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INTRODUCTION

This booklet explains the responsibilities of county treasurers with respect to the collection
of Nebraska and local sales and use tax and the tire fee on motor vehicles, trailers, and
semitrailers. It is not designed to answer all questions, but is intended to be a source of
reference for most daily transactions.

County treasurers are encouraged to contact the Nebraska Department of Revenue
(Department) at any of the regional offices listed below for any questions not answered in
this booklet.

Where the term “motor vehicle” is used in this guide, it includes motor vehicles, trailers,
and semitrailers.

Where the term “county treasurer” is used in this guide, it includes county treasurers or
designated county officials.

= — FOR NEBRASKA TAX ASSISTANCE

Nebraska Department of

REVENUE www.revenue.ne.gov

Contact your regional office, or call (800) 742-7474 (toll free in NE and |1A), or (402) 471-5729.
GRAND ISLAND NORFOLK OMAHA
TierOne Bank Building, Suite 460 304 North 5th Street, Suite “D” Nebraska State Office Building
1811 West Second Street Norfolk, Nebraska 68701-4091 1313 Farnam-on-the-Mall
Grand Island, Nebraska 68803-5469 Telephone (402) 370-3333 Omaha, Nebraska 68102-1871
Telephone (308) 385-6067 Telephone (402) 595-2065
LINCOLN NORTH PLATTE SCOTTSBLUFF
Nebraska State Office Building Craft State Office Building Panhandle State Office Complex
301 Centennial Mall South 200 South Silber Street 4500 Avenue I, Box 1500
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4818 North Platte, Nebraska 69101-4200 Scottsbluff, Nebraska 69363-1500
Telephone (402) 471-5729 Telephone (308) 535-8250 Telephone (308) 632-1200

For E-Commerce, call (800) 433-8631.

A TDD (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf) is available for deaf or hearing-impaired individuals. The dedicated access number is
(800) 382-9309.



VEHICLES SUBJECT TO TAX

The county treasurer is required to collect sales and use tax upon the registration of all motor vehicles,
trailers, and semitrailers that DO NOT qualify for a sales and use tax exemption. The tax is collected on the
sales transactions listed below: (see Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 60-301 - 60-3, 221, the Motor Vehicle Registration

Act):

1.

Motor vehicles. All motor vehicles that require registration and are propelled by any power other
than muscular power, including vehicles designed as living quarters, such as motor homes.

Cabin trailers. A cabin trailer is any trailer designed for living quarters and for being towed by
a motor vehicle and not exceeding eight feet in width, 40 feet in length from front hitch to rear
bumper, or 13’2 feet in height.

Leased motor vehicles — lessor’s option. Lessors operating under the lessor’s option are required
to pay the tax on their cost of the motor vehicle when the vehicle is first registered when BOTH of
the two following conditions apply:

a. The vehicle is being leased for a period of one year or more; and

The lessor has received approval from the Department to operate under the lessor’s option and
has checked Exemption Category #5 on Form 6. For additional information, please see Sales
and Use Tax Regulation 1-019.07.

Repossessed motor vehicles.

a.

When a repossessed motor vehicle is sold to the original owner or any other person, the amount
subject to tax is the total amount paid to the repossessor in order for the original owner or other
person to obtain a new title to the vehicle. It includes the amount due to pay off the note (debt),
and any other amounts that must be paid to the repossessor for reimbursement of the expenses
incurred for repossessing the vehicle.

When motor vehicles have been repossessed and the repossessor registers it for his or her own
use, the amount subject to tax is the amount of the debt forgiven and any other consideration.

Homemade trailers.

a.

When a trailer is built and the builder registers it, the builder must produce evidence that sales
tax was paid on the materials, or evidence that sales tax was not due on the purchase of the
materials because the purchase qualified for the occasional sale exemption (refer to Sales and
Use Regulation 1-022, Occasional Sales).

In this situation, the county treasurer should register the vehicle without collecting sales tax
and write on the bottom of the Form 6: “TPV — Homemade Trailer” (TPV means “Tax Paid
Vendor”).

Retailers who are not licensed motor vehicle dealers who sell unassembled trailer kits are required
to collect sales tax on the total amount charged for the kit. If the trailer is assembled and registered
in Nebraksa, the purchaser is required to pay the tax unless the purchaser can provide proof that
sales tax was paid on the purchase price of the kit. The purchaser’s receipt is probably the only
documentation available. Without proof of payment of sales tax on the purchase of the kit, the county
treasurer must collect the appropriate tax.


http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.htm#019
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.htm#019
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.htm#022
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.htm#022

¢. When the sale of a homemade trailer is between private individuals, the selling price must be
indicated on the bill of sale, and must be shown on the Form 6.

6. Vehicles purchased in another state. Any person who purchases a motor vehicle in another “state,

commonwealth, territory, possession, or country” (“other jurisdiction”) and operates the motor
vehicle on its highways on an in-transit or temporary permit, or other temporary license for a limited
time with intent to remove it from the other jurisdiction, is required to pay the tax at the time the
vehicle is registered in this state.

Credit for tax paid to another state may be allowed. Please refer to “Credit for Tax Paid to Another
State” on page 6.

7. Trailers. All boat trailers, utility trailers, and semitrailers drawn by vehicles require registration.

EXCEPTIONS

The county treasurer will NOT collect sales and use tax on motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers that
are not required to be registered in Nebraska, or that may not be legally operated on the streets, roads,
or highways of this state. Retailers who sell any of the vehicles listed below are required to collect the
applicable tax. Vehicles of this type include, but are not limited to:

L.

Every vehicle designed for living quarters that is more than eight feet wide, or that is two stories or
more in height when in place for use as living quarters;

Mini-bikes, mopeds, off-road motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles, golf carts, snowmobiles, snow
plows, riding lawn mowers, garden tractors, hay wagons, fertilizer spreaders, farm tractors, farm
trailers exclusively pulled by a farm tractor, and other implements of husbandry designed and used
primarily for tilling the soil and harvesting crops or feeding livestock; earth-moving equipment,
mobile cranes, steam rollers, street sweepers, ditch-digging apparatus, well-boring apparatus, asphalt
spreaders, bucket loaders, leveling graders, power shovels, crawlers, backhoes, front-end loaders,
bulldozers, non-powered mobile homes, and camper units that are designed to be placed on pickup
trucks; or

Sales of vehicles and pickup camper units and camper shells that qualify for the occasional sale
exemption.

B Vehicles and equipment such as unlicensable dirt bikes, mini-bikes, motor scooters, golf carts,
go-carts, three and four-wheel AT Vs, and snowmobiles are household goods and personal effects
for sales and use tax purposes, and are exempt as occasional sales and not subject to tax when
sold between two individuals.

B Pickup camper units and camper shells that are detached from the motor vehicle and sold to
a person other than the purchaser of the motor vehicle qualify as occasional sales and are not
subject to tax. Camper units and camper shells sold with the motor vehicle or detached and sold
to the same person at approximately the same time are treated as the sale of a motor vehicle and
are subject to sales and use tax.



FORM 6 REQUIREMENTS

REPORTING TAX DUE

Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6, is a 5-part
form used for reporting the sales and use tax to the county treasurer. Instructions are on the reverse side.

