclaims. A pleading may state as a counterclaim any claim which at the time of
serving the pleading, the pleader has against an opposing party.

(b) Failure to Include Counterclaim; Effect in Subsequent Action. A party who does not
assert a counterclaim that arises out of the transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter of an
opposing party's claim cannot recover costs against that party in any subsequent action thereon.

(c) Counterclaim Exceeding Opposing Claim. A counterclaim may or may not diminish or
defeat the recovery sought by the opposing party. It may claim relief exceeding in amount or different in
kind from that sought in the pleading of the opposing party.

(d) Counterclaim Against the State and Political Subdivisions. These rules shall not be
construed to enlarge beyond the limits now fixed by law the right to assert counterclaims or to claim
credits against the State of Nebraska, an officer or agency of the State, or a political subdivision of the
State.

(e) Counterclaim Maturing or Acquired After Pleading. A claim which either matured or was
acquired by the pleader after filing a pleading may, with the permission of the court, be presented as a
counterclaim by supplemental pleading.

(f) Omitted Counterclaim. When a pleader fails to set up a counterclaim through oversight,
inadvertence, or excusable neglect, or when justice requires, the pleader may by leave of court set up the
counterclaim by amendment.

(g) Cross-Claim Against Co-Party. A pleading may state as a cross-claim any claim by one
party against a co-party arising out of the transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter either of the
original action or of a counterclaim therein or relating to any property that is the subject matter of the
original action. Such cross-claim may include a claim that the party against whom it is asserted is or may
be liable to the cross-claimant for all or part of a claim asserted in the action against the cross-claimant.
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Comment. Joinder of additional cross-claims is also governed by § 25-701.
(h) Joinder of Additional Parties. [Reserved]

Comment. Joinder of additional parties to a counterclaim or cross-claim is governed by
§ 25-705(4).

(i) Separate Trials; Separate Judgments. [Reserved]

Rule 14. Third-Party Practice [Reserved]

Comment. Third-Party Practice is governed by § 25-331.

Rule 15. Amended and Supplemental Pleadings

(a) Amendments. A party may amend the party's pleading once as a matter of course before a
responsive pleading is served or, if the pleading is one to which no responsive pleading is permitted, the
party may amend it within 30 days after it is served. Otherwise a party may amend the party's pleading
only by leave of court or by written consent of the adverse party, and leave shall be freely given when
justice so requires. A party shall plead in response to an amended pleading within the time remaining for
response to the original pleading or within 10 days after service of the amended pleading, whichever
period may be longer, unless the court otherwise orders.

(b) Amendments to Conform to the Evidence. When issues not raised by the pleadings are tried
by express or implied consent of the parties, they shall be treated in all respects as if they had been raised
in the pleadings. Such amendment of the pleadings as may be necessary to cause them to conform to the
evidence and to raise these issues may be made upon motion of any party at any time, even after
judgment; but failure so to amend does not affect the result of the trial of these issues. If evidence is
objected to at the trial on the ground that it is not within the issues made by the pleadings, the court may
allow the pleadings to be amended and shall do so freely when the presentation of the merits of the action
will be subserved thereby and the objecting party fails to satisfy the court that the admission of such
evidence would prejudice the party in maintaining the party's action or defense upon the merits. The court
may grant a continuance to enable the objecting party to meet such evidence.

(c) Relation Back of Amendments. [Reserved]
Comment. Relation back of amendments is governed by § 25-201.02.

(d) Supplemental Pleadings. Upon motion of a party the court may, upon reasonable notice and
upon such terms as are just, permit the party to serve a supplemental pleading setting forth transactions or
occurrences or events which have happened since the date of the pleading sought to be supplemented.
Permission may be granted even though the original pleading is defective in its statement of a claim for
relief or a defense. If the court deems it advisable that the adverse party plead to the supplemental
pleading, it shall so order, specifying the time therefor.

Rule 16. Pretrial Conferences; Scheduling; Management [Reserved]

-14.9-



Nebraska Rules of Pleading in Civil Actions

Comment. See District Court Pretrial Procedure, Nebraska Supreme Court Rules, Page 12.1.

Adopted December 11, 2002; effective January 1, 2003.
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Guidelines Concerning Adoption of Supreme Court Rules

GUIDELINES CONCERNING THE ADOPTION
OF THE SUPREME COURT RULES

I. Statement of Purpose

These guidelines are intended to aid the Supreme Court in the process of evaluation and enactment of Supreme
Court rules covering the practice of law and the administration of the judicial system.

II. Definitions
In this rule, unless the context or subject matter otherwise requires:

A. "Official Supreme Court Rules" refer to the Revised Rules of the Supreme Court/Court of Appeals
of the State of Nebraska and include official, published Supreme Court rules and regulations and amendments
thereto of general application relating, inter alia, to pleading, practice, and procedure, and to the admission to
practice, conduct, and discipline of attorneys at law.

B. "Miscellaneous Supreme Court Rules" refer to Supreme Court rules and regulations and
amendments thereto, of general application, relating to the operation of the judicial system. Such rules and
regulations include, but are not necessarily limited to, the Supreme Court Personnel Policies and Procedures,

Judicial Qualifications Rules, Judicial Resources Commission Rules, Rules Relating to the Parenting Act,
Grievance Procedure for ADA Complaints, and City or Village Ordinance Guidelines.

Rule II(A) and (B) amended October 14, 1999.
III. Rules Consideration

A. Requests to consider the creation, amendment, or repeal of any Supreme Court rule can be initiated
by action of the Court or brought to any member of the Court, the Clerk of the Supreme Court, or the State
Court Administrator by any interested party, unless an existing rule contains specific language providing for
procedure for amendment. Such request shall be submitted in writing and on a disk in a Microsoft Word
compatible format. Any language that creates a rule or is to be added to a rule shall be underscored, and any
language to be deleted from a rule shall be overstruck.

B. The Supreme Court may:

1. accept the request,

2. deny the request, or

3. defer action pending:

(a) additional comment from requestor,

(b) comment from staff or committee, or

(c) a formal written comment period.
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C. In the case of deferral pending a formal written comment period, notification of the pending rules
changes and solicitation of comment may be made in any publication(s) deemed advisable by the Supreme
Court and notification of the pending rules requests and solicitations for comments may also be provided, as
directed by the Court, to those identified as having a potential interest.

Any formal written comment period shall be for the period of time specified by the Court in such
notification.

D. At the completion of the comment period established above, the Court may accept, reject, or modify
the rules request under discussion; the Court may request further written comment as provided in item III(C)
of this rule; or the Court may on its own motion or on the request of an interested party hold a public hearing
on the rules change sought.

E. If the Supreme Court determines to hold a public hearing on a proposed rules change, notification
shall be given in the same manner as specified by item III(C) of this document. Such notification shall also
contain the time and place scheduled for the hearing and the method by which the entire proposed rule change
can be secured.

F. Upon completion of the procedures set forth above, and prior to Supreme Court consideration for
initial approval, such rule or amendment shall, unless otherwise directed by the Court, be reviewed by the
Supreme Court Staff Attorney for any comments or recommendations to the Court. Upon report by the Staff
Attorney and consideration of all other relevant materials, the Court shall approve or deny the requested rule
or amendment.

After Court approval of a change or amendment to the "Official Supreme Court Rules," the approved
revision shall be forwarded to the Reporter of Decisions Office for editing. If expressly directed by the Court,
the Reporter shall also edit any "Miscellaneous Supreme Court Rule" which has been approved for change or
amendment. The Reporter shall thereafter return the edited version of the rule or amendment to the Court for
final adoption.

Rule II(A), (B), and (C) amended October 14, 1999; Rule III(F) adopted October 14, 1999; Rule III(A) amended June 5, 2002.

IV. Rules Publication and Distribution

After adoption by the Court of any change in the "Official Supreme Court Rules," the Reporter of
Decisions Office shall make changes to the printed rules and the Reporter shall thereafter submit such changes
to the Clerk of the Supreme Court. Changes adopted by the Court to any "Miscellaneous Supreme Court Rules"
shall be made by the designated employee of the Court Administrator's Office. Supreme Court rules, recent
amendments, and pending proposed amendments are available on the Supreme Court’s website at
http://court.nol.org. Any person requesting a complete or partial copy of the Court’s rules from the Clerk of
the Supreme Court may be charged a fee as established by the Supreme Court and postage required for mailing
such rules.

All changes to the "Official Supreme Court Rules," except for minor grammatical or editorial changes,
shall be published in the Nebraska Advance Sheets. Changes to any "Miscellaneous Supreme Court Rules" may
be published as directed by the Court.

Rule IV amended October 14, 1999; Rule IV amended June 5, 2002.
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V. Contents

The published rules of the Supreme Court shall contain all formal rules of the Supreme Court either in fact or
by reference, unless otherwise directed by the Court.

Rule V amended October 14, 1999.

VI. Limitations

Nothing in this rule shall act to limit the Supreme Court from enacting such rules or adopting such orders as
it deems necessary on an emergency basis.
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Rule of Legal Practice by Approved Senior Law Students

RULE OF LEGAL PRACTICE BY APPROVED SENIOR LAW STUDENTS

I. PURPOSE. The purpose of thisruleisto provide senior law students with supervised practical training in
the practice of law during the period of their formal legal education.

II. ACTIVITIES. An €ligible law student may engage in the following activities:
A. Appear and participatein:

1. Triasin civil mattersin Workers' Compensation Court, county courts, and district courts
in this State when acting under the general supervision of an attorney duly admitted to practicein
Nebraska. Any such appearancein Workers Compensation Court, county courts, and district courts
must bein the personal presence of the supervising attorney, except that the county court judge, may
waivetherequirement of personal presence of asupervising attorney in specific casesfor an eligible
law student who has previoudly participated in atrial in that court in the personal presence of the
supervising attorney. For the purposes of thisrule, proceedingsto enforceapenalty for violation of a
municipal ordinance shall be deemed criminal in nature.

2. Criminal mattersin all courts when acting under the general supervision of an attorney
duly admitted to practice in Nebraska who is defending any case in these courts. Such appearance
must be in the personal presence of the supervising attorney.

3. Criminal matters in all courts when acting as an assistant to a county attorney, deputy
county attorney, or other prosecuting official duly admitted to practicein Nebraska. Such appearance
must be in the personal presence of the supervising attorney.

4. Postconviction and habeas corpus matters in all courts when acting under the genera
supervision and in the personal presence of a lawyer admitted to practice in Nebraska who is
prosecuting or defending such a case.

5. Juvenile matterswhen acting under the general supervision of an attorney duly admitted to
practicein Nebraskawho is prosecuting or defending such case. Any such appearance must beinthe
personal presence of the supervising attorney.

B. Hold consultations and prepare pleadings, briefs, and other documentsto befiled in any matter in
which the student is eligible to appear, when acting under the general supervision of an attorney duly admitted
to practice in Nebraska. Such pleadings, briefs, and other documents must be signed by the supervising
attorney but may al so set forth the name of the eligiblelaw student who has participated in preparation of the
document(s).

C. Prepare briefsand other documentsto befiled in the Nebraska Court of Appealsand the Supreme
Court of Nebraska, but such briefs or other documents must be prepared under the general supervision of and
signed by an attorney duly admitted to practice in Nebraska. Each such instrument may set forth the name of
the éigible law student who has participated in preparation of the document(s).

D. Participatein oral argument in the Nebraska Court of Appealsand the Supreme Court of Nebraska,
but only in the personal presence of an attorney of record in the case and only with the prior approval of the
Court.

Rulel1(C) and (D) amended November 22, 2000.

1. REQUIREMENTSAND LIMITATIONS. To becomedligibleto participatein legal activities pursuant to
thisrule, alaw student must:
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A. Beduly enrolled in alaw school approved by the American Bar Association. A law student will be
considered duly enrolled during the period of his law school's next summer vacation period following
completion of the requirements of paragraph |11 B below.

B. Have completed legal studies sufficient to have attained senior standing at his or her law school.

C. Becertified by the dean of his or her law school as being of good character and competent legal
ability, and as being adequately trained to perform as a legal intern under the general supervision of the
attorney or attorneys designated by name.

