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Fax  (402) 458-2595
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File Online At:
www.dol.nebraska.gov

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
TTY: (402) 471-0016

The Nebraska Employment Security Law (NESL), which governs 
unemployment insurance can be viewed at: www.dol.nebraska.gov. 
Click on the blue bar entitled Laws, Forms & Publications then Laws 
& Regulations. Nebraska Administrative Codes (NAC) cited may also 
be viewed at the same Internet address.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
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TO NEBRASKA CLAIMANTS

The Nebraska Unemployment Insurance Program was created by the state legislature 
in 1937. It is administered by the Nebraska Department of Labor, a state agency. The 
purpose of unemployment benefits is to provide a temporary partial wage replacement 
to help those unemployed through no fault of their own to become reemployed. 

The law of unemployment insurance is set forth in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 48-601 to 48-671. 
The sections on benefits are 48-623 to 48-647. The law can be viewed online at 
www.dol.nebraska.gov by clicking on Laws, Forms & Publications.

The Claimant’s Guide To Unemployment Insurance Benefits has been prepared 
with the most current information available regarding the unemployment insurance 
benefits program. It includes important steps in the process to file for, claim and 
receive unemployment benefits. 

We encourage you to use our simple online application to file for unemployment 
insurance benefits at www.dol.nebraska.gov. You can file an unemployment 
insurance claim online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Claims can also be filed by calling 
the Nebraska Claims Center at (402) 458-2500.

Catherine D. Lang
Commissioner of Labor



4

CHECKLIST FOR A NEW CLAIMANT

Information You Need To File An Unemployment Insurance Claim
You should apply for unemployment insurance benefits immediately when your job has ended or your 
employer has reduced your work hours. Your unemployment insurance claim DOES NOT begin on 
the date your job ended or your hours were cut back. You must apply first, and claims start on the 
Sunday of the week you submit your unemployment insurance application.

Have the following items ready before applying:

Your Information
•	 Social Security Number.

•	 Name (including prior names, for example maiden or married names).

•	 Complete home mailing address, including ZIP code.

•	 Telephone number.

•	 County you live in.

•	 Driver’s license number or ID card.

•	 Employment authorization number and expiration date (if a non-citizen).

•	 DD 214 Member #4 Form (if you served in the military in the past 18 months).

•	 Forms SF8 and SF50 (if you worked for the Federal Government in the past 18 months).
Your Employer’s Information:
•	 The company name for all your employers from the past 18 months as it appears on your 

paycheck stub or W-2 form.

•	 Complete mailing address for those employers, including ZIP code and the city in which the 
business is physically located.

Employment History
•	 Your start and end dates with each employer you worked for in the past 18 months including 

month, day, year. 

•	 Your total wages earned with each employer and how you were paid (hourly, weekly, monthly).

•	 Your reason for leaving each of those employers (quit, fired, lack of work, leave of absence, etc.).

Other
•	 Be prepared to set a personal identification number (PIN).

•	 Be prepared to select your payment option, either debit card or direct deposit.

•	 If you select direct deposit, you will need your bank routing number and account number.

After You Have Filed Your Initial Claim
•	 File a weekly claim every week online or by telephone.

•	 Be available for scheduled interviews.

•	 If instructed, also do the following:

-Register for work with your local Nebraska Department of Labor Career Center.	

-Make a minimum of 2 new work search contacts every week and keep a record.
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INFORMATION 
The Nebraska Unemployment Insurance Program is governed by the Nebraska Employment 
Security Law Neb. Rev. Stat. § 48-601 to 48-671 and related statutes. It is administered by the 
Nebraska Department of Labor, a state agency.

The purpose of unemployment benefits is to provide a temporary partial wage replacement to 
help those unemployed through no fault of their own to become reemployed.

Benefits are paid from the Nebraska State Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund. The fund 
is supported solely by a special tax on employers. No deductions are taken from employees’ 
paychecks for unemployment insurance.

This guide is not intended to take the place of the law, but to provide you with a general 
understanding of some of the requirements.

