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GAME AND PARKS OFFICES
Headquarters/Southeast District, Lincoln 2200 N. 33rd St. 402-471-0641

Northwest District, Alliance 299 Husker Rd. 308-763-2940
Bassett Service Center 524 Panzer St. 402-684-2921

Boating Safety 2200 N. 33rd St. 402-471-5462
Kearney Service Center 1617 First Ave. 308-865-5310

Northeast District, Norfolk 2201 N. 13th St. 402-370-3374
Southwest District, North Platte 301 E. State Farm Rd. 308-535-8025

Omaha Metro Office 1212 Bob Gibson Blvd. 402-595-2144

This is Only a Summary Guide 
Boaters are responsible for knowing the regulations and statutes (state laws) 
before boating in Nebraska. Failure to do so is not an excuse. This publication is a 
summary guide to those regulations and statutes. To read or download them, visit 
the following links: 
Regulations: 
http://outdoornebraska.ne.gov/admin/regulations/regulations.asp
Statutes:
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws

BOATERS 
Protect Yourself from

this Silent Killer
Carbon monoxide can

collect within, alongside 
or behind a boat in 

minutes in a  
variety of ways.

Cover Photo Courtesy of Take Me Fishing
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REQUIREMENTS

DEFINITIONS 
•	 Motorboat – Any vessel propelled by any form of mechanical power, gas, 

electric and diesel, including an electric trolling motor. 
•	 Personal Watercraft – A class of inboard vessel less than 16 feet in 

length that uses an internal combustion engine powering a jet pump as 
its primary source of motive propulsion and is designed to be operated 
by a person sitting, standing or kneeling on the vessel rather than in the 
conventional manner of boat operation. 

•	 Sailboard – A surfboard-type vessel with no freeboard and using a free-sail 
system with a swivel-mounted mast not secured to a hull by guys or stays. 

•	 Vessel – Every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane on the 
water, used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on 
water. 

•	 Starboard – The right side of a vessel. 
•	 Port – The left side of a vessel. 
•	 Bow – The front of a vessel. 
•	 Stern – The rear of a vessel. 
•	 Leeward – Downwind. 
•	 No Wake Speed – Speed at which a vessel does not produce a wake, not 

to exceed 5 mph. 

WHO MAY OPERATE A MOTORBOAT 
Anyone operating a motorboat or personal watercraft in Nebraska, born after 
Dec. 31, 1985, must be at least 14 years of age and they must have successfully 
completed the Nebraska boating safety course and are in possession of a valid 
certificate card. (See page 6) 

REGISTRATION 
Length of Registration – Nebraska motorboat registrations are issued for 
three-year periods, expiring on Dec. 31 of the third year. No motorboat may be 
operated after Dec. 31 without the registration being renewed.
Where to Get a New Registration – Registrations may be obtained only from the 
county treasurer in the boater’s county of residence. 
Where to Renew a Registration – Registrations may be renewed at 
OutdoorNebraska.org/boating or at county treasurer offices. 
Duplicate – A duplicate certificate will be issued by the county treasurer on proof 
of loss for a $5 replacement fee and $4 issuing fee. 
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Proof of Registration – The registration certificate must be available for law 
enforcement inspection at any time. 
What Must Be Registered – All vessels powered by any mechanical device (gas, 
electric and diesel) capable of propelling the vessel over any public or private 
waters of Nebraska (including the Missouri River and Lewis and Clark Lake) must 
be registered.
Exceptions: 

•	 vessels not powered by machinery at any time 
•	 motorboats registered in another state and housed in Nebraska less than 

60 consecutive days 
•	 vessels owned by any government or political subdivision 
•	 racing type motorboats when competing in state approved races and 

during trial runs 48 hours before or 48 hours after competition 
•	 vessels documented by U.S. Coast Guard

Classifications and Fees – The following fees are for the different classifications of 
vessels, including the length range in feet: 

CLASS LENGTH *FEE
1 ** shorter than 16 feet $23
2 at least 16 but less than 26 feet $46
3 at least 26 but less than 40 feet $67.50
4 40 feet and over $115
5 dealers/manufacturers for demonstration or testing $46

* fee does not include $4 issuing fee     ** registering canoes and kayaks is optional 
NOTE: If an application for a motorboat not previously registered in Nebraska by 
the applicant is made after the start of a registration period, the license fee will be 
reduced by 1/36 for each full month of the registration period already expired, as 
of the date the boat was acquired. 
Change of Address – Anyone with a valid boat registration who changes his 
address shall, within 15 days, notify Game and Parks of the new address. 
Transfer of Ownership – The boat owner shall furnish Game and Parks notice 
of transfer of all or any part of his interest, within 15 days of the effective date. 
If the transfer of part ownership does not affect the owner’s right to operate the 
motorboat, the transaction will not affect the registration. 
Destruction or Abandonment – The owner shall notify the Game and Parks 
of the destruction or abandonment of any vessel within 15 days, which will 
terminate the registration. 
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NUMBERING 
Placement and Display – The assigned numbers designated on the registration 
shall be placed on each side of the forward half of the vessel, reading left to right 
in one horizontal plane. 