D. Beintroduced to the court in which he or sheisappearing by an attorney duly admitted to practice
in that Court.

E. Receive the affirmative consent of the court in which he or she is appearing to appear before it.

F. Not ask for or receive any compensation or remuneration of any kind for hisservicesdirectly from
the client on whose behalf he renders services. This provision is not intended to preclude the supervising
attorney from compensating the eligible law student nor to prevent the supervising attorney fromreceiving a
fee from the client for the services performed in compliance with the otherwise applicable rules of proper
professional conduct.

Rulel11(B) amended May 20, 1992.
IV. SUPERVISION. The lawyer under whose supervision an eligible law student engages in any of the
activities permitted by thisrule shall:

A. Be duly admitted to practice law in Nebraska.

B. Assume personal professional responsibility to the client for the services performed by the law
student.

C. Securethe prior written consent of the client for the services actually to be performed in court by
the law student.

D. Assume personal professional responsibility for the student's guidancein any work undertaken and
for supervising the quality of the student's work.

E. Assist the student in his or her preparation to the extent the supervising lawyer considers it
necessary.
V. CERTIFICATION. The certification of a student by the law school dean:

A. Shall befiled with the Clerk of this Court and, unlessit is sooner withdrawn, shall terminateif the
student does not take thefirst bar examination following hisor her graduation, or if the student takes such bar

examination and failsit, ir if he or she is admitted to full practice before this court.

B. May bewithdrawn by the dean at any time by mailing a notice thereof to the Clerk of thisCourt. It
is not necessary that the notice state the cause for withdrawal.
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C. May be terminated by this Court at any time without prior notice and without any showing of
cause.

Rule V(A) amended September 25, 2002.

VI. MISCELLANEOUS. Nothing contained in this rule shall affect the right of any person who is not
admitted to practice law in Nebraskato do anything that he or she might lawfully do prior to the adoption of
thisRule.
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GUIDELINES FOR USE BY NEBRASKA COURTS IN DETERMINING WHEN
AND UNDER WHAT CONDITIONS A HEARING BEFORE SUCH COURT
MAY BE CLOSED IN WHOLE OR IN PART TO THE PUBLIC

The purpose of these guidelines is to aid judges of the courts of Nebraska in determining whether a
proceeding may be closed from the general public, in whole or in part.

In formulating such guidelines it must be kept in mind that as a general principle it is the view of the
judiciary of the State of Nebraska that proceedings should be open to the public at all times and only closed,
in whole or in part, where evidence presented to the court establishes that by permitting all or part of the
proceeding to remain open to the public, a party's right to a fair trial will be substantially and adversely affected
and there are no other reasonable alternatives available to protect against such substantial and adverse effect.

We therefore establish the following guidelines to aid judges of the courts of the State of Nebraska in
determining whether a judicial proceeding of any type should be closed, in whole or in part.

1. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law or by these guidelines, the general public should
not be excluded from a legal proceeding of any type or nature, including a pretrial criminal hearing, suppression
hearing, or trial on the merits.

2. Except as otherwise provided herein, upon motion of the defendant or one standing in the position
of a defendant, even if known by another name and hereinafter called defendant, the court may consider
excluding the general public from all or a portion of a proceeding at which:

(a) the voluntariness of a confession may be seriously disputed and the admissibility of the
confession will be a material issue either at the preliminary proceeding then before the court, or at a
subsequent hearing, including the trial on the merits, and the court finds based upon evidence adduced
that permitting the general public to be present during such proceeding is likely to result in
substantially injuring or damaging the accused's right to a fair proceeding and that no other reasonable
alternative exists to assure the defendant of a fair trial, or

(b) the defendant is seeking to suppress evidence allegedly obtained illegally and the court
finds based upon evidence adduced that permitting the general public to be present during such
proceeding is likely to result in substantially injuring or damaging the accused's right to a fair
proceeding and that no other reasonable alternative exists to assure the defendant of a fair trial.

(c) If the court believes that by permitting the general public to be present at either of the
hearings noted in subparagraph (a) or (b) above, the defendant may be denied a fair trial, and the
defendant has not moved for closure, the court shall inquire of the defendant, on the record, whether
the defendant desires to hold all or a part of such proceeding with the public present. If the defendant
elects to hold such hearing with the public present, the court shall so proceed after noting the
defendant's election on the record. If the defendant, however, elects to close all or a portion of such
proceeding and so advises the court, it shall be as if the defendant has so moved and all of the
provisions of these guidelines shall apply.

3. Before determining to close such proceedings, in whole or in part, the court shall give reasonable
notice to all parties to the proceedings and such other persons who have advised the clerk of the court in
writing, in advance of a specific trial, of their desire to be notified if such a motion is presented and is to be
considered by the court. In giving such notice, the court will advise all such persons of the time and place when
hearing on the motion shall be heard and shall afford all interested persons, including the general public, a
reasonable opportunity to be present and prepare for such hearing.
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4. If the trial court determines after hearing that permitting the general public to hear such matters
under consideration will result in a substantial likelihood of injury or damage to the accused's right to a fair
trial and no other reasonable alternative for assuring a fair trial exists, the trial court may exclude the general
public from such proceeding. To the extent that the trial court can isolate the testimony concerning such matter
from other matters presented to the court at the same time, the general public should be excluded only from that
portion of the hearings in which such matter is being considered or evidence taken.

Upon entering an order of closure, the court shall articulate written findings as follows:

(a) that the evidence establishes an adequate basis to support a finding that there is a
substantial likelihood that irreparable damage to the accused's right to a fair trial will result from
conducting the questioned proceedings in public,

(b) that a substantial likelihood exists that reasonable alternatives to closure will not
adequately protect the accused's right to a fair trial, and

(c) there is a substantial likelihood that closure will be effective in protecting against the
perceived harm.

The burden of establishing such facts shall be upon the moving party.

Except as otherwise provided by law, all matters heard by the court after the general public has been
excluded shall nevertheless be on the record and shall be made available for public inspection within a
reasonable time after a final judgment or verdict in the case has been rendered.

5. The court may receive preliminary evidence concerning the matters noted in paragraph 4 above in
camera, in the presence of counsel for the parties and such other members of the public who have requested
the right to be present.

Persons desiring to be present not represented by counsel shall be considered as appearing Pro Se and
shall be bound by the orders of the court in regard to such hearing.

A record shall be made of the hearing in camera. The trial court may order such proceedings sealed
until after a final judgment or verdict in the trial court has been rendered. The fact that the case in chief is
pending on appeal before the Supreme Court of Nebraska shall not prevent the previously sealed tape from
being made available to the public upon request. The sealed record, however, shall be made available for
purposes of review by the Supreme Court or other court of competent jurisdiction pertaining to the decision
to close the proceedings, in whole or in part.

6. Nothing in these guidelines shall be construed, however, to limit the powers of the courts to maintain
decorum by ordering unruly spectators removed from the courtroom, or by reasonably limiting the number of
spectators, or by exercising similar powers of judges at common law, nor shall anything in these guidelines
require a judge to exclude the general public from any such proceedings if, after considering such matter, the
trial court concludes that permitting the general public to be present will not create a substantial likelihood of
injury or damage to the accused's right to a fair hearing. The fact that an accused or other witness may be
embarrassed or be subject to public ridicule by reason of the public being present shall not be grounds upon
which to close such matters, it being the intention of these guidelines to prescribe extremely limited situations
under which courts shall be closed to the general public and otherwise establish a general policy of permitting
courts to be open to the general public, consistent with the accused's constitutional rights to a fair hearing.
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NEBRASKA SUPREME COURT RULES FOR
RELEASE, SUBSTITUTION, AND DISPOSAL OF EXHIBITS

(1) The clerks of the various courts or the official court reporters are authorized to release, under the
following conditions, any exhibit offered or received in evidence in any civil, criminal, or juvenile proceeding:

(a) Upon request of an introducing attorney or owner, release to such introducing attorney or
owner at any time during or after trial, if request is made during trial to substitute a copy and
permission is granted by the court to do so.

(b) Upon request of an introducing attorney or owner, release to such introducing attorney or
owner at any time after trial or following expiration of appeal time, provided it is stipulated in writing
that a copy shall be substituted, or if, in the absence of such a stipulation, the judge who tried the case,
or if such judge is unavailable the current presiding judge, determines such substitution to be
unnecessary.

(c) When, in compliance with Supreme Court rules governing preparation of bills of
exceptions, counsel shall substitute photographs or mechanical drawings and descriptions for any large
or cumbersome exhibits where such would fairly present such exhibits to the appellate court.

(2) The clerks of the various courts or the official court reporters are authorized to dispose of any
exhibits or substitutes which have not been released pursuant to (1) above according to the applicable Records
Retention and Disposition Schedules of the State Records Administrator.

(3) Exhibits first shall be sought to be returned to the attorneys who introduced them, if possible, or
to the owners, if they can be determined. Questions as to ownership of exhibits shall be submitted to the judge
who tried the case, or to the presiding judge. Attorneys or owners of exhibits shall be notified to remove them;
in the event of their failure to do so within 30 days, or if the attorneys or owners are not available or cannot
be determined, the exhibits shall be disposed of or destroyed as ordered by the judge who tried the case, or the
presiding judge.

(4) Nothing herein shall restrict or contravene the discretion given to a court to dispose of exhibits
under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 24-1004, or in requiring compliance by all parties with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-1201
to 84-1220, and nothing herein shall restrict a court from requiring retention of exhibits in any instance for a
period of time in excess of that in the applicable Records Retention and Disposition Schedules of the State
Records Administrator.

-18.1-



Rules Relating to Use of Nebraska State Library

RULES RELATING TO USE OF NEBRASKA STATE LIBRARY

1. General Use. The general public may use at the library premises and during regular library hours the
material housed in the Nebraska State Library and may, at the user's expense, photocopy library materials
in accordance with the copyright laws, utilizing photocopy equipment located on the library premises.

Rule 1 amended February 26, 2003.

2. Special Use.

(a) State Senators, Justices of the Supreme Court, Judges of the Court of Appeals, Directors of
State agencies, and the Attorney General, and members of their respective staffs, may check out and use
away from the library premises for a period of no more than 10 days any materia required in the
performance of their duties; provided, however, that the librarian shall cal for its return sooner if the
material checked out is needed by a State Senator, Justice of the Supreme Court, or Judge of the Court of
Appesls.

(b) Unless return is requested sooner by the librarian, the following material may be checked out
from the library and used away from the library premises by members of the Nebraska State Bar
Association for a period of not more than 5 days:

American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts

American Jurisprudence Trias

Bound Periodicals

Bound Federal Register

Nebraska Continuing Legal Education Seminar Manuals
Advance Sheets (retired)

State Reports, Nebraska excluded

Code of Federal Regulations (retired)

Treatises

U.S. Government Publications, not otherwise designated

(c) Members of the Nebraska State Bar Association may check out the following materials for no
more than 1 day:

American Jurisprudence 2d

American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms
American Law Reports

BNA Tax Management Portfolios

Code of Federal Regulations (current)

Corpus Juris Secondum

Legal Forms Books

Looseleaf Services (BNA & CCH)

Nebraska Briefs

Nebraska How to Practice Manuals

Nebraska Jury Instructions

Personal Injury Valuation Handbooks

State and Federal Court Rules

State Jury Instructions

U.S. Code Service

Unbound Periodicals

State Statutes, Session Laws, Nebraska excluded
Unbound Federal Register

Words and Phrases
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(d) Materials not specified in subparagraphs (b) and (c) above may not be checked out by anyone
other than those users specified in subparagraph (a) above.

Rule 2 amended January 19, 1995; amended February 26, 2003.

3. Checkout Procedures. The librarian shall devise a checkout system which ensures that the identity of
the material checked out and the name, address, and telephone number of the user who checked it out are
known at all times.

Rule 3 amended February 26, 2003.

4. Renewals. Checkout of materials specified in subparagraph (b) above may be renewed for one
additional 5-day period, unless the material is called for by the librarian. Checkout of materials specified
in subparagraph (c) above may not be renewed.

Rule 4 adopted February 26, 2003.