HOW TO APPLY
Apply by using one of our self-service options.

To File A New Unemployment Insurance Claim 

•	 File online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at www.dol.nebraska.gov, 
OR

•	 Call the Nebraska Claims Center at (402) 458-2500 on the assigned day listed below. 
      Normal business hours are Monday-Friday, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm CST.

You will know the claim has been completed upon receipt of a confirmation number.

THE BENEFIT CLAIM PROCESS

Note: If you have Nebraska-only employment the online application is the most 
direct means to file a claim.

First Letter of 
Last Name

Weekday

A-E Monday
F-L Tuesday
M-R Wednesday
S-Z Thursday

Schedule for First Time or Reopened Claims

Automated Phone System                                
(402) 458-2500                               

TTY (402) 471-0016

Online at 
www.dol.nebraska.gov

24 hours a day / 7 days a week           
*No restrictions  by last name 

when you go onl ine to request 
benefit payments

Assigned Call-In Day
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Note: Submission of this application alone does not complete the Registration For 
Work requirement. See application form for details.

To Register For Work
If instructed, also do the following:

•	 Register for work with the Nebraska Department of Labor. You may register with any 
Nebraska Department of Labor Career Center.

•	 You may begin the registration process by filling out the Employment Services application 
online at www.dol.nebraska.gov. Click on Receive Job Services under For Workers.

•	 Make two work search contacts every week and keep a written record.

•	 Be available for scheduled interviews.

Your Privacy and Your PIN
When filing for unemployment benefits, you will choose a 4 digit PIN to protect your privacy 
and ensure the utmost security. The PIN should be a number that is not obvious to others. Do 
not use your address, phone number, date of birth or anything else that someone would be able 
to guess. Do not use numbers in sequence or repeat numbers. You will use your PIN to request 
benefits each week. Using your PIN keeps your data private. 

WHEN TO APPLY
Apply for benefits the same week you are unemployed or your hours are greatly reduced. 

You may apply online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at www.dol.nebraska.gov or call the 
Nebraska Claims Center Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm CST.

AFTER YOU APPLY 
You will be provided with information including this guide, designed to help protect your 
eligibility for benefits. You are responsible for the information in this guide. Please take the 
time to read everything you receive. If you have questions, you can find more information 
online at www.dol.nebraska.gov or by calling the phone number listed in this guide.

When To Expect Your First Payment
You must request your weekly benefits every week.  If there is no disqualification on your 
request and you have submitted at least two requests for weekly benefits, you can normally 
expect your first payment within three to four weeks.

Requesting Weekly Benefit Payments (Filing Weekly Claims)
After you apply for benefits you will need to request weekly benefits for every week you are 
unemployed or your hours are reduced. When you request weekly benefits, you will answer 
questions to determine if you are eligible for that week. This process ensures that you get credit 
or receive payment only for the weeks you are eligible. You must request weekly benefits for 
any week you want benefits (or credit for your waiting week), even if your eligibility is being 
decided or you have an appeal pending. 
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BENEFITS

Request weekly benefits every week by using the online application at www.dol.nebraska.gov or 
calling the automated phone system (402) 458-2500 or TTY (402) 471-0016. You have from 
12:01 am Sunday to midnight Friday to request weekly benefits each week. You must request 
weekly benefits by the Friday following the most recent week ending date or your request is 
considered late and benefits may be denied. Late requests may cause you to be ineligible for 
that period. NAC Title 219, Chap 2, 003, C, D

Waiting Week
The first week is called your “waiting week.” To get credit for the waiting week, you must 
request a payment and meet all eligibility requirements for that week. The waiting week is 
never paid. However, you must serve a waiting week to be eligible for payments for later 
weeks. There is one waiting week per benefit year. If for any reason your benefits are denied for 
the beginning weeks of your request, your waiting week will be your first eligible week after the 
denial period. A week that is prior to the effective date of the claim or a week that is under 
disqualification for any reason cannot be used as the waiting week. NESL: 48-627 (4)