•	 Numbering shall start with the validation sticker, followed by the two 
capital block letters “NB,” then a 2-inch space, then three digits in a 
numerical group, then a 2-inch space, and finally two or three capital 
block letters.

•	 Letters and numbers will be block figures at least 3 inches in height, of 
contrasting color and visible for 100 feet. 

•	 Purchase of the letters and numbers, except the validation sticker and the 
attachment to the motorboat, are the responsibility of the owner. 

•	 No numbers and letters other than the registration numbers, letters and 
validation stickers shall be displayed on any mechanically powered boat 
on either side of the forward half of the vessel. 

Valid Numbering Style
2” 2”

Place Validation Sticker Here

NB 217 AAX

Purchasers of Previously Owned Boats – All registrations are nontransferable. 
Even if the motorboat you recently purchased is displaying a current validation 
sticker, you must register this motorboat in your name within 30 days of 
operation on the waters of this state. 
Dealer Numbers – A person engaged in the manufacture or sale of boats can 
obtain registrations for use in testing or demonstrating motorboats by payment 
of $46, plus a $4 issuing fee for each registration needed. Dealer numbers will be 
affixed temporarily in the prescribed position on the boat. 

TITLE 
Who Must Obtain a Title – All first time owners of newly acquired motorized 
vessels must obtain a title from the county treasurer in the county where the 
owner resides before the county treasurer will issue or renew a registration. A 
boat must be titled before it may be sold. All boats made before 1972 are exempt 
from titling, but not from registration. 
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Hull Identification Number – Federal law requires all boats manufactured 
after Nov. 1, 1972, including homemade boats, display a 12 character Hull 
Identification Number (HIN). 

•	 The character of each HIN must be at least a quarter inch high and 
located to the starboard outboard side of the transom within 2 inches of 
the top of the transom, gunwale or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest. 

•	 If a motorboat has no HIN and is newer than a 1972, a new one will need 
to be obtained from the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
before a title and registration can be issued. Applications for HIN are 
available from the DMV or county treasurer. 

•	 Any person who operates a motorboat that requires a certificate of title 
without having that title shall be guilty of a Class III misdemeanor. 

•	 Any person who operates a motorboat that requires a HIN without that 
number shall be guilty of a Class III misdemeanor. 

Common HIN: 
stamped into fiberglass of transom

ABC45678A494

BOATER EDUCATION 
Requirement – Boater education is open to anyone at least 14 years of age, but 
anyone born after Dec. 31, 1985, who operates a motorboat or personal watercraft 
in Nebraska must have successfully completed the Nebraska boating safety course. 

•	 Options – Boaters have two options to fulfill the boater education 
requirement: 

•	 Attend a six-hour Nebraska boating safety course with a proctored exam. 
•	 Request class materials for home study, then attend a three-hour 

Nebraska boating safety course review with a proctored exam. Study 
materials may be downloaded from BoatSafeNebraska.org. 

Exam – Seventy-five percent of the answers must be correct to pass the proctored 
exam.
Where to Find Classes – Visit BoatSafeNebraska.org to view a schedule. 
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EQUIPMENT 
Fire Extinguisher – Any outboard, inboard/outboard or inboard motorboat that 
has a closed compartment, closed living spaces or permanently installed fuel 
tanks must have a fire extinguisher according to the following guidelines: 

•	 Classes 1 and 2 – one U.S. Coast Guard-approved type B-I fire extinguisher 
•	 Class 3 – two U.S. Coast Guard-approved B-I or one B-II fire extinguisher 
•	 Class 4 – three U.S. Coast Guard-approved B-I or one B-I and one B-II 

fire extinguishers 
•	 All airboats must carry the number of fire extinguishers according to 