5. Timely Return in Good Condition. Failure to make timely return of items in good condition may result
in the loss of checkout privileges.

Rule 5 (previously numbered Rule 4) amended February 26, 2003.

6. Public Computers and Internet Access.

(a) Purpose. The Nebraska State Library provides current, comprehensive, and efficient resources
for legal information, allowable within its budget, to the Nebraska Judiciary, the legal community, and the
public. The purpose of thisruleisto ensure that Nebraska State Library users have reasonable access to
the library’ s el ectronic resources while respecting the rights of others.

(b) Disclaimer. Patrons access Nebraska State Library computers at their own risk. Legal
information may be inaccurate, out of date, or incomplete. Users of the computers are encouraged to
exercise caution and critical judgment in evaluating the validity of information accessed viathe Internet.
Users of the library computers shall have no expectation of privacy while using the resources. The
Nebraska State Library assumes no responsibility for damages, direct or indirect, arising from the use of
the computers.

(c) Acceptable Uses.

(1) Nebraska State Library public computers and Internet access are provided to conduct
legal research or to retrieve federal, state, or local government documents.

(2) E-mail accounts may be used to send legal research results to the user's home or
office.

(3) More than one person may share a computer terminal aslong asit is by mutual
agreement and their behavior and conversation do not disturb other library usersor library staff.

(4) Children under the age of 18 may use the computers to research alegal issue only
with the permission of library staff.
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(d) Unacceptable Uses.

(1) Nebraska State Library computers may not be used for any purpose that violates
federal, state, or local laws, including violation of applicable laws pertaining to intellectual

property.

(2) Nebraska State Library computers may not be used to add, modify, change, alter,
damage, download, save, upload, evade, or otherwise interfere or change any established
computer hardware, software, security, or other computer system.

(3) Nebraska State Library computers may not be used for non-research purposes, such as
e-mail, chat rooms, games, pornography, commercial activities, solicitation of funds, or product
sales.

(4) Nebraska State Library computers may not be used to engage in any illegal purpose,
including, but not limited to, hacking, misrepresentation, harassment, slander, or the intimidation
or threatening of another person or entity.

(5) Nebraska State Library computers may not be shut off or restarted by users.

(e) Time. Terminals are available on afirst come, first serve basis. Research periods are limited to
30 minutes if someoneiswaiting to use the terminal. Users are requested to be considerate of the patrons
waiting to use the terminal.

(f) Right to Privacy. All library users are expected to respect the privacy of those using the
Nebraska State Library public computers and not interfere with their use. Public computer workstations
are located in open areas where others may see words or images that appear on the computer monitors.
Users must be aware that this public environment precludes any guarantee of privacy.

(g) Printing. Printing costs 10 cents per printed page. Printed materials may be picked up and paid
for at the library's front desk.

(h) Enforcement of Policy. Users who engagein illegal activities on the Internet will be reported
to the appropriate authorities. Failure to use Nebraska State Library public computers and Internet access
appropriately and in accordance with this rule may result in:

(2) Suspension of equipment use privileges; and/or

(2) Suspension of access to the Nebraska State Library.

Each Library staff person has the authority and responsibility to enforce thisrule.

Rule 6 adopted November 30, 2005.
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PROFESSIONAL SERVICE CORPORATIONS
l.

Any professional service corporation organized under thisrule prior to December 1, 1999, and
operating in accordance with the provisions of this rule, may continue to operate hereunder until such
corporation chooses to incorporate under the Nebraska Supreme Court Rule for Limited Liability
Professional Organizations provided that such professional corporation has not been suspended or
dissolved by the Secretary of State, in which case the professional corporation must amend or restate its
articles of incorporation to comply with the provisions of the Limited Liability Professional Organizations
rule. The articles of incorporation of any professional corporation operating in accordance with thisrule
shall contain provisions complying with the following requirements:

A. The corporation shall be organized solely for the purpose of conducting the practice of law
only through persons qualified to practice law in the State of Nebraska.

B. The corporation may exercise the powers and privileges conferred upon corporations by the
law of Nebraska only in furtherance of and subject to its corporate purpose.

C. All shareholders of the corporation shall be persons duly licensed by the Supreme Court of the
State of Nebraskato practice law in the State of Nebraska, and who at all times own their sharesin their
own right.

D. Provisions shall be made requiring any shareholder who ceasesto be eligible to be a
shareholder to dispose of al hisor her shares forthwith either to the corporation or to any person having
the qualifications described in paragraph C above.

E. The president shall be a shareholder and a director, and al other directors and officers shall be
persons having the qualifications described in paragraph C above.

F. The articles of incorporation shall provide, and all shareholders of the corporation shall be
deemed to agree by virtue of becoming shareholders or members, that all shareholders or members shall
be jointly and severally liable to the extent that the assets of the corporation are insufficient to satisfy any
liability incurred by the corporation for the acts, errors, and omissions of the shareholders or members and
other employees of the corporation or association arising out of the performance of the professiona
services by the corporation or association while they are shareholders or members to the same extent asif
the shareholders were practicing in the form of a general partnership.

G. A corporation which discontinues the practice of law may nevertheless continue in operation
for an additional period of up to 2 years for the purpose of dissolving and winding up the administrative
business of the firm.

Rule I(E) amended April 24, 1996; Rule | amended June 16, 1999; Rule 1 amended June 28, 2000.

A. A copy certified by the Secretary of State of the articles of incorporation of any corporation
formed pursuant to this rule shall be filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Nebraska, together with
acertified copy of all amendments thereto. At the time of filing the original articles with said Clerk, the
corporation shal file with said Clerk awritten list of shareholders setting forth the names and addresses
of each and awritten list containing the names and addresses of all persons who are not shareholders who
are employed by the corporation and who are authorized to practice law in Nebraska. Within ten days
after any change in such shareholders or employees, awritten list setting forth the information required by
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the preceding sentence shall be filed with said Clerk. The position in the professional corporation of each
person identified in the firm name shall be stated.

B. The corporation shall do nothing which if done by an attorney employed by it would violate
the standards of professional conduct established for such attorney by this Court. The corporation shall at
all times comply with the standards of professional conduct established by this Court and the provisions
of thisrule. Any violation of this rule by the corporation shall be grounds for the Supreme Court to
terminate or suspend itsright to practice law.

C. Nothing in this rule shall be deemed to diminish or change the obligation of each attorney
employed by the corporation to conduct his or her practice in accordance with the standards of
professional conduct promulgated by this Court; any attorney who by act or omission causes the
corporation to act or fail to act in away which violates such standards of professional conduct, including
any provision of thisrule, shall be deemed personally responsible for such act or omission and shall be
subject to discipline therefor.

D. Nothing in this rule shall be deemed to modify the attorney-client privilege specified by
statute, and any comparable common-law privilege.

Rule [1(A) amended March 13, 1996; Rule I1(A) amended February 25, 1998.

Any such corporation may adopt a pension, profit-sharing (whether cash or deferred), health and
accident, insurance or welfare plan for all or part of its employees including lay employees, providing that
such plan does not require or result in the sharing of specific or identifiable fees with lay employees and
any payments made to lay employees or into any such plan in behalf of lay employees are based upon the
lay employees compensation or length of service or both rather than the amount of fees or income
received.

V.
Except as provided by thisrule, corporations shall not practice law.

Thisrule shall not apply to organizations offering prepaid legal services to adefined and limited
class of clients; to nonprofit charitable or benevolent organizations organized and operating primarily for
apurpose other than the provision of legal services and which furnish legal services as an incidental
activity in furtherance of their primary purpose; or to nonprofit organizations which have as their primary
purpose the furnishing of legal services to indigent persons; provided that (1) the legal work serves the
intended beneficiaries of the organizational purpose, (2) the staff attorney responsible for the matter signs
all papers prepared by the organization, and (3) the relationship between the staff attorney and client
meets the attorney's professional responsibilities to the client and is not subject to interference, control, or
direction by the organization's board or employees except for a supervising attorney licensed to practice
law in Nebraska

Rule IV amended December 24, 1997; Rule IV amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.
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RULE REQUIRING APPROVAL OF CERTAIN RULES
OF PRACTICE BY THE SUPREME COURT

Each separate juvenile court and the Workers' Compensation Court, by action of a majority of its
judges, may from time to time recommend rules of practice concerning matters which are not inconsistent with
any directive of the Supreme Court or statutes of the State of Nebraska. Such recommended rules shall become
effective upon the approval of the Supreme Court, at which time they shall be filed with the Clerk of the
Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, and be published in the Nebraska Advance Sheets. Once approved,

copies thereof shall be made available to the bar and public through the office of the clerk of the court
recommending the rules.

Amended May 24, 1995; amended September 17, 1997.
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TRUST ACCOUNTSAND BLANKET BONDS RULES
Rule 1. Definitions.
A. The following definitions shall apply to the Trust Accounts and Blanket Bonds Rules:

(D "Financid Ingtitution” includes any state or federally chartered bank, savings bank, savings
and loan association, or building and loan association insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance
Corporation.

(2) "Properly payable" refers to an instrument which, if presented in the normal course of
business, isin aform requiring payment under the laws of thisjurisdiction.

(3) "Notice of dishonor" refers to the notice which afinancial institution is required to give, under
the laws of this jurisdiction, upon presentation of an instrument which the institution dishonors.

Rule 2. General Provisions.

All lawyers admitted to practice on active status (defined as Regular Active, Junior Active, Senior Active,
or Military Active) with an office in the State of Nebraska shall have and maintain a trust account in a
financial institution for the deposit of funds of clients unless such lawyer is a member of the Nebraska
judiciary, or does not reasonably expect that he or she will receive into his or her hands funds of clients.
Lawyer trust accounts shall be maintained only in financial institutions approved by the Counsel for
Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court as set forth in Rule 4.

Rule 2 amended November 12, 2007.

Rule 3. Interest-Bearing Trust Accounts.

A. Except as may be authorized hereinafter, interest earned on insured trust accounts (less any deduction
for service charges, fees of the financia ingtitution, and intangible taxes collected with respect to the
deposited funds) shall belong to the clients whose funds have been so deposited, and the lawyer or law
firm shall have no right or claim to such interest.

B. Unless an election not to do so is submitted in accordance with the procedure set forth in Rule 3C, a
lawyer or law firm shall maintain an interest-bearing insured trust account for clients' funds which are
nomina in amount or are expected to be held for a short time in compliance with the following
provisions:

(1) No earnings from such an account shall be made available to alawyer or law firm.

(2) The account shall include only clients' funds which are nominal in amount or to be held for a
short period of time.

(3) Funds in each interest-bearing account shall be subject to withdrawal upon demand, subject
only to any notice period which the financial institution is required to reserve by law or regulation.

(4) The rate of interest payable on any interest-bearing trust account shall be the same rate of
interest paid by the financial institution for all other holders of similar accounts. Interest rates higher than
those offered by the financia institution on regular or savings accounts may be obtained by alawyer or a
law firm on some or all of the deposited funds so long as there is no impairment of the right to withdraw
or transfer principal immediately, subject only to any notice period which the financial institution is
required to reserve by law or regulation.
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(5) Lawyers or law firms electing to deposit client funds in an interest-bearing trust account shall
direct the financial institution:

(a) To remit interest or dividends, as the case may be, at least quarterly to the Nebraska
Lawyers Trust Account Foundation (hereinafter Foundation); and

(b) To transmit with each remittance to the Foundation a statement showing the name of
the lawyer or law firm, the trust account number, and the interest rate for whom the remittance is
sent; and

(c) To transmit to the depositing lawyer or law firm at the same time a report showing the
amount paid to the Foundation.

(6) The interest or dividends received by the Foundation shall be used by the Foundation solely
for the support of the Legal Aid of Nebraska program. Such income shall be applied only to activities
permitted to be conducted by organizations exempt from taxation under 8 501(c)(3) of the Internal
Revenue Code of 1986, as from time to time amended.

(7) This rule may be subsequently amended to effectuate its purposes or to comply with any
amendments to the Internal Revenue Code or new interpretations by the Internal Revenue Service or the
courts.

C. A lawyer or law firm that elects to decline to maintain accounts described in Rule 3B(5) shall submit a
Notice of Declination in writing to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court or his or her designee by
February 15 of the year to which the Notice of Declination will apply.