The licensed motor vehicle dealer must complete a Form 6 for every sale of a motor vehicle, trailer, or
semitrailer. Licensed motor vehicle dealers must keep the pink copy for their records, and must mail the
green copy with their monthly Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 10.

The purchaser must present the white, yellow, and blue copies of the Form 6 to the county treasurer for
completion of the vehicle registration.

Sellers of trailers that have a vehicle weight of 9,000 1bs. or less do not need to be licensed motor vehicle
dealers. They are not required to complete a Form 6 at the time the trailer is sold.

SIGNATURES

All licensed motor vehicle dealers must complete and sign the Form 6 as the seller. The county treasurer
may accept a Form 6 that is not signed by a private or nonresident seller, provided all other information is
on the Form 6, and it is signed by the purchaser.

Purchasers claiming an exemption MUST sign the Form 6 on the two spaces indicated.

30-DAy SALES Tax REPORTING PERIOD

The purchaser of a motor vehicle in this state owes tax on the amount paid for the vehicle. The purchaser
can delay the payment of the sales until the vehicle is registered or for up to 30 days if the vehicle is not
registered. The purchaser will not owe penalty and interest, provided the motor vehicle is registered or the
tax is paid with in the 30 days from the date of purchase. A nonresident purchaser is not required to pay
the tax, provided the motor vehicle is removed from this state within 30 day from the date of purchase.



Nebraska Department of

Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement

for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales

FORM

l PURCHASER’S NAME AND ADDRESS SELLER’S NAME AND ADDRESS
Name Name
Street or Other Address Street or Other Address
City State Zip Code | City State Zip Code
I PURCHASED VEHICLE/TRAILER DESCRIPTION
Make Body Type Year Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Date of Purchase
[ TRADE-IN VEHICLE/TRAILER DESCRIPTION ]
Make Body Type Year Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) License Plate Number Was trade-in vehicle being leased?
[Jyes []no
If Yes, enter O on line 2.
[ TAX COMPUTATION |
LI o] =L IR=F= LT3 o T o SO 1($ |
2 LeSS trade-in @lIOWANCE .......ooueiiiieieie ettt ettt a et h ettt e b e et e e a e n e ear e an 2 |
3 Less manufacturer’s rebate assigned to dealer at time of sale..........ccceciiiiiiiiiiiiiiie e 3 |
4 Tax base (line 1 minus lines 2 and 3) (if zero or less, enter 0)...........ccooiiiiiiiiii e 4% |
5 Nebraska sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate) ............cccoceviiiiiiiiiiicnn. 5 |
6 Local sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate) 6 |
7 Total Nebraska and local tax due (line 5 plus line 6) . K [
8 Tire Fee (Number of new tires multiplied by $1.00) (see instructions) ... 8 [
9 Penalty for late payment (S€€ INSIIUCIONS) ..........coiiiiiiiiiii e 9 |
10 Interest for late payment (S€€ iNSrUCHIONS).........coiiiiiiiiiiii s 10 |
11 BALANCE DUE (total of ines 7, 8, 9, @nd T0)........c.eiuiiiiiiiiiiiieiti ettt 11|$ |

Under penalties of law, | declare that | have examined this statement and it is correct and complete.

sign
here >Signature of Seller

>Signature of Purchaser or Agent of Purchaser

Date

Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales

* If exempt category 1 through 7 is claimed, requested information must be entered. Only categories 5 and 12 are exempt from the tire fee.

Type of Exemption

Type of Exemption

1

(]2

s

[]a

[1s

[le

Purchase by an exempt organization holding a Certificate of Exemption issued
by the Nebraska Department of Revenue.

Number 05—

Vehicle willbe usedinacommon or contract carriage capacity and the purchaser
shown on the face of this form holds a current Certificate of Exemption issued by
the Nebraska Department of Revenue. Number 05—

17

s

Purchase by a disabled person with funds contributed by the U.S. Department
of Veterans Affairs or the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Finance and Support. Enter amount of contribution: $ .See
instructions for “Purchase of a Motor Vehicle by a Disabled Person.”

Purchase by a governmental entity not engaged in the business of furnishing
gas, water, electricity, or heat.

Purchase by alessor of motor vehicles. Sales tax on the fair market lease payments
to be remitted under Nebraska Sales Tax Permit.

Lessor’s Sales Tax Number 01—

Purchase under the Lessor's Option and the motor vehicle will be leased to a
common or contract carrier who holds a valid Nebraska Certificate of Exemption
Number 05-

Lessor must attach a copy of approved Nebraska Application for Election
of Lessors to Pay Sales and Use Tax on Cost of Motor Vehicles, Form 15.

Purchase by a native American Indian residing on a Nebraska reservation and
the vehicle is registered at a location within the boundaries of the reservation.

Tax Exemption ID Card Number:

Vehicle was purchased, licensed, and operated in a state other than Nebraska.
Identify state: (Documentation required).

]
[]10

I

[]12

Vehicle is the subject of an intercompany sale between parent, subsidiary, or
brother-sister companies. Sales tax was paid by the sellercompany oniits purchase
of this vehicle. (Documentation required).

Vehicle is a gift or received by inheritance. A gift is a voluntary transfer without
any consideration. The donor paid the tax on the previous transfer. If the person
accepting the motor vehicle or trailer as a gift or inheritance assumes a lien,
mortgage, or encumbrance, the amount owing shall be subject to sales and use
tax. (Documentation required).

Transfer of the vehicle during the creation, reorganization, or dissolution of
a corporation, limited liability company, or partnership solely for voting stock
membership interestor partnership interest. Also, transfer of a vehicle as additional
capital to an ongoing corporation. (Documentation required).

Purchase of a 30-day plate by a nonresident of Nebraska who does not intend
to remain in Nebraska more than 30 days from the date of purchase.

Any purchaser, or the agent thereof, who completes this exemption certificate for any purchase which is not exempt under the Nebraska Revenue Act,
as amended, shall in addition to any tax, interest, or penalty otherwise imposed, be subject to a penalty of $100.00 or 10 times the tax, whichever amount is
larger. Under penalties of law, | declare that | have examined this certificate and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign

here >Signature of Person Claiming Exemption

Date

FOR COUNTY USE ONLY

Tax Paid

Date Paid

COPIES — See instructions for distribution of colored copies

6-004-1967 Rev. 8-2008 Supersedes 6-004-1967 Rev. 8-2007




TAX COMPUTATION

The “Tax Computation” portion of Form 6 must be completed to reflect the following:

B retail selling price of the motor vehicle;
B trade-in allowance, if any;
B manufacturer’s rebate assigned to the dealer, if any; and

B tax base on which the sales and use tax will be computed.
The following items are part of the retail selling price and MUST be included in the tax base:

buyers fees;

charges for warranty transfers;
destination charges;

document processing charges;

emissions tests;

federal “gas guzzler” tax;

import custom fees;

manufacturer’s excise tax ;

service and maintenance agreements; and

AN N N N N N N N NI N

surcharges.
The following items are not part of the retail selling price and are not included in the tax base:

B title and lien fees paid by a dealership to public officials on behalf of its customers;
B federal heavy vehicle excise tax; and

B federal retail excise tax.