their classification. (See page 4 for classification of vessels.) 
NOTE: Fire extinguishers are not required for outboard motorboats less than 26 
feet in length of open construction that do not carry passengers for hire. 
Oars – Every vessel, except personal watercraft, sailboards or similar devices and 
classes 3 or 4 motorboats, shall carry an oar or paddle. 
Bailing Bucket – Every vessel, except personal watercraft, sailboards or similar 
devices, shall be equipped with a bailing bucket, efficient bilge pump or sponge. 
Muffler – Exhaust of all internal combustion engines used on motorboats shall 
be effectively muffled in a reasonable manner. It shall be unlawful to operate 
any motorboat in such a manner as to exceed a noise level of 96 decibels when 
measured at 100 feet when the motorboat is on plane. 
Whistle or Bell – Every vessel of classes 1, 2, 3, and 4 shall have an efficient 
whistle or other mechanical sound producing device. Every mechanically 
powered boat of Class 4 shall be equipped with an efficient bell. 
Flame Arrestor – Every motorboat, with an inboard motor using gasoline, shall 
have the carburetor equipped with an efficient flame arrestor or similar device. 
These devices shall meet U.S. Coast Guard approval. 
Ventilation – Every motorboat, except those of open construction, using volatile 
liquid fuel shall have a prescribed venting system for bilges and the fuel tank 
compartment. 

LIGHTING 
All vessels in use from sunset to sunrise, shall display lights as specified. No other 
lights may be used, except a spotlight for difficult navigation. 

•	 Every white light prescribed shall be visible at a distance of at least 2 miles. 
•	 Every colored light prescribed shall be visible at a distance of at least 1 

mile, showing green to starboard and red to port and screened to show 
from dead ahead to 22.5 degrees rearward on the respective side.

•	 All mechanically powered sailboats shall display the lights required for 
that class of mechanically powered boat. 



8 | Boating Safety Info: 402-471-5462

•	 All motorboats and sailboats shall carry a lantern or flashlight for 
emergencies. 

•	 All anchored vessels shall display the 360 degree white light, except while 
anchored in a docking or anchorage area. 

Any program that receives federal funding from the Sport Fish Restoration and Boating Trust Fund 
administered by the U.S. Coast Guard prohibits unlawful discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, 
age, gender, marital status, national origin, age, disability or political affiliation.  Any person who believes 
he or she has been discriminated against in any program, activity, facility, or service,  should contact the 
Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, Lincoln, NE  402-471-0641, the Equal Opportunity Commission, 
Lincoln, NE  402-471-2024, TTY/TDD 402-471-4693; United States Fish Wildlife Service, Civil Rights 
Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Arlington, VA  22203; Director, Equal Opportunity Program, U.S. 
Department of Interior, National Park Service, 1849 C Street NW, Mail Code 0008, Washington, D.C. 20240-
0001.



BoatSafeNebraska.org | 9

FLOTATION DEVICES 
Every vessel of any description, except sailboards, must carry one U.S. Coast 
Guard approved Type I, II, III or V flotation device of suitable size for each person 
on board. Every vessel, except sailboards, personal watercraft, canoes, and kayaks, 
in addition to the required wearable life preservers also shall carry one U.S. Coast 
Guard-approved Type IV throwable device. 

Types of Devices: 
Type I – Offshore Life Jacket – This is designed to turn a 
person who is unconscious in the water to a vertical or slightly 
backward position. 

Type II – Near Shore Buoyant Vest – This is designed to turn a 
person who is unconscious in the water to a vertical or slightly 
backward position. 

Type III – Flotation Aid — This is designed to keep a person 
who is conscious in the water in a vertical or slightly backward 
position. It has less turning ability than Type II and is designed 
for water activities, such as skiing. 

Type IV – Throwable Device — This is designed to be 
thrown to a person in the water. 

Type V – Special Use Device – This is designed only for 
specific activities. Check label for limits of use. Varieties 
include board sailing vests, deck suits, work vests, hybrid 
personal flotation devices, and others. 
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SAFETY

DIVER’S FLAG 
The diver’s flag must be displayed in Nebraska whenever diving or 
underwater-powered spear fishing to give fair warning to boaters 
of a diver in the area. 
Also: 
Scuba divers are reminded to display the diver’s flag and stay 
within 150 feet of their flag. 
Divers may not dive within 200 feet of the outer limits of any 
designated swimming area, boat mooring, docking, or launching area.
Boaters must maintain a distance of 150 feet from a diver’s flag, 
except law enforcement boats, rescue boats and boats engaged in 
the diving operations. 

ORANGE FLAG 
Whenever a water skier/tuber, surfboarder or any person engaged 
in a similar activity or associated equipment, is down in the water 
the operator or observer of the tow boat must display a hunter 
orange flag of a size not less than 12 inches square or at least 144 
square inches. This flag must be visible 360 degrees. 