The Time Period Of Your Claim
There is a maximum of twenty-six payable weeks within your Benefit Year, which is a fifty-two 
week period from the week your claim is effective. There may be less than twenty-six weeks 
payable within your Benefit Year if your base period wages do not qualify you for the maximum 
or if you receive a disqualification reducing your total unemployment benefit amount. 	
NESL: 48-626

WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT 
The Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA) is set at one-half of your average weekly wage rounded 
down to the nearest even dollar amount. Your WBA cannot exceed one-half the State Average 
Weekly Wage (SAWW) as calculated annually. The WBA cannot exceed $318 in 2010. 	
NESL: 48-625

QUALIFYING FOR BENEFITS
Earnings Requirement For Eligibility
You must have been paid gross wages of $2,761 (in 2010) or more in your base period with 
at least $800 in each of two quarters of your base period. These wages must be earned from 
employers required to pay unemployment insurance taxes (insured employers). NESL:48-602(1) If 
you are not sure whether your work is insured employment, you should request weekly benefits 
and an investigation will be made to find out if you are eligible to receive these benefits.

Your Claim Base Period
A base period is the time period of employment used to qualify you for your claim. A quarter 
consists of three consecutive months; each calendar year consists of four quarters. The base 
period is the first four of the last five completed quarters at the time of your claim. 		
NESL: 48-602 (1)
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Report Earnings If You Are Working
Each time you request a benefit payment, you are asked if you worked. Answer “yes” if you 
performed any work, even if it was temporary, part-time, or self-employment. You must report your 
gross earnings (before deductions and taxes). Earnings include wages, tips, salary, commission, cash, 
self-employment income, allowances for meals or lodging, vacation pay and bonus.

You must report your earnings in the week you perform the work, not when you are paid for it. If 
you worked for more than one employer in a week, add your earnings from all employers. For self-
employment, report your weekly earnings after you deduct your direct business expenses for that week.

If you earned less than your weekly benefit amount for that week, you may be eligible for some 
benefits. If your gross earnings equal or exceed your weekly benefit amount, your claim will be 
stopped. To reopen your claim during any week you do not work or your earnings are less than 
your weekly benefit amount, contact the Nebraska Claims Center or visit our 24 hour website. 
Not reporting all work and income for weeks that benefits are claimed will result in having to 
repay the benefits improperly received and possible loss of rights to future benefits and criminal 
prosecution. It is important to keep good records, should your claim be audited. NESL:48-625

Income That May Affect Benefit Payments
Certain types of other income may affect your benefit payment. These include but are not 
limited to:

•	 Severance, notice, or retention pay, and any other payments made because of separation 
from employment.

•	 Sick pay, holiday pay and bonus pay.

•	 Vacation pay.
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•	 Pension or 401k payments, unless you roll them over into another qualified retirement 
plan or the payments are from a fund that none of your base period employers paid into.

•	 Worker’s compensation or other employer funded insurance for loss of wages.

If benefit payments are affected by any income, you will be sent a written determination 
explaining the effect.

RECEIVING BENEFIT PAYMENTS 
Unemployment benefit payments are electronic. Payments will be made to you on a U.S. Bank 
ReliaCard®Visa® unemployment debit card or as a direct deposit to your bank account. If 
you do not request direct deposit, you will be sent an unemployment debit card in the mail. 
You can change your payment method by logging in to your account online or calling the 
automated phone system.

Direct Deposit
You can request direct deposit at the time you apply for unemployment benefits or any time 
after.  If you select direct deposit be prepared to enter your bank routing and account number. 
Once your direct deposit has been set up, any payment due should reach your account within 
five days after you request an eligible benefit payment. Whenever you complete a new application 
for benefits, you must also complete a new direct deposit request, unless you want to be paid by 
debit card. Remember to update this information every time your banking information changes.