MANUFACTURER’S REBATE

Rebates received from a motor vehicle manufacturer that are assigned to the motor vehicle dealer and
used to reduce the selling price of the vehicle at the time of purchase are allowable deductions from the
retail selling price when computing the tax base on which the tax is calculated. This also applies to rebates
earned through the use of a credit card and manufacturer rebates assigned to dealers on vehicles purchased
outside Nebraska.

DEALER DISCOUNT

Dealer discounts or dealer cash discounts are allowable deductions from the retail selling price when
computing the tax base on which the tax is calculated. The dealer’s discount must appear on the dealer’s
invoice.

TRADE-IN

B Individuals. When a motor vehicle is traded between individuals, the ONLY valid trade-in
allowance that may be used as a deduction when computing the tax base is that given for another
motor vehicle.

B Motor Vehicle Dealers. Motor vehicle dealers may use items normally sold in the regular course
of the dealer’s business as a trade-in allowance.

5



When the motor vehicle used as a trade-in was previously leased, was not registered, or if the owner of
the newly purchased vehicle is a different owner from the previous owner of the trade-in, contact the
Department.

Trade-in allowances are NOT permitted on leased vehicles that are not owned by the lessee.

No refund of tax will be made if the tax base is a negative amount.

BARGAIN SALES

The following can be used to determine the amount subject to tax when a vehicle is transferred as a “bargain
sale”:

cash settlement amount;

a.
b. loan value;

e

value of stock or securities received; or

d. blue book value.

CREDIT FOR TAX PAID TO ANOTHER STATE

If a motor vehicle, including an inoperable motor vehicle, is purchased in another state and sales tax was
properly paid to the other state and the other state has reciprocity with Nebraska, the total sales tax paid in
that state is credited toward the state and local sales tax due in Nebraska. No refund will be made if the tax
paid to the other state is greater than the total Nebraska and local option sales tax. The credit for tax paid
to another state must be written below line 11 on Form 6 and deducted from the amount due as calculated
on line 11. Write the words “credit for tax paid to the state of (identify state).”

Example: Some states, such as Florida, require nonresidents to pay Florida sales tax in the amount
of sales tax that would have been imposed if the Nebraska resident would have purchased and
registered the vehicle in Nebraska. The amount of tax collected by Florida is limited to 6 percent.
Therefore, a Nebraska resident who pays the 6 percent Florida tax but registers the vehicle in a city
that has a combined state and city rate of 7 percent owes city sales tax at the 1.5 percent rate.

Only two states, Nevada and Arkansas, do not have reciprocity with Nebraska. No credit is allowed against
the tax due in Nebraska for sales tax paid in either of these states.

LocAaL SALES AND USE TaAx

The registration address shown on the vehicle registration certificate issued by the county determines whether
or not the county treasurer is required to collect the local sales and use tax on a vehicle being registered
in this state. If there is any question regarding the proper registration address, the situs of the vehicle is
determined pursuant to the laws administered by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. The term
“situs” is defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. §60-130. Situs means the tax district where a vehicle is stored or kept
for the greater part of the calendar year.

ANNEXATIONS AND CI1TY SALES AND USE TAX

For local option sales and use tax purposes, the Department recommends that you verify the effective
date of the rate change because the effective date, as stated in the ordinance, may be for the provision of
city services, and not be the effective date for the city sales and use tax rate change. The territory affected
is annexed to or detached from the city on the first day of a calendar quarter. The effective date as stated



in the ordinance may be for the provision of city services and not the effective date for the rate change.
Therefore, the Department recommends that you verify the actual effective date of a local option sales and

use tax rate change, by checking our Web site at http://www.revenue.ne.gov/boundary.html. You can also

verify the sales tax rate by using the sales tax rate finder at http://salestaxrates.ne.gov/nedot/.

DATE OF SALE OR PURCHASE

The date on the title usually determines the rate of local option sales tax that is due on a motor vehicle. If
the date of possession and the date on the title are different, then the EARLIER of the two is the date of
sale. The purchase date on the Form 6 must reflect the date of sale.

GAP INSURANCE

The sale of a gap insurance policy (a debt cancellation insurance policy purchased through the auto dealer)
is not subject to Nebraska sales or use tax, provided the charge for such policy is separately stated from
any taxable amount.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

There is a five-year statute of limitations for state and local option sales tax. When registering a motor
vehicle that was purchased more than five years and 30 days before the registration date, no sales tax,
interest, or penalty is due.

AMENDED STATEMENT - FORM 6 XN

If additional sales and use tax or tire fee is due, an Amended Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement
for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6 XN, must be filed.

Note: A Form 6XN is required ONLY when a Form 6 has been previously filed and sent to the Department
by the county treasurer.

If it is determined that additional tax or tire fee is due BEFORE the Form 6 has been filed and sent to the
Department, the county treasurer may make the adjustment on the original Form 6.

A Form 6XN is not valid for claiming a sales tax refund.


http://salestaxrates.ne.gov/nedor/
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/boundary.html
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Nebraska Department of

AMENDED NEBRASKA SALES/USE TAX AND TIRE FEE STATEMENT
for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales

FORM

6XN

[REVENUE

Purchaser's Name and Address Seller's Name and Address ]
Name Name
Address Address
City State Zip Code City State Zip Code
Vehicle Make Model Year Body Type Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
Purchase Date County in Which Original Form 6 Was Filed Date Original Form 6 Was Filed
Amended (A) Original (B) Difference (C)
1 Total Sale PriCe . . . oo oot 1/$ L \
| |
2 Trade-in AllOWANCE . .. ... oooieee e 2 \ \
| |
3 Less Manufacturers Rebate . . .................... 3 \ \
| |
4 SalesTaxBase .. .........oouiiiiiinia.. 4 \ \ $ }
| |
5 State Sales/UseTaX . .....ovuviiiineannanannn.. 5 \ \ l
| |
6 LocalSales/UseTaX ......cvuviiiniananannn.. 6 \ \ ‘
| | |
7 Number of Tires X$1.00 . ..o 7 \ \ \
| | |
8 TotalTaxandTireFee................ccouuuo. .. g|® \ $ \ $ \
| | |
Lo TR 11 =Y =Y 9% \
|
10 PENAIY ... 10 \
|
TUTOML e e e e 11($ \
|

Under penalties of law, | declare that | have examined this statement and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is

correct and complete.

sign_

here ¥ Signature of Purchaser

Date

INSTRUCTIONS

WHO MAY FILE. Any person wanting to change their original
Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle
and Trailer Sales, Form 6, may file this form. Form 6XN is to be
completed only if additional sales and use tax or tire fee is due.
Reference should be made to the original Form 6 in completing
Form 6XN.

If you need information about requesting a refund of sales and
use tax or tire fee, contact the Nebraska Department of Revenue
at (800) 742-7474 (toll free in NE and IA) or (402) 471-5729.
WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE. Form 6XN may be filed at any
time after you have filed your original Form 6. This amended form,
properly signed and accompanied by remittance, is to be filed with
the county treasurer in the county where the original form was filed
or with the Nebraska Department of Revenue.

PENALTY AND INTEREST. A penalty will be assessed in the
amount of $5.00 in addition to the amount of tax or fee due. Interest

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE — White Copy

COUNTY TREASURER— Canary Copy

will be assessed on the unpaid tax and fee due at the statutory rate
from the thirtieth day after the purchase until the date of payment.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
COLUMN A. Complete this column by entering the corrected

figures.