REPORTING ACCIDENTS 
•	 It shall be the duty of the operator of a vessel involved in a collision, 

accident or other casualty to give his name, address and the identification 
of his vessel in writing to any person injured and to the owner of any 
property damaged. 

•	 The operator of every vessel involved in a boating accident is required 
to file a written report whenever a boating accident results in loss of life, 
disappearance of a person, loss of consciousness, medical treatment, 
disability for more than 24 hours, or property damage in excess of $500. 
Reports in death, disappearance and injury cases must be made within 
48 hours; reports of other cases are required within five days. Written 
reports shall be submitted to the Game and Parks. Report forms may be 
downloaded at BoatSafeNebraska.org. 

•	 The owner of a vessel shall be liable for any injury or damage caused by 
the negligent operation of any powered vessel. The owner shall not be 
liable if the vessel is being used without the consent of the owner unless 
the operator is a member of his immediate family. 
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UNSAFE VESSELS 
•	 No overloaded vessels shall be operated on Nebraska waters. All vessels 

when loaded must retain at least one half of the total depth of the boat 
above the water when measured at the center of the vessel and must meet 
the requirement of the manufacturer’s capacity plate. 

•	 If any conservation officer or other law enforcement official of Nebraska 
sees a vessel being operated without the proper equipment or with any 
other unsafe condition, he or she may direct the operator to correct the 
situation immediately or return to mooring until the hazard is corrected. 

RULES 

UNIFORM STATE WATERWAY MARKERS 

Orange and white diamond shape with cross means 
“Boats Keep Out.” 

Orange and white diamond shape warns of “Danger.” 

Orange and white circle marks “Controlled Area” as indicated 
within circle. 

Orange and white square or rectangle gives “Information, Names, 
Distances and Permitted Activities.” 

CHANNEL BUOYS/LATERAL SYSTEM (FOUND ON THE MISSOURI RIVER) 
Always pass between a green buoy and its companion red buoy. 

When Headed Upstream – Keep red buoys to your right and 
green buoys to your left. 

When Headed Downstream – Keep green buoys to your 
right and red buoys to your left. 
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RIGHT OF WAY 
Audible Signals – When two vessels are approaching each other head on or 
nearly so, each operator shall swing the bow of his motorboat to the starboard to 
pass. Each operator shall give one short blast of the whistle and indicate his course 
by swinging the bow of his motorboat substantially to starboard. Unnecessary 
sounding of whistles, horns, bells, or other sound producing devices is prohibited. 
Maneuvering and Warning Signals: 

•	 Overtaking on the starboard side – 1 short* blast 
•	 Overtaking on the port side – 2 short blasts
•	 Backing up – 3 short blasts
•	 Danger  – 5 or more short blasts 

* A short blast is approximately one second. 

NAVIGATION RULES 
Vessel traffic shall be governed by the following rules: 

•	 When passing from rear — pass to other vessel’s port. 
•	 When passing head on — pass port to port. 
•	 When passing at right angles — vessel at right has right of way. 
•	 Manually propelled vessels have the right of way over all other vessels. 
•	 Sailboats have the right of way over all motor driven vessels. 
•	 Motorboats, when meeting or overtaking sailboats, shall always pass on 

the leeward side. 
•	 Any vessel backing from a landing has the right of way over incoming 

vessels. 

UNLAWFUL PRACTICES 
It is unlawful to:

•	 operate or give permission for the operation of a vessel that is not 
equipped as required. 

•	 exceed the speeds posted or charted in any specific zone or area. Speed 
always must be reasonable and proper in consideration of the conditions 
prevailing at that time and place. 

•	 travel at speeds exceeding 5 mph/no excessive wake limit in or within 30 
yards of any vessel, harbor, marina, landing pier, fishing pier, anchorage, 
or bathing beach. 

•	 operate a personal watercraft between sunset and sunrise. 
•	 operate any vessel within any area marked off or set aside as prohibited. 
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•	 swim or bathe in any marinas or within 20 yards of launching, mooring 
or docking areas. 

•	 tie off any vessel or attach one to any buoy, marker or navigational aid on 
any waters in this state. 

•	 place or leave, in any public waters, any vessel not safe for operation. 
•	 allow any child under 13 years of age aboard any vessel when not wearing 

a U.S. Coast Guard approved life preserver, of suitable size, except when 
hunting waterfowl in an anchored boat. The operator shall be held 
responsible for compliance. 

•	 operate a personal watercraft without wearing a lanyard type engine 
cutoff switch. 

•	 operate or be a passenger on a personal watercraft without wearing a 
Coast Guard approved life jacket, regardless of age. 