BENEFITS 

Unemployment Debit Card
The unemployment debit card can be used, with no fees, to get cash at any bank that accepts 
Visa, at any U.S. Bank ATM, or to make purchases at any business that accepts Visa debit 
cards. If you are due a payment, you can expect to receive the card approximately eight days 
after you make your first request for benefit payment. A debit card will not be sent until a 
payment has been processed. The card will be mailed to you in a plain white envelope. The 
information included with your card is important. Future payments should be on the card 
within five days after you request an eligible benefit payment.
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ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
To be eligible for benefits for any week, you must be:

Unemployed or Partially Unemployed
You may claim benefits if you have become unemployed or experienced reduced hours. 

Available for Work
You must be:

•	 Available 4 or more days to accept immediate employment during the week claimed.

•	 Ready and willing to accept work in your usual occupation or other suitable employment, 
with no undue restrictions.

•	 Willing to seek and accept the hours, wage, commuting distance, and other conditions 
of employment that are normal for someone in your occupation with your skills and 
experience.

Actively Seeking Work (If Directed)
You must actively look for work even if you have a part-time job or expect to return to a 
temporary job. You must make a serious effort to find work every week.

Able to Work
You must be physically able to work at least four days a week.

Registered for Employment Services, if required
You may be notified by mail if this requirement applies to you. You may register for Employment 
Services at any Nebraska Department of Labor Career Center location.

Unemployed for Reasons Other Than Layoff
If you are unemployed for any reason other than lack of work, Nebraska law requires that a 
process is followed to determine whether you are eligible for benefits. 

•	 You will be asked questions about why you are unemployed.

•	 Your employer will be asked questions about your unemployment.

•	 The answers will be reviewed to determine whether you are eligible for benefits. 

•	 No matter what the decision is, you and your employer will be mailed a determination 
to explain the decision. The determination can be appealed by either you or your 
employer.

Please respond to all questions completely, honestly and promptly.

ELIGIBILITY ISSUES & DISQUALIFICATIONS
Eligibility Issues
An eligibility issue is any information or set of circumstances which raises a legal question 
about whether you should be paid unemployment insurance benefits, and which can deny, 

ELIGIBILITY
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suspend or reduce your benefits under the Nebraska unemployment insurance laws. The 
department must investigate all relevant eligibility issues that apply to your claim before 
paying unemployment insurance benefits. For example, an eligibility issue is raised if your 
employment with an employer ends for any reason other than a lack of work. Some of the 
common eligibility issues and disqualifications for each are listed later. 

We must hold your payments while we are investigating eligibility issues on your claim. 
However, while we are conducting the investigation, it is important that you continue to 
request your weekly benefits.

Fact-Finding Interviews
If YOU ARE NOTIFIED TO CALL the Nebraska Claims Center about a potential eligibility 
issue, call immediately or as directed. If you do not call, a decision will be made on the basis 
of available information, which could result in a denial of benefits. You should prepare for this 
call by having the following ready:

•	 Reason for separation from your employer.

•	 Dates when events happened causing the separation.

•	 Names of witnesses or supervisors involved with the separation.

•	 Written documentation such as warnings, medical slips, if applicable.

•	 Check stubs verifying vacation pay, severance pay, holiday pay, or bonus pay, if applicable.

•	 Any questions you may have. 

Disqualifications
Even if you have been paid enough wages from covered (insured) employment to qualify for 
unemployment benefits, under certain conditions, you may be disqualified from receiving 
benefits for week(s) that you are unemployed. Some of these conditions are listed below:

Voluntary Quit
If a person has quit a job without good cause, a disqualification is assessed for the week of the 
quit plus twelve weeks, as determined by the Nebraska Department of Labor. In Nebraska, 
good cause for quitting must be limited to the conditions of work or compelling health reasons, 
or quitting to escape spousal abuse. NESL:48-628(1)

The burden of proof for showing good cause is placed on the employee.  The disqualification for 
quitting to accept a better job may be only one week if certain conditions are met. Maximum 
benefits payable may also be reduced when a disqualification is assessed.