COLUMN B. Complete this column by entering the figures as
originally reported on Form 6.

COLUMN C. Complete this column by entering the difference
between the corrected figures and the original figures. For each line,
subtract Column B from Column A.

LINE 8, COLUMN C is the additional tax and fee due. Interest will
be computed by the county treasurer or the Department of Revenue.
The total tax, tire fee, interest, and penalty must be remitted to the
county treasurer or to the Department of Revenue.

TAXPAYER—Pink Copy
6-163-1975 Rev. 11-2008 Supersedes 6-163-1975 Rev. 12-2007




REFUNDS
If the county treasurer has remitted the tax or tire fee to the Department, then the refund claim (Claim for

Overpayment of Sales and Use Tax, Form 7) must be filed with the Department.

If the county treasurer has not remitted the tax or tire fee to the Department, the county treasurer will make
the refund.

INTEREST AND PENALTY

The county treasurer shall assess and collect interest and penalty on all motor vehicles that are registered
late. Interest is computed from 30 days after the purchase date through the date of payment reflected in
the chart below.

Period Interest Rate
1-1-2009 and after 5%
1-1-2007 through 12-31-2008 8%
1-1-2003 through 12-31-2006 6%
1-1-1995 through 12-31-2002 9%
1-1-1993 through 12-31-1994 7%
Through 12-31-1992 14%

In certain situations, interest may have to be calculated using two different rates.

Example: A motor vehicle is purchased on November 15, 2008 and registered January 15, 2009. The
owner paid $28,500 for the motor vehicle. The motor vehicle was registered in a city that has a 7
percent sales and use tax rate. The vehicle should have been registered and the tax amount of $1,995.00
should have been paid by December 15, 2008. However, the vehicle is not registered until January 15,
2009. Interest must be assessed at eight percent for 16 days (December 16, 2008 through December
31, 2008) and at five percent for 15 days (January 1, 2009 through January 15, 2009).

Interest owed is calculated in the following manner:
(Tax owed ) x (number of days late) x (daily interest rate) = interest due

$1,995 x 16 x .00021918 = $ 6.99
$1,995 x 15 x.00013698 = $ 4.10
Interest due $11.09

A penalty in the amount of $5 must be assessed on all unpaid amounts due if the motor vehicle is registered
late. An Application for Abatement of Penalty, Form 21, may be filed with the Department by the purchaser
to request abatement of the penalty.

The sales tax and all interest and penalty amounts collected by the county treasurer must be reported on
lines 1 through 5 of the County Treasurer’s Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 9. The
tire fee amounts collected must be reported on the Nebraska Tire Fee Return, Form 9B.

INTEREST AND PENALTY — EXCEPTIONS

No interest and penalty is due when the Nebraska and applicable local sales tax is paid within 30 days of
the date of purchase. In addition, no interest and penalty is due when:

¢’ The only amount due is the tire fee;
v/ The vehicle is transferred by gift (no tax due);
v A lessee registers the vehicle claiming exemption under category #3 on Form 6;

9



v’ No sales or use tax is due because another exemption has been claimed on Form 6; or

v/ The 30th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or an approved holiday and the motor vehicle is registered
on the next succeeding day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or an approved holiday.

EXEMPTIONS

Each county treasurer is responsible for collecting the proper amount of sales and use tax. In those situations
where an exemption is claimed, the person claiming the exemption must sign the front of the Form 6. If the
person claiming the exemption does not sign the Form 6, the exemption must be disallowed and the person
must pay the proper sales tax. Persons claiming an exemption that is questionable should be cautioned about
the penalty clause when signing the Form 6 exemption certificate. Persons who are not sure if they qualify
should be referred to the Department. The following types of exemptions may be claimed on the Form 6:

1. Exempt Organization. An organization holding a valid Nebraska sales and use tax certificate of
exemption is exempt from sales and use tax on the purchase of a motor vehicle. The title to the
motor vehicle must be in the name of the exempt organization.

2. Common or Contract Carriers. Acommon or contract carrier holding a valid certificate of exemption
issued by the Department is exempt from sales and use tax only on vehicles predominantly used to
haul persons or property for hire. The carrier’s valid exemption number must be indicated on the
Form 6. Please refer to the Nebraska Sales and Use Tax Information Guide titled “Nebraska Common
and Contract Carriers” for additional information (see Reg-1-069).

The fact that a person may have been granted a certificate of public convenience and necessity, or a
permit by either the Federal Highway Administration or the Nebraska Public Service Commission,
does not qualify such person as a common or contract carrier for purposes of the Nebraska sales
and use tax exemption.

Passenger cars, station wagons, pickups, recreational vehicles, and other business vehicles do
not usually qualify for a common or contract carrier exemption. County treasurers are advised to
collect the tax at the time of registration of such vehicles even though the carrier has been issued
an exemption number except:

a. when prior approval is given by the Department in specific cases; or
b. for registration of passenger vehicles by a taxi company.

The tax paid by a common or contract carrier will be refunded when the carrier files a claim for
a refund and establishes to the satisfaction of the Department that the vehicle in question was
predominantly used to haul persons or property for hire.

3. Lease. The purchase of a motor vehicle by a lessor for lease or rental is not subject to sales and use
tax at the time of registration, provided the motor vehicle is not being registered under the lessor’s
option. The lessor’s sales tax permit number used to report lease receipts must be indicated on the
Form 6. Please refer to the Nebraska Sales and Use Tax Information Guide titled “Nebraska and
Local Sales Tax on Leased Motor Vehicles” for additional information.

4. Lessor’s Option Exemption. A motor vehicle purchased by a lessor who has been approved by
the Department to operate under the provisions of the lessor’s option is exempt from tax provided
the motor vehicle is leased to a common or contract carrier who holds a valid Common or Contract
Carrier Certificate of Exemption. The lessor must provide a copy of their approved Nebraska
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Application for Election of Lessors to Pay Sales and Use Tax on Cost of Motor Vehicles, Form 15,
and the common or contract carrier’s exemption number.

Purchase by a Native American Indian Residing on a Reservation in Nebraska. The sale of a
motor vehicle to a Native American Indian residing on a reservation in Nebraska is exempt from
sales and use tax, provided the vehicle is registered within the boundaries of an Indian reservation
in Nebraska. A valid state tax exemption card number must be indicated on the sales invoice and
on the Form 6.

When a Native American Indian and a non-Indian hold title to a motor vehicle as joint tenants, and
the motor vehicle is registered at an address on a reservation in Nebraska, sales and use tax is due
on the dollar value of the non-Indian’s share of the vehicle (see Revenue Ruling 1-76-27).

Purchased and Licensed Outside Nebraska. No sales tax is due on motor vehicles coming into
Nebraska that have been licensed for operation on the highways of another state, including motor
vehicles properly registered in a state that does not impose a sales tax that are subsequently brought
into Nebraska. “State” shall mean any state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, any territory or possession of the United States, and any foreign
country or political subdivision thereof.

This exemption does not apply to motor vehicles operated on an in-transit or temporary permit, or
other temporary license in another state as defined above. Please refer to number 6 in the “Vehicles
Subject To Tax” section.