(1) Notwithstanding the foregoing, any lawyer or law firm may petition the Court at any time and,
for good cause shown, may be granted leave to file a Notice of Declination at a time other than those
specified above. An election to decline participation may be revoked at any time by filing a request for
enrollment in the program.

(2) A lawyer or law firm that does not file with the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court a Notice
of Declination in accordance with the provisions of this rule shall be required to maintain an account in
accordance with Rule 3B(5).

(3) The Board of Directors of the Nebraska Lawyers Trust Account Foundation may take all
action necessary at any time to exempt a lawyer, law firm, or trust account otherwise participating in the
program where in the Board's judgment such participation would be administratively or economically
unreasonable, burdensome, or counterproductive to the purposes of the program. [

Rule 3B(5)(b) and (6) amended November 15, 2007.

Rule 4. Trust Account Overdraft Notification Rules.
A. The trust account overdraft notification rules shall become effective on July 1, 2002.

B. A financia institution shall be approved as a depository for lawyer trust accountsif it shall file with the
Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court an agreement, in a form provided by the Counsel
for Discipline, to report to the Counsel for Discipline, in the event any properly payable instrument is
presented against a lawyer trust account containing insufficient funds, irrespective of whether or not the
instrument is honored. The Counsel for Discipline shall establish rules governing approval and
termination of approved status for financial institutions and shall annually publish a list of approved
financial institutions.
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C. No trust account shall be maintained in any financial institution which does not agree to make such
reports. Any such agreement shall apply to all branches of the financial institution and shall not be
canceled except upon 30 days notice in writing to the Counsel for Discipline.

D. The overdraft notification agreement shall provide that al reports made by the financial institution
shall be in the following format:

(D In the case of a dishonored instrument, the report shall be identical to the overdraft notice
customarily forwarded to the depositor. The financial institution shall provide a copy or machine readable
copy of the dishonored instrument, if the instrument is available to the financia institution, to the Counsel
for Discipline within 5 banking days of receiving a written request for a copy of the instrument from the
Counsel for Discipline; and

(2) In the case of instruments that are presented against insufficient funds but which instruments
are honored, the report shall identify the financial institution, the lawyer or law firm, the account number,
the date of presentation for payment, and the date paid, as well as the amount of overdraft created thereby.

E. Such reports shall be delivered by mail, electronically, or otherwise to the Office of the Counsel for
Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court within 5 banking days of the date on which an instrument is
dishonored. If an instrument presented against insufficient funds is honored, then the report shall be
delivered by mail, electronically, or otherwise to the Office of the Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska
Supreme Court within 5 banking days of the date of presentation for payment against insufficient funds.

F. Every lawyer practicing or admitted to practice in this jurisdiction shall, as a condition thereof, be
conclusively deemed to have consented to the reporting and production requirements mandated by this
rule.

G. Nothing herein shall preclude a financia institution from charging a particular lawyer or law firm for
the reasonable cost of producing the reports and records required by this rule.

Rule 5. Trust Account Affidavit Rules.

A. A lawyer who is associated with a law firm, which for purposes of this rule shall include firms that
operate as a limited liability professional organization, a partnership, a professional service corporation,
or a nonprofit legal services organization, shall be considered to have and maintain a trust account if his
or her law firm maintains a trust account as specified in Rule 2. Further, a single affidavit, as required by
Rule 5C, may befiled by alaw firm on behalf of all attorneysin the firm.

B. A nonresident lawyer who is admitted to practice before the courts of this State on a case-by-case basis
shall be exempt from the requirements of these rules.

C. Each lawyer admitted to practice on active status (defined as Regular Active, Junior Active, Senior
Active, or Military Active) with an office in the State of Nebraska shall file with the Nebraska State Bar
Association the affidavit attached to this rule as Appendix 1 stating the existence of the trust account
required under Rule 2 or, in the alternative, that he or she does not now have and does not reasonably
expect to have funds of clients come into his or her hands within the next 12 months. Members of the
Nebraska Judiciary need not complete the affidavit. The Nebraska State Bar Association shall provide a
place on the annual dues statement where a member can indicate that an affidavit has been previously
submitted, that the information contained in that affidavit remains current, and that the member consents
to the financia institution(s) at which the trust account(s) are maintained complying with the reporting
and production requirements mandated by these rules. Those lawyers maintaining trust accounts shall also
provide on their affidavit the name and address of the financia institution where the account is
maintained, the account number, and the name and address of all persons authorized to sign checks or
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make withdrawals on the account. If an existing trust account is closed or a new account opened, an
updated affidavit shall be filed by any such attorney within 30 days providing the reason for closing of an
account, as well as the specified information on any new account, and a copy of such updated affidavit
shall be provided to the Nebraska Lawyers Trust Account Foundation.

D. Any lawyer who has filed an affidavit that he or she does not reasonably expect to have funds of
clients come into his or her hands within the next 12 months but who does receive clients' funds shall
forthwith establish atrust account for the deposit and maintenance of such funds.

Rule 5(C) amended March 29, 2006; Rule 5(A) and (C) amended November 15, 2007.

Rule 6. Trust Account Audit Rule.

The Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court, or such counsel's representative authorized in
writing, shall have access to the affidavits required in Rule 5 and shall have the power to audit at any time
any trust account required by these rules.

Rule 7. Purpose of Rules.

A. These rules shall not affect the Client Assistance Fund, its rules, procedures, structure, or operation in
any way; nor shall the adoption of these rules make the Nebraska State Bar Association, its officers,
directors, representatives, or membership liable in any way to any person who has suffered loss by theft,
misappropriation, or fraud by alawyer. These rules are adopted solely for the purposes stated herein and
not for the purpose of making the Nebraska State Bar Association, its officers, directors, representatives,
or membership insurers or guarantors for clients with respect to funds of clients which come into the
hands of their lawyers.

B. Theserules do not create a claim against afinancia institution or its officers, directors, employees, and
agents for failure to provide a trust account overdraft report or for compliance with any provision of these
rules.

APPENDIX 1 - Affidavit (PDF)

Trust Accounts and Blanket Bonds Rules and Appendix amended and readopted September 19, 2001; Appendix 1 amended March 29, 2006;
Appendix 1 amended November 15, 2007.
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TRUST ACCOUNT AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF NEBRASKA )
) ss. AFFIDAVIT

County of )

, BEING FIRST DULY SWORN ON OATH, STATES AS FOLLOWS:

(Print Name Here)

| am an attorney duly licensed to practice law in the State of Nebraska, and | am familiar with the provisions of the Nebraska Supreme
Court Rules concerning Trust Accounts, Rule 1.15 of the Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct, and Trust Account Overdraft Notifications,
requiring:
1) that all lawyers holding funds of clients or third persons must maintain a separate account for such funds (commonly known as
a trust account)
2) that every lawyer maintaining a trust account must participate in the Interest On Lawyers Trust Account (IOLTA)
Program unless a written Notice of Declination is submitted to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court by February 15 of the
year to which the Notice of Declination will apply
3) certain reporting and production by approved financial institutions in regard to overdrafts of trust accounts

I am exempt from the provisions of these rules because | do not maintain a trust account and | handle no funds of clients or third
persons and do not expect to receive funds of clients or third persons within the next twelve (12) months.

[

I, or my firm, do maintain one or more trust accounts for the deposit of funds from clients or third persons. | will participate in the
Interest On Lawyers Trust Accounts (IOLTA) Program for the accounts listed below that are specifically identified as IOLTA
accounts. | certify that the following information pertaining to said accounts is true and accurate, and grant the following
authorizations.
BANK NAME & ADDRESS NAME ON ACCOUNT ACCOUNT NO. IOLTA
(Please circle)
Yes No*

[

Yes No*

Yes No*
* Circling "No" requires a filing be made pursuant to Rule 3C of the Trust Accounts and Blanket Bonds Rules to effect a declination.
Below: List names and addresses of all persons authorized to sign checks or make withdrawals on each account.

IOLTA Participation: | hereby authorize any financial institution in which | maintain a trust account for client funds or third persons to
automatically, and without further documentation, convert my trust account described above to an interest-bearing IOLTA account subject
to the provisions of the Nebraska Supreme Court Rules. In summary, the financial institution is specifically authorized and directed to remit
the interest earned, less customary services or charges, to the Nebraska Lawyers Trust Account Foundation. The Taxpayer Identification
Number certification (IRS Form W-9 and 1099 information returns), if required, will show the Nebraska Lawyers Trust Account
Foundation, PO Box 95103, Lincoln, NE 68509, Taxpayer I.D. No. 36-3357241, as the recipient of interest.

Automatic Notice of Trust Account Overdrafts: | hereby consent to the release by the banking institution referenced above of
information associated with the trust account(s) maintained at said banking institution for purposes of complying with the reporting and
production requirements mandated by the Trust Account Overdraft Notification Rules as adopted by the Nebraska Supreme Court.

All such notices must be sent to the Counsel for Discipline, 3808 Normal Blvd., Lincoln, NE 68506.

Attorney or Firm Name: Signature:
Address: Bar Number
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this day of , 20
Instructions:
Complete the form and return to: Notary Public:
NSBA
PO Box 81809 A firm may complete one affidavit (retyped on firm letterhead, signed by a partner) for all attorneys in the firm. It must list all the
Lincoln. NE 68501 attorneys (and their Bar numbers) in the firm, or covered by the affidavit, and contain the same affirmations as this form, identifying all

trust accounts, if they are IOLTA accounts, and the names and addresses of all persons authorized to sign checks or make

402-475-7001 withdrawals. Supreme Court Rules and other information can be found at www.nebar.com

402-475-7098 - Fax

APPENDIX 1
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Rule Regarding Nebraska Jury Instructions

RULE REGARDING NEBRASKA JURY INSTRUCTIONS

(a) Nebraska Jury Instructions, Second Edition (NJI 2d), is designed for use when the instruction
correctly states the law and the pleadings and evidence call for such an instruction. Where applicable, a trial
judge may utilize an appropriate NJI instruction.

(b) The trial court may and ordinarily should hold a conference before or during the trial with reference
to the preparation of proposed instructions. The trial court may direct counsel for either party to prepare
designated instructions. Counsel may object at the conference on instructions to any instruction regardless of
who prepared it. At the conference on instructions, each counsel should aid the trial court by stating any
specific objection that he or she has on any instruction proposed to be given.

The rule of practice adopted by this court on November 20, 1968, requiring use of the Nebraska Jury
Instructions is hereby rescinded.

COMMENT
Nebraska Jury Instructions, Second Edition (NJI2d) (1999), is available through West Group, 620 Opperman Dr., Eagan, MN 55123, or the
West Group order line (800)328-9352.
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RULES FOR NEBRASKA JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSIONS
A. Application Process.

(1) Upon request, an applicant for judicial appointment will receive an application for judicial vacancy
form, together with a letter of instruction, a copy of the Code of Judicial Conduct, a personal data sheet, and
a copy of these rules. Requests for judicial applications may be made to and forwarded by the judge
chairperson of the appropriate Judicial Nominating Commission, the Clerk of the Supreme Court, or the State
Court Administrator. The judicial application form can also be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch web
site at http://court.nol.org/manual/application.htm.

(2) The application and personal data sheet must be signed and sworn to before a notary public and
be filed with the commission chairperson not later than 21 days prior to the date of the public hearing. An
applicant for any judicial vacancy may be investigated to, among other things, verify the accuracy of
information provided.

(3) The personal data sheet is a confidential communication between the commission, its staff, and the
applicant. However, any applicant's name forwarded to the Governor shall be accompanied by the application,
personal data sheet, and results of any investigation conducted on behalf of the commission.

Rule A(2) amended December 21, 1994.