Discharge for Ordinary Misconduct
If a person is discharged from a job for misconduct, a disqualification is assessed for the week 
of the discharge plus twelve weeks, as determined by the Nebraska Department of Labor. In 
cases of misconduct, the burden of proof is on the employer.  The employer must prove that 
an employee was discharged for acts or omissions that 1) damaged the employer’s interest in 
relation to the employment; 2) the employee knew or reasonably should have known were 

ELIGIBLITY
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contrary to the employer’s interests; and 3) were willful or within the employee’s control. 
Maximum benefits payable may also be reduced when a disqualification is assessed. NESL:48-628(2)

Discharge for Gross Misconduct
If a person is discharged due to an act or omission that is willful and flagrant or unlawful, the 
disqualification includes a cancellation of wages from all employment prior to that date of act. 
NESL:48-628(2)

Discharge for Aggravated Misconduct
If a person is discharged for misconduct not considered to be willful and flagrant or unlawful, 
but which included being under the influence of any intoxicating beverage or being under 
the influence of any controlled substance not prescribed by a physician licensed to practice 
medicine or surgery, and when the person is under the influence on the worksite or while 
engaged in work for the employer, then the disqualification includes a cancellation of wages 
from that employer. NESL:48-628(2)

Refusal of Work
You may be disqualified for twelve weeks for failing to accept an offer of suitable employment or 
failure to accept a Nebraska Department of Labor Career Center Employment Service referral. 
Suitability is determined by considering a person’s training and experience and the conditions 
in the labor market. Maximum benefits payable may also be reduced when a disqualification 
is assessed. NESL:48-628(3)

Labor Dispute
In general, individuals are disqualified for the week(s) they are unemployed due to a work 
stoppage resulting from a strike or lockout. NESL:48-628(4)

Ability to Work
You must be able to work four or more days of the week in order to be eligible for unemployment 
insurance benefits. If sickness or injury would prevent you from working four or more days, 
benefits will be denied. NAC Title 219, Chap 4

Availability for Work
You must be available four or more days of the week to accept immediate employment. You 
are not available if circumstances such as lack of transportation or childcare problems would 
keep you from going to work. To receive benefits, arrangements must be made so that these 
circumstances will not interfere with work. If you state you are not available for work four or 
more days of the benefit week you will be denied benefits for that week. NAC Title 219, Chap 4

Attending School
If you are regularly attending school, you may be disqualified from benefits unless you were a 
student at the time you earned the majority of the wages in your base period. An exception may 
apply if you are enrolled in a training program which has been approved by the Commissioner 
of Labor as outlined below. NESL:48-628(7)
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Approved Training Program
If you have applied for unemployment insurance benefits and are planning to attend vocational 
training, you may apply for Approved Training. If your application is approved by the 
Commissioner of Labor, the work search requirements will be waived effective from the date 
training starts. No additional unemployment insurance benefits, tuition or school expenses 
will be paid under this program. Ask the Nebraska Claims Center for additional information 
regarding this program. NAC Title 225, Chap 1

Vacation, Severance, or the receipt of Other Payments
Benefits may be denied or reduced for any week for which your employer has made or will 
make such payments. Certain other types of payment from employers may be disqualifying or 
deductible from benefit payments. Examples include holiday pay, bonus, sick pay or worker’s 
compensation. NESL:48-628(5)

School Employees
If you are employed for or on behalf of an educational institution, benefits (based on wages 
earned from educational institutions) may be denied between terms and/or during regularly 
scheduled breaks. NESL:48-628(8)

DETERMINATIONS
Written Determinations (Form UI-410)
After the investigation of an eligibility issue is completed, you are normally notified of the 
decision in writing. A written determination explains the reason the department made the 
decision and how that decision affects your claim. If you do not understand your written 
determination, call the telephone number on the determination for assistance. If you disagree 
with a decision and wish to appeal, follow the appeal instructions printed on the written 
determination.