•	 jump a wake with a motorized vessel within 50 yards of another craft. 
•	 jump the wake of any boat that is towing a skier, tuber, wakeboarder, etc. 
•	 for any boat operator, including personal watercraft, under 16 years of age 

to tow a skier, tuber, wakeboarder, etc. 

BOATING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
It is unlawful to operate a motorboat with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent 
or greater. Doing so constitutes Boating Under the Influence (BUI), which carries 
a penalty of up to $1,000 fine, up to six months in jail and the loss of boating 
privileges for six months. Refusal to submit to a chemical blood alcohol test will 
result in the same penalties as BUI. 

OTHER INFORMATION 

RENTALS 
Owners of motorboats for rent shall keep a record of the name and address of 
persons renting vessels designated or permitted by him to be propelled by any 
mechanical device. The record, including boat identification number, departure 
date and time and expected time of return, shall be preserved for at least six 
months. Rental motorboats shall include all equipment prescribed by law for 
that class of boat. It shall be unlawful for any motorboat livery to lease to anyone 
under the age of 18 years. 

SANITATION
Every vessel with an installed toilet must have an operable U.S. Coast Guard 
certified marine sanitation device (MSD) Type I, II or III. 
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Also: 
•	 If equipped with a “Y” valve, the valve must be secured by a padlock, 

nonreleasable wire tie or removal of the handle, so the valve can’t be 
used either accidentally or intentionally without the owner/operator’s 
knowledge. 

•	 No wastes or container of such wastes shall be placed, left or discharged 
into or near any waters of this state. 

WATER SKIING 
Observer – All vessels, when pulling a person on skis, surfboards or similar 
devices and not equipped with a wide-angle rear view mirror, must have a 
responsible person age 12 or older as an observer in the vessel with the operator. 
Lifesaving Devices – It is unlawful for any boat operator to tow or assist any 
person on skis, surfboards or similar devices or for any skier to manipulate 
water skis or similar devices unless the skier is wearing a life jacket that is in 
good condition and U.S. Coast Guard approved. The exception is during state-
authorized regattas and similar ski and water shows. All lines, when not in use, 
must be stowed aboard the towing vessel. 
Skiing Hours – It is unlawful to tow or assist a person on water skis, aquaplane 
or similar device from the period of one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour 
before sunrise unless in duly authorized competition. 

REGATTAS AND RACES 
•	 Game and Parks authorization must be obtained for all regattas, 

motorboat or other boat races, marine parades, tournaments or 
exhibitions on any waters of this state. Also: 

•	 The person in charge of such event shall obtain permission by filing an 
application with Game and Parks at least 30 days before the event. The 
application should indicate the date, time and location of the event. 

•	 For events to be held on navigable waters, it is necessary to give at least 30 
days notice as permission must be cleared with the U.S. Coast Guard. 

•	 Motorboats competing in special events may use cutouts during a period 
not to exceed 48 hours immediately preceding such regatta or race and a 
period not to exceed 48 hours immediately following such event. 

•	 Motorboats do not have to carry bells, whistles or fire extinguishers while 
racing. 

•	 Forms may be downloaded from BoatSafeNebraska.org.
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BOATING WATERS 

Key to Abbreviations
•	 WMA – wildlife management area
•	 SP – state park
•	 SRA – state recreation area

•	 NWR – national wildlife refuge
•	 WPA – waterfowl production area
•	 USFWS – U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service

It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel with speed in excess of 5 mph and 
speed of all vessels must be reduced so that wash and wake will cause no 
discomfort, hazard, injury or damage to persons, vessels, or property on the 
following waters except as posted and the use by Nebraska Game and Parks 
Commission employees and their designees engaged in Game and Parks 
authorized activities:

(Counties in parenthesis)
•	 Arnold Lake (Custer)
•	 Avocet Lake WMA (Grant) 
•	 Bassway Strip WMA (Buffalo)
•	 Bear Pierce Cedar 2A (Gage)
•	 Birdwood WMA (Lincoln)
•	 Blue Hole West WMA (Buffalo)
•	 Blue Lake (Garden)
•	 Brady WMA (Lincoln)
•	 Bruning Dam (Fillmore)
•	 Buckley 3F (Jefferson)
•	 Buckskin Hills WMA (Dixon)
•	 Bufflehead WMA (Buffalo)
•	 Burchard Lake WMA (Pawnee)
•	 California Bend (Washington)
•	 Carter Lake – east leg (Douglas)
•	 Century Link Lake (Cass)
•	 Chalkrock Lake WMA (Cedar)
•	 Cheyenne SRA (Hall)
•	 Clatonia 3A (Gage)
•	 Clear Lake (Brown)
•	 Coot Shallows WMA (Buffalo)
•	 Cottonmill Lake (Buffalo) 
•	 Cottontail Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Cottonwood-Steverson Lake WMA 