B. Disqualification Process.

(1) If a relationship between a commission member, or the Supreme Court member who chairs the
commission, and an applicant falls into one of the following four categories, the commission member or
chairperson shall recuse himself or herself from the commission:

a. Any relationship to the applicant by blood or marriage by virtue of being the applicant's
spouse, child, or spouse of a child. The commission member shall not be related to the applicant under
the third degree of relationship test. The third degree of relationship test is defined as being the
applicant's or the applicant's spouse's parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, sibling, nephew, or niece, or
spouse of any of these relatives. Additionally, the commission member shall recuse himself or herself
in situations where the applicant and commission member are sharing or have shared a residence
during the past 5 years.

b. Any arrangement involving the practice of law or an employment relationship including,
but not limited to, partnership, professional corporation, or office sharing within the past 5 years.

c. Any relationship in which the commission member and applicant are actively engaged in
managing a common profitmaking business or venture.

d. Any instance in which the member of the commission would cast his or her vote on a basis
other than an applicant's qualification for the office.

(2) If the person recusing himself or herself is the Supreme Court member who chairs the commission,
the Chief Justice or the next senior judge shall request the Governor to appoint another member of the Court
to chair such commission meeting.
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(3) Any person may challenge the impartiality of a member or the chairperson of a judicial nominating
commission. The challenge shall be in writing and directed to the Supreme Court member chairing such
commission. If a challenge is raised regarding the impartiality of a member or the chairperson and the person
so challenged declines to disqualify himself or herself, the unchallenged members of the commission shall rule
on the challenge by a majority vote. Any such decision shall be attached to the information forwarded to the
Governor and attached to the report submitted to the State Court Administrator.

(4) A violation of rule B(1) by a commission member will not constitute cause for rescission of a
judicial nomination or reopening of the commission process.

C. Commission Deliberation.

(1) Each commission member will execute the official oath and a statement of understanding, attached
hereto as exhibit A.

(2) Each commission member will be provided a Nebraska Judicial Nominating Commissioner's
Handbook, the contents of which shall include the American Bar Association's Guidelines for Reviewing
Qualifications of Candidates for State Judicial Office and a checklist of qualifications. The qualifications
checklist will be used as a guide to provide uniformity in evaluating candidates.

(3) The commission is encouraged to hold private interviews with candidates prior to or following the
public hearing.

(4) The list of applicants determined to be sufficiently qualified to hold the judicial position in question
shall be submitted to the Governor in alphabetical order.
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EXHIBIT A

Statement of Understanding
of Ethical Considerations

In the performance of their duties, the judicial nominating commission members shall be ever mindful that they
hold positions of public trust. No commission member shall conduct himself or herself in a manner which
reflects discredit upon the judicial selection process or discloses partisanship or partiality in the consideration
of applicants. Consideration of applicants shall be made impartially, discreetly, and objectively. A commission
member shall disclose to the commission all personal and business relationships with a prospective applicant
that may directly or indirectly influence his or her decision. After certification of a list of sufficiently qualified
applicants to the Governor, no commission member shall attempt, directly or indirectly, to further influence
the ultimate decision of the Governor. No attempt shall be made to rank such nominees whose names are made
public or to otherwise disclose a preference of the commission.

In accordance with the above ethical considerations, I will accept the following responsibilities:
1. I will disclose any conflict of interest that I may have with any of the applicants.

2. I will avoid preselection of nominees, "hidden agenda," or consideration of factors other than the
merit of the applicants.

3. T agree not to discriminate against any applicant because of the applicant's race, religion, gender,
political affiliation, age, or national origin.

4. I will not divulge any of the applicants' confidential information or the commission's deliberations
except as provided by the Judicial Nominating Commission rules.

Statement of Understanding of Ethical Considerations amended December 21, 1994.
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RULES RELATING TO THE
NEBRASKA DISPUTE RESOLUTION ACT 1992

1. Appointment of Advisory Council. Procedures for filling yearly advisory council vacancies shall be set forth
in the Policy Manual of the Office of Dispute Resolution.

2. Meetings of the Advisory Council. Procedures for regular council meetings and task force meetings shall
be defined in the Policy Manual of the Office of Dispute Resolution.

3. Responsibilities of the Director of the Office of Dispute Resolution. The Director's responsibilities regarding
such areas as center information development, application, and reporting, as well as the general areas of
program budgeting, sliding scale fees, public awareness, and training, shall be defined in the Policy Manual
of the Office of Dispute Resolution.

4. Application for Center Approval of Funding. An application for funding by a center must include all the
statutory requirements: plan of operation, objectives, population served, administrative organization, record-
keeping procedures, mediator qualifications, annual budget, and proof of nonprofit status. Specific application
requirements are set forth in the Policy Manual of the Office of Dispute Resolution.

5. Procedures for Approved Centers. All centers must have clearly established procedures in the following
areas: permanent files, numbered case files, center forms and records, mediation training, mediation payment,
center fees, accounting system, compliant procedures, and divorce policies. Specific procedure requirements
are defined in the Policy Manual of the Office of Dispute Resolution.

6. Center Reports to the Office of Dispute Resolution. The center will report quarterly to the Office of Dispute
Resolution. The annual report will be a summation of the quarterly reports in that year. Reporting forms may
be supplied by the Office. Information for the reports should include the following: referral source, outcomes
of cases, types of cases, participant evaluations, cost of sessions, and outreach. These areas are defined in the
Policy Manual of the Office of Dispute Resolution.

7. Grievance Procedures. Complaints may be made directly to a center or to the Office of Dispute Resolution.
Grievance procedures pursuant to the Policy Manual of the Office of Dispute Resolution shall be followed.
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DISTRICT COURT RECORDS MODEL

Each district court shall maintain the following records:

1. Appearance Docket
2. Trial Docket

3. Journal

4. Complete Record
5. Execution Docket
6. Fee Book

7. General Index

8. Judgment Record
9. Case File

I. APPEARANCE DOCKET

The appearance docket is a summary of the case and is kept chronologically as cases are filed. The
docket shall provide the following information:

1. case type,

2. filing dates of petition and all subsequent pleadings,

3. names of parties and their counsel,

4. date of issuance of, return date of, and the return of summons,

5. cost summary, and

)}

. posting references to other records.

The appearance docket may be compiled, filed, and maintained in either a paper volume or a computer
system.
II. TRIAL DOCKET

The trial docket is a listing of cases at issue in the order they were made up and should serve as the

order in which the cases are called for trial. If the court has more than 300 cases at issue, the scheduling of
trials may be described by local court rule.
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Rendition of a judgment is the act of the court, or a judge thereof, in making and signing a written
notation of the relief granted or denied in an action.

The trial docket may be compiled, filed, and maintained in either a paper volume or a computer system.

Rule I amended September 13, 2000.

III. JOURNAL

A journal is a record of the court in which all judgments and orders must be entered and must clearly
specify the relief granted or order made in the action.

Entry of a judgment, decree, or final order occurs when the clerk of the court places the file stamp and
date upon the judgment, decree, or final order. For purposes of determining the time for appeal, the date

stamped on the judgment, decree, or final order shall be the date of entry.

The journal may be compiled and filed on microfilm, in a computer system, or in a paper volume.

Rule III amended September 13, 2000.

IV. COMPLETE RECORD

The clerk shall make a complete record of every cause, as soon as it is finally determined, unless such
record, or some part thereof, is duly waived. The complete record shall contain the following:

1. petition,

2. process,

3. return,

4. pleadings subsequent thereto,

5. reports,

6. verdicts,

7. orders,

8. judgments,

9. all material acts and proceedings of the court, and

10. by reference, all journal entries and all such filings as are required to be entered in full in the
appearance dockets.

The complete record may be compiled and filed on microfilm, in a computer system, or in a paper
volume.
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V. EXECUTION DOCKET
The execution docket is also referred to as the "encumbrance book." Its purpose is to provide a ready
reference to the activities of the sheriff regarding attachments and executions filed in a case. It records liens

and encumbrances on land. The information in the execution docket is also found in the appearance docket.

The execution docket may be compiled, filed, and maintained in either a paper volume or a computer
system.

VI. FEE BOOK

The fee book is more commonly known as the "cash and fee ledger." It is the financial accounting
record of the court. All money receipted and disbursed by the court shall be recorded upon the cash and fee
ledger. The ledger shall record the receipts and disbursements of all money held in trust.

The fee book may be compiled, filed, and maintained in either a looseleaf paper ledger or a computer
system.

VII. GENERAL INDEX

The general index is an alphabetical listing of names of the parties to the suit, both direct and inverse,
with the page and book where all proceedings in such action may be found.

The general index may be compiled, filed, and maintained in either a paper volume or a computer
system.
VIII. JUDGMENT RECORD

The judgment record shall contain:

1. the names of the judgment debtor and judgment creditor, arranged alphabetically,

2. the date of judgment,

3. the amount of judgment and costs,

4. the page and book where judgment may be found.

Transcripts of judgments from county courts filed in the district court shall be entered upon the
judgment record, and whenever any judgment is paid and discharged, the clerk shall enter such fact upon the

judgment record in a column provided for that purpose.

The judgment record may be compiled, filed, and maintained in either a paper volume or a computer
system.
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IX. CASE FILE

All cases shall be maintained in a case file which shall be filed numerically and accessible
alphabetically through an index. The case file should contain all pleadings, journal entries, minute entries,
court actions, orders, judgments, verdicts, postjudgment actions, and other documents filed in the case.

Adopted October 15, 1992.
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NEBRASKA SUPREME COURT RULES
FOR THE USE OF FAX MACHINES
IN STATE COURTS

"Fax" means to transmit and reproduce a facsimile of an original document by electronic means. Every court
in the State of Nebraska shall accept for filing a fax transmission of any pleading, motion, or other document,
except for briefs, subject to prepayment of statutory filing fees and subject to the following:

Amended March 10, 1993; September 18, 1996.

1. Equipment. All fax machines shall use plain paper and shall meet standard minimum CCITT Group III
requirements. "CCITT" means Consultative Committee for International Telephone and Telegraph. "Group
IIT" is a standard letter-size document that takes approximately 1 minute for transmission. The fax machine
shall place the date and time of receipt on the transmission received.

2. Dedicated Use. A fax machine in the judicial system shall be used solely for court business. A court may
authorize use of fax equipment by other governmental offices or agencies so long as such use does not interfere
with the conduct of court business.

3. Cover Sheet. A fax transmission for filing shall be preceded by an attached uniform cover sheet approved
by the Supreme Court of Nebraska. The fax cover sheet shall contain the sender's full name, address, telephone
number, and fax number, and, if the sender is a lawyer, the lawyer's identification number assigned by the
Nebraska State Bar Association. The cover sheet shall specify the number of pages in the transmission. The
sender's information supplied on the fax cover sheet shall be typed or printed.

4. Original Transmission. A plain-paper original transmission shall constitute a filing. The sender shall retain
the original document transmitted by fax for a period not less than the maximum allowable time to complete
the appellate process, unless otherwise directed by a court.

5. Limit of Pages Transmitted. Each transmission shall be limited to 10 pages, excluding the cover sheet.
Additional pages may be permitted with prior approval of the clerk at the receiving court. Each transmitted
page shall bear its sequential number in the transmission, e.g., "1 of 10," "2 of 10," etc.

6. Multiple Copies. If a filing requires an original and multiple copies of the original, and when the aggregate
number of pages in the original and multiple copies exceeds the page limit specified in rule 5 of these rules, only
the original, which does not exceed the specified page limit, shall be filed by fax transmission. The required
multiple copies of the original shall be delivered to the clerk of the receiving court within 5 days after fax
transmission of the original. Delivery of multiple copies to the clerk at the receiving court within the 5-day
period constitutes filing the multiple copies on the date that the original fax-transmitted document was filed in
the receiving court.
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7. Fees and Credit Card. In addition to any statutory fee for filing, the following fee shall be paid for fax filings:
$3 for the first page and $1 for each additional page in the transmission. Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 48-187,
the Workers' Compensation Court shall be exempt from charging for receipt of fax filings. No fee is charged
for the cover sheet. No pleading for which payment of a statutory filing fee is required shall be accepted as a
fax transmission unless the filing fee is received at the time of filing. Fees for use of fax filings shall be paid
as prescribed by the receiving court, provided that no fee, except a filing fee required by statute, shall be
charged to any agency of the State of Nebraska or to any agency of a political subdivision of the State of
Nebraska. At the receiving court's option, the fee for a fax transmission may be paid by credit card. Fees for
credit card usage shall be at the rate specified in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 33-126.05 and amendments thereto.