Disabled Person. The entire purchase price of a motor vehicle is exempted from tax when the
Veterans’ Administration of the United States or the Nebraska Department of Health and Human
Services contributes to the purchase through the issuance of a grant or an award, the maximum
amount allowed by law. If less than the maximum amount allowed is contributed, only the contributed
amount is exempted. Payment for the vehicle may be made by the Department of Health and Human
Services or the Veterans’ Administration to either the dealer or the purchaser.

If there is a question as to whether the purchaser received the maximum amount allowed, the
county treasurer should review Form 21-4502, “Application for Automobile or Other Conveyance
and Adaptive Equipment” issued by the Veterans’ Administration, or the award letter issued by the
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services.

Any amount contributed by these agencies is not considered a disability payment. A motor vehicle
purchased with disability compensation is not exempt from tax.

Mobility Enhancing Equipment on a Motor Vehicle. Any disabled or handicapped person who is
required to use durable medical equipment, orthotics, or prosthetics for locomotion may purchase
mobility enhancing equipment adapted for a motor vehicle exempt from tax. The purchaser must issue
to the motor vehicle dealer or seller a Nebraska Certificate of Exemption for Mobility Enhancing
Equipment on a Motor Vehicle, Form 13ME, and a copy of the prescription issued by a Nebraska-
licensed physician.

The white copy of the completed Form 13ME and a copy of the prescription must be attached to the
Form 6. The sales price of the vehicle on the Form 6 should match the amount on line 3 of Form
13ME.

Mobility enhancing equipment that is purchased with a motor vehicle is also exempt from sales and
use tax if purchased to meet the needs of a dependent. Mobility enhancing equipment purchased
by nursing homes and other organizations is not exempt unless the entire vehicle can be purchased
exempt.
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mm~\—=— | Nebraska Certificate of Exemption for Mobility Enhancing FORM

Nebraska Department of

REVENUE Equipment on a Motor Vehicle 13ME

* Read instructions
PART A — Completed by Purchaser of the Motor Vehicle

NAME AND ADDRESS OF PURCHASER NAME AND ADDRESS OF MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER/SELLER
Name Name
Street or Other Mailing Address Street or Other Mailing Address
City State Zip Code City State Zip Code

The purchaser of the motor vehicle with installed mobility enhancing equipment must provide the following
information if the prescription for the mobility enhancing equipment was issued for a dependent.

Name of Dependent Relationship

I certify that the mobility enhancing equipment described in Part B is for my use or for the use of a dependent of
mine and is exempt from Nebraska sales and use tax because the mobility enhancing equipment is installed on the
motor vehicle pursuant to a prescription issued by a Nebraska licensed physician. A copy of the prescription must
be attached to this certificate.

[ SIGNATURE OF PURCHASER ]

Any purchaser who completes this certificate for any purchase which is not exempt from sales and use tax under Section 77-2704.09, of the
Nebraska Revenue Act, as amended, shall in addition to any tax, interest and penalty otherwise imposed, be subject to a penalty of $100 or
ten times the tax, whichever amount is larger for each instance of presentation and misuse. | declare that | am authorized to sign this certificate,
and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign O

here } Signature of Purchaser Title Date Issued Telephone Number

[ PART B — Completed by Motor Vehicle Dealer or Seller |

1 Total sales price of motor vehicle including mobility enhancing equipment 1 $
l PURCHASED VEHICLE DESCRIPTION ]
Make Body Type Year Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
l Description of Mobility Enhancing Equipment Value of Equipment ]

2 Total value of mobility enhancing equIPMENt ..o 23

3 Total sales price of motor vehicle (line 1 minus line 2). This amount must be entered on

lINE T OF FOMM 6. ...t 3%
l SIGNATURE OF SELLER
Under penalties of law, | declare that | have examined this certificate of exemption and it is correct and complete.
sign ) C
here Signature of Seller Date Telephone Number
NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE — White Copy SELLER — Pink Copy PURCHASER - Yellow Copy

6-380-1999 Rev. 12-2007 Supersedes 6-380-1999 Rev. 12-2006
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9.

10.

11.

Governmental Entity. Purchases by any county, township, city, village, or rural or suburban fire
protection district located in Nebraska are exempt from sales or use tax, EXCEPT the purchase
of a motor vehicle that will be used by any Department or portion of the governmental unit that
sells gas, electricity, water, or heat. An exemption number is not required to be indicated on the
Form 6, since sales and use tax exemption numbers are not assigned to such entities (refer to the
Governmental Entities Information Guide).

Intercompany Sale. The transfer of a motor vehicle which is the subject of an intercompany sale
from a subsidiary to the parent company, from a parent company to a subsidiary, from one subsidiary
to another subsidiary of the same parent company, or between brother-sister companies is not subject
to tax under the occasional sale provision, PROVIDED the vehicle was either originally acquired
prior to June 1, 1967, or, if acquired thereafter, the seller directly or indirectly paid the sales or use
tax on such vehicle.

This occasional provision also applies to corporations that have at least 50 percent common
ownership, and the other entities that would be considered a parent, subsidiary, or brother-sister if
they were corporations.

The transfer must be between two companies. This exemption does not include a transfer to or from
individuals such as a brother or sister.

Gift. A motor vehicle which is received by a new owner (donee) as a gift is not subject to sales and
use tax, provided the person giving it away (donor) paid the tax on the original purchase price. If
the person registering the vehicle does not present evidence that the donor has previously paid the
applicable tax, then tax is due on the transfer of that vehicle as a condition of registration. The tax is
based on the original purchase price of the vehicle, but if the donee cannot provide evidence of the
original purchase price, the tax is based on the actual value of the vehicle. Evidence of previously
paid tax may include a tax-paid receipt or proof of prior registration by the donor. An exception
occurs when the donor is exempt from sales tax. In such case, neither the donor nor the donee is
required to pay sales or use tax.

The transfer of a vehicle into a trust, revocable or irrevocable, is a gift and tax is not due, PROVIDED
the donor has previously paid the tax.

To qualify as a gift, the transfer of ownership must be unconditional and not involve consideration
between the buyer and seller. Consideration is not limited to money. Listed below are some
transactions that DO NOT qualify as a gift:

a. The transfer of a vehicle that results in the forgiveness of a monetary debt such as a lien, debt, mortgage,
or other encumbrance previously assumed by the donor, cannot qualify as a tax-free gift.

Example: A father pays off a $5,000 credit card debt owed by his son in exchange for title to the
vehicle. When the father registers the vehicle, the sales price, and amount subject to tax, is the
payoff amount of the credit card debt. In this example, the father will pay tax on the sales price
of $5,000.

b. The transfer of a vehicle as payment for services rendered cannot qualify as a tax-free gift.

Example: As payment for painting his house, the owner of the house transfers his vehicle to
the painter. The sales price, and the amount subject to tax, is the amount normally charged
by the painter in the regular course of business to paint a house of similar size. If the painter
registers the vehicle, he or she owes tax on the amount normally charged to paint a house
of similar size.
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Note: The transfer of a vehicle into or out of a corporation or partnership cannot qualify as a tax-free
gift even if there is not a corresponding change in the structure of the corporation or partnership. All
transfers into or out of a corporation or partnership that are claimed as a gift should be referred to the
Department before processing.

12. Occasional Sale. The transfer of a motor vehicle can only qualify as an occasional sale when the
transferor has previously paid the tax and the motor vehicle is being transferred:

a.