(Cherry)
•	 Crescent Lake WMA (Garden) 
•	 Cozad WMA (Dawson) 
•	 Cub Creek 9B (Leisure Lake) (Jefferson) 
•	 Cub Creek 12A (Jefferson) 

•	 Czechland Lake (Saunders) 
•	 DeFair Lake WMA (Grant)
•	 DeSoto Bend NWR Lake (Washington)
•	 Dogwood WMA (Dawson) 
•	 East Gothenburg WMA (Dawson) 
•	 East Hershey WMA (Lincoln)
•	 East Sutherland WMA (Lincoln) 
•	 Elwood Reservoir WMA (Gosper) 
•	 Fremont Slough WMA (Lincoln)
•	 Fremont SRA, Lake No. 16 (Dodge) 
•	 Fremont SRA, Lake No. 20, west bay 

(Dodge) 
•	 Frye Lake WMA (Grant)
•	 Gallagher Canyon Reservoir (Dawson) 
•	 Gavins Point Dam tailwaters (Cedar)
•	 Glenn Cunningham Lake (Douglas)
•	 Goose Lake WMA (Holt)
•	 Grand Island Eagle Scout Lake (Hall)
•	 Grand Island L.E. Ray Lake (Hall)
•	 Grove Lake WMA (Antelope)
•	 Hamburg Bend (Otoe)
•	 Hayes Center WMA (Hayes)
•	 Hedgefield Lake WMA (Lancaster)
•	 Hershey WMA (Lincoln) 
•	 Holdrege North Park Lake (Phelps)
•	 Homestead Lake (Butler)
•	 Home Valley Lake WMA (Cherry)
•	 Hull Lake WMA (Boyd)
•	 Iron Horse Trail Lake (Pawnee)
•	 Kearney WMA (Kea Lake) (Buffalo) 

All waters in Nebraska are open waters. The following are lists of waters with 
special restrictions.



16 | Boating Safety Info: 402-471-5462

•	 Kea West WMA (Buffalo) 
•	 Lake Babcock (Platte)
•	 Lake Ericson (Wheeler)
•	 Lake Helen (Dawson) 
•	 Lake Ogallala SRA (Keith)
•	 Lake Wanahoo SRA (Saunders) 
•	 Lawrence Youngman Lake (Douglas) 
•	 Liberty Cove Reservoir (Webster)
•	 Lone Star Recreation Area (Fillmore)
•	 Long Lake (Brown)
•	 Maple Creek Reservoir (Colfax)
•	 Maskenthine Lake (Stanton)
•	 Meadowlark Lake (Seward)
•	 Memphis Lake SRA (Saunders) 
•	 Merganser Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Mormon Island SRA Middle Lake (Hall)
•	 Mormon Island SRA West Lake (Hall)
•	 North Platte I-80 Lake (Iron Horse Lake) 

(Lincoln) 
•	 Olive Creek Lake SRA (Lancaster)
•	 Overland Trails Lake (York)
•	 Oxbow Trails Lake (Butler)
•	 Pawnee Slough WMA (Lincoln) 
•	 Pibel Lake (Wheeler)
•	 Pigeon/Jones Creek Reservoir (Dakota)
•	 Pioneers Trail Recreation Area 

(Hamilton)
•	 Powder Creek Reservoir (Dixon)
•	 Prairie Lake (Adams)
•	 Prairie View Lake (Douglas) 
•	 Rat and Beaver Lake WMA (Cherry)
•	 Recharge Lake (York)
•	 Red Cedar Lake (Saunders) 
•	 Red Fox WMA (Stanton)
•	 Rock Creek Lake SRA (Dundy)
•	 Roseland Lake (Adams)
•	 Sandy Channel SRA (Buffalo, Phelps)
•	 Sanitary and Improvement District 

No. 177 (Riverside Lakes, east lake) 
(Douglas) 

•	 Shell Lake (Cherry)
•	 Smith Creek Lake (Seward)
•	 Smith Lake WMA (Sheridan)
•	 South Pine WMA (Brown) 
•	 Stagecoach Lake SRA (Lancaster)
•	 Standing Bear Lake (Douglas) 
•	 Summit Lake SRA (Burt)
•	 Swan Lake (Holt)
•	 Swan Creek Lake 2A WMA (Saline) 
•	 Swan Creek Lake 67 (Saline)
•	 Tanglewood Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Timber Point Lake (Butler)
•	 Tobacco Island WMA (Cass) 
•	 Twin Lakes WMA (Rock)
•	 Twin Lakes WMA (Seward)
•	 Union Pacific SRA (Buffalo) 
•	 Wagon Train Lake SRA (Lancaster)
•	 Walgren Lake SRA (Sheridan)
•	 Walnut Creek Lake 2A (Saline) 
•	 Walnut Creek Reservoir (Papio 21) 