Amended September 18, 1996.

8. Collected Fees. Fees for fax filings received in district court, separate juvenile court, and county court shall
be paid to the general fund of the county where the receiving fax machine is located. Fees paid for credit card
usage to district courts and separate juvenile courts shall be remitted to the general fund of the county where
the fee has been collected. Fees paid for credit card usage to county courts, the Nebraska Court of Appeals,
and the Supreme Court of Nebraska shall be remitted to the general fund of the State of Nebraska. All fees
received for fax filings in the Nebraska Court of Appeals and the Supreme Court of Nebraska shall be remitted
to the general fund of the State of Nebraska.

9. Risk Assumed by Sender. The sender bears all risk in a fax transmission. Electronic transmission of a
document by means of a fax machine does not constitute filing; filing is complete only after the receiving clerk's
acceptance for filing in compliance with applicable statutes and these rules. If a receiving clerk determines that
there has been an error in transmission, such as failure to complete the cover sheet for a transmission or an
interruption in the sequence of pages transmitted, the clerk shall, as soon as practical, fax to the sender notice
specifying the error preventing acceptability for filing. Any fax transmission containing an error that prevents
filing may be disregarded by a clerk, but shall be retained for 10 days and thereafter disposed of unless within
10 days of the fax transmission the sender shall have requested judicial review of the rejection for filing. If a
clerk rejects a filing in a pending proceeding, the clerk's rejection shall be noted on the docket of the court in
which the proceeding is pending. A clerk is not required to acknowledge that a fax transmission has been
received or accepted for filing. A clerk receiving a transmission has no duty to serve on a party a copy of the
faxed transmission.

10. Signature. A person seeking to file a signed document may fax a copy of the original signed document.
Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, a signature reproduced on a fax transmission is an
original signature for the purpose of the fax filing only. Anyone who files a signed document by fax represents
that the original signed document is physically in his or her possession or control.

11. Orders and Warrants. Fax transmission may be used for the issuance of orders or warrants, including, but
not limited to:

(a) an arrest or search warrant;

(b) release or detention of a defendant in custody for a criminal proceeding;

(c) an order or warrant for placing a juvenile in custody or for release or detention of a person subject
to the Nebraska Juvenile Code;
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(d) a temporary restraining order or protection order; and
(e) an order in a domestic relations case.

For all procedural and statutory purposes, a faxed document shall have the same force and effect as the original
document issued by a court.

12. Time of Filing. Filing by fax is allowed during the normal business hours of the receiving court. Unless
prior permission is received from the clerk at the receiving court, any fax transmission received after normal
business hours shall be deemed to be filed on the next business day. The time at which a document shall be
deemed to be received is when the last page of the fax-transmitted document is received by the recipient clerk.

13. Consent to Service. A lawyer who is willing to accept service of papers by fax shall so indicate by including
his or her fax machine telephone number, designated as a "fax number," as part of the lawyer's name, address,
and telephone number on a document filed in an action. A lawyer who files a paper by fax consents to service
of papers on him or her by fax in that proceeding.

14. Appellate Briefs. Neither the Nebraska Court of Appeals nor the Supreme Court of Nebraska will accept
briefs for filing by fax transmission.

Adopted Jan. 13, 1993.
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FAX COVER SHEET
FOR USE IN NEBRASKA COURTS

USE ONLY FOR DOCUMENTS TO BE FILED IN THE COURT FILE

FILINGS: Filings by electronic transmission of a facsimile are governed by "Nebraska Supreme Court Rules for the
Use of Fax Machines in State Courts."

PAGE LIMIT: No single transmission shall exceed ten (10) pages without special permission from the clerk who will
receive the transmission. The FAX COVER SHEET is not counted in the limit on pages for transmission.

FEES: Fees forfiling by fax transmission shall be paid in compliance with statutes and the "Nebraska Supreme Court
Rules for the Use of Fax Machines in State Courts."

TYPE OR PRINT INFORMATION

1. SENDER'S NAME AND ADDRESS:

N.S.B.A. No.
2. SENDER'S TELEPHONE NUMBER: SENDER'S FAX NUMBER:
3. RECEIVING COURT: COURT'S FAX NUMBER:

4. CASE CAPTION:

VS.

5. CASE NUMBER:

6. DOCUMENT TRANSMITTED:
A. Nature of Document:
B. Number of Pages in Document:
C. Total Pages Transmitted (Excluding Cover Sheet):

7. FEES: (No fee for cover page)
1. StAtUtOry filING fEE ..o $
2. First Page ($3.00) ....eiiuireeireeeiriee et st
3. Additional pages ($1.00 PEr PAGE) ....cuereeeruereriereriereete e
4. Credit Card FEe ($3.00) ...ccceiririreeeieerieerie et

TOTAL FEES: ...ttt $
8. CREDIT CARD:
MasterCard Account No.:
Visa
Other Expiration Date:
(Type or print name of cardholder) (Signature of cardholder)

APPROVED BY NEBRASKA SUPREME COURT: JANUARY 1993

-27.4-



Uniform District Court Rules of Practice and Procedure

UNIFORM DISTRICT COURT RULES OF PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

SCOPE AND EFFECTIVE DATE

These rules become effective September 1, 1995, supersede all existing local rules of practice, and shall
govern the procedures in the district courts of the State of Nebraska.

Rule 1
LOCAL RULES

Each district court by action of a majority of its judges may from time to time recommend local rules
concerning matters not covered by these rules and which are not inconsistent with any directive of the
Nebraska Supreme Court or statutes of the State of Nebraska. Such recommended rules shall be submitted
in writing and on a disk in a Microsoft Word compatible format. Any language that creates a rule or is to
be added to a rule shall be underscored, and any language to be deleted from a rule shall be overstruck.
Such recommended rules shall become effective upon the approval of the Supreme Court, at which time
they shall be filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals and be published in the
Nebraska Advance Sheets. Once approved and published, copies thereof shall be made available to the
bar and public through the office of the Clerk of the District Court recommending the rules.

Rule 1 amended October 14, 1999; Rule 1 amended June 5, 2002.

Rule 2

ORGANIZATION OF THE COURT

The court may divide itself into such divisions in each district as it deems necessary for the effective
administration of justice and may elect a presiding judge if necessary from among its number.

Rule 3

PLEADINGS

A. Form: All pleadings shall be on 8% x 11-inch paper; type shall be 12 point (10 pitch pica) and black in
color. Exhibits attached to pleadings shall be similarly prepared in permanent form, shall be readable, and
shall not be subject to unusual fading or deterioration.
B. Identification of Pleadings: All petitions offered for filing shall plainly show the caption of the case, a
description or designation of the contents, and on whose behalf they are filed. All further pleadings shall
show the number of the case and the docket and page numbers, and a proof of service shall be endorsed

upon the original copy.

C. Orders: All proposed orders shall be by separate document and not a part of any other pleadings.
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D. Copies: Upon request, parties shall immediately furnish to the clerk clear and legible copies of any
pleading, order, judgment, exhibit, or any other matter of record, in such numbers as necessary to enable
the clerk to comply with the provisions of any statute or rule. This direction includes, but is not limited to,
requirements or service of process and preparation of records on appeal.

E. Identification of Attorney: All pleadings shall be signed by an individual attorney, whether for himself
or herself or on behalf of a firm; the name, address, telephone number, and bar identification number shall
be typed under all signatures of attorneys appearing on each pleading.

F. Criminal Case Informations: Informations in criminal cases shall cite the statute under which each
count of the information is brought and shall cite the class of offense and statute prescribing the penalty.

G. Improperly Filed Pleadings: Any pleading which does not conform to these rules will be subject to a
motion to strike from the file or such other action as the court deems proper.

Rule 4
DOMESTIC RELATIONS CASES
A. All applications for temporary custody, support, and maintenance shall comply with Nebraska statutes.

B. All applications for temporary support and allowances shall be determined without testimony upon
argument and affidavits setting forth information required by Nebraska Child Support Guidelines and
Nebraska statutes.

C. A properly completed Department of Health Bureau of Vital Statistics form shall be filed with each
petition for dissolution of marriage, and no decree will be entered unless each form is completed in full.

D. If any case contains an order or judgment for child or spousal support, or for the payment of medical
expenses, the order shall include the following statements:

1. Delinquent child or spousal support shall accrue interest at the following rate: (insert the rate in
effect on judgments as published in the applicable issue of the Nebraska Advance Sheets).

2. If immediate income withholding is not required by law to be ordered in a case and is not so
ordered, the following statement shall be included:

In the event the obligor fails to pay any child support, spousal support, or other payment
ordered to be made through the clerk of the district court, as such failure is certified each month
by said clerk in cases in which court-ordered support is delinquent in an amount equal to the
support due and payable for a one-month period of time, the obligor shall be subject to income
withholding and may be required to appear in court and show cause why such payment was not
made. In the event the obligor fails to pay and appear as ordered, a warrant shall be issued for his
or her arrest.

3. If, regardless of whether payments are in arrears, the court orders income withholding pursuant
to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-1718.01 or § 43-1718.02, the statement specified in part E(2) of this rule shall be
altered to read as follows:

In the event the obligor fails to pay any child, spousal support, or medical payment, as
such failure is certified each month by the district court clerk in cases in which court-ordered
support is delinquent in an amount equal to the support due and payable for a one-month period
of time, the obligor may be required to appear in court and show cause why such payment was
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not made. In the event the obligor (respondent or petitioner) fails to pay and appear as ordered, a
warrant shall be issued for his or her arrest.

E. Any order for support presented to the court shall require the obligor to furnish to the clerk of the court
his or her address, telephone number, social security number, the name of his or her employer, and the
name of his or her health insurance carrier, if any, together with the number of the policy and the address
at which claims are to be submitted. The order shall further require the obligor to advise the clerk of any
changes in such information until the judgment has been fully paid. If both parents are parties to the
action, such order shall provide that each be required to furnish to the clerk of the court whether he or she
has access to employer-related health insurance coverage and, if so, the health insurance policy
information.

F. A worksheet showing calculations under the Nebraska Child Support Guidelines shall be attached to
every cild support application, order, or decree and shall be prepared by the party requesting child
support, except that in a contested matter the worksheet shall be prepared by the court and attached to the
order or decree.

Rule 4E(2) and (3) amended April 17, 1996; Rule 4F amended January 3, 1997; Rule 4 amended May 19, 2004 (4D deleted and 4E-G renumbered to 4D-F).

Rule 5
BRIEFS

A. Paper: Briefs shall be typed on 8% x ll-inch paper; type shall be 12 point (10 point pica) and black in
color.

B. Distribution: The original brief shall be presented to the judge and not filed with the clerk, with a copy
served upon opposing counsel; proof of such service shall be endorsed on the original brief.

C. Citations: Citation to authorities shall conform to generally accepted uniform standards of citation;
citation of Nebraska cases shall include the Nebraska Reports or the Nebraska Appellate Reports and
North Western Reporter citation.

Rule 6
BANKRUPTCY

A. Civil cases in which a party has been named as a debtor in a voluntary or involuntary bankruptcy
petition: In any civil case pending before this court in which a party has been named as a debtor in a
voluntary or involuntary bankruptcy petition, a Suggestion of Bankruptcy and either (1) a certified copy
of the bankruptcy petition, (2) a copy of the bankruptcy petition bearing the filing stamp of the clerk of
the bankruptcy court, or (3) a copy of a "Notice of Bankruptcy Case Filing" generated by the Bankruptcy
Court’s electronic filing system shall be filed by the party named as a debtor or by any other party with
knowledge of the bankruptcy petition. Upon the filing of the Suggestion of Bankruptcy and one of the
three bankruptcy documents noted immediately above, no further action will be taken in the case by the
court or by the parties until it can be shown to the satisfaction of the court that the automatic stay imposed
by 11 U.S.C. § 362 does not apply or that the automatic stay has been terminated, annulled, modified, or
conditioned so as to allow the case to proceed. Such a showing shall be made by motion.