If either you or your employers appeal a written determination, CONTINUE TO FILE your 
weekly claim for benefits each week you are unemployed or are earning less than your weekly 
benefit amount. Any future decision in your favor will only qualify you for benefits for the 
weeks that have been claimed. NESL:48-630

Redetermination
Prior to the filing of an appeal you have the option of protesting a determination and new 
information provided may result in a redetermination of eligibility. Such a request can be made 
to the address listed in the determination. A request for redetermination does not delay or 
extend the statutory requirement for the filing of an appeal within twenty days from the date 
mailed of the original determination. NESL:48-631

ELIGIBLITY
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APPEALS PROCESS
You have the right to appeal if you disagree with a determination. Your appeal must be received 
at the Nebraska Claims Center or filed online within twenty calendar days from the date the 
determination was mailed.

To File an Appeal
You can file your appeal online at www.dol.nebraska.gov or in writing by mail or fax. If your 
appeal is in writing, you must state the reason you wish to appeal, include your signature, 
Social Security Number and employer’s name. It should be sent to the Nebraska Claims 
Center as shown on the notice. There are two parties that may file an appeal regarding your 
unemployment benefits - you, the claimant, or your former employer. NESL: 48-634

After the Appeal is Filed
You will be notified by the Nebraska Appeal Tribunal that an appeal has been received. In a 
separate notice, you will be informed of the time and date of the hearing. Follow all instructions 
by the Appeal Tribunal to protect your own interests. If able, continue to file for weekly benefits 
while your appeal is pending. It is important that you participate in the hearing.

Appeal hearings are free and a lawyer is not required, although you may be represented at your 
own expense. Appeal hearings will be conducted by telephone conference call.

If You Disagree With The Appeal Decision
You may request by mail that the decision be reconsidered  or you may appeal to the District 
Court. NESL:48-638 For more information, go to www.dol.nebraska.gov and click on Appeal 
Tribunal.

BENEFIT OVERPAYMENT, ACCURACY REVIEWS & FRAUD
Overpayment of  Unemployment Benefits
If you are paid more than you are eligible to receive, you will be notified in writing that you 
have been overpaid. All overpayments must be repaid. You may contact the Benefit Payment 
Control Unit to set up a repayment schedule if you are unable to repay the entire amount at 
one time. Weekly benefit payments may be intercepted and applied towards your overpayment. 
The Department of Labor can recover overpayment by intercepting your State Income Tax 
refund and/or through Civil Action. NESL: 48-665

Benefit Accuracy Reviews
Unemployment insurance uses several methods to review the accuracy of benefit payments. 
Claims and denials are selected at random for audit, and reviewed to detect and reduce error 
and fraud. Wage reports  are also reviewed.

Incorrect or unreported wages can result in a person having to repay benefits, loss of rights to 
future benefits, and criminal prosecution. NESL: 48-625

APPEALS & ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
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Unemployment Insurance Fraud
Failure to report information that affects your eligibility for unemployment benefits may be 
an act of fraud. Falsely reporting information on your initial claim application or weekly claim 
certifications may also be an act of fraud. NESL: 48-663, 663.01

The penalties for fraud and concealment are severe. In addition to repaying any overpaid 
benefits, penalties can include loss of future unemployment benefits, court fines, and conviction 
resulting in jail and a criminal record.

SEEKING WORK
Employment Service Registration
If you are not returning to your former employer, industry, or do not find work through a 
union hiring hall, it will be necessary to register for work. You may register on-line at 
www.dol.nebraska.gov or at your local Nebraska Department of Labor Career Center. If you 
fail to register you may be disqualified from receiving benefits until you have done so. The 
Nebraska Department of Labor Career Centers will help you find a job at no cost to you.