From one corporation to another corporation pursuant to a reorganization. “Reorganization” shall
mean a statutory merger or consolidation or the acquisition by a corporation of substantially all
of the properties of another corporation when the only consideration is the voting stock of the
acquiring corporation or the voting stock of its parent or subsidiary corporation;

In connection with the winding up, dissolution, or liquidation of a corporation, only when there
is a distribution of the property of such corporation to the shareholders in kind if the portion of
the property distributed to the shareholders is substantially in proportion to the share of stock
or securities held by the shareholders;

To a corporation for the purpose of organization of such corporation or the contribution
of additional capital to such corporation when the former owner of the motor vehicle is,
immediately after the transfer, in control of the corporation, and the stock or securities received
are substantially in proportion to their interest in the property prior to the transfer.

The term “in control of the corporation,” means that the individual or entity transferring the
motor vehicle into the corporation has 51 percent or more ownership of all the stock of the
corporation after the transfer of the vehicle into the corporation. An individual cannot transfer
a motor vehicle from an ongoing corporation, even if they are in control of the corporation,
unless the transaction falls under section i;

To a partnership, in the organization of the partnership, if the former owners of the motor vehicle
are immediately after the transfer, members of the partnership, and the interest in the partnership
received by each member is substantially in proportion to the interest in the partnership held by
the members prior to the transfer;

From a partnership to its members, when made in-kind in the dissolution of the partnership,
if the portion of the property distributed to the members is substantially in proportion to the
interest in the partnership held by the members;

To a limited liability company, (LLC) in the organization of the LLC, if the former owners of
the property transferred are, immediately after the transfer, members of the LLC and the interest
in the LLC received by each is substantially in proportion to his or her interest in the property
prior to the transfer;

From a LLC to its members, when made in-kind in the dissolution of the LLC, if the portion
of the property distributed to the members is substantially in proportion to his or her interest in
the LLC;

From one LLC to another LLC pursuant to a reorganization; or

A transaction that qualifies as a tax-free transaction under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986,
as amended. You must contact the Department on each of these transactions prior to accepting
the exemption.
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Examples: Transfers of motor vehicles into or out of ongoing partnerships do not qualify as
occasional sales. When corporations are involved, only transfers of motor vehicles out of ongoing
corporations do not qualify as occasional sales.

Transfers into or out of ongoing partnerships as part of a favorable insurance rate may not
qualify as occasional sales and may be subject to sales tax. The same is true of transfers out of
ongoing corporations.

Transfers from a corporation or partnership to an individual such as a stockholder, officer,
employee, or partner reflecting a sale for a nominal fee or as a gift will normally be subject to
sales tax. Such transfers are usually referred to as “bargain sales” and should be questioned.

The occasional sale exclusion for motor vehicles only applies when the transfer of a motor
vehicle falls within paragraph 12.

13. 30-Day Plate. The purchase of a 30-day plate by a nonresident of Nebraska may result in the
collection of Nebraska sales and use tax. The county treasurer must ask the nonresident purchaser
if their intention is to remain in Nebraska more than 30 days from the date of purchase of the motor
vehicle. If the reply is “YES,” Nebraska sales and use tax must be collected. If the reply is “NO,”
the 30-day plate may be purchased without payment of the Nebraska sales and use tax.

OTHER INFORMATION

CHANGE OF NAME AND ADDRESS ON THE TITLE AND REGISTRATION

Simply changing a name or address on the title and registration is not an actual change in ownership and
is not a taxable transfer.

Examples:

B Change of name (e.g., Mary Smith to Mary Jones);

B Death of spouse (e.g., John and Mary Smith WROS to Mary Smith);
B Divorce (e.g., John and Mary Smith to Mary Smith);

Also, the transfer of a motor vehicle from a corporation or partnership to an individual through
a property settlement in a divorce decree is exempt from sales tax.

B Marriage (e.g., John Smith to John and Mary Smith); or

B Sole proprietorship to business or trade name, or business or trade name to sole proprietorship
(e.g., John Smith to John’s Repair Shop, or John’s Repair shop to John Smith).

The following types of transfers may be subject to tax (therefore, a Form 6 must be completed for payment
of sales tax or the reporting of the proper exemption):

B Adding or dropping one or more names on the title (e.g., dropping a parent’s name by the son or
daughter); or

B Changing the form of the entity from a corporation or partnership to a sole proprietorship.
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DRIVER EDUCATION MOTOR VEHICLES

The sale of motor vehicles to secondary schools or school districts for driver education programs conducted
by the school or school district are exempt from tax. The name and address of the school or school district
must appear on the Form 6 as the purchaser. Exemption Category 1 must be marked indicating the school’s
or school district’s exemption number.

INSURANCE ON WRECKED VEHICLES

When an insurance payment is received for a wrecked vehicle and later applied to the subsequent purchase
of'anew vehicle, two separate transactions have occurred. The first transaction occurred when the payment
was received from the insurance company for the wrecked vehicle, and title passed to the insurance company.
The second transaction occurred when the money received from the insurance company for the wrecked
vehicle was used as payment for or partial payment on a new vehicle. No property was traded to the dealer
for resale and no trade-in allowance resulted, therefore, the tax base for the new vehicle is not reduced.

Sales tax will not be refunded on the sales price of the wrecked vehicle.

Example: Tom purchases a new car from a dealer. One week later, he is in an accident and the new
vehicle is totaled. No sales tax refund is due.

Tax is due on the transfer of the vehicle from the dealer to Tom. The fact that the vehicle was
subsequently wrecked does not change the tax status.

The amount of sales tax may be included in the amount of the claim filed with the insurance
company.

SALVAGE BRANDED CERTIFICATE — OWNER RETAINS SALVAGE VEHICLE

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-173129 allows the owner of a salvage vehicle to elect to retain the salvage vehicle.
If the owner retains the salvage vehicle, the certificate of title is not assigned to the insurance company.
The insurance company is required to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when the owner
elects to retain ownership of the salvage vehicle by filing DMV Form titled “Notice of Owner - Retained

Salvage” or a form designed by the insurance company. The insurance company is also required to notify
the owner of the salvage vehicle. The owner is required within 30 days after the settlement loss to forward
to DMV the properly endorsed certificate title. The county clerk, upon receipt of the certificate of title, will
issue to the owner a salvage branded certificate of title for the vehicle.

Sales and Use Tax Consequences. When the owner of a vehicle elects to retain the salvage vehicle and
the certificate of title is not transferred to the insurance company, the salvage branded certificate of title can
be issued without a sales tax liability being incurred by the owner of the vehicle regardless of the amount
of the total loss settlement payment.

VEHICLES SOLD FOR PARTS

The taxability of vehicles sold for parts is determined by whether or not the vehicle was transferred with
a title or without a title.

1. Transferred with a title. This transaction is taxable and is treated in the same manner as any other
taxable transfer of a motor vehicle.
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2. Transferred without a title. Since the vehicle is transferred without a title, it has lost its identity
as a motor vehicle. Therefore the transaction is not taxable because:

a. the sale qualifies as an occasional sale (refer to Regulation 1-022.06); or

b. the sale is made to a salvage yard, or other retailer of vehicle parts, for resale purposes.

ELECTRIC POWERED MOTOR VEHICLE

Every person registering a motor vehicle designed or modified to be only propelled by electricity, solar power,
or any other source of energy not otherwise taxed under the motor fuel laws is required to obtain an annual
alternative fuel user permit.