B. Requests for disbursement of funds or distribution of property of or to a party named as a debtor in a
bankruptcy proceeding: In any civil case in which a Suggestion of Bankruptcy and one of the three
bankruptcy documents noted in paragraph A above have been filed, no request for a disbursement of
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funds or distribution of property of or to a party named as a debtor shall be made, and no order disbursing
funds or distributing property of or to a party named as debtor will be entered. A request for disbursement
of funds or distribution of property may be made after a showing, satisfactory to the court, that such funds
or property has been abandoned by the trustee in bankruptcy or that the funds or property has been
exempted by the debtor in the bankruptcy proceedings or that the party named as debtor in the bankruptcy
petition, rather than the trustee in bankruptcy, is otherwise entitled to disbursement of such funds or
distribution of such property. Such a showing shall be made by affidavit.

Rule 6(A) and (B) amended October 23, 2002.

Rule 7
REGISTRATION OF FOREIGN JUDGMENTS

Upon the filing of a foreign judgment and affidavit as required by statute, the clerk of the district court
shall, within 10 days of such filing, mail notice of the filing of the foreign judgment to the judgment
debtor at the address provided within the affidavit.

Rule 7 amended June 28, 1995.

Rule 8
DEFAULT JUDGMENTS

When a party is entitled to have a monetary judgment or an amount determined to be due by default based
upon a contract action, such party shall submit, with the order entering judgment, a statement of the
principal amount due, which shall not exceed the amount sued for, showing credit for any payments and
the amounts and dates thereof, and a separate computation of interest, if prayed for, to date of judgment.
To such statement shall be appended an affidavit of the party or his or her attorney showing that the party
against whom judgment is sought is not a minor or incompetent person or in the military service, that
such amount shown by the statement is justly due and owing, and that no part thereof has been paid
except as set forth in the statement.

When a party is entitled to a monetary judgment on all other actions, such party shall adduce evidence in
proof of damages. Such evidence shall be under oath unless waived by the court. Such party, in addition,
shall submit an affidavit of the party or the party's attorney that the party against whom the judgment is
sought is not a minor or incompetent person or in the military service.

If further documentation, proof, or hearing is required, the court shall so notify the moving party.
Rule 9
DISMISSALS AND SETTLEMENTS

It shall be the duty of attorneys to immediately notify the court of the dismissal, settlement, or other final
disposition of any case. Upon notice to the court or to the clerk that an action has been settled, counsel
shall file, within 30 days thereafter, unless otherwise directed by written order, such pleadings as are
necessary to terminate the action; upon failure to do so, the court may order dismissal of the action
without further notice and without prejudice to the right to secure reinstatement of the case within 60 days
after the date of said order by making a showing of good cause as to why settlement was not in fact
consummated.
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Rule 10
WITHDRAWAL OF COUNSEL

Upon motion for withdrawal and notice to all counsel and the client involved, an attorney who has
appeared of record in a case may be given leave to withdraw for good cause shown after filing with the
clerk the motion, notice of hearing, and proof of service upon counsel and the client involved.

Upon entry of any final order in any case, and after the time for appeal has expired, the attorney of record
shall no longer be deemed to continue as the attorney of record unless he or she shall have entered a new
appearance in the case.

When an attorney is discharged by his or her client, the attorney shall forthwith file notice thereof in the
case and serve opposing counsel therewith.

Rule 11
COURTROOM DECORUM

A. Attendance: All parties and their attorneys shall be present in the courtroom and prepared to proceed at
the hour set for hearing by the court. Unjustified failure to appear shall subject the case to dismissal or
disciplinary action to the attorneys concerned.

B. Attire: Attorneys shall be attired in ordinary business wear.

C. Conduct in Courtroom: When the judge enters the courtroom, those present shall rise and remain
standing until the judge is seated. When sessions of court are recessed or concluded, those present shall
remain in their seats until the judge or jury has left the courtroom.

Except when it is necessary for counsel to approach a witness or exhibit, the examination of
witnesses shall be conducted while seated at the counsel table or, if the courtroom is equipped with an
attorney's lectern, from the lectern.

Except upon express permission of the judge, all communications to the court shall be made from
the counsel table or lectern.

Counsel shall not approach opposing counsel, the bench, the witness, the court reporter's desk, the
clerk's desk, or otherwise move from the counsel table or lectern without the permission of the court,
except to make a voir dire examination, opening statement, or closing argument, or to present an exhibit
for identification.

Counsel shall not participate in colloquy with opposing counsel, whether audible or inaudible,
without the permission of the court.

If any counsel, including co-counsel, wishes to leave the courtroom, permission of the court shall
be obtained. No counsel shall leave during the testimony of any witness he or she is examining, or has
examined, without the permission of the court.

Witnesses and parties shall be referred to and addressed by their surnames. Only one counsel for
each party shall examine a witness or make objections during the testimony of such witness. Counsel
shall not approach a witness without permission of the court.
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All persons entering the courtroom while court is in session shall be seated immediately and shall
conduct themselves in a quiet and orderly manner. No person shall smoke, eat, drink beverages, or engage
in other distracting conduct in the courtroom while court is in session.

No person shall possess any firearm or other dangerous weapon in the courtroom or in any public
area adjacent to it without the permission of the court.

Upon order of the court, any person may be subjected to a search of his or her person and
possessions for any weapons, destructive device, or components thereof.

Jurors, either prospective or selected, shall not mingle or converse with counsel, litigants,
witnesses, or spectators during the trial of a case.

Rule 12
DUTIES OF COURT PERSONNEL

A. Sheriff's Duties: The sheriff or designated deputy shall be in attendance at all times when the court is
in session, unless excused by the court.

The sheriff shall maintain order in the courtroom and shall correct or repress all improper
deportment so as not to interrupt the orderly process of the court, without any express order from the
court.

B. Bailiff's Duties: The bailiff shall have and carry out such duties as may be assigned to the bailiff by the
court, including, but not limited to, the following:

Before beginning each session of court, the bailiff shall see that the jury and all required court
personnel are in their proper places, and the bailiff shall notify the court. The bailiff shall be responsible
for the comfort and welfare of any juror under the bailiff's charge and for compliance with the rules
attendant on jurors. The bailiff shall immediately notify the court of all communications from the jurors to
the bailiff, and the bailiff shall not respond to any such communication without the direction of the court.

C. Duties of the Clerk of the Court:

1. The clerk of the district court shall be present at all times during the sessions of the court,
either in person or by deputy, unless excused by the court.

2. The clerk shall prepare and maintain such dockets and records as may be required by the court,
Supreme Court rule, or the statutes of Nebraska.

3. The clerk shall have the following duties in addition to all statutory duties, if so directed by the
court:

(a) The clerk shall immediately, upon receipt, notify the court and sheriff of the return of
any mandate from the Nebraska Supreme Court in every criminal case, and notify the court in
every civil case.

(b) The clerk shall have such other and additional duties, not inconsistent with the
responsibilities of the office, as may be directed by the court.
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Rule 13
RELEASE OF INFORMATION BY COURT PERSONNEL

All court personnel, including, but not limited to, sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, court clerks, bailiffs, court
reporters, law clerks, secretaries, or other employees of the court shall not disclose, without authorization
by the court, to any person any information relating to a pending case that is not part of the public records
of the court.
Court personnel shall not communicate in any form or manner, directly or indirectly, with any member of
a jury panel, any venireperson, or any juror any facts, opinions, or information of any nature directly or
indirectly related to any cause pending before the court to which personnel are assigned.

Rule 14

RELEASE OF INFORMATION BY ATTORNEYS

A. Statements Not to be Made: A lawyer shall not make an extrajudicial statement that the lawyer knows
or reasonably should know will have a substantial likelihood of materially prejudicing an adjudicative
proceeding. An extrajudicial statement ordinarily is likely to have such an effect when it refers to a civil
matter triable to a jury, or a criminal matter or proceeding that could result in incarceration, and the

statement relates to:

1. The character, credibility, reputation, or criminal record of a party, suspect in a criminal
investigation, or witness, or the identity of a witness, or the expected testimony of a party or witness;

2. The performance or results of any examination or test or the refusal or failure of a person to
submit to an examination or test, or the identity or nature of physical evidence expected to be presented;

3. Any opinion as to the guilt or innocence of a defendant or suspect in a criminal case or
proceeding that could result in incarceration; or

4. Information the lawyer knows or reasonably should know is likely to be inadmissible as
evidence in a trial and would, if disclosed, create a substantial risk of prejudicing an impartial trial.

B. Statements Which May be Made: A lawyer involved in the investigation or litigation of a matter may
state without elaboration:

1. The general nature of the claim or defense;

2. Information contained in a public record,

3. That investigation of the matter is in progress, including the general scope of the investigation,
the offense, claim, or defense involved, and, except when prohibited by law, the identity of the person
involved;

4. The scheduling or result of any step in litigation;

5. A request for assistance in obtaining evidence and information necessary thereto;
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6. A warning of danger concerning the behavior of a person involved, when there is reason to
believe that such danger exists; and

7. In a criminal case, a lawyer may disclose:
(a) The identity, residence, occupation, and family status of the defendant or suspect;

(b) If the defendant or suspect has not been apprehended, information necessary to aid in
apprehension of that person;

(c) The fact, time, and place of arrest, and resistance, pursuit, and use of weapons; and
(d) The identity of investigating and arresting officers or agencies and the length of that
investigation.
Rule 15
JUDICIAL SALES
Every purchaser at a judicial sale held by a sheriff, receiver, referee, or master commissioner, except a
lienholder to the extent that he or she uses his or her lien as his or her bid, shall, at the time of acceptance
of the bid, deposit with the sheriff, receiver, referee, or master commissioner, a sum equal to 15 percent of
the bid to be held for disposition on the further order of the court.
Rule 16
JURY TRIALS
A. Voir Dire Examination of Prospective Jurors:

1. Questions are to be asked collectively of the entire panel whenever possible.

2. The case may not be argued in any way while questioning the jurors.

3. Prospective jurors may not be questioned concerning anticipated instructions or theories of law
and may not be asked for promises or commitments as to the kind of verdict they would return under any
given circumstance.

B. Objections and Motions: Objections and motions during trial, and the grounds therefor, shall be briefly
and succinctly stated to the trial judge. If either counsel desires to be heard further, a request may be made
to the trial judge, but arguments on such matters shall not be made without permission of the court.

C. Argument to Jury: The length of time allotted to each side for the final argument shall be determined

by the court, after giving due consideration to the nature and duration of the trial and the amount of time
requested by each side.
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Rule 17
PROCEDURE FOR FILING OF CRIMINAL HOMICIDE REPORTS

In order to fulfill the purpose of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2524.01, the following procedure is established: (1)
The county attorney shall complete the reporting form (Appendix 1), (2) the sentencing judge shall sign
the form on line 10, and (3) the defense counsel (if any) shall sign the form on line 11. The county
attorney shall then forward the form to the State Court Administrator within 30 days of the disposition of
the case.

Rule 17 adopted November 18, 1998.

Rule 18
STATEMENT OF ERRORS

Within 10 days of filing the bill of exceptions in an appeal to the district court, the appellant shall file
with the district court a statement of errors which shall consist of a separate, concise statement of each
error a party contends was made by the trial court. Each assignment of error shall be separately numbered
and paragraphed. Consideration of the cause will be limited to errors assigned and discussed, provided
that the district court may, at its option, notice plain error not assigned. This rule shall not apply to small
claims appeals.

Rule 18 amended November 18, 1998.

Rule 19
MODIFICATION OF RULES

Upon the showing of good cause, a rule may be suspended in a particular instance in order to avoid a
manifest injustice.

Rule 19 amended November 18, 1998.

Rule 20
TRANSCRIPT AND BILL OF EXCEPTIONS CHECKOUT

Any bill of exceptions prepared for appeal of a case to the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals and filed in
the office of the clerk of the district court shall be made available for checkout to an attorney of record for
a period of 30 days. A receipt shall be signed for such record and left with the clerk. If counsel is notified
by the clerk of the district court within the 30-day checkout period that the bill of exceptions is required
for filing with the appellate courts pursuant to Neb. Ct. R. of Prac. 5B(3), the attorney shall immediately
return the record to the clerk of the district court.