If you are filing an initial Nebraska unemployment claim application from another State, you 
will be notified by the State where you live about what is necessary in order to register for work. 
NESL:48-627(1); NAC Title 219 Chap 2

Looking For Work
You must make an active search for work each week you claim benefits. It is required that 
you make a minimum of two new contacts with prospective employers in-person, by mail, 
by telephone, or other medium such as through the Internet.  You must be able to present 
adequate evidence of your work search contacts when requested, as these contacts are subject to 
verification. Keep a written record of your work search contacts and contact dates. The active 
work search requirement may be waived if you are on a temporary layoff with a definite return 
to work date, attached to certain industries, or are a member in good standing with a Union 
hiring hall. NAC Title 219 Chap 4; NAC Title 218 Chap 2, 003, B

Reemployment Services
The Nebraska Department of Labor participates in a special program designed to help you 
find work. This program selects individuals early in their unemployment and offers services 
that may quicken their reemployment. If you receive a notice that you have been selected, you 
are required to take part in this program to continue receiving your unemployment benefit 
payments. These services are part of a continuing program to help you find work.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Note: Your work search contacts may be verified. Be sure this record is complete and 
accurate, false reporting may be considered fraud.
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STOPPING & STARTING BENEFITS
Returning To Full-Time Work
When you return to work full-time or want to stop requesting benefit payments for any 
reason, no notification is needed. Just stop requesting weekly benefits. Keep your PIN and 
unemployment debit card (if applicable) in a safe place in case you need to start requesting 
benefits again.

To Reopen Your Claim
If you become unemployed again, you may reopen your claim by going online at 
www.dol.nebraska.gov or by calling the Nebraska Claims Center. 

Extension Of Benefits
Because of a slowdown in the economy, Nebraska and most other states may have programs in 
place that extend benefits past the usual number of weeks. Whether you will be eligible for an 
extension of benefits will depend on a number of factors that are determined when you exhaust 
your regular benefits. The most up-to-date information on extensions can be found online at 
www.dol.nebraska.gov.

Trade Adjustment Assistance
If  you are unemployed because of the effects of foreign trade, you may be eligible for special 
benefits under the Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program.

INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 
Unemployment benefits are taxable income under federal and state law. The benefits paid to 
you are reported to the Internal Revenue Service and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 
No income tax is withheld from your benefit payments unless you request it. If you decide to 
have taxes withheld, 10% will be deducted from your weekly benefit payment for federal taxes. 

You can request, stop, or change your income tax withholding by using the online application 
or calling the Claims Center.

No later than January 31, you will be mailed an IRS Form 1099-UC showing the total benefits 
paid to you for the prior year and the federal and state income taxes withheld. It will be sent to 
your last known address. You can view and print your 1099-UC form online by logging into 
your account at www.dol.nebraska.gov.

YOUR UNEMPLOYMENT RECORDS 
What Are Your Privacy Rights?
Your individual claim records are available by calling one of the information and assistance 
telephone numbers. Information about your claim will only be given to you. We cannot give 
information to a family member.
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Verifying Employment Eligibility
The Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (P.L- 99-803) requires all employers to 
verify employment eligibility of new employees. When an employer hires you, the employer 
will require that you show certain documents to prove your identity and employment eligibility. 
Failure to present the documents to your employer or the Nebraska Department of Labor may 
affect your eligibility for unemployment benefits.

Note: For Frequently Asked Questions, go to www.dol.nebraska.gov, select File for 
Unemployment, then select FAQ.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
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Equal Opportunity Is the Law
It is against the law for this recipient of Federal financial assistance to discriminate on the 
following bases: against any individual in the United States, on the basis of race, color, 
religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, political affiliation or belief; and against any 
beneficiary of programs financially assisted under Title I of the Workforce Investment Act 
of 1998 (WIA), on the basis of the beneficiary’s citizenship/status as a lawfully admitted 
immigrant authorized to work in the United States, or his or her participation in any 
WIA Title I financially-assisted program or activity. The recipient must not discriminate 
in any of the following areas: deciding who will be admitted, or have access, to any WIA 
Title I financially-assisted program or activity; providing opportunities in, or treating any 
person with regard to, such a program or activity; or making employment decisions in the 
administration of, or in connection with, such a program or activity.