(Sarpy) 
•	 War Axe SRA (Buffalo) 
•	 Wehrspann Lake (Sarpy)
•	 West Cozad WMA (Dawson) 
•	 West Gothenburg WMA (Lincoln) 
•	 West Papillion No. 5 (Sarpy) 
•	 West Wood River WMA (Hall)
•	 Wild Plum Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Wildwood Lake WMA (Lancaster) 
•	 Willard L. Meyer Recreation Area 

(Saline)
•	 Willow Island WMA (Dawson)
•	 Willow Lake B.C. WMA (Brown)
•	 Wilson Creek 4F Lake (Prairie Owl) 

(Otoe)
•	 Wirth Brothers Lake (Johnson)
•	 Wolf Wildcat Lake No. 12 (Gage)
•	 Yankee Hill WMA (Lancaster)
•	 Zorinsky Lake (Douglas)
•	 All USFWS-managed WPAs
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The following waters are open to nonpowered vessels and those powered 
with conventional outboard electric motors. It shall be unlawful to use 
internal combustion type motors except as posted and the use by Nebraska 
Game and Parks Commission employees and their designees engaged in 
Game and Parks authorized activities:

(Counties in parenthesis)
•	 Alexandria SRA (Jefferson)
•	 Ansley City Lake (Custer)
•	 Arrowhead Lake WMA (Gage)
•	 Atkinson Lake (Holt)
•	 Bowman Lake (Sherman)
•	 Bowling Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Bowwood WMA (Pawnee)
•	 Bridgeport SRA (four smaller lakes only) 

(Morrill)
•	 Carter P. Johnson Lake, Fort Robinson 

SP (Sioux)
•	 Champion Mill Lake (Chase)
•	 Cornhusker WMA (Hall)
•	 Cottonwood Lake (Lake Yankton) 

(Knox)
•	 Crystal Lake (Adams)
•	 Crystal Lake WMA (Lincoln)
•	 Cub Creek Lake (Keya Paha)
•	 Darr WMA (Dawson)
•	 Dead Timber SRA (Dodge)
•	 Donald Whitney WMA (Gage)
•	 East Odessa WMA (Buffalo)
•	 Farwell South Reservoir (Howard)
•	 Fort Kearny SRA (Kearney)
•	 Fremont SRA lake Nos. 1, 2, 3, 3a, 4, 

5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17 and 19 
(Dodge)

•	 Frenchman WMA (Hayes)
•	 Gracie Creek Trout Pond (Garfield)
•	 Holmes Lake (Hall) (Lancaster)
•	 Indian Creek WMA (Webster)

•	 Island Lake NWR (Garden)
•	 Killdeer WMA (Lancaster)
•	 Kissinger WMA (Clay)
•	 Louisville SRA (Cass)
•	 Mayberry WMA (Pawnee)
•	 North Loup SRA (Howard)
•	 Pintail WMA (Hamilton)
•	 Osage WMA (Johnson)
•	 Oxford City Lake (Furnas)
•	 Papio D-4 (Douglas)
•	 Pawnee Prairie WMA (Pawnee)
•	 Prairie Knoll WMA (Pawnee)
•	 Pressey WMA (Custer)
•	 Ravenna Lake (Buffalo)
•	 Redtail WMA (Butler)
•	 Sacramento-Wilcox WMA (Phelps)
•	 Silver Creek City Lake (Merrick)
•	 Skyview Lake (Madison)
•	 Teal WMA (Lancaster)
•	 Twin Oaks WMA (Johnson)
•	 Two Rivers SRA Lake Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 

and 7 (Douglas)
•	 Valentine NWR Lakes (Cherry)
•	 Verdon Lake SRA (Richardson)
•	 Victoria Springs SRA (Custer)
•	 Wellfleet Lake (Lincoln)
•	 West Brady WMA (Lincoln)
•	 West Hershey WMA (Lincoln)
•	 West Maxwell WMA (Lincoln)
•	 Windmill SRA (Buffalo)
•	 Wilson Creek 2X WMA (Otoe)
•	 Yanney Park Lake (Buffalo)
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It shall be unlawful to operate any motorboat on the following waters except 
as posted and the use by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission employees 
and their designees engaged in Game and Parks authorized activities: 