In the event that a brief date extension is requested by counsel of record pursuant to Neb. Ct. R. of Prac.
9, and the same is granted, the clerk of the district court shall afford counsel additional time to retain such
bill of exceptions to complete the appellate brief. Such additional time shall be for either (1) a period not
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to exceed the date established as the Final Brief Date in the appellate court order or (2) a period of 30
days if no Final Brief Date is set therein. A copy of such extension request and order granting the same
shall be sent to the clerk of the district court by counsel making such request.

Any litigant is entitled to inspect the original transcript and bill of exceptions in his or her case at the
office of the clerk of the trial court. Transcripts and bills of exceptions shall not be checked out to
litigants. Any nonincarcerated litigant is entitled to obtain a copy of his or her transcript or bill of
exceptions by filing a written request with the clerk of the trial court. A copy of the transcript shall be
prepared by the clerk of the trial court and a copy of the bill of exceptions shall be prepared by the court
reporter at litigant’s cost unless the litigant has been allowed to proceed in forma pauperis in the action in
which the request for a record has been made. Except for good cause shown, any additional copies of the
transcript and/or the bill of exceptions once provided to a litigant on an in forma pauperis basis shall be
prepared at the litigant’s costs.

When a request is made to the clerk of the trial court for a transcript of pleadings by or on behalf of any
incarcerated person, the clerk of the trial court shall prepare two copies, one to be filed in the court to
which the matter is being appealed and one to be sent to the incarcerated person at the correctional center
where he or she resides. The cost shall be paid by the person making the request unless the person has
been allowed to proceed in forma pauperis in the action in which the request for a record has been made.
Except for good cause shown, any additional copies of the transcript once provided to a litigant on an in
forma pauperis basis shall be prepared at the litigant’s cost.

When a request is made by or on behalf of any incarcerated person for a bill of exceptions, the court
reporter shall prepare the original to be filed with the clerk of the trial court. The court reporter shall also
prepare a duplicate copy at the statutory rate for copies and send it to the incarcerated person at the
correctional center where he or she resides. The copy shall contain the index of exhibits but shall not
include exhibits. The cost shall be paid by the person making the request unless that person has been
allowed to proceed in forma pauperis in the action in which the request for a record has been made.
Except for good cause shown, any additional copies of the bill of exceptions once provided to a litigant on
an in forma pauperis basis shall be prepared at the litigant’s cost. An incarcerated person may request
copies of exhibits by filing a motion with the court having jurisdiction of the case.

Where a request for a copy of a transcript or a bill of exceptions is made on an in forma pauperis basis
and an action is not pending, good cause must be shown by the litigant making the request for the
necessity of a copy. A copy shall be provided only upon an order of the court.

Rule 20 adopted December 29, 1999; Rule 20 amended September 27, 2000; Rule 20 amended May 21, 2003.

Uniform District Court Rules of Practice and Procedure adopted May 24, 1995.
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STATE OF NEBRASKA NEBRASKA COUNTY ATTORNEY CASE NUMBER

§ 29-2524.01

1.
2.

10.

11.

DATE:

CRIMINAL HOMICIDE REPORT

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2524.01 provides that the county attorney must file the following report
with the State Court Administrator within thirty days of the ultimate disposition by the court of every
criminal homicide case filed by the county attorney.

In the District Court of

State of Nebraska vs. DOB:
Address:

Initial charges filed:

Date: ,

Were any of the initial charges reduced? __ Yes __ No. If yes, what were the reduced charges?

Was the reduction a result from a plea bargain? __ Yes ___ No, another reason which was:

Were there any charges dismissed prior to trial? ___ Yes ___ No. If yes, they were:

On , , the outcome of the trial was:

_ Found guilty __ Found not guilty
__Charges were dismissed

__ Found guilty of a lesser included offense:
Other:

On , , the following sentence was imposed:

Was appeal taken? __ Yes __ No Date:

Sentencing Judge:
(Signature)

Defense Counsel:
(Signature)

County Attorney

Print Name

Mail to: State Court Administrator, P.O. Box 98910, Lincoln, NE 68509-8910

Form adopted November 18, 1998.

Appendix 1

County
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Mandate: District Court to County Court
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF , COUNTY, NEBRASKA

TO: County Court of County, Nebraska

WHEREAS, in an action in your court, captioned:

* %

you rendered judgment.

And WHEREAS, has prosecuted an appeal to
this court.

ON CONSIDERATION OF and Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-2733, the judgment which you
rendered has been reviewed for error appearing on the record made in the county court and has been *
by the district court and has become a final order of this court on
. Costs of this appeal, including the costs in the county court, are to be paid by
and taxed at $ *E,

NOW, THEREFORE, you shall without delay, proceed to enter judgment in conformity with the
decision and opinion of this court attached hereto.

WITNESS the Honorable , District Judge, and the seal of this court.
DATED:

Clerk of the District Court

* Affirmed, Affirmed but modified, Reversed, Reversed and remanded or Dismissed. (If the district court
reverses, it may enter judgment in accordance with its findings or remand the case to the county court for further
proceedings consistent with the judgment of the district court.)

District Court No. /¥*COSTS ASSESSED IN DISTRICT COURT
/Costs due Clerk of District Court $
County Court No. /Docket fee due $
/Due
Date District Court /Due
judgment issued /Due
/Due
/Due
/Due
/Due

PP PP L Ps P

Appendix 2

This form is neither approved nor disapproved by any court or judicial tribunal. Use of this form provides no immunity from error.
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Rule Requiring Filing of NSBA Rules With Supreme Court

RULE REQUIRING FILING OF
NEBRASKA STATE BAR ASSOCIATION RULES
WITH SUPREME COURT

The Nebraska State Bar Association shall at all times keep on file with the Clerk of the Nebraska
Supreme Court and Court of Appeals a current copy of its By-Laws and all rules under which its House of
Delegates, Executive Council, and various committees operate.

Amended January 22, 1998.
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PREFACE

At its August 1990 annual meeting, the American Bar Association House of Delegates adopted the
ABA Modd Codeof Judicial Conduct (1990), culminating several yearsof work by various ABA committees.
The Nebraska Supreme Court assigned the task of reviewing the ABA Modd Code to the Nebraska Judicial
Ethics Advisory Committee. This Nebraska Code of Judicia Conduct (1992) is the result of the committee's
work. Theadvisory committee suggested a number of modificationstothe ABA Modd Code. Thereader must
be aware that this Nebraska Code of Judicial Conduct (1992) and the ABA Modd Code of Judicial Conduct
(1990) are not fully interchangeable.
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NEBRASKA CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT

PREAMBLE

Our lega system is based on the principle that an independent, fair, and competent judiciary will
interpret and apply thelaws that govern us. Theroleof thejudiciary is central to American concepts of justice
and the rule of law. Intrinsic to all sections of this Code are the precepts that judges, individualy and
collectively, must respect and honor the judicial office as a public trust and strive to enhance and maintain
confidencein our legal system. The judge is an arbiter of facts and law for the resolution of disputes and a
highly visible symbol of government under the rule of law.

This Code is intended to establish standards for ethical conduct of judges of this state. It condists of
broad statements called Canons, specific rulesset forth in Sections under each Canon, a Terminology Section,
an Application Section, and Comments. Thetext of the Canons and the Sections, including the Terminology
and Application Sections, isauthoritative The Comments, by expl anation and exampl e, provide guidancewith
respect to the purpose and meaning of the Canons and Sections. The Comments are not intended as a statement
of additional rules. When the text uses "shal" or "shdl not," it isintended to impose binding abligations, the
violation of which can result in disciplinary action. When "should" or "should not" is used, thetext is intended
as hortatory and as a statement of what is or is not appropriate conduct, but not as abinding ruleunder which
ajudge may bedisciplined. When"may" is used, it denotes permissi bl ediscretion or, dgpending on the context,
it refersto action that is nat covered under specific proscriptions.

The Canons and Sections are rules of reason. They should be applied consistent with congtitutional
requirements, statutes, other court rules, and decisional law and in the context of all relevant circumstances.
The Codeis to be construed so as to nat impinge on the essential indgpendence of judges in making judicial
decisions.

The Codeis designed to provide guidance to judges and candidates for judicial office and to provide
astructure for regulating conduct through disciplinary agencies. It is not designed or intended as a basis for
civil liability or criminal prosecution. Furthermore, the purpose of the Code would be subverted if the Code
were invoked by lawyers for mere tactical advantage in a proceeding.

Thetext of the Canons and Sectionsisintended to govern conduct of judges. However, this Codeisnot
intended as an exhaustive guide for the conduct of judges. They should also be governed in their judicial and
personal conduct by general ehical sandards. The Codeisintended, however, to state basic standards which
should governthe conduct of all judges and to provide guidanceto assist judgesin establishing and maintaining
high standards of judicial and personal conduct.
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TERMINOLOGY

Terms explained below are noted with asteriks* in the sections where they appear. In addition, the sections
where terms appear are referred to after the explanation of each term bel ow.

APPROPRIATE AUTHORITY
The Nebraska Commission on Judicial Qualifications and the Nebraska Supreme Court Counsel for
Discipline See sections 3D(1) and 3D(2).

Amended July 13, 2005, effective September 1, 2005.

CANDIDATE
A person seeking selection for or retention injudicial office. A person becomesa candidatefor judicial
officeas soon as heor she makes a public announcement of candidacy, declares or filesas a candidate
with the secretary of state, or authorizes solicitation or acceptance of contributions or support. The
term"candidate” has the same meaning when applied to ajudge seeking election or appointment to non-
judicial office See preamble and sections 5A, 5B, 5C, and 5E.

COURT PERSONNEL
Does not include the lawyers in a proceeding before a judge. See sections 3B(7)(c) and 3B(9).

DE MINIMIS
An insignificant interest that could not raise reasonable question as to a judge's impartiality. See
sections 3E(1)(c) and 3E(1)(d).

ECONOMIC INTEREST
Ownership of alegal or equitableinterest, however small, or ardationship asofficer, director, advisor,
or other active participant in the affairs of a party, except that:

(1) ownership of an interest ina mutual or common investment fund that holds securitiesis
not an economic interest in such securities unlessthe judge participates in the management of the fund
or a proceeding pending or impending before the judge could subgtantially affect the value of the
interest;

(2) service by a judge as an officer, director, advisor or cther active participant in an
educational, religious, charitable, fraternal, or civic organization, or serviceby ajudgesspouse, parert,
or child as an officer, director, advisor, or other active participant in any organization does not create
an economic interest in securities held by that organization;

(3) adeposit inafinancia institution, the proprietary interest of a policyhol der in a mutual
insurance company, of adepositor in a mutua savings association or of a member in a credit union,
or asimilar proprietary interet, is not an economic interest in the organization unless a proceeding
pending or impending before the judge could substantially affect the value of theinterest;

(4) ownership of government securities is not an economic interest in the issuer unless a

proceeding pending or impending before thejudge could substantially affect thevalueof the securities.
See sections 3E(1)(c) and 3E(2).
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FIDUCIARY
Includes such relationships as personal representative, conservator, attorney in fact, trustee, and
guardian. See sections 3E(2) and 4E.

FOURTH DEGREE OF RELATIONSHIP
The following persons are relatives within the fourth degree of relationship: great-great-grandparent,
great-uncle or grest-aunt, brother, sister, great-great-grandchild, grandnephew or grandniece, or first
cousin. See section 3E(1)(d).

JUDGE
Persons subject to this Code as defined in the application section herein.

KNOWINGLY, KNOWLEDGE, KNOWN, or KNOWS
Actual knowledge of the fact in question. A person's knowledge may be inferred from circumstances.
See sections 3D, 3E(1), and 5A(3).

LAW
All court rules adopted by the Nebraska Supreme Court, including the Workplace Harassment Policy
and Drug-Free Workplace Policy, aswell as statutes, constitutional provisions, and decisonal law. See
sections 2A, 3A, 3B(2), 4B, 4C, 4D(5), 4F, 41, 5A(2), 5B(2), 5C(1), and 5D.

Amended Feb. 10, 1999.

MEMBER OF THE CANDIDATE'S FAMILY
A spouse, child, grandchild, parent, grandparent, or other relativ