What to Do If You Believe You Have
 Experienced Discrimination

If you think you have been subjected to discrimination by your past employer, please contact 
the Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission at (402) 471-2024 or 1 (800) 642-6112. If 
you think that you have been subjected to discrimination under a WIA Title I financially-
assisted program or activity, you may file a complaint within 180 days from the date of the 
alleged violation with:

Joyce Welsch, EO Officer

Nebraska Department of Labor

550 S. 16th Street

P.O. Box 94600

Lincoln, NE 68509-4600

(402) 471-4957 TDD (800) 833-7352

OR

Director, Civil Rights Center (CRC)

U.S. Department of Labor

200 Constitution Avenue NW, Room N-4123

Washington, DC 20210

If you file your complaint with the EO Officer, you must wait either until a written Notice 
of Final Action is issued, or until 90 days have passed (whichever is sooner), before filing 
with the Civil Rights Center. If you do not receive a written Notice of Final Action within 
90 days of the day on which you filed your complaint, you do not have to wait before filing 
a complaint with CRC. However, you must file your CRC complaint within 30 days of 
the 90-day deadline (in other words, within 120 days after the day on which you filed your 
complaint with the EO Officer).

If you receive a written Notice of Final Action on your complaint, but you are dissatisfied 
with the decision or resolution, you may file a complaint with CRC. You must file your 
CRC complaint within 30 days of the date on which you received the Notice of Final 
Action.
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For Self-Directed Work Search visit Nebraska JobLink at www.dol.nebraska.gov

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
CAREER CENTERS

ALLIANCE
302 Box Butte Ave. 
(308) 763-2935

BEATRICE
5109 W. Scott Rd., Ste. 413  
(402) 223-6060

COLUMBUS 
3020 18th St., Ste. 1 
(402) 564-7160

FREMONT 
METRO Community College		
835 N. Broad St., Ste. 102 
(402) 727-3250

GRAND ISLAND 
1306 West 3rd St. 
(308) 385-6300

HASTINGS 
Landmark Center, 
2727 W. 2nd St.,  Ste. 338 
(402) 462-1867

LEXINGTON 
1308 N. Adams 
(308) 324-2064

LINCOLN 
1010 ‘N’ St. 
(402) 471-2275

MCCOOK 
220 W. 1st St. 
(308) 345-8470

NEBRASKA CITY  
917 Wildwood Lane, Ste. J		
(402) 873-3384

NORFOLK 
105 E. Norfolk Ave., Ste. 100
(402) 370-3430

NORTH PLATTE 
306 East 6th, Suite 140 
(308) 535-8320

OMAHA 
F Street Career Center			 
5717 F St.			 
(402) 595-3000

Blue Lion Center				  
2421 N 24th St.  
(402) 444-4700

SCOTTSBLUFF 
1930 E 20th Place, Ste. 200 
(308) 632-1420

SIDNEY 
844 Greenwood Road, Ste. 100 
(308) 254-6937

YORK 
510 Lincoln Ave. 
(402) 362-5891
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ONLINE
www.dol.nebraska.gov

File A New Claim, Reopen A Claim, File For Extended Benefits
24 hours a day, 7 days a week 

Request Weekly Benefits
From Sunday 12:01 am to Midnight Central Time the following Friday

ReliaCard
ReliaCard.com

BY TELEPHONE
Nebraska Claims Center (402) 458-2500

You may experience long hold times on Monday. Please consider calling 
Tuesday through Thursday.

File A New Claim, Reopen A Claim, File For Extended Benefits
Claims Specialists are available Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Central Time 		
(See page 6 for Call Schedule for New Claims)

Request Weekly Benefits
Sunday 12:01 am-Midnight the following Friday Central Time

Check Your Payment Status
24 hours a day, 7 days a week

ReliaCard
1(866) 276-5114

For All Other Inquiries and Assistance
Claims Specialists are available Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Central Time

Deaf and Impaired Hearing
TTY Lincoln (402) 471-0016

Note: The automated features of the system require detecting the tone created by pressing keys 
on the telephone keypad. The tone quality of some cellular and cordless phones may affect the 
caller’s ability to complete the call.

CLAIMS SERVICES & HOURS OF OPERATION
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