County treasurers need to forward a copy of the registration certificate for these motor vehicles to the
Department’s Motor Fuel Tax Enforcement and Collection Division, P.O. Box 98904, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-
8904, or via fax at (402) 471-5607 (see www.revenue.ne.gov/fuels/index.htm for additional information).

MoTOR VEHICLE DEALERS

A motor vehicle dealer registering a vehicle has a sales and use tax obligation, regardless of the intended
use of the vehicle. The dealer must complete a Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor
Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6, and pay the sales and use tax at the time the vehicle is first registered.
The dealer registering a vehicle cannot claim an exemption from the tax, unless the vehicle will be used as
a leased vehicle.

Forms 9 aND 9B

A Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 9, and the Nebraska Tire Fee Return, Form 9B, are
mailed to each county treasurer and must be completed and returned to the Department on or before the
15th day of the month following the close of the reporting period. The return must be filed by the prescribed
due date even if there was no sales and use tax or tire fee collected for the period covered by the returns.

If a preidentified Form 9 and Form 9B are not received for a reporting period, duplicate returns should be
requested from the Department.

The Department will assess a penalty for failure to file the returns and pay the tax, interest, penalty, or fee
by the due date. Beginning January 1, 2009, interest will be assessed at the rate of five percent per year on
delinquent payment of taxes.

The white copy of the Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales,
Form 6, and the pink and goldenrod copies of the Amended Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement
for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6 XN, should accompany the return, if convenient, or may be
mailed under separate cover. County treasurers must retain their copy of each Form 6 and 6 XN by month
of receipt for a minimum of three years. County treasurers are not required to validate Form 6 to support
proof of tax paid by the registrant. Registrants should be informed of their need to keep their portion of the
registration that shows the payment of tax for a period of five years. Neither the county treasurer’s office
nor the Department can provide proof of sales tax paid after December 31.
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I m~\— = | Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return FORM
I REVENUE for County Treasurers and Other Officials
EEE—— * Read instructions on reverse side 9
PLEASE DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
Nebraska Identification Number Reporting Period
08-

If your payment is being made by Electronic Funds Transfer, check here. D COUNTY NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS

$
1 Nebraska sales and use tax collected during this reporting period .............ccccceeiiiiiiiiiiniicceee 1
* Complete Nebraska Schedule below if local sales and use tax has been collected
2 Total local sales and use tax collected (line 11, Nebraska Schedule)...........c.ccceiiiiiiiiiiiniinecnens 2
3 Total Nebraska and local sales and use tax collected (line 1 plus liN€ 2) .........cocvviiiiiiieiniieiiceee, 3

4 Total amount of penalties collected on late registered motor vehicles during this reporting period..| 4

5 Total amount of interest collected on late registered motor vehicles during this reporting period..... 5

6 Total amount collected (total of lINes 3, 4, AN 5)....coeiuiiiiiiiiiiee e 6
7 Collection fee (line 6 multiplied by .025; if the result is $75.00 or more, enter $75.00) ............c.c...... 7
8 Total amount due (liN€ B MINUS lINE 7) ...cueiiiiiiiiiiie et 8
9 Previous balance due or credit (read iNSTrUCHIONS) .........ooviiiiiiiiieie e 9
$ {
10 BALANCE DUE (line 8 plus or minus line 9). Pay in full with return.........cccccooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiecces 10 |

Under penalties of law, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of
my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign
here }Authorized Signature Title Date
NEBRASKA SCHEDULE —Local Sales and Use Tax Collected
Local Taxing Jurisdiction County Code City Code Local Sales and Use Tax
1 l
2 |
3 I
4 [
5 |
6 |
7 T
8 {
9 |
10 1
$ [
11 Local sales and use tax collected (total of lines 1 through 10). Enter here and on line 2 above ..... 11 [

THIS RETURN IS DUE ON OR BEFORE THE 15TH DAY OF THE MONTH FOLLOWING THE REPORTING PERIOD INDICATED ABOVE.
Mail this return and payment to: NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, P.O. BOX 98923, LINCOLN, NE 68509-8923
www.revenue.ne.gov, (800) 742-7474 (toll free in NE & IA), (402) 471-5729

6-030-1967 Rev. 11-2008 Supersedes 6-030-1967 Rev. 1-2008
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Nebraska Department of

REV

Nebraska Tire Fee Return

for County Treasurers and Other Officials

FORM

9B

Nebraska Identification Number Reporting Period

PLEASE DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE

COUNTY NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS

$ I

1 Nebraska tire fee collected during this reporting period.............cccccoiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie e 1 |00
I
2 Previous balance due or credit (read iNStrUCtIONS) .........cooiiiiiiiiiii i 2 |
$ [
3 BALANCE DUE (line 1 plus or minus line 2). Pay in full with return..........cccoooiiiiiiiiiie 3 |

Under penalties of law, | declare that | have examined this return, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign

’Authorized Signature

here

Title Date

INSTRUCTIONS

WHO MUST FILE. Every county treasurer or designated
county official, or the Department of Motor Vehicles is
required to file the Nebraska Tire Fee Return, Form 9B,
each month. The return must be filed by the prescribed
due date, even though there may be no tire fees collected
for the period covered by the return.

WHEN AND WHERETO FILE. This return, properly
signed and accompanied by a check or money order
payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, is
considered timely filed if postmarked on or before the
15th day of the month following the tax period covered
by the return.

Mail the return and payment to the Nebraska
Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 94818, Lincoln,
Nebraska 68509-4818.

PREIDENTIFIED RETURN. This return is to be used by
the official whose name is printed on it. If a preidentified
return is not received for a reporting period, a duplicate
return should be requested from the Department. Do not
file returns which are photocopies, returns for another tax
period, or returns which have not been preidentified. If the
mailing address is incorrect, mark through the incorrect
address and plainly print the correct address.

THIS RETURN IS DUE ON OR BEFORE THE 15TH DAY OF THE MONTH FOLLOWING THE REPORTING PERIOD INDICATED ABOVE.
Mail this return and payment to: NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, P.O. BOX 94818, LINCOLN, NE 68509-4818

For more information, www.revenue.ne.gov or call (800) 742-7474 (toll free in NE and IA) or call (402) 471-5729.

1-101-1990 Rev. 10-2008 supersedes 1-101-1990 Rev. 10-2007
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INsurrFICIENT FunDS CHECK

If a county has been issued a check for payment of Nebraska sales and use tax and the check is returned to
the county unpaid, the county can only deduct the previously reported Nebraska sales and use tax on line
9 from a subsequent payment to the state provided the following conditions are met:

B The amount of sales and use tax has been previously reported by the county treasurer on their
Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 9;

B The county, through the county attorney, has exhausted all means available to collect the debt;
B The returned check is attached to the Form 9 on which the deduction is taken; and

B The statement of the collection activities taken by the county has been attached to the return.

CONFIDENTIALITY

Sales and use tax information retained by the office of the county treasurer is confidential in nature and may
be released only to the taxpayer, a duly authorized representative, or the taxpayer’s successors, receivers,
trustees, executors, administrators, assignees, or guarantors. The person receiving a copy of the Form 6 or
requesting information on the Form 6 must have signed the Form 6 or been appointed by the taxpayer to
receive such information. In addition, a copy of the Form 6 or information on the Form 6 may be given to
the seller of the motor vehicle if the seller has signed the Form 6.