(Counties in parenthesis)
•	 Archway Lakes (Buffalo)
•	 Bader Memorial Lakes (Merrick)
•	 Bethphage Pond (Kearney)

•	 Central City Lake (Merrick)
•	 Chadron SP Pond (Dawes)
•	 Keller Park SRA (Brown) 
•	 Niobrara SP (Knox)

It shall be unlawful to operate any vessel on the following waters as they 
are closed to all vessels except as posted and the use by Nebraska Game and 
Parks Commission employees and their designees engaged in Game and 
Parks authorized activities:

(Counties in parenthesis)
•	 Baright Lake, Eugene T. Mahoney SP 

(Cass)
•	 Barnett Park Ponds (Red Willow)
•	 Boyer Chute Wildlife Habitat Restoration 

Area (Washington)
•	 Calamus Reservoir, Bureau of 

Reclamation water control channels 
(Garfield)

•	 Chester Island WMA (Lincoln)
•	 Curtis Golf Course Pond (Frontier)
•	 Dawson County Museum Pond 

(Dawson)
•	 Grand Island Pier Lake (Hall)
•	 Grand Island Such’s Lake (Hall)
•	 Heartland Shooting Park Pond (Hall)
•	 Heartwell Park Pond (Adams)
•	 Humphrey Pond (Keith)

•	 Jenny Newman Lake (Cass)
•	 I-80 Department of Roads Lakes – Grand 

Island Rest Area, Mormon Island East, 
Alda, Kearney North Rest Stop, Brady 
Rest Stop, Maxwell Rest Area, and 
Kearney South Rest Stop

•	 Oak Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Plum Creek Park Pond, (Lexington City 

Pond) (Dawson)
•	 Sutton Clark Pond (Clay)
•	 Smith Lake Crescent Lake USFWS-NWR 

(Garden)
•	 Two Rivers SRA Lake No. 5 (Douglas)
•	 All state fish hatchery areas unless 

otherwise authorized by the Nebraska 
Game and Parks Commission.

Enjoy Boating the Safe Way

Take a Safe Boating Course from 
the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary 
or the U.S. Power Squadron.

Call 402-451-7083 or 402-689-5715
or visit cgaux.org or usps.org for more information.
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It shall be unlawful to operate any vessel faster than 5 mph/no wake from 
sundown to sunrise on the following waters except as posted and the use 
by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission employees and their designees 
engaged in Game and Parks authorized activities:

(Counties in parenthesis)
•	 Branched Oak Lake SRA (Lancaster)

It shall be unlawful to operate air boats on all Fish and Wildlife Service 
managed Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA) except as posted and the use 
by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission employees and their designees 
engaged in Game and Parks authorized activities.

It is unlawful to operate a motorboat Oct. 15 through Jan. 15 of each year on 
the following state wildlife refuges: 

•	 Garden County Refuge, North Platte River 
•	 Lincoln County Refuge, North Platte River
•	 Dodge-Saunders County Refuge, Platte River
•	 Boyd-Holt County Refuge, Niobrara River 
•	 Lake Babcock, Platte County, closed to all vessels during the open waterfowl season

The following is a list of waters governed by nonpublic lake associations. 
All state boating laws apply. For additional information, contact the local 
nonpublic lake associations for special rules and regulations that apply.

(Counties in parenthesis)
•	 Beaver Lake (Cass)
•	 Bucktail Lake (Merrick)
•	 Capitol Beach Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Ginger Woods (Douglas)
•	 Hanson’s Lake No. 2 (Sarpy)
•	 Hanson’s Lake No. 3 (Sarpy)
•	 Hawaiian Village (Sarpy)
•	 Heron Point Lake (Merrick)
•	 Lake Oconee Estates (Platte)
•	 Lake Socorro (Colfax)
•	 Legge’s Lake (Dodge)
•	 Leisure Lake (Dodge)
•	 Middle Island Lake (Cass)
•	 Morningstar Lake (Merrick)

•	 North Lake (Cass)
•	 Pine Lake (Lancaster)
•	 Sack’s Lake (York)
•	 Summer Haven (Dodge)
•	 Sundance Lake (Merrick)
•	 Ventura Lake (Dodge)
•	 Villa Springs (Sarpy)
•	 Waconda Lake (Cass)
•	 Wagner Lake (Platte)
•	 Whitetail Lake (Platte)
•	 Willers Cove (Stanton)
•	 Willow Bend (Hamilton)
•	 Wolf Lake (Saunders)
•	 Woodcliff Lakes (Saunders)
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