ForM 6 ORDERING

The Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6, and
Nebraska Sales and Use Tax Statement for Motorboat Sales, Form 6MB are available in any quantity by
submitting a request to the Department. You can order Form 6 and Form 6MB by clicking on the following
address (http://www.revenue.ne.gov/mail/ndrmail.phtml) and completing the requested information.

o\ — REQUISITION FOR

Nebraska Department of

REVENUE Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement
for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6,
and Nebraska Sales and Use Tax Statement

for Motorboat Sales, Form 6MB

NUMBER OF FORMS NEEDED
Form 6 Form 6MB

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS

Name

Street or Other Mailing Address

City State Zip Code

ORDER ONLY A MONTH’S SUPPLY IN ADVANCE

6-023-1967 Rev. 3-2008
Supersedes 6-023-1967 Rev. 8-2007
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INFORMATTION

Tire Fee

Revised August, 2007

For more information,
check our Web site

B ——

Nebraska Department of

REVENUE

This information guide provides
an overview of the Nebraska tire
fee program. It is not designed to
answer all questions which might
arise, but is intended to enable

a person to become familiar

with the main provisions of this
program.

G U I D E

Overview
The Nebraska Tire Fee of one dollar is due on the following tires:

v Retail sales of qualified tires;
v Every tire included with a new vehicle; and

v Every new tire a motor vehicle dealer places on a previously owned
vehicle.

Definitions

Qualified tire. Any new tire, including take-off tires, made of rubber
or other resilient material, including pneumatic and solid tires, that
could be used on any motor vehicle, motorcycle, trailer, semitrailer or
farm tractor.

A qualified tire does not include new tires sold specifically for use on
vehicles designed for off-road use such as, farm discs, golf carts, and all-
terrain vehicles; or any recapped or regrooved tire, regardless of intended
use. Tires on farm tractors, however, are subject to the fee.

Qualified vehicle. Any motor vehicle that requires registration in
Nebraska to be legally operated and is propelled by any power other
than muscular power. Examples are: cars, trucks, truck tractors, motor
homes, and motorcycles.

Any trailer or semitrailer that is designed to carry persons or property
and is drawn by a motor vehicle. Examples are: camping trailers, boat
trailers, and utility trailers.

Collection and Remittance of the Fee

Retailers. Persons making retail sales of qualified tires must collect
the fee. They must first submit a Nebraska Tax Application, Form 20, to
obtain a Nebraska Tire Fee Permit. Unlike sales tax, only ONE permit is
required, regardless of the number of business locations under the same
ownership. All permitholders are required to file a Nebraska Tire Fee
Return, Form 93. The return is filed on a monthly, quarterly, or annual
basis. The filing frequency is determined by the number of tires sold. A
return will be mailed to all permitholders for each tax period for which
a return is required.

B More than $3,000 — returns are filed monthly;
B $900 to $3,000 — returns are filed quarterly; and
B Less than $900 — returns are filed annually.
The tire fee is not included in the price of the tire for calculating sales
tax, however, as illustrated:
$49.95 Sales price of tire
2.75 Nebraska sales tax at 5.5%
.50 City sales tax in a city with a rate of 1%
1.00 Nebraska tire fee
$54.20 Total amount due
County treasurers. The county treasurer or designated county official
collects the fee at the time of registration of a qualified vehicle. For motor
vehicles, the fee is due upon registration in Nebraska, regardless of the

location of the sale. The county treasurer or designated county official
remits the fee on the Nebraska Tire Fee Return, Form 9B.

Motor vehicle dealers must indicate the total number of qualified tires
on new qualified vehicles and previously owned vehicles, including the
spare, on the Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor
Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6. A new qualified vehicle is one which
still has the manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO).

1-103-1992 Rev. 8-2007
Supersedes 1-103-1992 Rev. 8-2006
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When a sale of a qualified vehicle occurs between two individuals,
the seller pays the fee on any new tire placed on the car. The fee
is not collected upon registration.

Examples. A car dealer sells a new car. When completing the
Form 6, the dealer must indicate 5 tires (4 tires plus the spare). The
county treasurer or designated county official collects the $5.00
tire fee when the new car is registered. The entry on the tire fee
line of the Form 6 would be:

TAX COMPUTATION ‘

1 Total sale price

2 Less trade-in allowance

3 Less mfg’s rebate assigned to dealer

4 Tax base (line 1 minus line 2 and line 3)
5 State sales or use tax (line 4 times rate)
6
7
8
9

City sales or use tax (line 4 times rate)
Total state and city tax (line 5 plus line 6)
x $1.00

Number of new tires __5 00

Penalty
10 Interest

O[O0 NO 1AW N =

=

=y
jury

11 Balance Due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10)

A car dealer sells a used car after he places 2 new tires on it. The
tire fee has not been paid on the new tires because the car dealer
purchased the tires for resale. When completing the Form 6, the
dealer must indicate 2 tires. The county treasurer or designated
county official collects the $2.00 tire fee when the car is registered.
The entry on the tire fee line of the Form 6 would be:

TAX COMPUTATION ‘

1 Total sale price

2 Less trade-in allowance

3 Less mfg’s rebate assigned to dealer

4 Tax base (line 1 minus line 2 and line 3)
5 State sales or use tax (line 4 times rate)
6
7
8
9

City sales or use tax (line 4 times rate)
Total state and city tax (line 5 plus line 6)
Number of new tires __2 _ x $1.00
Penalty

10 Interest

2 00

O[O0 [N U1H WIN| =

=

i
i
|
i
$ |
I
I
|
|

11 Balance Due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10) |11

An individual places 2 new tires on a car and then sells the car.
The number of tires indicated on Form 6 is zero. The individual

paid the tire fee when the tires were purchased from a retailer. The
entry on the tire fee line of the Form 6 would be:

i TAX COMPUTATION i
1 Total sale price
2 Less trade-in allowance
3 Less mfg’s rebate assigned to dealer
4 Tax base (line 1 minus line 2 and line 3)
5 State sales or use tax (line 4 times rate)
6
7
8
9

City sales or use tax (line 4 times rate)
Total state and city tax (line 5 plus line 6)
x $1.00

0 00

Number of new tires __ 0

Penalty
10 Interest

O [0 N GAWN| =

=y

i
i
|
i
$ |
I
I
|
|

=y
jury

11 Balance Due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10)

The Nebraska Department of Administrative Services purchases
4 new motor vehicle tires. As an agency of the State of Nebraska,
the transaction is exempt from sales tax, but the tire fee is due. A
sample invoice would be:

ABC Tire Co. Invoice No. 0000
Sold to: Nebraska DAS
Lincoln, NE 68509
4 tires @ 49.95 $199.80
Sales tax .00
Tire fee-4 tires @ $1.00 4.00
Total due $203.80
Exemptions

Unlike the sales and use tax programs which allow exemptions to
many entities, exemptions under the tire fee are limited to qualified
tires which are:

B Sold for resale purposes. The purchaser must issue a properly
completed Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate,
Form 13;

B Sold and delivered to another state;

B Sold to the federal government and its agencies; and

B Sold to Native American Reservation Indians who qualify for

the sales and use tax exemption.
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